WorkflowMax Reviews

WorkflowMax Reviews

WorkflowMax

Time tracking and invoice software by Xero

4.51/5 (46 reviews)
1,402     6,089

Maree Maxfield, ACA, MBA

Verified Reviewer

Value for Money Time and Project Management System

26/06/2016

As Certified Implementation Partners, we have implemented and trained WorkflowMax for over sixty clients in the UK. Industries have included Creative Agencies, Architects & Engineers, Ecologists, Training Companies and General Consultancy firms.

Pros

WorkflowMax is highly flexible and every client will tend to use it slightly differently. Some of the key things our clients like about WorkflowMax 1. Easy time entry - Especially the weekly time grid where you can then easily track who has/hasn't submitted time if using the 'Submit Time'sheet' feature. 2. The ability to develop attractive quotes and proposals. 3. Being able to pull processes and systems together in a centralised location. Often clients are holding project information in lots of different locations/spreadsheets around the office. 4. Huge flexibility through the custom reporting and being able to quickly see Project Profitability. 5. 'Talks' nicely to Xero your Accounting Software, sending through invoices and supplier invoices. 6. Great Value for Money when taking into account the breadth of features.

Cons

1. Capacity Planning. There is a Staff Availability grid, but time must be clearly allocated to staff and tasks for this to provide meaningful and accurate information. 2. Expenses Tracking. There are various options for Expense Tracking such as bulk purchase orders, but could be clearer and easier to use.

Rating breakdown

Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Our most recommended Workflow management app

04/05/2016

In our role as cloud app integrators and implementation experts, WorkflowMax is an essential app in Link Solutions' toolkit. We recommend it over and above any other workflow management app, and use it daily within our own business. The depth of features is significant and can be easily adapted to suit most business processes. The flow from lead management right through delivery and then to invoicing saves countless hours of administration and can deliver significant improvements to service delivery. Being a Xero company, the integration with Xero is understandably robust and extensive, and other useful add-on integrations are available. For example, at Link, we use Zendesk to manage our support tickets, and we're able to track our time in Zendesk and have this flow through to WorkflowMax timesheets with associated notes for reporting and billing. Put simply, we think WorkflowMax is a great system that offers exceptional value for money.

Pros

* Flexible and extensive feature set that can manage most business processes * General ease of use - while there are some traps for beginners, these are understable given the depth of features available * It's a Xero company, and benefits from the association in terms of a strong integration, customer support standards, and ongoing development * Pricing is excellent and suits a range of businesses from small operators through to large enterprises * Significant job and task templating abilities allow multiple activity streams to be systematised within one application * Powerful reporting engine with the ability to extend with custom reports

Cons

* Retentions and variations can be difficult to manage for construction companies * Inventory management is non-existent, which while understandable in a workflow management app does limit use for service-based firms that also provide product * The mobile app could do with further extensions to the range of features available * If you are looking for a fully featured CRM that you need to integrate with a email marketing system (like Mailchimp) you may need to use a standalone app

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Managing Director (Information Technology and Services company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great for time based billing

10/04/2016

We have been using WFM for 3 years now for our training business, it' great for a time based business and does ok for others that are more product based. Recommend you look and use the leads and quotes portion to get the most out of the system from both a workflow and reporting basis

Pros

Easy to learn Links to Xero Ability to configure quotes and templates

Cons

Not the best for retention and variations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heidi Seal

Verified Reviewer

Easy for when you're on the go

06/04/2016

This is a good app I find particularly useful for easily adding time and cost while I am out and about away from the office. Makes my life that little bit easier which I appreciate

Pros

Easy to add time and see client details Easy to click through contacts to dial on phone Easy sign in with pin code

Cons

Not easy to see total time logged for the day Basic (but that's fine as basic is all that's needed when out and about)

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Andres

Verified Reviewer

Great templates for job quoting and scheduling recurring jobs

26/03/2016

We've been using this for almost 2 years It keeps us on track with quoting, creating jobs and issuing invoices then doing the same steps again for recurring jobs. It's a rinse and repeat kinda thing which works for us in the long run.

Pros

Great and customizable templates for job quoting, tracking and scheduling of recurring jobs

Cons

Task section of the Quote Due to the fact that the way the task is set up in workflowmax that the tasks are can be viewed by the employees of the contractor as the sensitive information on the task. We use the tasks for the purpose of providing the quote/estimate only. We create an invoice then we copy and paste the information from task into the cost so we can generate the invoice.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff McGregor

Verified Reviewer

Great Product for Quoting / Job tracking / Timesheeting

15/03/2016

My team have been using WFM for around 4 years now. It took quite a while to harness the full potential of the App, and really we needed 5+ people before it really took off. With 15+ people now using the app to manage weekly quotes, jobs, timesheets, and invoicing, it is a massive timesaver for our company.

Pros

Great timesheeting / job tracking and quote generation abilities

Cons

interface took 2+ years to be updated. The iOS app is still very basic and doesnt allow me to check or add quotes on the go.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael McCook

Verified Reviewer

Workflow Max

24/02/2016

As accountants, we have used WFM for around 6 years in our practice. We have recommended it to many of our clients and once you have it running well - its a dream. Because we use it daily we are able to support our clients as they run and develop their own business, so WFM is a natural progression for appropriate clients.

Pros

Can do anything you want from a job management perspective

Cons

It can do so much that there is always something new to learn.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Luke Burrell

Verified Reviewer

Bitter Sweet

17/08/2015

We've been using WFM for as long as I can remember and it's come a long way. It has many small features you would not think of till you need them, its fantastic in that way. But lacks in usability, project time management and planning.

Pros

Pricing flexibility by client or team member. Good Xero intergration.

Cons

No planning tools. Like a simple gantt chart to plan out a day or week for team members.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
6 of 6 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Lochead-MacMillan

Verified Reviewer

Seamless Workflow for On The Road Coaching

12/06/2015

As a consultant travelling to my clients I find Workflowmax invaluable. i can use it for leads to jobs to billing. It sends me reminders and I never forget to follow up. I can use it remotely and from my office. I get to track the jobs and status of leads. I can see what time and cost I soend on my clientrs and therefore what I shoudl be charging to make money. Its seamless integration with XERO really helps make themonitoring of my business performance, and therefore my own performance, a breeze. I wouldnt be without it!

Pros

Ease of use and access Reminders

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Todd Smith

Verified Reviewer

Organized task specification and time tracking

20/03/2015

Catamaran Marketing is utilizing WFM to boost overall efficiency and smoothen administrative tasks that can easily be mismanaged by any entrepreneur running their own business. Its organized structure and multitude of customization options has enabled us to track time on tasks more accurately than ever before. All tasks are fine tuned - avoiding things that fall through the cracks, which in turn, eliminates so many of the technical headaches that business owners waste time and energy problem-solving. Not only has scheduling vastly improved our customer service to clients in estimated turnaround, but its enabled us to process many jobs more quickly than ever! WFM has been the lubrication to help run Catamaran Marketing like a well-oiled machine and I now have more time and energy to devote to scaling up my business.

Pros

We love the job templates. Our business model is to do many things for a select group of businesses. Some are small and some are large. WFM helps us clearly define each type of job and create a template for that.

Source: GetApp
6 of 7 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kyle Probert

Verified Reviewer

Accurate intelligence and time saving

12/03/2015

We are using WFM as the hub for our business - a central point for all our job related information. The key saving for us is the ability to create a quote accurately which then turns into a job with tasks and costs. The tasks can be quickly assigned to a staff member and costs can quickly be organised using purchase orders. Staff can also self-manage their productivity as they can see the billable vs non billable time. The change to WFM & Xero has halved our accounts admin time – a saving of approximately 10 hours per week! This has allowed us to focus this time into marketing and business development – further amplifying the savings. Moving to cloud based job and accounting software has given our staff more flexibility in where they work – no need to be at the office now.

Pros

Customer support team is fast to answer questions

Cons

More features and customisation in the reports to make them present better would be good

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jillian Talbot

Verified Reviewer

Outstanding Workflowmax!

23/02/2015

I am a director of a PR firm which has a range of financial and rural company clients. I have almost been with Workflowmax from its formation - before Xero acquired the business! Workflowmax is a very easy product to use and has continued to innovate and add more features with ease. Despite being part of a big company it still operates like a small one - whenever you email them to ask a question they respond right away. I would highly recommend any PR consultancy or consultancy based business to consider using Workflowmax.

Pros

Workflowmax is very easy to use. Their helpdesk is awesome, and always friendly. The layout of the invoices is really clean and tidy.

Cons

There are none with this product.

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Maher

Verified Reviewer

It does what it says on the tin. Work-Flow-MAX

23/01/2015

I am the director of Right Brain Insights, and CFO for a company called T3 Group – T3 Facility Services Pty Ltd. I help SMEs use data to clarify their strategic direction and boost their business performance. In the case of T3 Group, that’s what we’ve been able to do with WorkflowMax. Eleven months ago, the only thing that could be vaguely understood was total sales to a client. However, in order to understand the cost base and truly drive profit, and link it back to our goals, we needed to be able to break down jobs, and their cost, as well as give the guys one site and the guys in the office something that could allow them to be far more efficient and far more effective at what they needed to do. We looked at WorkflowMax, GeoOp and Connect2Field. WorkflowMax is just a standout, across these in terms of its reporting, its connection with Xero, and its detail. We needed to have really good insights over our cash flow going forward. We use WorkflowMax to strip out a pipeline, so we can see cashflow into the future based on job activity. Our target used to be $50,000 a month, it’s now $325,000 minimum and rising. We would not have been able to hit that growth without WorkflowMax. There used to be a fairly substantial lag in invoicing. It used to be around a 14-day delay from the end of a job to actually invoicing it. That’s come down to basically 24, at most 48 hours. We pretty much invoice as soon as the job’s finished. That’s been a really, really tight process and something that’s really cool when you link WorkflowMax to Xero. In January our accounts receivable days was roughly 65 and our accounts payable was roughly 40. We’ve now switched that where our accounts receivable, on average, is about 45 days and our payable is about 48. So being able to switch that and stay on top of it has had a really, really powerful impact. We’re just becoming more organised. So we are doing things far more efficiently. We are, through a system like this, becoming more account

Pros

- Customised reporting & data fields - Real-time tracking - Xero connection - Pricing (so much cheaper than GeoOp & Connect 2 Field at the time we researched) - Backed by Xero

Cons

- Dashboard design. Could be cleaner, maybe customisable - Not life or death, but stronger connection on the cost side. i.e. 'spend money' type transactions linking to Xero.

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Malton

Verified Reviewer

WorkflowMax is very user-friendly

10/11/2014

I am the Director of Melbourne-based commercial fit-out and property maintenance company, Symmetry Commercial. After migrating from MYOB to Xero, we were looking for a work scheduling and quotation software, and that’s when we discovered WorkflowMax. For us, the beauty of WorkflowMax has been creating a really tight process around purchasing and sending online purchase orders. Typically, paperwork goes missing, emails go missing. But now it’s so much easier; we can just log on and see all the information in one place. If we need to re-submit a quote or a purchase order, it’s all there. The biggest thing for us is the quotation side of things. What’s terrific is that this information then feeds directly through to Xero to create an invoice, which cuts down on invoicing time. Functionality was a focus for us; we didn’t want something that was going to be too difficult to use. But WorkflowMax is very user-friendly; we’ve had new people start here and it’s been really easy for them to pick up. WorkflowMax has been great for us in the sense that it has got so much scope. We were looking for something that could grow with us; as the company grows we can actually expand our use of the system. WorkflowMax is only going to get better for service-based industries because they are specialist to that particular type of software. When our business goes to that next level, and we have got more people out there doing project estimating, then I know there are those functionalities within WorkflowMax, and it’s something that we’re excited to explore.

Pros

- Inexpensive - Programmers are constantly improving WFM - Seamless compatibility with Xero - Easy to use and intuitive. Easy to train new comers on.

Cons

- Would prefer if it was a bit more Building/ Construction industry centric

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa Palmer

Verified Reviewer

the best thing about WorkflowMax is the payroll system

01/10/2014

I’m the office manager at SA Construct, a construction cladding company in Adelaide, Australia. Previously Payroll used to take a whole day, now it only takes a hour. The time saved is just massive. We enter all the supplier invoices into WorkflowMax as purchases, and then convert them into a supplier invoice. We enter about 100 supplier invoices every month into WorkflowMax. They all go into Xero − perfectly. Once a month, I do invoicing through the job, and create sales invoices − they get seamlessly transferred into Xero just as well. The integration between WorkflowMax and Xero is as seamless as it can get. We create the invoices in WorkflowMax against each job, and they automatically go into Xero − perfectly. All the information within an invoice is seamlessly transferred, so we can we see in Xero which jobs they relate to. For me, the best thing about WorkflowMax is the payroll system. All the guys out on site enter their time straight into WorkflowMax, and I’m able to just use the totals of their hours at the end of the month. It’s a really good organising tool, and saves on a lot of paper. Everything we need is in one place.

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mitch Cooke

Verified Reviewer

WorkflowMax has changed the way we work

12/08/2014

I’m a Partner at Greengage - a London based sustainability and environmental consultancy providing advice to a range of different clients on how they can integrate sustainability into their core operations as well as making their developments more environmentally responsible. We used to employ a cumbersome system of spreadsheets for time & project management that would often involve duplicate information. It was not a system we could use to generate meaningful information about how much cost had gone into a job, or how much time or budget we had left and how we we were tracking a fee. When we switched to WorkflowMax, I was surprised how easy it was to get started. All our staff found it very simple, intuitive. The online video tutorials and the support team helped us immensely by answering all of our queries. WorkflowMax provides us the opportunity to run our own reports with a very powerful custom report builder in a very easy and intuitive way. As a consultancy, its having that information in hand to be able to go back to clients where we are with individual projects. The way WorkflowMax enables us to tailor the information has saved us 70-80% of the time we used to spend on that system. In terms of return on investment, WorkflwoMax is a no-brainer. We can recoup the invest on a monthly basis by just having one more hour of consistency. As a business owner, WorkflowMax makes my life easy by having all the information in one place - so we can see where we are at in terms of projects, we can see who is working on it, we can see where we are with invoicing, we can see how much money in the budget is left over and much more. There is less admin involved in the business now. WorkflowMax has given us an unfair advantage to stay ahead of our competitors. Highly recommended for forward-thinking service businesses.

Source: GetApp
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Great product, such a timesaver

11/08/2014

As the director of Threerooms, a graphic design agency in Nottingham, UK - I was watching my company struggle to grow because the admin demands were becoming overwhelming. We used to have job bags and job sheets, keep the record of time spent on paper — thats just seem like a historic way of doing things. But since we implemented WorkflowMax, it’s been smooth sailing. We use WorkflowMax to manage all of our projects from the start to the finish. The great thing about WorkflowMax is that everything is integrated into one package. I can deal with the quoting part of the process, through to actually managing of the project, managing time, budgets and then move through to purchase orders and invoices -- everything in one system. Because everything is integrated in one system, I can convert a quote into a live job by just pressing one button. When the job is complete — we can just turn it into an invoice, again just at a click of a button, and then seamlessly pushes the invoice into our accounting software Xero. The integration with Xero is just brilliant really. Being able to just seamlessly push sales and supplier invoices straight out of workflowmax into xero is excellent. It gives us a great overall solution for the business. Together, WorkflowMax & Xero must have saved us thousands and thousands of pounds. As a business owner, there is so much to think about — I think WorkflowMax has really given me the ability to hand over some of those responsibilities to my staff. They can use WorkflowMax to manage the project independently without any input from myself. Its given me time to work on the business rather than in the business, which is what every sort of manager really wants.

Source: GetApp
4 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Toni May

Verified Reviewer

WorkflowMax is working for us

30/07/2014

"WorkflowMax has been like someone turning the light on for our business. We knew our old software wasn’t giving us the information we needed to know whether we had been profitable on each job. Manual costings were so labour intensive we didn't tend to do them very often. Now at the touch of a button WorkflowMax gives us a profitability report on each job which is amazing. We share this information with our staff, who really take ownership of the job to ensure good profitability. This and other reports in Xero help give us the information we need to make decisions within our business. Forgive me if I am starting to sound a little bit evangelical, but the change to WorkflowMax really has had a dramatic impact on our business, and put us back in the driver’s seat, linking through to Xero and giving us all the information we need. Guided patiently by the team at Equation we undertook a seamless transfer over to WorkflowMax and Xero. Bonnie was able to understand our business and how we needed Work Flow Max to work for us. She ensured we set up and customized WorkflowMax correctly to meet these needs. Not only is Peter May Ltd is a canvas fabrication but a marquee and event hire business. Bonnie has set WFM to cater to both sides of our business."

Pros

Good management of jobs, and costs.

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Leaine Jones

Verified Reviewer

Timesavings for billing and quoting

22/07/2014

At Jones Business Solutions we used WFM to move off MYOB Time Billing - conservative estimate that saved around 10-12 hours each month with invoicing. Even better now to have the Tax Practice - previously used an excel template for financials - the combination with WFM, Xero and Spotlight Workpapers is sensational for a small Tax Agency like us. WFM Support is prompt and helpful and we love WFM so much we now regularly implement and support other businesses wanting to get the max out of job costing and reporting. Have tested other similar systems and yet to see something that stands out for a comparable price. We have used since 2011; we operate in a virtual office and users are both employees and contractors.

Pros

Timesavings for billing and quoting Seamless integration with Xero Tax practice version - auto synch with IRD Good functionality with reporting Brilliant for our virtual office

Cons

Work arounds needed for retentions - but to be fair not really designed for construction industry - but it can work Not too much else that is a problem - especially for the price

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa Spiden

Verified Reviewer

Workflow Max has been great for our business

02/07/2014

We love working with Workflow Max. Our business model is based on charging client an hourly rate for work completed. Workflow Max makes it so much easier for us to accurately track what we have done (in the level of detail our clients' require) and it is so easy to turn these records into invoices. We have saved a lot of time and money. I would highly recommend Workflow Max.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ruth Cole

Verified Reviewer

It was really easy to get started

01/07/2014

My name is Ruth Cole, and I’m the office manager for environmental consultancy Greengage. I’ve been using WorkflowMax for a while now and love it. It was really easy to get started, and there’s no paperwork. One of the great things about Workflowmax is the fact that it’s paperless. This is important to us because as an environmental agency we should practice what we preach. Now, all our invoices are sent out online, so we can guarantee our clients receive those invoices. Our whole office is streamlined, and admin time has been drastically cut, thanks to WorkflowMax.

Source: GetApp
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amy Crisp

Verified Reviewer

30/09/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Marc Swarbrick

Verified Reviewer

31/08/2016

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Shane Bicknell

Verified Reviewer

12/08/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Carla Martin

Verified Reviewer

20/07/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more