App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MongoDB Logo

Database management and application development software

(14)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

MongoDB Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

458

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.89/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

caspio
kintone
tableau-software

Pros and cons

I knew nothing about the Nosql, until I started with Mongodb, what I like the most about mongdb is the ease of use and the excellent customer support.
It is much perfect when we are integrating it with JavaScript backend. I recommend using MongoDB for all the web developers as it provides great developer experience.
Speed and scalability are better than other databases like MySQL. It is most suitable for the non-relational database.
There are no functions available for Transaction. MongoDB's documentation is much confusing to the users.
It took me some time to get used to NoSQL development coming from a SQL background, but this shouldn't mean that the product is bad for others.
One wrong installation click can send you into hours of troubleshooting to discover that you did not install the software as a service (always running in the background).
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


458 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

George L.

Data Engineer

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Nonrelational database for scalability

Reviewed 4 years ago

Transcript

George L: Hi, my name is George. I am a manager at a technology consulting firm, and I give MongoDB a...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Greg G.

Operations Fellow

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Stellar DB solution—Easy to learn!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Transcript

Speaker 1: Hey, I'm Greg. I am an operations fellow at an entrepreneurship center. And I give MongoDB...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Frank R.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MongoDB is the NoSQL leader and getting better

Reviewed 5 years ago

The first decision about whether to use MongoDB or not is whether you need a relational or non-relational DB. Once you decide a non-relational is best for you project, then MongoDB is a solid choice. It has the ongoing support of a professional team and is widely used in the market, especially for projects utilizing the MEAN stack. This makes it easier to deploy than other solutions.

Pros

MongoDB is incredibly easy to set up and use. The fact that non-relational DBs are better for more unstructured data, makes it so that you don't necessarily have to know exactly what the end state is going to be before building your schema. Its data throughput is also a key differentiator, so anything with Big Data is going to be a good fit for a non-relational DB and MongoDB, in particular. Finally, the team behind MongoDB is constantly improving the product and releasing updates, and there are several good data viewers in the market, including one from Mongo, for viewing the data and creating queries.

Cons

Creating metrics dashboards can be challenging due to the potential need for JOIN queries in your data. Anything that contains these will be harder to aggregate. Their aggregation framework can be hard to use and limiting for certain requirements.

OO
AvatarImg

Oussama O.

Computer Games, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Comprehensive Review of MongoDB: Pros, Cons, and the Bottom Line

Reviewed a year ago

MongoDB is an excellent choice for developers looking for a powerful, scalable, and reliable database solution. While the initial setup and learning curve can be challenging, the benefits of MongoDB's document-oriented data model and robust query language make it an ideal choice for many different types of applications.

Pros

MongoDB is highly reliable and offers unparalleled scalability. With its robust query language and powerful document-oriented data model, MongoDB is capable of handling complex data management tasks with ease. Additionally, MongoDB offers excellent support for developers, with a range of tools and services for managing databases.

Cons

Although MongoDB is a powerful tool, it can be difficult to set up, and the learning curve can be steep. Additionally, MongoDB's lack of support for joins, transactions and some data types can be a challenge for more complicated applications.

CG
AvatarImg

Colin G.

Building Materials, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Review#292-7777

Reviewed 8 years ago

This is a very suitable program for our organization.We are currently a medium sized construction company but the program is scaleable and very applicable to many different sizes,scenarios and situations.

Pros

It is Universal and is compatible with many different applications.

Cons

Not sure of what kind of storage space that it will require or consume.

AP
AvatarImg

Aniket P.

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MongoDB - The Best No-SQL Database!

Reviewed 3 years ago

I used MongoDB in a laboratory environment, adding access levels for users to access the data remotely. I also interacted with the database a lot and it was way easier to create and manage it. Furthermore, I never experienced a server-crash whilst accessing the data, which is fairly common for most other no-sql databases. Even-so, it just proves that it manages the memory well.

Pros

MongoDB has integrations with almost all computer languages used today, with even having an integration with Erlang (a very rarely used language). The drivers are easily available from open source contributors and works amazingly well. For a No-SQL database, it is amazingly well managed and easier to use in almost all other languages.

Cons

Its sort of confusing to manage the access control levels of the users, as it is all stored in json file. If there was a way to sort of make this process graphical or interactive, it would have reduced many access threats in a database.

AH
AvatarImg

Anees H.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MongoDB is the goto datatbase for any solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great, greatest

Pros

The ease of use. JSON type document helps me to scale my database model as the application is growing. Along with the powerful query language of MongoDB it's so easy to pull data from the data. MongoDB also gives free 500MB is space without giving any credit card and I found that very awesome!

Cons

I would like to see the compass getting more powerful and having many more features.

AH
AvatarImg

Abdelmadjid H.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great companion to Javascript back ends

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've launched a few products that use MongoDB and have been very happy with the performance and scalability.

Pros

MongoDB integrates very well with JS-based server code. It's fast and its dynamic, NoSQL nature allows for a lot of flexibility and creative use.

Cons

As MongoDB isn't as ubiquitous as other solutions like MySQL, there's a bit less tooling available and some IaaS platforms treat it as a second class citizen.

NB
AvatarImg

Naseeb B.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the best for Web Developers

Reviewed 4 years ago

My overall experience with MongoDB is good. I'm satisfied with it. It is much perfect when we are integrating it with JavaScript backend. I recommend using MongoDB for all the web developers as it provides great developer experience. The developers can setup easily and configure with their technology. I find MongoDB very useful, not only for the developers but also for the beginner students which can help them in their college projects.

Pros

First thing is there's no need of any Queries; it is the king of NoSQL. MongoDB is easy to user and learn too and also a flexible schema for changing data elements. Being a web developer, i work on JavaScript, so it's too good for Integrating with JavaScript backend like NodeJS. For the beginner and new comers, they have Mongo DB for free with certain amount of data storage.

Cons

Unlike SQL, it has no joins, which can sometime be an issue in some data retrieval cases. Sometimes it works very slow in the cloud environment. There are no functions available for Transaction. MongoDB's documentation is much confusing to the users. Even if it's easy to use and learn, learning MongoDB might take some time. I thinkg it is hard to work with complex queries.

AvatarImg

En Ü.

Defense & Space, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Document Store

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

MongoDB is the best document store on the market. For Java world it has all the APIs and framework support behind. It can also be used with Spring Framework Data. It has query dsl support. There is so many community support.

Cons

Coming from RDBMS world it could take a while to learn

SD
AvatarImg

Sudipta D.

Computer Networking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MongoDB - Database solution that every platform must have

Reviewed a year ago

It is must to have DB application that any software platform should have

Pros

Easy to get integrated with Python and building up business workflow with script runner being automated.

Cons

Customer support could be more improved .

VS
AvatarImg

Vinicius S.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Review for MongoDB

Reviewed 2 years ago

MongoDB is great for document-based storage on cloud environments.

Pros

Easy to use, learn and find support documentation. Fully cloud-based database.

Cons

Limit size for document and no transaction support.

PP
AvatarImg

Piotr P.

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Interesting alternative for relational DBs

Reviewed 2 years ago

To be honest, I wasn't too convinced about non-relational databases. Before I encountered MongoDB in one of my jobs, I was working only with MySQL and PostgreSQL and treated MongoDB as a curiosity. I was sorely mistaken. It is fast, reliable, and intuitive. A lot of clear documentation and helpful customer support made learning easy. However, in the beginning, I felt a little lost about queries or...

Pros

Ease of use. Customer support and documentation. Speed and functionalities. Flexibility.

Cons

May be hard to maintain if the structure is created in the wrong way. Beginners may get lost in more complicated queries

Ak
AvatarImg

Ajay kumar G.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best database for full stack development

Reviewed 6 months ago

With the large amount of built-in functions, I don't need to write some complicated queries in my project. I can also easily integrate with any of my projects. I won't need to extraneously install packages or tools needed to use the MongoDB Atlas. They also provide a custom role option for the CRUD option. This makes it more practical to use. Unlike other MySQL databases, MongoDB uses the BSON type to store data. that makes the database more fast and robust. And they also provide tools like MogoDB Compass for easier management. I can easily shift my data from one database to another using tools like Mongodump and Mongorestore. also one of the main reasons for me using MongoDB for its security. because they use popular platforms like AWS, Google Cloud, and Microsoft Azure to store data.

Pros

One of the fastest MySQL databases with a user-friendly database. You don't have to put that much stress into learning the MongoDB. The enormity of the built-in options makes this user easy to implement on their project. and easy to integrate with any framework (such as Node.js,Djanco, etc.). The detailed documentation with examples makes this even easier to use (in my opinion, most tools fail on complicated documentation with a lot of examples). The documentation provided by them was easy for even a beginner to understand. They also provide custom integration with top cloud-based platforms like AWS, Google Cloud, and Microsoft Azure. With the free storage space of 500 MP, everyone can use their database with a low amount of limitation.

Cons

From my point of view, I don't see any things I dislike about the MongoDB. They provided all the necessary things that I wanted.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Mongo DB

Reviewed 5 years ago

According to my experience with MongoDB it is good NoSQL database. It has good query capacity, Also when we going to solve some business problems some requirements are change when we build the system. At that time we have to change same database collections. MongoDB support it.

Pros

Mongo DB is non relational database (NoSQL). It is a document database. it has good query capacity. Very easy to install and setup Mongo DB. Also Mongo DB is schema-free, there fore our software (code) defines the schema. It support BSON data format, there fore no complex to write code with mongo db (most of programming languages support BSON data format. We can index the mongo collections and increase the query performance

Cons

When we need to query using two mongo collections (join two collection), we can use lookup feature. but the problem is Mongo DB lookup feature is slow. Also we have no option to run query among two or three collections like as Elastic Search. When we using Elastic Search we can run query among two or three indexes(collections). There for in Elastic Search we can move historical data to separate collections and improve query performance. if we need query with historical, Elastic Search support it. But using Mongo DB we have to handle it in programming side.

JM
AvatarImg

Jean M.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MongoDB Opensource Easy and Powerful

Reviewed 2 years ago

Because the data storage is in JSON-like documents, it is very easy to understand and visualize. Used in class, and currently implementing an app for a physical therapist that tracks clients exercises and progress. I like the fact that the storage is encrypted.

Pros

I was introduced to MongoDB in a bootcamp. It is free and opensource. I wondered how good free could be. In my opinion it beat firebase. Objects can be defined graphically or via your code. It is easy to interface with Postman. Commercial upgrades are available. Currently using Mongo for an app. Supports Node.js. there is a lot of documentation available for beginners.

Cons

Not suitable for complex transactions. An occasional backup is recommended. After a crash, you need to check your logs. In fact, you may not know it crashed until you check your logs. With a crash or reset documents may fall into an "unconfirmed" category and are lost. This may have bee corrected in more current versions. I don't know.

WC
AvatarImg

Wei Chun T.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easiest NoSQL DB for production app

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's straightforward to set up and offers multiple SDKs for use in application projects. The documentation is also readily updated and quickly followed.

Cons

Document size and nesting is limited in MongoDB, so if you have a requirement of document size more than 16MB or needing to have document with more than 100 levels, then this may not be a good choice.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sayam J.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

MongoDB- Simply NoSql

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

MongoDB is a NoSql DB which helped us to store the non relational data. Searching and storing capacity of this tool is really good as compared to other databases

Cons

If you are moving on it from RDBMS than you may face some issues in the starting else it is really good to go.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MongoDB is a powerful and dependable database that will lure you into the world of NoSQL

Reviewed 3 years ago

MongoDB is at the core of our programme, which needs pace and accuracy. It's mainly used by the tech runtime team, with other teams using aspects of the software using it implicitly. For all online and mobile applications created for our customers, I use MongoDB as a database. It satisfies all of our requirements. The service is of high quality, being dependable, convenient, and durable. It's the most up-to-date and successful platform for software development.

Pros

Change streams and graph queries are two common database principles that MongoDB has quickly embraced. For popular programming languages, there is excellent library support. Developers will find it easy to set up and configure. It's also simple to write a query. Good scalability so data can be efficiently shared and is available quickly . There are a lot of tools and help online. Since there are so many ready-made options available, it's pretty simple to set up in some conditions. If you know JSON then it going to be easy for you to use.

Cons

The user interface is a bit difficult to understand at first. They could make it easier to integrate with other NoSQL databases. When opposed to a SQL-based database, extensive aggregation queries in MongoDB can be challenging.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A tool that fits very certain needs

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Certain common operations are very very easy to spin up a one-off query for and utilize the data right then and there. In that sense, there is a very lightweight feel to developing with MongoDB at the start of most projects.

Cons

The design paradigms around MongoDB make it so that you will eventually want to add some sort of schema-type check somewhere in your stack. This will make development much simpler over time as the data begins to evolve. In general, there's a lot of other scaffolding you will want to do in order to sane-ly use a NoSQL as most people seem to want to (a quick start data store for a project that would otherwise benefit from a relational database). Not saying this is the "correct way" to use MongoDB, but just our experience within a system/framework like Meteor for example.

OD
AvatarImg

Osman D.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MongoDB_02-07-2022

Reviewed 2 years ago

I use it to store files to search text.

Pros

it is good to store document and unstructured data and it support transactions.

Cons

It is hard to use drivers because it serve async features because many developers have trouble understanding async functions.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ramindu D.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The de facto standard for document-based NoSQL databases

Reviewed 5 years ago

MongoDB has made it very easy to rapidly develop and deploy applications that require a document-store based NoSQL database solution.

Pros

MongoDB is the most widespread solution available in terms of a NoSQL database that manages data as a document store. It provides all the best features a NoSQL database should have to offer: clean and easy setup, simple syntax, as well as advanced features such as map-reduce and scaling capabilities. The BSON document type maps beautifully with the JavaScript stack, making it simple to wire up an application with a nodejs backend and any popular frontend JavaScript framework.

Cons

MongoDB can be hard to set up to support auto-scaling environments, and the best provisioned hosting options are quite expensive.

mg
AvatarImg

merve g.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Ideal for expanding enterprises

Reviewed 2 years ago

Comparing Google to Blackboard and Canvas, the whole experience is less than ideal. I have never used an application with so little support.

Pros

It is very dependable, quick, and suitable for many different database systems. Additionally, querying is so quick that it practically matches SQL databases in speed. You may also aggregate data from the tables using its queries.

Cons

To make something helpful for certain individuals, you occasionally have to eliminate functionality. In order to do that, functionalities might be disabled.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dilraj S.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Awesome NoSQL database

Reviewed 4 years ago

MongoDB provides most of the features of SQL databases, if not more, like aggregation, clustering, replication, compound indexes etc. Once configured properly, it lets you quickly start saving and fetching data very easily and efficiently.

Pros

Mongo comes as an alternative to SQL databases and provides vast number of features and flexibilty as compared to SQL databases. It can be used for storing huge amounts of data as JSONs and it provides seamless integration with tech stack using Node.js.

Cons

Even though Mongo allows you to build your application without a rigid schema, it still needs to be configured and architectured properly to make sure the performance is up to the mark when data size starts increasing.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Database Schema

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am a javascript developer and I always prefer to use MongoDB because it is very compatible with javascript world , I have setup many relations among the collections and it is very easy for overall web and mobile development.

Pros

1. MongoDB is very compatible with javascript based technologies such as Node.js , Angularjs and Angular2+. 2. Import and Export Database is very easy. 3. MongoDB also IDE to manage Database collections. 4. Executing Database Schema is really easy. 5. Setting up relations in MongoDB is very easy as compared to traditional SQL based Databases.

Cons

You need to have a little bit knowledge of SQL and Database queries to understand the MongoDB concepts for managing DB and running its functions.

AS
AvatarImg

Akshat S.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

BigData Tool

Reviewed a year ago

Overall experience is good, Pricing for the product is fair enough.

Pros

MongoDB provides flexibility to use any kind of JSON data. It is highly reliable and offers unique scalability.

Cons

Even though MongoDB is a power tool, It is back-breaking to setup and the learning curve could be sharp.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Cheshan S.

Research, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best NoSQL database for light weight project

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

I used MongoDb for my MEAN stack project which was a project management application.it is very easy to define datatypes and data fields in monodb with just a few line of codes.we actualy don't need to create data tables as in SQL.mongoDb will handle all that for us and another is with mongoDB there is no down times to update our databses because mongoDB will not requre script updates.that was very helpful in my roject because the application has to run all the time and collecting huge amount of data and also handling lot of concurrent users.so i think you need to try this mongoDb at least onece.

Cons

main cons whcich i was facing during my projects was there are no JOIN operations with mongoDb like in SQL.so i had to handle some application data retrivel process handle with whole dffertent qury.also i had some issues with concurent transation with my databse when application is in load test and performance testing levels.