App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MessageBird Logo

MessageBird

Enterprise cloud communications platform

see alternatives

MessageBird Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.5

/5

129
92%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.83/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Fantastic pricing when purchasing in bulk with a very easy to use interface. Reporting is excellent and it's easy to find out the status of messages sent.
The dashboard is beautiful and intuitive, and documentation and supported features like the flow builder are very well done and easy to use.
What I appreciate most about this software is the fact that it integrates easily with other solutions and has a great uptime and performance.
MessageBird is restricted by their "provider" who severely limits sms content, frequency and volume.
We have some deliveravility problems with some phone numbers.
Our 600$ is still stuck with them. They haven't refunded the amount at all.

MessageBird users...

Twilio-logocaret
listing-logo

Twilio

How would you rate MessageBird?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


129 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

MessageBird is an absolute 5-star virtual VOIP telephone service

Reviewed 4 years ago

When we moved our warehouse to a new location, our former provider promised to both keep our existing phone number, that our business had used for 3-years, as well as have a fiber-optic connection in place. In reality, we got neither. At the new location, telecom companies quoted 5k to install a fiber-optic line, and the phone was a low-quality copper line with no option to keep our previous number....

Pros

1. Cost, cost, cost 2. Phone call-flow flexibility 3. Availability - services just what you needed 4. Fulfilment of custom number requests 5. Ease of use - literally a monkey could do it! 6. Reliability 24/7/365 7. Analytics and automatic contact saving 8. Team friendliness and helpfulness 9. Service expansion opportunity e.g. using SMS marketing 10. MessageBird concept helping businesses

Cons

1. The only thing that we still have not grasped is how to link an API to a physical on-the-desk phone, or a WiFi phone so that inbound call can be both received, as well as diverted to mobile phones if there is no one to reply the main phone. No tutorials or guidance of wifi phone models provided, yet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This Bird Is HAPPY!

Reviewed 4 years ago

As mentioned above, Messagebird has allowed us to create a better overall customer experience by giving us the ability to proactively reach out to our customers via text in real time when we know about a time sensitive issue. Super helpful!

Pros

Messagebird has been super helpful to us over at our company in New York City. It allows us to proactively reach out to our customers via text message on mass. No other company allowed us to have that same functionality and still offered a nice and easy to use user interface. We love it!

Cons

I don't love that we need to split lists of numbers into smaller groups and send from different numbers. I wish that part could be handled via automation on the backend.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Communicate With Loved ones Using MessageBird

Reviewed a month ago

It helps to attract customer by its feature of text messaging

Pros

1. Its easy to use interface attracts users to use the software in daily use. 2.Great performance as well as least errors. 3. All tools under one roof.

Cons

1. Way to expensive than other available messaging provider apps. 2. Customer support is one of the biggest problem as it provide the porest customer support to users. 3. Need approval form message team to upload links and more.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent customer support! Great developers

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have only had a good experience with messagebird. The software is always getting better and their customer support is unmatched. We will continue to use them and have no desire to look for another provider.

Pros

I like the documentation and how easy it is to integrate messagebird into any project. We use the service as part of an alarming system for IoT monitoring. The only issues we have ever faced were caused by us, and the wonderful support at messagebird has helped us out many times.

Cons

The only cons are with from carrier restrictions in the united states and not from messagebird.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

100% Deliverable

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

With comparing to other providers, SMS delivery accurate is very high. All SMS will be deliverred to my customers. And easy to use everything with userfriendly dashboard.

Cons

No instant funds add option. Every paypal payments will be approved manually by staff. But within 1-2 days payment will be approved. It is better if you can set it instant.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Easy System To Use

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a business we use a lot of communication methods, but we feel a text message achieves the best results

Pros

We can copy and paste telephone numbers from a spread sheet straight into MessageBird to avoid manual update

Cons

I like everything about it - I had a problem with finding my saved templates when the system was updated - but that was my own failure to look properly

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great service, great price

Reviewed 4 years ago

Very polite customer service, very easy to deal with. Very pleased after moving away from our previous provider.

Pros

Fantastic pricing when purchasing in bulk with a very easy to use interface. Reporting is excellent and it's easy to find out the status of messages sent.

Cons

Perhaps provide more 'plugins' to various different pieces of software to widen availability.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Happy customer

Reviewed 4 years ago

excellent

Pros

Easy to use SMS gateway, i'm using it for several clients. The API is simple and MessageBird is an cool company from Amsterdam

Cons

sometimes there is an delay in delivery the txt message (SMS)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

message bird review

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

what i like most about this software is the messaging and the way the software is set up

Cons

software is great nothing is need to be improve at this time

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for sending text messages

Reviewed 4 years ago

We’ve been sending lots of reminder texts for our service and it has helped to get our message across.

Pros

Comprehensive tool, lots of options. Excellent flow builder.

Cons

Menu on the left could be a bit more user friendly. It only shows icons, not really clear what they mean all the time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy-to-use service, great for testing texting outreach

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, I would recommend the system - easy-to-use, simple solution with helpful customer service. Some of their feature challenges are being addressed.

Pros

The software is very easy to use. We use it in conjunction with our CRM platform, Zendesk, because we were looking for a system that would integrate with Zendesk easily without involving complicated engineering involvement. MessageBird fit the bill and has allowed us to engage in quite a few text outreach campaigns to customers (mainly transaction in nature, not promotional) at minimal cost and fuss - no engineers required. The system integrates fairly well with Zendesk (still some kinks) but it's workable. Time will will if MessageBird proves to be a good long-term solution, but they are working on their offerings. Their customer service is also very pleasant and very helpful, even through some technical challenges.

Cons

The software is not as popular in the US as in Europe, which, especially early on, caused a few more issues setting up the system. There are also some areas where the system *appears* to be less robust than similar solutions in the texting space (like Twilio). There appears to be less flexibility in automation for sending out text messages and occasional system glitches. Their integration with Zendesk (perhaps other CRM platforms, too?) could be improved and lacks some basic features (they're working on it). None of the above, however, means it's not possible to message customers - just annoyances to cross over. The system still works, especially if you're interested in using MessageBird to test texting campaigns.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

MessageBird is a decent alternative to Twilio

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We had much better rates than with Twilio for sending SMS messages to our users.

Cons

It wasn't a drop-in replacement. And we had some issues in discovering equivalent features. Ultimately GatewayAPI gave us even better rates.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Feedback from TPS Ltd

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall great experience. Will continue to use it for many years to come. Easy to train my staff on how to send out batch messages and reply.

Pros

Easy to use by uploading excel files and sending mass text messages by selecting which columns are originator, message & receiver. Good visual on the incoming replies and visibility of the conversation thread of each message. Easy to add the number as a contact to the database. Easy to export the data onto excel.

Cons

Need to have the ability to export onto excel the entire conversational thread per message/contact. The Messages do not batch together...they come on separate lines. They all need to continue on the same thread on the "SMS Overview" page.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Progressive Solution with amazing customer support.

Reviewed a year ago

I am very impressed, when researching a good solution for my client and looking for reviews, some suggested Messagebird had bad customer support, however my experience has been the opposite. The y have been sensational with their support in all cases. We had trouble getting our Facebook business verified and their customer support went out of their way to try and help. Just generally very impressed.

Pros

It offers more integratable channels than any other I have seen. The inbox feature for conversations is great and to be able to add non customer visible notes mid chat stream is a great feature. They seem to e a progressive company and not stale in there feature developments. API in my opinion seems pretty solid

Cons

Not much really apart from a few improvables in the UI, but they seem to be progressive with.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy, professional and high quality service

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

MessageBird is a well-developed service and knowingly outperforming its competitors. It covers an important scope and thus the in-house team have performed well to cover the reliability, security and thus quality of its routing/communication. the API has an insightful documentation, guides and support for developers and my company have had no issues implementing and using the service.

Cons

It seems that some people have had delayed experiences or have experienced a lack of promotion or communication from the CEO, personally the only improvement I can see is developing more features. -- there's also an issue with the form not submitting due to a lack of linkedin data pulled through (job title and organisation).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Top of the line Features

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

MessageBird is ingeniously architected, from features to branding. The dashboard is beautiful and intuitive, and documentation and supported features like the flow builder are very well done and easy to use. Pricing is competitive and subscriptions are easily set up and managed between developers and multiple clients.

Cons

MessageBird is restricted by their "provider" who severely limits sms content, frequency and volume. If there is ever a technical issue, chances are they will have to reach out to their provider for details or assistance. Customer service responds to messages with about 4-24 hour delay, so most immediate concerns go unanswered the first day, although their follow-up and resolution is near perfect.

Vendor response

Hi Rhett, Many thanks for your review and feedback here. We strive to stay at speed with our responses and provided you resolutions or interim solutions where and whenever possible. We'd love to connect with you directly to understand better what we can improve on. If you'd be open to this, please let us know and we'll connect with you via email. Best from Amsterdam, Alex Dorweiler Head of Support @ MessageBird

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

System does the job very well and gets us leads fast

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were able to generate new leads on demand and boost sales for the company. It enabled us to send out time sensitive offers with ease.

Pros

The ease of setting up a new message and then scheduling it to be sent out is very straight forward and easy to teach other members of the team.

Cons

When I am running my numbers to find out the performance of each send vs the cost and return on investment. It's very difficult to be able to calculate these figures without spending a lot of time. It is a bit of a nightmare.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome product with great reliability

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The price for the quality of product is pretty amazing. We get 99.9% of our texts instantly. We refill our credit for about $50 every 6 months. We added additional security to our network for pennies.

Cons

The customer service can often be slow. You have to rely on text-based chat since it is located in Amsterdam. The customer service reps are always very polite and informational, but the wait (especially during critical downtime) can be excruciating.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Getting it out

Reviewed 4 years ago

Authentication for access control made simple ... no fuss or extra machines ... one point of access for the services

Pros

Simple well developed API's, that just do what they suppose to do

Cons

There is nothing about the software we didn't like ..... the only con is that there is no auto update of credits available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Nothing makes up for awful support and an unreliable API

Reviewed 4 years ago

Frustration. Spent a lot of time wondering whether we should have just gone with Twileo

Pros

* They're cheap * when you really push them (email the CEO or CTO and shout) they have occasionally gone out of their way to help us. * Despite other problems with their API we haven't experienced downtime * They seem to have fairly good international coverage * They've improved a lot since we started working with them (mid 2017).

Cons

* They're deliverability doesn't seem to be as good as other services like Twilio * The support is generally very ill-informed and patronising * We've waited ages for responses to fairly simple questions * Their API occasionally gives unexpected responses with no plausible explanation * They lack (or lacked last time we checked) important feature such as getting the cost of the message you've just sent.

Vendor response

Hi Samuel, Thank you for your review and feedback. We take all responses (whether good or bad) very seriously so we can improve our overall service from this. We'd love to see if we can still connect with you directly to elaborate on your feedback. If you'd be open to this, please let us know and we'll connect with you via email. Best from Amsterdam, Alex Dorweiler Head of Support @ MessageBird

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

As easy as expected

Reviewed 4 years ago

Straight forward SMS service. Support has good response times and is easily reachable.

Pros

Implementation is straight forward using the extensive API docs and SDK's.

Cons

The sub accounts are a bit confusing sometimes, could use some UI improvements. Works fine though.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Messagebird is very stable and easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago

We use SMS as voicemail notification service to our customers that expects real time delivery with very good results via Messagebird

Pros

Very easy to connect the SMS service to our applications Stable service level on SMS delivery

Cons

No cons at the moment about Messagebird.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Better than twilio

Reviewed 4 years ago

Good. We switched from twilio to mb and we're happy with the change, it was an improvement.

Pros

Easy api implementation Competitive prices Text to voice solution is awesome

Cons

Development api cannot track or debug on dashboard. Difficult for our continuos integration because new features like the new text to voice implementation we won't be sure they work until we go live on production Have been paying twice because of unicoide and plain formats but that was difficult to see because on dashboard appears always 1 message, should indicate something like 2 credits

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

MessageBird Review

Reviewed a year ago

The experience hasn't been disappointing. I would recommend them anytime.

Pros

The software provides different channels for the same price hence making it user-friendly to grasp content and get started.

Cons

The software itself is fine. The only problem I have experienced while using them is in terms of customer support. They take forever to respond to requests.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple way to communicate with field staff

Reviewed 4 years ago

Message bird makes communicating with a field team who don't have company email simple and quick. Very easily created a reminder system using the API to send texts to field staff about upcoming work from internal system

Pros

Ease of use - simple setup Used by a team with technical expertise Easily to create and manage contacts and groups Responsive support team Good value

Cons

Nothing in particular