FreeAgent Reviews

FreeAgent Reviews

FreeAgent

UK online accounting software for small businesses

4.28/5 (25 reviews)
11,140     11,431

Rebecca Dixon

Great software

01/02/2017

I've been using free agent for invoicing and accounts for a client of mine and it is so easy and intuitive. When you do get stuck their customer service team are available and ready to help.

Pros

Easy to use and efficient.

Cons

Some of the entry and location of contacts could be smoother.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tim Brownbock

Not bad, but not great!

05/12/2016

The software is well organized and basically fits our needs, but could use improvements in many key areas. One being reporting and employees - former employees remain listed for reports even though they are not needed. It would be far easier to just list active employees to make creating reports easier. Add to that that there is no way to create custom reports that you use regularly. All and all the software works well, it just needs some enhancements to these areas to make it easier to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Toby Hoare

Verified Reviewer

Simple Accounting for UK Businesses

25/08/2016

As a business owner with minimal accounting experience I was introduced to FreeAgent about three years ago. It has transformed our business from cumbersome spreadsheet accounts and Word invoices to a really convenient and efficient system.

Pros

Automated invoicing and accounts overview that highlight things before they become an issue. Fantastic UK based support team.

Cons

A little more expensive than some of the competitors.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering FreeAgent

Give FreeAgent a try. It is simple to use and well worth the money.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Oscar Hibbert

Verified Reviewer

Exceptionally Poor Customer Support

18/09/2015

I originally found Freeagent around three years ago. I was very excited when I found I could use Freeagent through "My Business Works", a service offered by Barclays, at a reduced rate - except nobody decided to make it clear support is outsourced to "My Business Works" - perhaps the most key feature of freeagent. For around three years I have always been in contact with friendly, kind and lovely staff at Freeagent who have always been happy to provide us with support - I have always avoided "My Business Works Support" as their staff are especially unhelpful, condescending and rude. That was until today. A stubborn, although polite lady refused to give us support despite my explanation of the poor support "My Business Works" offers. Quite simply her unkind, unfriendly action has lost a customer, we are moving to a far more powerful and equally easy to use software called Xilo, with much better support in January. I used to think Freeagent was an actual service whereby one might not be bound to the selfish red-rape rules of the world, and was instead a friendly platform with every customer's interest at heart. I would recommend all to consider Xilo over Freeagent. That is of course unless you want a kick in the teeth for being a long-term loyal customer!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
3 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FreeAgent UK online accounting software


Hello Oscar,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

My name is Kevin McCallum and I am Business Development Director at FreeAgent and directly responsible for managing our relationship with MyBusinessWorks.

I'm really sorry that you've not had a good experience with MyBusinessWorks support and I wanted to let you know that we take these kind of issues very seriously and I am currently discussing this matter with MyBusinessWorks.

As you know from your previous discussions with our support team, we do take all our customer support obligations very seriously and pride ourselves on the support we provide to our customers. It is worth pointing out that MBW provide support on a number of the products you have access to through their package, whereas at FreeAgent we focus solely on our own software.

The only way to receive full unlimited support from our support team would be if you were a direct subscriber to FreeAgent. As we’ve said previously, if you wanted to transfer your account over to become a direct subscriber then we would be more than happy to help you do this. If you'd like to do this please email me on kevin@freeagent.com and I can arrange it for you

To reiterate, I'm sorry that you are not happy with the support you have received from MBW but I am now dealing with this personally.

Kind regards,

Kevin

Read more
Mandie Lal

Verified Reviewer

Perfect Companion for Accounting

31/08/2015

I was introduced to Freeagent by my accountant, Balance Accountants. My business needs are met very easily with Freeagent, I have a small company which is Residential Care and Home Care business. The cloud base system allows my accountant to access my work and I'm able to have meetings with bank managers etc without having to lug lots of paperwork about, everything is at my fingertips. Also im based in the South and my business and accountant are in the North, so logistically it works very well for me. The system I have found very easy to use and if I have ever got stuck, my accountant can sign in and talk me through it. Once you get yourself set up and familiarised, you won't believe how much simpler accounting gets. I use for all bookkeeping and invoicing. I would use it for payroll but hey....my payroll lady would be out of a job! But I reckon she uses it as she's always smiling never stressed.

Pros

Live bank feeds, easy to use, perfect for invoicing, accounting for small businesses, keeping the accountant and bank manager happy with the efficiency! It does everything (for me and my business needs) apart from making me coffee :-) Always a pleasure using freeagent, it's really fun to use!

Cons

Ive been using it for nearly two years.... Can't fault it! Not sure if I could add a further business to the platform, for example: using same login details but be able to switch between businesses?? That would be really good.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bryan Oak

Verified Reviewer

Great for keeping things organised

27/08/2015

I've been using FreeAgent since 2011 and its really helped to keep my business in control. Tracking of finances, bills, invoices as well as time and expenses is straightforward, and most importantly keeps my accountant happy at year-end!

Pros

Easy to use Excellent customer support

Cons

Doesn't handle subcontractors as a distinct category of user. We have associates who book time and expenses which are billed to clients. We have to set them up as employees and then work around VAT, etc. to make sure we charge customers right amounts and pay contractors accordingly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Jordan

Verified Reviewer

A Fun to Use Accounting App

19/01/2015

Sounds like an Oxymoron doesn't it, Accounts & Fun. FreeAgent is just that, fun to use, easy to understand and fast. It has everything you need, links to your bank, multi-currency, great invoicing templates I could go on & on, but it's best feature is the top notch world beating support, they understand business, and are quick and willing to help. Highly Recommend.

Pros

It's Fun to Use. It's easy to Use. Great dashboard gives up to date snapshot of the business

Cons

Definitely not a Con. :-)

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FreeAgent UK online accounting software


Thanks, that's very kind of you!

Read more
Kevin Partner

Verified Reviewer

Excellent

19/01/2015

I've been using FreeAgent for several years and now do the book-keeping for four separate companies using it. Having changed from the abominable Sage, I found FreeAgent a breath of fresh air. Even for my busiest company, I find I only have to do the book-keeping when the VAT is due every quarter and it takes no more than a day. At the end of each financial year, I give my accountant restricted access to they can prepare the accounts. I also find the advice I get from FreeAgent priceless- whether that's what I can claim for "home use" or how to iron out inconsistencies with journal entries. Overall, an excellent product. My only criticism is that the automatic downloading of bank statements takes so long that I've turned it off and manually download/upload them as it's quicker.

Pros

Easy to use Fully featured Good guidance built into the process of "explaining" entries Fairly efficient "guessing" of transactions Excellent support

Cons

Automatic bank account synchronisation doesn't work efficiently for me (I use Lloyds)

Source: GetApp
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tristan Bailey

Verified Reviewer

Great service

19/11/2014

When moving to freelancing this was the first product I was recommended and using it has been great. Its nice and clean and I havent had any issues with getting clients to pay with it past the normal hurry alongs. They have been very quick and clear to answer my accounting questions too.

Pros

It keeps everything paired down and simple and easy to find. Also feel I have learned more about how to file my taxes with the built in pages and submission. Loading data form my bank account and tagging it saves time too.

Cons

I would like to be able to search my bank account entries to check all is tagged up.

Source: GetApp
3 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
maria galvan

airplane mechanic

21/09/2014

I just saw my email about my allowance

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Henry

I like Freeagent

18/03/2014

I've been using freeagent now for just under a year and I'm really impressed by the amount of work that has gone into making this such an intuative accounting package. The customer support is quick and it has a number of excellent features, although I would like to see more - things like the lack of proper multi currency support is an issue for me also...and it has been on the 'to do' list for some time now.

Pros

Ease of use, good features, excellent graphics, totally customisible

Cons

There are some niggly bugs that still pop up every now & again. Although none of these are major (e.g. a bank account feed stop working etc.) and they are simple to fix, it does take time away from what I'm supposed to be doing.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
alg000

lacks multi-currency support

03/04/2013

FreeAgent lacks proper support multiple currency. Around a year ago, they said they were adding it. A year later, it's still not there! If you need this feature, its absence is a real killer. Xero seems to have it.

Pros

Interface is pretty good.

Cons

They say they are "working on" this crucial feature but a year later, nothing.

Source: GetApp
2 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from FreeAgent UK online accounting software


Hi there. FreeAgent has multi-currency, multi-language invoicing and as of early 2014 allows you to record bank accounts in a foreign currency also.

Read more
Anna

Easy Accounting for my Services Firm

07/01/2013

FreeAgent has made the management of my creative firm a little less painful. The new mobile site has really saved me a ton of time allowing me to keep up on invoices while on the road.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James

Perfect tool for freelancers

23/04/2012

I am an IT freelancer in the UK with almost no bookkeeping skills. The application has intuitive interface and is quite easy to use. At the same time it has extensive functionality. I can do my invoicing, providing quotes, estimates, etc... I am using it with Google Apps

Pros

Google apps integration

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Colin Hewitt

FreeAgent saved us so much time

08/11/2010

Really well thought through product. Designed with small businesses in mind rather than just trained accountants!

Pros

Quick to understand Nice dashboard. Quite motivating to see that invoice timeline! VAT returns are so much easier. All of our team can use it.

Cons

Very little, would like projects to work slightly better, and be able to add projects on the fly. And automatic bank feeds which are coming soon will be great. It would be nice to generate invoices and bill part of them up front.

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ben Stege

Clean and easy to use interface

06/11/2010

FreeAgent is an easy to use accounting system with integrated proposal, invoicing, expense and mileage modules, as well as the usual accounting functionality like VAT and bank account reconsolidation (explaining all transactions). We find that it offers good value and saves us time and hassle. Declaration: we offer FreeAgent to our clients but have tried to keep this review as objective as possible for the sake of credibility. We do use FreeAgent ourselves after having reviewed a few online accounting systems.

Pros

- Clean and easy to use interface - Easy and professional invoicing with email templates and automatic reminders - Integration with Google Apps (single sign on - universal navigation) and Capsule CRM - VAT calculations with easy linking to HMRC

Cons

None so far. It would be great if we could have an even deeper integration with Capsule and perhaps other CRM's as well?

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vishal Anand

Verified Reviewer

17/04/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: GetApp
Read more

20/02/2017

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Sarah Killarney-Ryan

Verified Reviewer

13/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Richard Lalchan

Verified Reviewer

23/01/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Tony McManus PMP®

Verified Reviewer

29/10/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Nick George

Verified Reviewer

12/10/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Hassan M. Bashir

Verified Reviewer

01/12/2015

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more
Omar Cafini

Verified Reviewer

28/10/2015

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Geoff Wedgwood

Verified Reviewer

08/10/2015

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more