WorkflowMax Reviews

WorkflowMax Reviews

WorkflowMax

Time tracking and invoice software by Xero

4.4/5 (46 reviews)
1,833     6,177

Gloria Perez

WorkFlowMax Review

06/12/2016

This product is great to keep you on track with quoting, creating jobs and issuing invoices then doing the same steps again for recurring jobs. It's a rinse and repeat kind of product. Which works great. We have used this product for our training business. We recommend you look and use the leads and quotes portion to get the most out of the system from both a workflow and reporting basis.

Pros

This product is great by a job management perspective. You are able to job quote and it is great customizable templates for job quoting, tracking and scheduling of recurring jobs.

Cons

Not easy to see total time logged for the day. WorkflowMax won't tell you your stock on hand, but it will work fine for disbursements, and stock movement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering WorkflowMax

NO

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lucille Moreton

Workflow Max is great for time sheets and resource allocation

29/11/2016

We use workflow max to keep our time sheets, and to createjobs and quotes. What is great about workflow max is that it makes quotes and jobs creation a lot easier, even for someone without a background in finance.

Pros

very easy to track time using the timing function. timesheets are a lot easier to keep, and review.

Cons

editing jobs and tasks is sometimes a bit more difficult than it needs to be. Very roundabout.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering WorkflowMax

USE THE TIMER if you're using Workflow max to keep timesheets. Also download the App as this makes on the go tracking a lot easier.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Maree Maxfield, ACA, MBA

Verified Reviewer

Value for Money Time and Project Management System

26/06/2016

As Certified Implementation Partners, we have implemented and trained WorkflowMax for over sixty clients in the UK. Industries have included Creative Agencies, Architects & Engineers, Ecologists, Training Companies and General Consultancy firms.

Pros

WorkflowMax is highly flexible and every client will tend to use it slightly differently. Some of the key things our clients like about WorkflowMax 1. Easy time entry - Especially the weekly time grid where you can then easily track who has/hasn't submitted time if using the 'Submit Time'sheet' feature. 2. The ability to develop attractive quotes and proposals. 3. Being able to pull processes and systems together in a centralised location. Often clients are holding project information in lots of different locations/spreadsheets around the office. 4. Huge flexibility through the custom reporting and being able to quickly see Project Profitability. 5. 'Talks' nicely to Xero your Accounting Software, sending through invoices and supplier invoices. 6. Great Value for Money when taking into account the breadth of features.

Cons

1. Capacity Planning. There is a Staff Availability grid, but time must be clearly allocated to staff and tasks for this to provide meaningful and accurate information. 2. Expenses Tracking. There are various options for Expense Tracking such as bulk purchase orders, but could be clearer and easier to use.

Rating breakdown

Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert  Leigh

Great software solution for businesses

11/05/2016

I have been using this software for the last few months with clients and have received exceptional support & customer service. The product is innovative and I continue to see new developments released - most recently the mobile app.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Walsh

There's Gold in the Detail

11/05/2016

I work with business owners to help them improve the performance of their business and have been using WorkflowMax with many clients to help them improve their systems. Many business owners want to scale their business but don't have the systems and processes to allow them to do it effectively. WorkflowMax forces owners to look at their systems and processes. It provides valuable information about the performance of staff (both management (did we quote it right) and delivery staff (did we deliver on time and on budget)) and jobs. Owners can now see where they are making money and it's not always where they think it is. Used correctly WorkflowMax is an incredibly cost effective application that will make owners money.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carl Ferner

Very cost effective job management product

05/05/2016

We have implemented and support WorkflowMax for multiple clients across different industries both large and small. It is an extremely cost effective product for all of the features you get to manage jobs and have all staff entering time sheets and disbursements. We routinely set up custom templates for quotes, invoices etc for clients bringing on their own branding which works really well and is simple to use. The reporting is great with the ability to customise your own and add extra fields throughout the system, the reporting is however limited when compared to more advanced systems such as SQL based systems as WFM does not allow you to set up your own data containers or queries to get all of the information you sometimes need on a single report. All in all an extremely good, cost effective solution that integrates well with Xero and all of our clients are always happy with the solution.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Todd Dunick

User and Implementation Provider

04/05/2016

We use WorkflowMax (WFM) to manage our consulting business. WFM is a comprehensive system that allows us to manage leads from initial engagement through to project quotes and estimates. All information is then transferable to our jobs allowing us to capture time against tasks, manage our time frames and account for related project costs. With all information flowing from initial input we benefit from significant efficiency with not having to double enter information. We also integrate with Google Drive for document storage and Xero for financial accounting which means between WFM and Xero we get great visibility regarding job and financial reporting. Highly recommend this product as it is usable for many different industries and has great flexibility when it comes to customisation. We now offer implementation services for WFM which we would not do if we did not believe in the product.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Our most recommended Workflow management app

04/05/2016

In our role as cloud app integrators and implementation experts, WorkflowMax is an essential app in Link Solutions' toolkit. We recommend it over and above any other workflow management app, and use it daily within our own business. The depth of features is significant and can be easily adapted to suit most business processes. The flow from lead management right through delivery and then to invoicing saves countless hours of administration and can deliver significant improvements to service delivery. Being a Xero company, the integration with Xero is understandably robust and extensive, and other useful add-on integrations are available. For example, at Link, we use Zendesk to manage our support tickets, and we're able to track our time in Zendesk and have this flow through to WorkflowMax timesheets with associated notes for reporting and billing. Put simply, we think WorkflowMax is a great system that offers exceptional value for money.

Pros

* Flexible and extensive feature set that can manage most business processes * General ease of use - while there are some traps for beginners, these are understable given the depth of features available * It's a Xero company, and benefits from the association in terms of a strong integration, customer support standards, and ongoing development * Pricing is excellent and suits a range of businesses from small operators through to large enterprises * Significant job and task templating abilities allow multiple activity streams to be systematised within one application * Powerful reporting engine with the ability to extend with custom reports

Cons

* Retentions and variations can be difficult to manage for construction companies * Inventory management is non-existent, which while understandable in a workflow management app does limit use for service-based firms that also provide product * The mobile app could do with further extensions to the range of features available * If you are looking for a fully featured CRM that you need to integrate with a email marketing system (like Mailchimp) you may need to use a standalone app

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicole Elvy

Love the seamlesss link to Xero and the amount of customisation that it offers.

28/04/2016

As a WFM partner we find WFM a very popular choice for a Job Management system that links to Xero. Clients enjoy being able to create their own reports and having the flexibility with the custom fields. Great to be able to fully customise your quote, invoices and job briefs to how you want them to look. It's a bit light in the scheduling of tasks and being able to have multiple quotes on a job requires work arounds. Overall a fantastic system that we would recommend.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dave  Jackson

Use it and support it

27/04/2016

We have been using Workflow Max for 4+ years, it's a great tool for a professional services business, easy to use and simple to navigate and understand.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heidi Seal

Good little app - makes life easier

27/04/2016

A great simple little app that makes using WorkflowMax easier Function I use the most is the timesheet entry when out and about

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Managing Director (Information Technology and Services company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great for time based billing

10/04/2016

We have been using WFM for 3 years now for our training business, it' great for a time based business and does ok for others that are more product based. Recommend you look and use the leads and quotes portion to get the most out of the system from both a workflow and reporting basis

Pros

Easy to learn Links to Xero Ability to configure quotes and templates

Cons

Not the best for retention and variations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heidi Seal

Verified Reviewer

Easy for when you're on the go

06/04/2016

This is a good app I find particularly useful for easily adding time and cost while I am out and about away from the office. Makes my life that little bit easier which I appreciate

Pros

Easy to add time and see client details Easy to click through contacts to dial on phone Easy sign in with pin code

Cons

Not easy to see total time logged for the day Basic (but that's fine as basic is all that's needed when out and about)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Andres

Verified Reviewer

Great templates for job quoting and scheduling recurring jobs

26/03/2016

We've been using this for almost 2 years It keeps us on track with quoting, creating jobs and issuing invoices then doing the same steps again for recurring jobs. It's a rinse and repeat kinda thing which works for us in the long run.

Pros

Great and customizable templates for job quoting, tracking and scheduling of recurring jobs

Cons

Task section of the Quote Due to the fact that the way the task is set up in workflowmax that the tasks are can be viewed by the employees of the contractor as the sensitive information on the task. We use the tasks for the purpose of providing the quote/estimate only. We create an invoice then we copy and paste the information from task into the cost so we can generate the invoice.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kyle Probert

Streamlined job processes

22/03/2016

Pros

Workflowmax is a fantastic job mangement program that has saved APT a lot of time in book keeping. The software covers our complete workflow from Quoting and Scoping a Job, Managing the Job and Invoicing. The Stopwatch feature for time keeping adds a level of detail which makes it hard for cutomers to argue - everything is recorded in real time. WFM allows document storage and collaboration straight to the job, all emails, files and notes can be accessed by anyone working on the job - no searching for lost information.

Cons

There are a few integrations that are available for WFM (eg Xero) which work really well but It would be great if WFM had Zapier integration.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering WorkflowMax

Use the help and setup guides to help in the process of setting up WFM, there are a lot of features and without the guides it is easy to miss them. The Support department are fantastic and answer very quick.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff McGregor

Verified Reviewer

Great Product for Quoting / Job tracking / Timesheeting

15/03/2016

My team have been using WFM for around 4 years now. It took quite a while to harness the full potential of the App, and really we needed 5+ people before it really took off. With 15+ people now using the app to manage weekly quotes, jobs, timesheets, and invoicing, it is a massive timesaver for our company.

Pros

Great timesheeting / job tracking and quote generation abilities

Cons

interface took 2+ years to be updated. The iOS app is still very basic and doesnt allow me to check or add quotes on the go.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael McCook

Verified Reviewer

Workflow Max

24/02/2016

As accountants, we have used WFM for around 6 years in our practice. We have recommended it to many of our clients and once you have it running well - its a dream. Because we use it daily we are able to support our clients as they run and develop their own business, so WFM is a natural progression for appropriate clients.

Pros

Can do anything you want from a job management perspective

Cons

It can do so much that there is always something new to learn.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Luke Burrell

Verified Reviewer

Bitter Sweet

17/08/2015

We've been using WFM for as long as I can remember and it's come a long way. It has many small features you would not think of till you need them, its fantastic in that way. But lacks in usability, project time management and planning.

Pros

Pricing flexibility by client or team member. Good Xero intergration.

Cons

No planning tools. Like a simple gantt chart to plan out a day or week for team members.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa East

Great tool for creative agencies

29/06/2015

An easy to use, cost effective tool that you can access from anywhere with an internet connection. Great for tracking time, overseeing time billed by employees, setting up processes/milestones and quoting. Integration with Xero is seamless, making billing really quick and easy to do.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Adrian Taylor

Great time management software

29/06/2015

As a sole practitioner Architectural Designer I use WorkflowMax for keeping track of my time over multiple projects. I love the way it integrates with the Xero accounting package enabling me to easily produce invoices based on time spent, and to produce a detailed timesheet to back-up that invoice. As I use it more and more, I also build a database of information in an easy to access and understand format, that enables me to more accurately estimate the potential time involved when providing fee proposals for new projects.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Lochead-MacMillan

Verified Reviewer

Seamless Workflow for On The Road Coaching

12/06/2015

As a consultant travelling to my clients I find Workflowmax invaluable. i can use it for leads to jobs to billing. It sends me reminders and I never forget to follow up. I can use it remotely and from my office. I get to track the jobs and status of leads. I can see what time and cost I soend on my clientrs and therefore what I shoudl be charging to make money. Its seamless integration with XERO really helps make themonitoring of my business performance, and therefore my own performance, a breeze. I wouldnt be without it!

Pros

Ease of use and access Reminders

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Glennis Stuckey

WorkflowMax is essential software for any business needing to manage time and costs

11/06/2015

WorkflowMax is extremely affordable software and has very high-end reporting compared to similar priced products, while it can still be very easy to use for the basic user. It is cloud based, secure, you can easily view your work in progress and it works seamlessly with Xero. Use it for your leads, internal projects, client work (one off and repeat), invoicing, quoting and time sheets. WorkflowMax integrates nicely with payroll software too. If you are paying $150 a user for other software, you really do need to check it out. Being owned by Xero, there is also a lot of development being done to make the product even better. There will soon be an app available - in the meantime it has a mobile site which is fine for time and costs. WorkflowMax suits pretty much any business needing to manage chargeable and non-chargeable time and disbursements or materials. There are some excellent advanced features such as emailing your job with files etc, and custom reporting which you can do yourself - no need to pay WorkflowMax to create reports for you. It is currency agnostic so can be used in any country.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Todd Smith

Verified Reviewer

Organized task specification and time tracking

20/03/2015

Catamaran Marketing is utilizing WFM to boost overall efficiency and smoothen administrative tasks that can easily be mismanaged by any entrepreneur running their own business. Its organized structure and multitude of customization options has enabled us to track time on tasks more accurately than ever before. All tasks are fine tuned - avoiding things that fall through the cracks, which in turn, eliminates so many of the technical headaches that business owners waste time and energy problem-solving. Not only has scheduling vastly improved our customer service to clients in estimated turnaround, but its enabled us to process many jobs more quickly than ever! WFM has been the lubrication to help run Catamaran Marketing like a well-oiled machine and I now have more time and energy to devote to scaling up my business.

Pros

We love the job templates. Our business model is to do many things for a select group of businesses. Some are small and some are large. WFM helps us clearly define each type of job and create a template for that.

Source: GetApp
6 of 7 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kyle Probert

Verified Reviewer

Accurate intelligence and time saving

12/03/2015

We are using WFM as the hub for our business - a central point for all our job related information. The key saving for us is the ability to create a quote accurately which then turns into a job with tasks and costs. The tasks can be quickly assigned to a staff member and costs can quickly be organised using purchase orders. Staff can also self-manage their productivity as they can see the billable vs non billable time. The change to WFM & Xero has halved our accounts admin time – a saving of approximately 10 hours per week! This has allowed us to focus this time into marketing and business development – further amplifying the savings. Moving to cloud based job and accounting software has given our staff more flexibility in where they work – no need to be at the office now.

Pros

Customer support team is fast to answer questions

Cons

More features and customisation in the reports to make them present better would be good

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jillian Talbot

Verified Reviewer

Outstanding Workflowmax!

23/02/2015

I am a director of a PR firm which has a range of financial and rural company clients. I have almost been with Workflowmax from its formation - before Xero acquired the business! Workflowmax is a very easy product to use and has continued to innovate and add more features with ease. Despite being part of a big company it still operates like a small one - whenever you email them to ask a question they respond right away. I would highly recommend any PR consultancy or consultancy based business to consider using Workflowmax.

Pros

Workflowmax is very easy to use. Their helpdesk is awesome, and always friendly. The layout of the invoices is really clean and tidy.

Cons

There are none with this product.

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more