Cherwell Service Management Reviews

Cherwell Service Management Reviews

Cherwell Service Management

Customizable IT service management solution

4.62/5 (95 reviews)
1,577     7,682

Alyssa Schuster

Awesome Product

07/12/2016

Cherwell is a one-stop shop when it comes to functionality that a help desk needs. The one step buttons that allow technicians to close out easy tickets (like lockouts) is great, and even better that they can personalize them to what they see most.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Elam

Cherwell has changed my career life.

06/10/2016

Using Cherwell has been great because I have gotten to learn a new software product and how to develop in it, whereas before I was sort of stuck not doing any development work for years. CSM has challenged me to learn more and stretch boundaries in planning future projects for more innovative development, as well.

Pros

I really like how the company makes its customers feel special and makes us a priority, and how it is a software company that is proud of providing a code-less software product, that always seeks to be innovative and the best.

Cons

There are some quirks in the product that cannot be explained that exist in different places in the software that make troubleshooting a challenge at times. I have a One-Step, for example, that changes perspective after the 4th or 5th step, for some reason, and I had to build a work-around for it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Don't forget to enhance the readability on the System Analyzer feature. Also, I feel Customer Support could be more knowledgeable about the details of how to develop in the tool more, without having to always turn to Professional Services.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robin Jacobs

Best ITSSM Platform - Indespensible in Delivering Our Services

06/10/2016

Cherwell implements 11 ITIL process out-of-the-box which helped an immature organization like ours start practicing ITIL. It's automation capabilities are vast and robust. The single best part of this product is its philosophy. It is completely customizable to fit your organization's needs and if Cherwell doesn't do something another tool does or you want to continue to use that tool, Cherwell integrates with many tools natively, through merge application functionality, and lastly through general customization. Simply put, if you can dream it, Cherwell does it...and if it doesn't, it will integrate with something that does.

Pros

Everything! It is customizable to fit my organization's needs. I happen to be a programmer, but I don't need to be to develop and configure Cherwell. It implements robust and customizable frameworks that allow you to use it as you need to. Cherwell doesn't dictate ITSSM, it's your partner in it.

Cons

The customizability allows unwary or naive implementors, developers, or Cherwell Admins to make changes that ultimately reduce the awesomeness of the product. The biggest area of this is in implementing business processes. Before making changes, consider whether you business process is as effective as it should be, rather than making the product implement a poor-performing process.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Nope. I believe I covered it in the areas above. =)

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Bower

Cherwell is a very robust ITSM and beyond IT software

05/10/2016

This is a great tool that has allowed us to exceed our initial goals of ITSM needs. We have been looking at other areas to use the tool

Pros

robustness

Cons

robustness

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Get your processes defined and only deviate from OOTB if really needed

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bernie  Bernstein

Flexible and plays well with others

05/10/2016

CSM offers a truly flexible platform that allows mapping your business processes regardless of complexity or size. This enables your work flow, not what just the tool does. CSM also integrates with any REST api as well as offering its own. So what ever you want to do is possible.

Pros

Flexibility and integrations

Cons

Mobile client

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Truong Vu

Truong Review

05/10/2016

I like the software and flexibility features. I am looking forward to add new usage and functions out side of ITSM.

Pros

Flexibility , codeless features.

Cons

Missing teaminfo object in earlier version (we started with 5.1)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Plan for database trimming and archiving early.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sue Pippin

Sue Pip- MD Anderson.org

05/10/2016

I have using Cherwell Service Management for the past 3.5 years as a Administrator. I find that Cherwell is easy to design basic requirements and also for difficult requirements. I find the upgrades are easy to preform, however they usually come with a few bugs that have to be fixed.

Pros

Easy to use for the end user

Cons

1st level of Support is not as knowledgeable they need to be when calling in for assistances.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ray Perkins

My Favorite Toy

05/10/2016

If I can dream it, I can configure it in Cherwell. I love to describe it as playing a chess game with 5,000 pieces. My colleagues repeatedly ask, 'Can this be done? My usual response: give me 5 minutes and I will roll it out.

Pros

It can be configured in almost unlimited ways.

Cons

The features are so robust, sometimes I need assistance to find where to configure a tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

This is the perfect tool for those organizations needing to conduct unusual processes.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carsten Staunstrup

Best ITSM system in the market

05/10/2016

Everything is configurable in Cherwell so you don't need any code skills. It integrates well with other systems and is low cost.

Pros

Low cost and highly configurable

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Get a demo

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jason Johnson

Cherwell Review

05/10/2016

Great Customer Service. Would like to see a responsive web portal. But overall software ease is nice. and Great tool for our organization.

Pros

ease of use and great customer service

Cons

Responsive Portal an easier to migrate UI from older versions.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Hughes

Cherwell Software

05/10/2016

We came from Remedy 7 and cherwell is a breath of fresh air. Easy to use and the user community is a really awesome feature.Really looking forward to seeing how expandable Cherwell really is.

Pros

The flexibility and endless use of the product.

Cons

Have not found any yet

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Follow up with the user community

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hamid Panahi

Full Function Fun

05/10/2016

After months of research found the software that not only met our needs and delivered the requirements but did it with ease. User interface is simple and clear, admin functions are truly easy without the need to code. All this at a prices that is reasonable and sale able to the purse holders.

Pros

Ease of use and powerfully functionality without .to learn coding

Cons

None

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Don't settle for less.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wade  Weston

Awesome product

05/10/2016

Codeless technology is exceptional. Upgrades are very cost effective because they dont break things.

Pros

Codeless technology.

Cons

User Interface

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Zsolt Pap

To the future with Cherwell

05/10/2016

We have implenented Cherwell 3 years ago, that was the 4.30 version. We have made a lot of customization and now we have 8.2.1 version there were any big problems with the upgrade, this is what other softwares can't do :)

Pros

Flexibility Customable

Cons

Need better portal features like web2.0

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brian Gratrix

Cherwell is amazing software

05/10/2016

We've been using Cherwell since August 2014, and have yet to encounter something we can't make it do. The ability to develop the tool with the access to the same tools and features that their in-house and partner developers use means that we can build the tool exactly as we like at very little cost, and it provides numerous ways to build integrations to other tools and services, without needing to develop expensive bespoke code. Going back to anything else would be unthinkable.

Pros

User community, ability to modify to meet our needs, variety of hosting options, a vendor who is as interested in making the best possible tool as we are.

Cons

The webclient isn't quite up to par with the installed client yet. This is my only real gripe.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

If you're uncertain as to how you'd like to host it, start in Cherwell's SaaS cloud. The cost of doing so vs hosting yourself is basically a push, and having someone else manage the backend while you're building expertise is a good approach -- you can always migrate on-site later. It took us only a couple of hours, most of which was transferring data and waiting for domain name redirects.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Meagan Morris

I don't code, I Cherwell!

05/10/2016

This software has sent us light years from where we were before implementation with the stars to reach for. I truly feel empowered to drive efforts toward the future and am so thankful for the wonderful staff and fantastic fellow customers!

Pros

Easily customizable by a non programmer!

Cons

Reporting is a bit cumbersome.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Don't code, Cherwell!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Julie Brown

Cherwell is changing the way we deliver IT

05/10/2016

The service portal allows us to bring together our disparate forms and request processes into one central service request portal. This has, and will continue, to reduce the user request impact on the help desk. It also allows us to begin to provide our users with an "Amazon-like" experience. Anything is possible with the Cherwell Service Request Portal!

Pros

Ease of use. One single platform capable to be built out to fulfill any incoming request.

Cons

Not as "pretty" as other competitors. Mobile app leaves something to be desired.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steve Haupt

Cherwell just works and I love to tell others about it

05/10/2016

From the moment that we met the Cherwell folks in 2014 we knew that they were the right fit for us. They listen to their customers and they truly care about our needs and they encourage user input and interaction. There hasn't been a need that we've thought of that we either haven't been able to do or haven't been able to find an answer from the user community.

Pros

It's extensibility. There hasn't been anything that we haven't been able to find an answer for so far.

Cons

When building a new business object there are so many options and check boxes (that's good). The problem customers face is that we don't know exactly what all those check boxes do so would like to see additional documentation on those.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Time your training according to when you plan to actually start building or will start actually using the product. We took our training too early and forgot a lot of what we learned before we actually got started.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicalene Dooley

Just Jumping in

05/10/2016

I just started with this company a month ago and after having used Footprints for 3 years I found that this transition was relatively painless. I understood where thing were as our dashboards were similar.

Pros

This product has much more expandability than Footprints

Cons

It seems to have a lot of coding overhead

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Some module plug-ins need to be simplified

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Catie Dick

Cherwell - The Best

05/10/2016

We implemented in 2014, and it was the best decision we could have made. Cherwell is great. It gives us the functionality that we need, and we don't have to be programmers to make changes. It offers integration with so many other applications. It can be used for so many different uses. It goes above and beyond our expectations, and we have been able to use it for more than just IT. We only wish we would have found Cherwell sooner.

Pros

The fact that it has so much functionality, and you don't have to be a programmer to make changes.

Cons

There's almost too much you can do with it, and not enough time to accomplish it all.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

Buy, and implement as soon as you can. You won't regret it.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Grosspietsch

Excellent Product, Excellent Company

05/10/2016

Cherwell is a great company to work with, they are responsive and never leave you hanging. The product is very flexible, we went from a NO organization to a YES organization. When we have requests for functionality we can meet our customers needs using Cherwell. The code-less platform is a great way to customize the program and not hamper our ability to upgrade to the latest version.

Pros

flexible, easy to upgrade, complete vendor support

Cons

After version 7, the theme colors were removed.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ani Nicholls

Great Customer Service, Not Always Great Fixes

05/10/2016

I love developing in Cherwell. It's quick and easy, however it's a shame we cannot have multiple developers working on the same business object. Also, upgrading is simple, however there are bugs! I wish Cherwell had a hot fix/patch process.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Spindler

Cherwell - a great platform for our ITSM application

05/10/2016

Very good demo, entire staff very friendly and knowledgeable - 3rd party folks as well. Lots of assistance with helping us get to where we can develop and support on our own.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brad Saunders

Cherwell Service Management Review

05/10/2016

Cherwell was a very easy application to install and configure to meet the needs of our organization. As the sole developer for the app, with the help of a vendor to start, we were able to get almost everything we needed up and running. Since the initial rollout, we've needed only occasional vendor support for some complex integrations, but everything else has been manageable internally. Overall, great product and easy to use and administer.

Pros

Easy to use and customize.

Cons

Sometimes not as powerful as you'd like.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

none

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mike  Laskowski

Great software, great company.

05/10/2016

We've been using Cherwell for two years, and I still feel we've made the right choice. Its OOTB is excellent, and the ability to customize and expand the capabilities is great.

Pros

Works as expected. Easy to configure and is very intuitive.

Cons

Not really a "con", but our users are always coming up with new ways to use Cherwell.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Cherwell Service Management

It's probably going to be the best choice.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more