WorkflowMax Reviews

WorkflowMax

Xero owned financial project management software for SMBs

WorkflowMax

Review Summary

Pros

Aside from it is very easy to use, what I like about this software is the accuracy of its report. The software has excellent functionalities, we like that we can estimate the project cost so easily.

Loreto M.

All in all an extremely good, cost effective solution that integrates well with Xero and all of our clients are always happy with the solution.

Carl F.

This is a good app I find particularly useful for easily adding time and cost while I am out and about away from the office. Makes my life that little bit easier which I appreciate.

Heidi S.

Cons

Not too much else that is a problem - especially for the price.

Leaine J.

A little bit of difficulty linking to Xero accounting - mainly due to our awkward setup. Looking forward to a smoother link between these apps.

Marc P.

There used to be a fairly substantial lag in invoicing. It used to be around a 14-day delay from the end of a job to actually invoicing it.

David M.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

52

40

9

4

1

87%
positive reviews
86%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


106 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating

    Share this review:

    It does what it says on the tin. Work-Flow-MAX

    Reviewed 5 years ago

    I am the director of Right Brain Insights, and CFO for a company called T3 Group – T3 Facility Services Pty Ltd. I help SMEs use data to clarify their strategic direction and boost their business performance. In the case of T3 Group, that’s what we’ve been able to do with WorkflowMax. Eleven months ago, the only thing that could be vaguely understood was total sales to a client. However, in order...

    Pros

    - Customised reporting & data fields - Real-time tracking - Xero connection - Pricing (so much cheaper than GeoOp & Connect 2 Field at the time we researched) - Backed by Xero

    Cons

    - Dashboard design. Could be cleaner, maybe customisable - Not life or death, but stronger connection on the cost side. i.e. 'spend money' type transactions linking to Xero.

    Overall Rating
    • Ease of use
    • Features
    • Likelihood to recommend7/10

    Share this review:

    WorkFlowMax review

    Reviewed a year ago

    Reasonably happy with the experiences

    Pros

    The ability to calculate and manage task time automatically without having people try to manually work out their hours is very helpful.

    Cons

    Planning for longer than a month is tricky if you only link jobs to projects that have been approved.

    Overall Rating
    • Value for money
    • Ease of use
    • Features
    • Customer support
    • Likelihood to recommend8/10

    Share this review:

    workflow max

    Reviewed 16 days ago

    overall we really like it. It is perfect for a small business with limited needs.

    Pros

    We really like workflowmax. We started using it right after it was first released. It is very easy to use and gives us very good visibility into the costs of our projects. Back costing is so easy when all products and labour get reconciled against the project.

    Cons

    No really bad comments to be made about workflowmax. It does what it says it will and doesn't pretend to be be bigger than it is.

    Overall Rating
    • Value for money
    • Ease of use
    • Features
    • Customer support
    • Likelihood to recommend2/10

    Share this review:

    Dont use if quoting is important

    Reviewed 3 years ago
    Pros

    It's OK for tracking jobs once the quote is accepted, and links with Xero quite well. If you have a simple business it'll probably be OK

    Cons

    Despite repeated requests, WFM is not interested in improving this side of the product. WFM cannot handle multi-line itemised quotes, is slow to use and has very limited functionality. While you can add profiles, and append them to orders it insists on blending all the profiles in together, making itemising a messy, manual process. The cost is OK, again if you have a simple business. Don't try to...

    Overall Rating
    • Customer support

    Share this review:

    Value for Money Time and Project Management System

    Reviewed 4 years ago

    As Certified Implementation Partners, we have implemented and trained WorkflowMax for over sixty clients in the UK. Industries have included Creative Agencies, Architects & Engineers, Ecologists, Training Companies and General Consultancy firms.

    Pros

    WorkflowMax is highly flexible and every client will tend to use it slightly differently. Some of the key things our clients like about WorkflowMax 1. Easy time entry - Especially the weekly time grid where you can then easily track who has/hasn't submitted time if using the 'Submit Time'sheet' feature. 2. The ability to develop attractive quotes and proposals. 3. Being able to pull processes...

    Cons

    1. Capacity Planning. There is a Staff Availability grid, but time must be clearly allocated to staff and tasks for this to provide meaningful and accurate information. 2. Expenses Tracking. There are various options for Expense Tracking such as bulk purchase orders, but could be clearer and easier to use.

    Overall Rating

      Share this review:

      WorkflowMax is very user-friendly

      Reviewed 6 years ago

      I am the Director of Melbourne-based commercial fit-out and property maintenance company, Symmetry Commercial. After migrating from MYOB to Xero, we were looking for a work scheduling and quotation software, and that’s when we discovered WorkflowMax. For us, the beauty of WorkflowMax has been creating a really tight process around purchasing and sending online purchase orders. Typically, paperwork...

      Pros

      - Inexpensive - Programmers are constantly improving WFM - Seamless compatibility with Xero - Easy to use and intuitive. Easy to train new comers on.

      Cons

      - Would prefer if it was a bit more Building/ Construction industry centric

      Overall Rating
      • Value for money
      • Ease of use
      • Features
      • Customer support

      Share this review:

      Integral to our project and time tracking

      Reviewed 2 years ago
      Pros

      Easy to use similar to Xero accounting - integrates with accounting. Good mobile app and great reports. We're finding the leads and quotes very useful - especially for keeping track of projects and potential work, and converting to real jobs. Workflowmax has allowed us to improve our productivity as well as tracking work and hours that we previously would have missed.

      Cons

      A little bit of difficulty linking to Xero accounting - mainly due to our awkward setup. Looking forward to a smoother link between these apps.

      Overall Rating
      • Value for money
      • Ease of use
      • Features
      • Customer support
      • Likelihood to recommend7/10

      Share this review:

      WorkflowMax Boosted Job Workflow

      Reviewed a year ago

      Huge improvement in our job workflow which means we captured more billable time and expenses.

      Pros

      Major benifit was the integration with its sister accounting cloud service. All time and project billing info is captured in Workflow and financial data is passed to Xero for accounting... huge improvement in our job workflow.

      Cons

      It was difficult to configure and setup from an invoicing perspective.

      Overall Rating
      • Ease of use
      • Features
      • Likelihood to recommend7/10

      Share this review:

      Basic but Good for an SME

      Reviewed 9 months ago

      WorkflowMax was a good tool for the needs of the company. It is however lacking in terms of visualision of reports and data.

      Pros

      I found this tool to be simple to set up tasks and to log time.

      Cons

      The software lacked some functionality which means it might not be a good fit for all companies. Lack of visualisation in terms of reporting.

      Overall Rating
      • Value for money
      • Ease of use
      • Customer support

      Share this review:

      Great templates for job quoting and scheduling recurring jobs

      Reviewed 4 years ago

      We've been using this for almost 2 years It keeps us on track with quoting, creating jobs and issuing invoices then doing the same steps again for recurring jobs. It's a rinse and repeat kinda thing which works for us in the long run.

      Pros

      Great and customizable templates for job quoting, tracking and scheduling of recurring jobs

      Cons

      Task section of the Quote Due to the fact that the way the task is set up in workflowmax that the tasks are can be viewed by the employees of the contractor as the sensitive information on the task. We use the tasks for the purpose of providing the quote/estimate only. We create an invoice then we copy and paste the information from task into the cost so we can generate the invoice.

      Overall Rating
      • Value for money
      • Ease of use
      • Customer support

      Share this review:

      Our most recommended Workflow management app

      Reviewed 4 years ago

      In our role as cloud app integrators and implementation experts, WorkflowMax is an essential app in Link Solutions' toolkit. We recommend it over and above any other workflow management app, and use it daily within our own business. The depth of features is significant and can be easily adapted to suit most business processes. The flow from lead management right through delivery and then to invoicing...

      Pros

      * Flexible and extensive feature set that can manage most business processes * General ease of use - while there are some traps for beginners, these are understable given the depth of features available * It's a Xero company, and benefits from the association in terms of a strong integration, customer support standards, and ongoing development * Pricing is excellent and suits a range of businesses from small operators through to large enterprises * Significant job and task templating abilities allow multiple activity streams to be systematised within one application * Powerful reporting engine with the ability to extend with custom reports

      Cons

      * Retentions and variations can be difficult to manage for construction companies * Inventory management is non-existent, which while understandable in a workflow management app does limit use for service-based firms that also provide product * The mobile app could do with further extensions to the range of features available * If you are looking for a fully featured CRM that you need to integrate with a email marketing system (like Mailchimp) you may need to use a standalone app

      Overall Rating
      • Value for money
      • Ease of use
      • Features
      • Customer support
      • Likelihood to recommend7/10

      Share this review:

      Functionality & Reporting

      Reviewed 2 years ago

      Workflow max helps to solve the issue of effective invoicing of time worked on each client. Workflow max has also helped our firm when it comes to GST time - the way workflow max integrates with Xero makes filing GST returns with Inland Revenue very simple, and lets you easily keep track of GST returns and to make sure that all returns have been filed before the due date.

      Pros

      - Workflowmax has the ability to let the user create and design their own reports, which can come in very handy for workflow planning purposes. Saves staff all trying to navigate through a single spreadsheet! - This is an effective program to record staff hours, which also allocates your time entries to the jobs you are working on, which helps when it comes time to bill clients. - The tax alerts on the dashboard are a good way to double check tax returns after they have been assessed by IRD, which is a good reminder to check any returns that have been assessed as different as it raises a red flag and makes you look into it.

      Cons

      The custom reporting can be a bit hard to navigate around, especially for any newcomers to the system.

      Overall Rating
      • Value for money
      • Ease of use
      • Features
      • Customer support
      • Likelihood to recommend7/10

      Share this review:

      Good product, however timer has bugs

      Reviewed 2 years ago

      If the support team fixes the timer issue, this would be the project management tool to go with hands down.

      Pros

      I like how the product has a timer that you can time your tasks against with start and stop timer functionality and see how much time you have spent on your project and each task. I like that it has Xero integration as well.

      Cons

      I don't like that the timer has bugs where maybe one out of every ten times that you attempt to stop the timer after finishing timing a job, it completely forgets the time that was recorded against it and resets the time to a lower time for some unknown reason. I have contacted support about this issue countless times but have always been pushed away even after following requests to send through supporting testing data.

      Overall Rating
      • Value for money
      • Ease of use
      • Features
      • Customer support
      • Likelihood to recommend9/10

      Share this review:

      Now Xero Practice Manager - the de facto project management software for your Xero client

      Reviewed 2 months ago

      Despite the interface being "crowded", the software is still good at what it does. It helps you manage clients well. If you have an accounting practice, especially in New Zealand, you will realize the benefits that it provides in terms of tax filing for your clients.

      Pros

      WorkflowMax (now XPM) provides most of the project management's functionality that you need in for your Xero client. From adding the client in Xero, assigning jobs to staff, budgeting hours, etc. It has all your needs.

      Cons

      The software's interface is a bit crowded. There's a lot going on at each screen. It really takes time to master the software. What I find also confusing is that you can add returns for individuals under the company account where they are owners or shareholders.

      Overall Rating
      • Value for money
      • Ease of use
      • Features
      • Customer support
      • Likelihood to recommend8/10

      Share this review:

      Useful for project costing for an SME

      Reviewed 2 years ago

      Using an app to enter hours saves us time - we are a small company so a large ERP system isn't appropriate. Workflow Max isn't perfect, but it does what we need - let's us do project costing relatively easily while integrating with the accounts system we use. There are lots of 'help' videos easily found to show you how to do things.

      Pros

      The phone app makes it easy to enter time, wherever you are, and the admins can see easily who has completed and submitted time and who hasn't.

      Cons

      The reports aren't as customisable as we'd like - you can see that it's built from database fields from different tables, but only certain combinations of fields are available and it takes a while to work out which basic report is the one you need. There are no 'sub jobs' or cost categories, so we need to use subfolders to categorise costs, or separate out project phases, which is a bit clunky.

      Overall Rating
      • Value for money
      • Ease of use
      • Features
      • Customer support
      • Likelihood to recommend8/10

      Share this review:

      WorkflowMax provides an excellent platform for a business wanting to do time cost recording.

      Reviewed 2 years ago

      Easy to use

      Pros

      WorkflowMax has excellent reporting and export functions which allows for production of meaningful management reporting. Client profitability is easy to calculate and more importantly, the productivity of team members. An excellent overall reporting system.

      Cons

      Navigating from one client to another can be cumbersome. Also, unless the different levels of jobs, tasks, and activities are set up properly, this can result of reports which provide incorrect information. In comparison to CCH iFirm, I think WorkflowMax have a few edits to perform to bring this up to standard

      Overall Rating

        Share this review:

        WorkflowMax has changed the way we work

        Reviewed 6 years ago

        I’m a Partner at Greengage - a London based sustainability and environmental consultancy providing advice to a range of different clients on how they can integrate sustainability into their core operations as well as making their developments more environmentally responsible. We used to employ a cumbersome system of spreadsheets for time & project management that would often involve duplicate information....

        Pros

        No Data

        Cons

        No Data

        Overall Rating
        • Ease of use
        • Features
        • Customer support
        • Likelihood to recommend10/10

        Share this review:

        Streamlined job processes

        Reviewed 4 years ago
        Pros

        Workflowmax is a fantastic job mangement program that has saved APT a lot of time in book keeping. The software covers our complete workflow from Quoting and Scoping a Job, Managing the Job and Invoicing. The Stopwatch feature for time keeping adds a level of detail which makes it hard for cutomers to argue - everything is recorded in real time. WFM allows document storage and collaboration straight to the job, all emails, files and notes can be accessed by anyone working on the job - no searching for lost information.

        Cons

        There are a few integrations that are available for WFM (eg Xero) which work really well but It would be great if WFM had Zapier integration.

        Overall Rating

          Share this review:

          Great product, such a timesaver

          Reviewed 6 years ago

          As the director of Threerooms, a graphic design agency in Nottingham, UK - I was watching my company struggle to grow because the admin demands were becoming overwhelming. We used to have job bags and job sheets, keep the record of time spent on paper — thats just seem like a historic way of doing things. But since we implemented WorkflowMax, it’s been smooth sailing. We use WorkflowMax to manage...

          Pros

          No Data

          Cons

          No Data

          Overall Rating
          • Value for money
          • Ease of use
          • Features
          • Customer support
          • Likelihood to recommend8/10

          Share this review:

          Pretty good overall, but just didn't work for my business

          Reviewed 3 years ago
          Pros

          I liked the overall workflow of the software, including the quoting/pricing modules. They were pretty flawless and helped me make sense of a pricing system on the fly. Also, there is the intergration with Xero, which is the platform I use for accounting.

          Cons

          I wasn't a fan of how WorflowMax's calendar system worked. I also wanted a task system with Kanban style layout, and that just isn't in there..

          Overall Rating
          • Ease of use
          • Features
          • Likelihood to recommend8/10

          Share this review:

          Timesheet entry standardised and simplified.

          Reviewed 2 years ago

          Pros

          I particularly like the WorkflowMax app which I have loaded onto my work phone (iPhone). I prefer to use the WorkflowMax app on my phone than the PC as I have a large number of codes and sub-codes that I have to choose from and once I have selected the 'client' it filters out all of the potential entries that I don't need, then I enter 'job' and again it filters down to just what I need to choose from. Like most people, I reeeeeally don't enjoy doing timesheets and yet I can do them in my car or anywhere out of the office quite quickly and I know that it will be updated centrally immediately . The app helps a lot in streamlining the timesheet entry process.

          Cons

          I don't like doing timesheets but that's not WorkflowMax's fault! :) I suppose if I was really picky I'd say that the PC version is a bit clunky compared to the app.

          Overall Rating
          • Ease of use
          • Features
          • Likelihood to recommend10/10

          Share this review:

          Brilliant project management system

          Reviewed 2 years ago
          Pros

          It's a great piece of project management software, easy to use, seamless workflow, very user friendly, great tutorial videos, works well with Xero!

          Cons

          Not much to add, it's pretty straightforward system and easy to use. Definitely would suggest taking time to watch the tutorials to get the best of it!

          Overall Rating
          • Ease of use
          • Features
          • Customer support
          • Likelihood to recommend9/10

          Share this review:

          You lose your running time on down times

          Reviewed 2 years ago

          Please develop a front end caching for the timer so it would save it for a couple of hours in the browser cache.

          Pros

          It's great for timing tasks and has a great customer support as well. Easy operation, you can turn it on and off with ease when there are sudden things that happen that needs you to stop your timer on tasks.

          Cons

          If the site goes down or has a problem when you save your current running timer, there is a high chance that you would lose that data so keep an eye on the numbers.

          Overall Rating
          • Value for money
          • Ease of use
          • Features
          • Customer support
          • Likelihood to recommend7/10

          Share this review:

          Easy to use project task timing online software

          Reviewed 3 years ago

          Easy to use time tracking for billable workdevelopment .

          Pros

          I love how easy it is to start timing a job/task for billable time tracking. The website is fast to load and use with a great UI.

          Cons

          There are a few bugs in the timing feature where you try to stop timing, however it loses your total time at times.

          Overall Rating
          • Value for money
          • Ease of use
          • Features
          • Customer support
          • Likelihood to recommend9/10

          Share this review:

          Workflowmax is an excellent product with great value

          Reviewed 2 years ago
          Pros

          - Great value for money - does 95% of what other more sophisticated systems do at a fraction of the price - Easy set up and implementation - Excellent reporting functionality - Very robust and reliable - Leads and quoting functionality

          Cons

          I find the layout a bit clunky While it is great for simple quotes, Workflowmax is not very suitable for complex quotations. Any quotation with more than a dozen lines become hard to follow.

          page 1 of 5