Fergus Reviews

Fergus Reviews

Fergus

Job management software for plumbers & electricians

4.74/5 (27 reviews)
477     69

Andrew Smith

Fergus Review

21/03/2017

Fergus has been awesome for me in terms where i can see exactly how much each job costs me and how much profit i am making per job, I like the fact i can quickly look through previous jobs and customers and see how much work i have done for them, the invoicing is great where the invoice is created so easily - and how you can alter the margins etc once it has been created

Pros

Margins, ease of use, invoicing, linking to xero, plumbing world sending through the invoices nightly

Cons

little things like i can't seem to search for the job on my app if the quote has not been accepted - sometimes the customer says go ahead and the button doesn't get clicked

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karin Keith

Great job software

20/03/2017

We have been using Fergus for 2.5 years now. Over that time the software has become much more user-friendly and a lot of things have been introduced. It has many issues still but for day to day operation of our plumbing company it is great. The tradesmen all enter their own job reports and Fergus tracks the gear purchased / credited to the job. Fergus staff are great most of the time, they are pretty good at listening to what the problem is, and letting us know if it is something they can sort out or if it has to wait until enough users request a feature before it will be looked at as a future improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amelia Grace

A must for Tradies

05/03/2017

We have tried 3 other management tool's and by far Fergus stands out as the winner. If you want something quick and easy to use on a phone it works great. The best tool for us however is the quoting feature that then allows us to add variations to the job and all report under the one Job code - Love this tool :O) The Support Team are always really helpful and respond quickly to emails. I have found in the time we have used Fergus they are always enhancing the capabilities of the tool.

Pros

Quoting and variation to jobs reporting

Cons

Nothing that I don't like

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
A May

Fergus review

01/03/2017

We love Fergus - very flexible, saves us a ton of time with processing and scheduling. Could do with a bit of modification around statements/customer invoicing/payments and also the number of clicks to navigate around the site but overall an excellent app and we highly recommend it!!

Pros

ALmost everything. It saves us a heap of time with scheduling and processing jobs. It is easy to use and reliable. There is alot of capacity to communicate with both customers & employees within the app. Reporting is a breeze and at a click of a button. Excellent

Cons

There are only two things - sometimes it takes more clicks than necessary to navigate around the website which is a bit of a pain. And the invoicing/statements functionality and payments process could be improved - I currently can't select for a statement for a certain time frame within a customers account and it would be good to be able to record payments at the time of invoicing instead of ok'ing the invoice and then having to process the payment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nina Parker

Great for trades

22/02/2017

Fergus is designed specifically for trades which suits us perfectly. It integrates seamlessly with Xero which means jobs are automatically filed (if already marked complete) when paid, saving me time. The Fergus staff are extremely open to suggestions and are constantly improving their product. Happy to recommend!

Pros

Integration with software, conversion to invoice from quotes

Cons

New calendar is taking a bit to get my head around, no formatting in job descriptions and notes (big sigh)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Fergus

On Chrome there are a few formatting bugs (won't enter spaces in description)

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ryan  Walker

Time Saver

15/02/2017

This job app software is amazing! It has cut my office time in half and my billing has been more accurate. Easy to use on the phone day to day.

Pros

easy to use

Cons

No calendar app on the phone

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Todd Steinle

Steinle Contracting Review

10/02/2017

Love fergus, I gave a 3 star on the features and functionality mainly for the functionality, it has a few issues and I understand your working on them but some are pretty annoying. I see the potential tho and absolutely love the program

Pros

it makes everything I have to already do in my business much faster and more organized. also back costing is one of my favorites

Cons

it has some limitations and functionality problems but I believe will be worked out in the future

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Fergus

we should be able to set budgets for site visits so the guys have something to work towards and feel accomplished when they come in under budget. they should be able to see their budget and get a notification along with me when they come in under budget. It will help tremendously and increase productivity to another level. everyone is also asking me " whats my budget or expectation" and then after work is complete they want the details on how they did. It would really help with who should be given raises, how I price my jobs, and who in my crews is standing out as a high value asset

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa McBeth

Great software to make trades life easier

02/02/2017

We love using the Fergus system. Its very user friendly for all ages. The schedules are so nice to work with as you can see clearly how much work you have booked for your week

Pros

- Looking at the weekly schedule, customers call for a job and you can see straight away weather we have someone available or not. - Time keeping is nice and accurate

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sonya Chambers

Personal Perception

24/01/2017

I have used Fergus for some years now and under different employers; builders, plumbers, sparky and even a company that washed buildings and had a national team of employees to manage. It's a great all-round system which really negates the need for any other system other than our accounting package Xero. It's a lot to set up (like they all are) but once the background work is uploaded it covers so much for the team on the front line as well as in the office. Now also with H & S being added in - it really does keep work efficient. I have recommended you to over 30 people already! Thanks so much.

Pros

It covers having a customer file, GPS logs, H&S, jobs, calendars, quoting and invoicing. So I like that we only have to have one system that works really well with our accounting package.

Cons

When you get used to using something and really like the way it was but then it changes. For example, the new map.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Fergus

I really like that this is NZ based and that there is always someone to respond to a query or help you if you're stuck.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donna King

Fergus Review

19/01/2017

Easy to set up with Fergus via Skype, easy to use, all time and materials are a lot easier to keep track of, great customer support.

Pros

Ease of use and customer support, being able to import supplier documents and allocate to jobs

Cons

Not being able to create credits to customers

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chantel Inch

Awesome resource!

19/01/2017

One stop shop which is easy to use, love that it interfaces with Xero and imports plumbing merchant documents (we have cut down on 90% of our paper use!!). Excited to see future improvements, and lastly, the team on the customer support help desk are awesome - you guys rock!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jamie Cummings

Fergus is brilliant. Love it.

09/01/2017

Fergus is the center of our business. We couldn't survive with out it. Love it, our business has completely changed because of it.

Pros

It touches all parts of our business in a single piece of software.

Cons

Cost, but worth it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Evans

The best decision I made this year!!

19/12/2016

I decided to go with Fergus in March of this year and we haven't looked back since then. It is so powerful having all our data in one place and so accessible. I can't recommend Fergus enough, it's been a game changer for us!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Sander

New systems

19/12/2016

It was a big call to move from my previous job management system to Fergus! I should have done it years earlier! I could not possibly mention all the benefits I have found since moving to Fergus. I am more organized, as is the office staff, and my on site tradesman. The staff at Fergus have been excellent, easy to contact and deal with, always looking for ways to improve the system and seriously taking on board any suggestions or requests to make the system work for us, and our specific needs. The systems talk well to our accountancy package, and it is great to have easy access to all areas of my business. Having used and looked at other similar products available, I would have no hesitation in recommending Fergus to any trade based organization.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gavin McCormick

Strategic partnerships are the ticket to our success, thanks Fergus for your support

19/12/2016

As a fast growing business, we needed an online operational CRM/Job Scheduling/Purchase Ordering/Invoicing tool that added value and wasn't clunky and challenging to learn and use in the field. We found that in Fergus and haven't looked back, and we aren't even getting all that we can from it as we're still learning.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ainsley Gilkison

Awesome customer service

18/12/2016

Really great customer service. My queries get answered really quickly and the advice is alway spot on!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Peter Ridley

Fergus review

15/12/2016

I have 2 -3 employees and I probably use only a portion of what Fergus can do but it makes job allocation very easy to organise, invoicing very easy and fast, and I can do it from my office or from the beach! Syncs well with Xero so all the tricky stuff is taken care of. The Fergus team are always ready to help if necessary (about 3 times in the last year). Never looked back!

Pros

Easy invoicing and organising job allocations

Cons

Doesn't make the coffee!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Fergus

I tried for a week or so to use Fergus AND my existing procedures but should have just jumped right into Fergus, boots 'n all.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephanie Lokeni

MYGAS/ K.DADZIE PLUMBING

15/12/2016

Fergus software is very good, practical, easy to use if you know all the features. Very pleased with the service

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melinda Fear

Fergus is great

12/12/2016

We switched over to Fergus from a more expensive program. Got lots of help and training. We use most of the functions and are happy to see Fergus is constantly improving. Very happy to recommend it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike Gibson

Fergus - IT WORKS!

07/12/2016

Fergus has saved so much admin time, we now don't need to get our staff to hunt through their vans for job cards it's all right there on Fergus. It took a few months to start using Fergus to its full potential but now after, over a year, I don't know how I did it before.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike Gibson

Northbrook Electrical - Fergus

30/11/2016

Fergus has changed the way we do business, it has streamlined so many of our old business practices. As we don't have admin staff doing book work was something I would do after hours so I could have piece and quiet going through all mine and my staffs notes on jobs trying to figure out what to charge, now its all in one place right where I need it when creating invoices. The Team at Fergus have been great too, any issues they get sorted straight away. I spent months looking into job management systems and none of them did what I needed or the way I wanted. Fergus does it all and its easy to use. I took my company about 3 months to actually use Fergus too its full potential. Now after using Fergus for over a year going back over our completed jobs making sure the jobs were profitable, all of the gear we used on site, how many hours we spent.... is all at the click of a button, Fergus push out new features regularly which make us even more productive. I quite often find my self talking to other sparkys about Fergus and comparing them to the systems they use, Fergus definitely does go straight to the top of the list.

Pros

Job Tracking Staff Tracking Mobile App Dashboard

Cons

Doesn't have editable forms (i.e. Creating Code of compliance certificates and saving them to the job)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stacey McMaster

Learning Fergus

28/11/2016

We did not do too much training before we started using the programme and found it great to use. There is still much more we could probably use but with time we will get there.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicola Nish

Time Saving Software

24/11/2016

As our business has grown in size Fergus has helped us become more efficient. The guys have the information at their fingertips saving phone calls back to the office. After working our way through other software Fergus is a great fit for our business

Pros

The ease of creating a job and adding supporting information. Then being able to assign multiple staff but at different times.

Cons

The way the discount is shown at the bottom of the quote or invoice instead of per line. Its a bit confusing for our end clients.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gareth Mack

Great service and always expanding

23/11/2016

Fergus offers a perfectly scaled work flow solution to suit most small service based businesses. The best part is they're completely open to suggestions on how to improve the overall functionality of their system or even the need for new features, often integrating brand new requested features across the board within a matter of weeks.

Pros

A good amount of features without being too clunky.

Cons

It needs Google Calender integration especially when inviting other parties to a meeting for a quote or job for example.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Louise McLean

Fergus works for us

25/10/2016

We are a busy plumbing and gas fitting business and we find Fergus a great asset to the business. It makes all the day-to-day tasks such as booking jobs, logging time entries, tracking supplier documents, communicating with the team while they are at worksites, tracking customer details, checking past histories for jobs and clients and invoicing, nice and easy. It communicates well with Xero to make bank reconciliation and paying supplier accounts really efficient. If i have had any issues, the Fergus & Xero support has always sorted things out quickly. The main areas where I see the program could improve is some fine-tuning of the recurring jobs feature and it would be really handy to have an "undo" button to remove your last step if you make an error while working.

Pros

It's easy to use and track everything you have done. The functionality for importing supplier documents and attaching files and photos to jobs is great.

Cons

I would like an undo button for when you make a little error on an invoice and don't want to have to go back and start the whole thing again.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more