App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

DATABASICS Expense Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

42

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.8/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The versatility for us was key, we have very specific requirements and DataBasics was able to accommodate most of them. The support team is great to work with, very responsive and helpful.
The amazing DB staff from the our implementation team to our current support staff is the absolute BEST part of the entire process.
Moving from a paper tracking system to an electronic system has saved us money, allowed for better expense approval processes and increased the reimbursement turn around for our users.
I miss being able to have go between two functions in the application.
The inability to choose more than one expense to upload to an expense report, and then categorize and add them all to an expense report (instead of adding them one at a time).
Most of our users are used to simple and non-complex system. This system has many features those confuse users.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


42 reviews

Recommended

AN
AvatarImg

Angelo N.

Wholesale, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

DB Review

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Easy to use. Great control and visibility.

Cons

N/A. No Cons. Easy to use. When there is an issue, it gets fixed immediately.

LH
AvatarImg

Lisa H.

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great expense reporting tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was part of the team that selected DataBasics as our expense reporting option. We reviewed a few programs and needed an option that included the ability to capture Sunshine Act Data in a simple and accurate manner. We also needed to be able to pull Sunshine data for reporting. DataBasics provided the tool that was easy for our team to use and captures the Sunshine Act data in a manner that is easy to report. Any and all issues are resolved quickly and accurately by the support team. They will work with ANY staff member, individually if needed, and have the patience of saints!

Pros

Pros: Ease of use for both user and administrator. The support team is incredibly responsive, very pleasant to work with and resolve issues quickly.

Cons

Cons: Some of the HELP tools attached to the program are out of date and not terribly helpful. The reporting tools are great if you already have a report developed, but you cannot create your own reports easily. Then again, the support team tends to create ad hoc reports quickly.

AF
AvatarImg

Anne-France C.

Medical Devices, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Quite good overall. This software could be more intuitive to use

Reviewed 5 years ago

Harmonized way to do expense reports

Pros

What I like most is the fact that it is possible to use it anywhere, on multiple devices. I also like the receipt express.

Cons

As an admin, I don't like the fact that the different tables are not linked together (example: it is not possible to have WBS in the same file as the employees, when exporting Employee file in Data Piping). And VAT treatment is still very poor.

TG
AvatarImg

Traci G.

Pharmaceuticals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

2019 DataBasics Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

My accounts payable group had to manually process approx. 60 expense reports each week. This software not only saves them a considerable amount of processing time but it makes the entire approval routing and payment process more efficient.

Pros

The software is very user friendly. The general ledger extract, automated notifications and the availability to customize reports is extremely helpful. The security behind the rules and validation process, is ideal in helping my staff approve and make payment process efficient. The amazing DB staff from the our implementation team to our current support staff is the absolute BEST part of the entire process.

Cons

It would be great if the supervisors or managers that approve the expense reports, could do that simply by replying to the email notification

Vendor response

Thanks, Traci, for your thoughtful review of DATABASICS! We love to hear that you're saving time and making your processes more efficient. We're also thrilled to hear that the DATABASICS team has been so helpful throughout the whole process. We're also super thrilled to have you as a customer. Thank you for the time you took to tell others about us. -The DB Team

JP
AvatarImg

Jim P.

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great experience with Expense

Reviewed 7 months ago

Our experience with Expense has been very positive. Users have benefited from the software because it is easy to use and less time consuming than our previous process. The process of expense reports has been greatly improved and has become much more efficient.

Pros

I have been using Expense for almost 20 years. The implementation process went well all those years ago, and the product has continually evolved and been a very valuable tool for our company. Users really like the automated input of Visa charges. As the admin, I like being able to capture company specific information that was customized for us during implementation.

Cons

I have had very little issues with the software over the years. There is nothing I think of to point out as something I don't like about the product.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your kind words, Jane. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us and we work hard to make the pricing fair and affordable! We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to continuing our 20-year partnership!

NC
AvatarImg

Nancy C.

Aviation & Aerospace, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Aerovironment Expense reporting review

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've been the admin for our Databasics account for close to 13 years, and have had great experience using it

Pros

I like that the software is integrated with our other systems, where files load in daily to keep the companies changes current, such as employee files, and departments

Cons

I don't have an point of reference to compare this to

MS
AvatarImg

Mark S.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An easy to use expense tracking system that provides approval levels needed to manage your expenses

Reviewed 6 years ago

Moving from a paper tracking system to an electronic system has saved us money, allowed for better expense approval processes and increased the reimbursement turn around for our users. Using the mobile app and website allows approvals to happen from anywhere as long as an internet connection is available.

Pros

The software is easy to manage and setup. It is easy for the users to use. Mostly the Customer Support team is excellent in assisting when you have a problem. Individuals goes out of his way to get you a quick response to any problem or question you may have. It is great to have that kind of support behind you.

Cons

There are only a couple of cons I find about the program. When you want to delete a user you have to go to many different areas and delete the person before you actually delete the user profile. It would be nice from the employee record to click delete and the system asks if you want to delete all correlating records. The system is more designed to just make the user inactive versus actually deleting the individual completely. The other area is AD Hoc reporting. I feel the Jaspersoft report creation is not as easy as the rest of the program. You really need separate in-depth training on how to get the full benefits from the AD Hoc reporting portion.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and your feedback. We also appreciate your suggestion about deleting users and ad hoc reporting. We're also thrilled to learn about the benefits you've experienced in using DATABASICS.

SR
AvatarImg

Sherri R.

Construction, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall good product

Reviewed 3 years ago

DataBasics works well for us, our employees do both out of pocket and company PCard expenses. We recently upgraded our ERP system and DataBasics' support team was excellent at helping us work out the bugs.

Pros

The versatility for us was key, we have very specific requirements and DataBasics was able to accommodate most of them. The support team is great to work with, very responsive and helpful. DataBasics is very open to and supportive of new requests for features and has implemented several of them for us.

Cons

Creating new reports can be cumbersome, they're not very intuitive. However the support team is great and has helped me navigate and created what I couldn't. We have a final review process where the number of expense to review can get pretty high, when the numbers are high the system is slow to load them.

Vendor response

Hi Sherry, Thanks so much for your review. We're happy to hear that the support team has been such an asset to you. They're very proud of their commitment to our customers and we're happy that you're also experiencing the result of that commitment. We've noted your concern with the load time and we'll continue to strive to make it faster to load. All our best, The DATABASICS Team

DE
AvatarImg

Dawn E.

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Databasics works for our team's expenses

Reviewed 7 months ago

We have been happy with DB expenses for years.

Pros

It's great that this sofware is web based. Our employees across the US are easily able to enter their expenses, apply imported credit card charges, upload/attach receipts and submit from home or remote offices. It nicely integrates and uploads into our accounting software, MS Business Central.

Cons

We have many projects and many tasks for each project. The expense entry can be a little confusing for new users with so many choices, it would be nice if we could narrow down choices/options per employee.

AA
AvatarImg

Aiza A.

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and very efficient.

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

This software is the most friendly user from all we've test from, that there is sometimes no need to train new employees/users. It can also be setup according to what your company needs. From setting up max limit for expenses to setting up max approval amount for supervisor.

Cons

Can't think of any. For automation to be as efficient you will need both human and electronic intervention. This software gives you those options.

CL
AvatarImg

Calvin L.

Defense & Space, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great system - requires a savvy administrator

Reviewed 2 years ago

Really like the system. Just can be a little cumbersome at times.

Pros

The sheer flexibility and customization of the system is beautiful. You can tailor it to most any preferences or nuances your company has. This allowed me to set up a system that met a plethora of user needs on day one.

Cons

The downside of the flexibility is that the system requires a savvy setup and admin team. A lot of the maintenance can be tricky. Once you understand it, it is wonderful and powerful, but is overwhelming to some people.

Vendor response

Thanks for leaving us a review. We are thrilled that you loved DATABASICS' flexibility and customization; our team will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We also appreciate the feedback on maintenance. So, thanks for your sharing your thoughts and we look forward to continuing to provide above-and-beyond customer service for your organization. With all our best, The DB Team

LT
AvatarImg

Lisa T.

Consumer Goods, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

DataBasics for Travel & Entertainment Expense Management

Reviewed a year ago

Flexible software (customizable). Great customer service.

Pros

This software suits our needs. We have some reimbursement programs for our Sales employees that are non-standard in the industry and DataBasics works with us to customize the software to our needs.

Cons

In Admin, sometimes an Expense Policy/Rule gets deactivated unintentionally because we touched another Admin area related to the Policy/Rule. Would be great to get a notification of what Policy/Rule gets deactivated when we make a change elsewhere, so we can take appropriate steps to ensure the Policy/Rule is reactivated if necessary. I also find Reporting to be a bit hard to use and not too user friendly. However, DataBasics is always quick to respond with any assistance we need.

Vendor response

Hey Lisa, we appreciate the fantastic review and are glad we could be of service. If you have any further needs or questions, please reach out!

RK
AvatarImg

Renee K.

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great software, easy to administer and support staff are amazing, always willing to help.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Staff are responsible for inputting their own reports and the automation of the approval process.

Pros

The product is easy to use and administer and the functionality has come a long way since we started using DATABASICS. They are constantly improving their software and their procedure documentation. They are always willing to help us deal with situations or new configuration requests, coming up with solutions or adding them as a future enhancements. I love working with their employees, they are always willing to listing and meet with me to discuss items. DATABASICS started to provide webinars so that you can learn new things about the software as well as using them as a refresher.

Cons

My least favorite thing about the software is the reporting, within DATABASICS admin and Jasper. Jasper reporting is something that I don't use all the time so I have to familiarize myself with it when I do go in and use it. However they have had some webinars on Jasper reporting which has been helpful as well as documenting what's included in the domains. Within the admin console there are some admin audit data that is hard to understand but they are working on improving these.

Vendor response

Thank you Renee for your honest review of DATABASICS. We appreciate the opportunity to hear your thoughts on the Expense product and we love having the chance to support you and your team with answers to questions and solutions to problems. Hearing about how the Support team has helped you in the past has made our day!

LF
AvatarImg

Larisa F.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

AAPA

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm very satisfied with Databasics as Admin and had not heard any complains from AAPA employees.

Pros

AAPA has been using Databasics for processing business related expenses. This Software has four ways to create expense reports. People can create reports on their computer as well as mobile phones. Databasics is good to use for internal control. The system sends e-mail notifications to employees and supervisors to apply credit card charges and approve expense reports. Using Google Maps, it is easy to do a personal car mileage. The system will automatically calculate it for you. The customer service is fast and efficient. In addition, they are ready to immediately solve any problems.

Cons

We do not have any complains about Databasics.

Vendor response

We so appreciate your thoughtful review. We'd so glad to hear that you've had an excellent customer service experience and that the software works well for AAPA. Thank you for your time leaving a review!

SD
AvatarImg

Sharon D.

Public Safety, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Complete information

Reviewed 4 years ago

Databasics has been a project that was implemented slowly and cautiously as most of our contractors are not up to date with technology. Unfortunately it cause a huge problem when trying to get the correct information from them. Databasics has solved most of this issue. The support I have recieved (even witn stupid errors) is extremely fast. The phone app is the greatest! Our employees using the phone app are up to date with their information and as a company we can now see where our strengths and weaknesses are in regards to the cost of goods sold as well as expenses.

Pros

Prior to this software our company expense informaiton was all over the place and difficult at best to pull together when invoicing a customer for a completed project. now that all of our employees submit their time and expenses through Data basics I can acces all the expenses for a job within a few minutes by running simple report. The Databasics team was very helpful in

Cons

1. Cant hit the back button 2. I would like to be able to match a cc charge to an existing entry.

Vendor response

Thank you for your thoughtful review of DATABASICS! We love to hear that you're now empowered with data about your organization. We're also thrilled to hear that our support service has been beneficial in solving unforeseen or unexpected problems. We are very appreciative of the time you took to tell others about us. Thank you bunches and bunches! -The DB Team

TG
AvatarImg

Tara G.

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

DataBasics Expense Reporting Module

Reviewed 2 years ago

Benefits include a mobile platform for approvals and expense reporting. Electronic storage of documents to reduce office supply and storage costs. Automatic workflow with audit trail helped increase accountability and resulted in quicker turnaround for approvals.

Pros

The customer support is phenomenal. The Expense Modules are great for functionality available.

Cons

Too many clicks to get to the final functions which led to some user confusion in processes. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] reporting was limited. Could not limit accesses that dictate compliance in order to provide more visibility company-wide.

Vendor response

Dear Tara, thank you for recommending us in your review! We're glad we made your experience with us a great one and will be happy to help you again soon. We think you're "phenomenal" too!

LF
AvatarImg

Linda F.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

10 Excellent years of service.

Reviewed 3 years ago

From the implementation team to the technical support team, they have always, gone above and beyond to satisfy our needs and provide excellent service and support.

Pros

DATABASICS has been our T&E Expense reporting service for over10 years, they have been very attentive to our needs and requirements, have made many customizations to fit our culture and needs. They also, have a great implementation and support team.

Cons

Soo many upgrades! I know they are required, but with a company like ours who has so many customized fields, every time there is an upgrade we need to test and retest our transactions to ensure everything is still functioning properly. However, they are included in the package price.

Vendor response

Dear Linda, Thanks for leaving us such a kind review. We are thrilled that you loved your 10-year experience with DATABASICS Expense and our team; our staff will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We also appreciate the feedback on the upgrades. So, thanks for your thoughtful words and we look forward to continuing to provide above-and-beyond customer service for your organization. With all our best, The DB Team

LW
AvatarImg

Lori W.

Construction, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Response

Reviewed a year ago

None.

Pros

Easy of use, user friendly and DB working with our company on improvements.

Cons

Other options for mapping out mileage, if you are not taking a direct route.

Vendor response

Dear Lori, thank you for letting us and the community know about your fantastic experience with us! We're thrilled that you found us within your budget and you've found DATABASICS to meet your needs.

SH
AvatarImg

Sean H.

Insurance, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I work with this product everyday and incorporate new employees into its use.

Reviewed 6 years ago

We are now able to keep up with reports and receipts per manager in one secure location.

Pros

The software is user friendly. We are able to train managers within an hour on how to use DB. Being able to adjust a report before reimbursing is a breeze and the validation makes it much easier to keep up with per diem for our managers.

Cons

The reporting. I would like easier was to extract information from the system as well as receipts. If there were ways to mark them so I could pull all of them up when I generate a report to provide support for the charge.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and your feedback. Please reach out to us in the future if we can help with reporting and extracting information! We're here to help at any time.

HB
AvatarImg

Hardeep B.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

System that was provided is Travel Expense system. We were looking for Purchase Card Program.

Reviewed 5 years ago

we were able to implement this software as Purchase Card reconciliation system for CACI. This system will allow users to reconcile transaction and attach back up documents, those will be stored in the system up to 7 years. The need to be able to store documents online for 7 years is what lead to the implementation of this system.

Pros

It's an advance system and accommodated what were looking for even though it was not Purchase Card system.Customer rep helped us made this system function as we expected it to work. From the start, he took the time to sit down with the team to understand our project needs. We understand this is common for implementations but what stood out what his willingness to understand the intricacies of our program and mutually work to develop solutions that work for us (and not just implement solutions that other companies have used).

Cons

System can be improved with minor tweaks those will have huge impact for users. Most of our users are used to simple and non-complex system. this system has many features those confuse users. specially the non-tech users.

Vendor response

Thank you for your thoughtful and thorough review! We pride ourselves on the functionality of our product and on our customer service team, so we're thrilled to read that you are satisfied with both. We look forward to many more years of a productive relationship and we hope that you'll continue to reach out to us if you need us. Thank you again!

TR
AvatarImg

Tom R.

Music, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Databasics is the most user friendly T&E application we have used in the past 15 years!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

User friendly! The admin functionality is very easy to navigate. The application flags policy exceptions for offshore audit team as well as approvers in the 4 level approval flow. Split screen capabilities allows audit team and approvers to view receipt attachments at the line item level. The application handles ALL interfaces/feeds from Amex, HR, PRS system and SAP. The Jasper reporting tool used for budgeting, T&E Spend and exception reporting. Helpdesk is actually VERY HELPFUL!!

Cons

Nothing really bad to say about the application it self, the help portal at times is a bit cumbersome.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

SV
AvatarImg

Sue V.

Defense & Space, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

From the time we chose DATABASICS , I have always had excellent customer support from the team.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The ease in the creation, approval(s) of the TA (Travel Authorization) including the travel advance option. Along with ease in the creation, approval, and payment of Expense Reports. It is extremely helpful that American Express provides a daily data feed with the employee's AMEX charges along with the currency exchanges for the International expenses.

Cons

I miss being able to have go between two functions in the application. For example, the ease in going from the Expense Screen and the Admin screen. Perhaps this has changed since my last upgrade.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review, Sue! We're thrilled to hear about how our customer support team has always been helpful for you. We look forward to continuing to resolve problems and answer questions. We're also glad to hear about how easy you've found it to create, approve, and reimburse expense reports. Thanks for the feedback on the admin view

DS
AvatarImg

Dana S.

Individual & Family Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sr. System Analyst

Reviewed 7 months ago

Exceptional and very willing to work and develop to fit our needs. Flexible!

Pros

how easy it is for the end user to use, if there is an issue Support is VERY responsive and helpful

Cons

Haven't really had any Cons about this software.

Vendor response

Hi Dana, thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We are so delighted that you rate our service as 5 stars as we strive to provide just that for all our customers. We think you're "exceptional" too! Best wishes.

FW
AvatarImg

Frank W.

Wholesale, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use product

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good product

Pros

Easy expense capture using your smart phone

Cons

Reporting features and expense tracking is very weak

Vendor response

Dear Frank, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience! If there's anything else we can help you with, please let us know.

DB
AvatarImg

Dee B.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

the best customer service

Reviewed 2 years ago

customer service was excellent, always went above and beyond. They were patient as we were learning how to run reports, upgrade, etc.

Pros

fairly intuititive, most associates were able to use it with minimal training

Cons

sometimes associates got a little lost between the credit card & the expense screens.

Vendor response

Thanks for leaving us a review. We are thrilled that you loved how intuitive DATABASICS is and how responsive our team is to your needs; our team will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We also appreciate the feedback on the different screen between credit cards and expense. So, thanks for your sharing your thoughts and we look forward to continuing to provide above-and-beyond customer service for your organization. With all our best, The DB Team