App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Cherwell Service Management Logo

Cherwell Service Management

Customizable IT service management solution

(7)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Cherwell Service Management Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

163

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.5/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Very good user group community that free contributes mApps that significantly enhance functionality. Also has excellent business partners supporting a wide array of services.
This software is user friendly and easy to customize. This is a quality application that does much more than incident management.
I specifically like the ability to past in screen shots from clients and the ability to rout the ticket to a specific person or team for support.
It's slow, clunky, looses my actions constantly. Submitting a change request is an arcane ritual of pain and suffering to ensure it gets through all the channels.
This is the WORST helpdesk/itsm product on the market.
Once a user clicks into the case they've been assigned, it becomes very difficult to get a complete view of the thread and what has been worked on.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


163 reviews

Recommended

DS
AvatarImg

Derek S.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Total Cost of Ownership is the best in the industry

Reviewed 8 years ago

We had several systems at our company of the last few years. We have 20,000 users and over 400 locations spread throughout the world. We have used Lotus Notes, Heat, IBM Smart Cloud Control Desk. We went through major consolidation efforts for tools, people and processes. We are in the middle of a massive IT Transformation. We evaluated ServiceNow and Cherwell very closely with test instances...

Pros

Easy of use and intuitive nature.

Cons

Some current challenges with multiple developers working simultaneously. The DEV leadership at Cherwell is currently working to resolve this challenge.

CS
AvatarImg

Catherine S.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cherwell

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Flexibility and customization - if you have the time, you can build it.

Cons

ADA, mobile and browser apps (thick client for PC only)

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jason S.

Consumer Goods, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Implementing Cherwell took longer than expected but the results were worth the wait.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I enjoyed the support user experience. The layout is customization and easy to configure to fit the needs of each team that uses it. The permissions are granular, I was able to configure views for several teams while keeping the content team specific. The Knowledge Base management is put together very well. I found the asset tracking out of box experience pleasant also.

Cons

I would like to see more UI themes. Managing the AD integration was very difficult without third party support. It is very import that a qualified consultant is used with setting up and configuring Cherwell to fit your needs.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Food & Beverages, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Excellent help desk product

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've been working with Cherwell for 4 years. The product is extremely stable and safe. Through personalized screens it is possible to have a complete view of the activities that are being requested by priority, demand and responsible. To search for an extended call, the tool has quick and well-designed consultation screens. I also manage the process changes using the tool.

Pros

The ability to create customized panels with all the demands that are being requested, filtering by responsible analyst.

Cons

When we have a large number of queries on personalized screens the product loses a lot of performance. Creating micro-slowness. Even in the transition of their product. This could definitely be better.

JL
AvatarImg

John L.

Law Practice, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Unparalleled Flexibility

Reviewed 8 years ago

The application allows non-developers to create their own scenarios and solutions, and engage your users with highly-configurable dashboards, reports, and forms. With some more advanced knowledge, you can easily turn a basic ticketing system into a full-featured platform for your company.

Pros

The flexibility and ease of use. The licensing model is extremely flexible and makes sense in nearly every business case.

Cons

The depth. While this isn't generally considered a negative, the software is so deep that you tend to realize there are a half dozen ways to do the same thing, and if you're of the mindset where you constantly tweak your apps, you'll always find a better way to do something, even if you don't have the time/resources to do so.

BG
AvatarImg

Brian G.

Higher Education, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cherwell is amazing software

Reviewed 8 years ago

We've been using Cherwell since August 2014, and have yet to encounter something we can't make it do. The ability to develop the tool with the access to the same tools and features that their in-house and partner developers use means that we can build the tool exactly as we like at very little cost, and it provides numerous ways to build integrations to other tools and services, without needing to develop expensive bespoke code. Going back to anything else would be unthinkable.

Pros

User community, ability to modify to meet our needs, variety of hosting options, a vendor who is as interested in making the best possible tool as we are.

Cons

The webclient isn't quite up to par with the installed client yet. This is my only real gripe.

PT
AvatarImg

Picaso T.

Wholesale, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A lot of features and functionality, plus easy to configure.

Reviewed 7 years ago

I was involved in the selection process, we met with CA, ServiceNow, Landesk, and two others. Cherwell hands down was the best we viewed because of what you get out of the box, the ability to make tweaks, those tweaks do not get in the way of upgrades, upgrades are rather easy and painless, they have other functionality that will bolt on to the tool by simply importing a file, it is offered at a fairly affordable price although I think all vendors quotes we received were expensive in my book but what can you do, in this case Cherwell was lower than others, and unlike some their licensing model is a blessing.

Pros

That it is fairly easy to configure. The administration course contained a lot of information but once you start to play with it and build things out its sort of like riding a bike for the first time, well maybe more like flying a plane for the first time.

Cons

The overall look of the ticking window, very busy, a bit confusing for new users to figure out exactly what to fill in and where to go next on the page. Different sections, different font sizes, the colors, etc. make a bit difficult to navigate around. Again, you learn it over time, but if it's your first time using it, or with our IT staff some people rarely use it, this can make it difficult to know where to navigate. We are still in the testing/learning phase and about to go live, it will be interesting to see if our system administrators continue to develop and enhance the system over time, which the should do because in the week long administration class we saw first hand how powerful this tool can be, or will they just leave it as is which is a rather simplistic go-live model.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to manage your change management

Reviewed 6 years ago

Configuration is easy; Workflow is very easy to configure. Good documentation & training is available online.

Pros

You can easily configure and create Incidents and Change requests; easy to use workflow and very well integrated with Microsoft active directory. Support is available as a community website and or as a phone call.

Cons

Cloud based and it can be slow once in a while, but works most of the time it is fine. It is getting better after our feedback.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Cherwell was decent but with too much customization it become cumbersome and clumsy.

Reviewed 6 years ago

The best benefit is the ability to create and track tickets for your Service Desk, I would warn that you try to use it as out of the box as possible.

Pros

Cherwell has a great user interface and a low learning curve. We were able to use it rather easily after we had done the customization.

Cons

Customization is difficult and leads the the overall experience to decline I think. We had very specific needs and the changes we made were not done too well, especially since the consultant we had didn't know how to do them. We had to make all the changes ourselves and the system ended up slow and clumsy.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Ability to customize but not always in an optimal way

Reviewed 6 years ago

A consistent and streamlined presentation of employee service responses across multiple departments in our organization.

Pros

Organizes and streamlines our employee service responses across multiple HR departments. Reporting features are helpful.

Cons

We haven't always been able to customize optimally to reduce administrative burden. There are certain "statuses" we'd like to add that have been a challenge up to now.

RS
AvatarImg

Robert S.

Information Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Widget disparity between client application and web browser

Reviewed 8 years ago

All widgets are available in both the client and web parts of Cherwell, however, the widgets viewed in a web browser lack the same visual quality that you see in the client. Mainly graphs and grids differ between the client and web so much so that either widgets are doubled to accommodate the differences or separate dashboards entirely.

Pros

The application is incredibly customizable. You don't have to figure out how to cram a custom process into a fixed application, you just create your custom process with all and only the things and functions it needs, but still have the capability to link it to existing objects and processes

Cons

The lack of web browser compatibility development. However Cherwell is a company that actually listens to it's customers and they are constantly improving.

CD
AvatarImg

Catie D.

Machinery, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cherwell - The Best

Reviewed 8 years ago

We implemented in 2014, and it was the best decision we could have made. Cherwell is great. It gives us the functionality that we need, and we don't have to be programmers to make changes. It offers integration with so many other applications. It can be used for so many different uses. It goes above and beyond our expectations, and we have been able to use it for more than just IT. We only wish we would have found Cherwell sooner.

Pros

The fact that it has so much functionality, and you don't have to be a programmer to make changes.

Cons

There's almost too much you can do with it, and not enough time to accomplish it all.

DM
AvatarImg

Delcia M.

Translation and Localization, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Once you go Codeless you'll never go back

Reviewed 8 years ago

Cherwell has allowed our I.T. to really mature our IT and Business processes. We have made huge gains in providing our I.T. department with dashboards that provide real-time information. We no longer spend hours gathering reporting information. With Search Manager and Report Manager, you'll wonder how you ever did with out these. They are huge time savers and the best part of working within Cherwell Service Management is that you don't have to rely on Vendor support or Developers to re-customize and configure. It's all at your fingertips. Cherwell has certainly made our lives easier. We are looking forward to future gains that can be made with this super great ITSM tool.

Pros

It's codeless and super friendly

Cons

I don't have any cons at this point

KV
AvatarImg

Kevin V.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cherwell for Change Management

Reviewed 8 years ago

We did our implementation of Cherwell in an unconventional way. We started with the Change Management module because that is what we needed the most. From there we tackled Problem Management and then Incident Management. It was amazing how quickly we got Change Management working for Calvin IT. We did not have C.M. before so this was not only a technology project but also a culture change. Cherwell Software provided both a easy starting point out of the box and a easy path to make the changes we needed. The quick win in Change Management allowed us to tackle Problem and Incident with great momentum.

Pros

Easy to customize and develop new business processes

Cons

The portal needs to be responsive - the objects are currently static.

BS
AvatarImg

Brad S.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cherwell Service Management Review

Reviewed 8 years ago

Cherwell was a very easy application to install and configure to meet the needs of our organization. As the sole developer for the app, with the help of a vendor to start, we were able to get almost everything we needed up and running. Since the initial rollout, we've needed only occasional vendor support for some complex integrations, but everything else has been manageable internally. Overall, great product and easy to use and administer.

Pros

Easy to use and customize.

Cons

Sometimes not as powerful as you'd like.

SP
AvatarImg

Sue P.

Hospital & Health Care,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Sue Pip- MD Anderson.org

Reviewed 8 years ago

I have using Cherwell Service Management for the past 3.5 years as a Administrator. I find that Cherwell is easy to design basic requirements and also for difficult requirements. I find the upgrades are easy to preform, however they usually come with a few bugs that have to be fixed.

Pros

Easy to use for the end user

Cons

1st level of Support is not as knowledgeable they need to be when calling in for assistances.

RP
AvatarImg

Ray P.

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My Favorite Toy

Reviewed 8 years ago

If I can dream it, I can configure it in Cherwell. I love to describe it as playing a chess game with 5,000 pieces. My colleagues repeatedly ask, 'Can this be done? My usual response: give me 5 minutes and I will roll it out.

Pros

It can be configured in almost unlimited ways.

Cons

The features are so robust, sometimes I need assistance to find where to configure a tool.

SR
AvatarImg

Shantanu R.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing software

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It's extensibility. There hasn't been anything that we haven't been able to find an answer for so far.

Cons

Some current challenges with multiple developers working simultaneously. The DEV leadership at Cherwell is currently working to resolve this challenge.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

DILIP G.

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Cherwell Review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It's very handy to have issues and changes log and assign to specific users/groups, we were using this software more than 6 years, it also sends notifications to respective users.

Cons

Performance point of view it's little slow.

ZP
AvatarImg

Zsolt P.

Airlines/Aviation, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

To the future with Cherwell

Reviewed 8 years ago

We have implenented Cherwell 3 years ago, that was the 4.30 version. We have made a lot of customization and now we have 8.2.1 version there were any big problems with the upgrade, this is what other softwares can't do :)

Pros

Flexibility Customable

Cons

Need better portal features like web2.0

NA
AvatarImg

Neil A.

10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Deployment in large global FMCG

Reviewed 7 years ago

Started implementing in early 2016 for multiple business service units HR, Finance and IT finance and IT and now live for all. Approximately 3500 resolvers and agents (including third party outsourcers) and a user base of 50,000 internal consumers.

Pros

Flexibility for all needs Features Cloud Based Licensing model (concurrent resolvers) Serves HR and Finance as well as IT Covers our global needs

Cons

Professional services arm is less developed and less experienced in project management Language translations model proved troublesome for our requirements of many languages

JC
AvatarImg

Justin C.

Information Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cherwell Review from Cherwell Conference

Reviewed 8 years ago

This has been an amazing experience. Very informational and well presented. I am excited about attending next year as well!

Pros

Ease of use and incredible versatility.

Cons

Because of the versatility it is easy to overestimate your abilities.

TV
AvatarImg

Truong V.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Truong Review

Reviewed 8 years ago

I like the software and flexibility features. I am looking forward to add new usage and functions out side of ITSM.

Pros

Flexibility , codeless features.

Cons

Missing teaminfo object in earlier version (we started with 5.1)

KB
AvatarImg

Kevin B.

Financial Services,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect Solution

Reviewed 8 years ago

Whether you want a quick implementation OoB or a structure system to completely personalize for your firm, Cherwell has the tools necessary to track and manage your services.

Pros

Love the integration with REST and SOAP

Cons

No cons were added to this review

MS
AvatarImg

M S.

Environmental Services,

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Most flexible

Reviewed 8 years ago

Our ERP of IT and moving beyond IT. Many simple out if the box features or easily create your own with basic knowledge.

Pros

Easy and powerful

Cons

Documentation, though they are wirking hard to enhance