OptimoRoute Features

OptimoRoute

Get routes that just work

4.53/5 (117 reviews)

Competitor Feature Comparison

API
Activity Dashboard
Alerts / Escalation
Alerts/Notifications
Automated Scheduling
Barcode / Ticket Scanning
Barcode Recognition
Barcoding/RFID
CRM
Cross Docking
Customer Database
Customer Management
Customizable Forms
Data Connectors
Data Import/Export
Delivery Tracking
Dispatch Management
Drag & Drop
Driver ETA
Driver Management
Electronic Signature
Employee Management
Fleet Management
Food Delivery Dispatching
For Courier Services
For Restaurants
GPS
Geographic Maps
Import/Export Management
Live Driver Tracking
Live Tracking
Location Tracking
Mileage Tracking
Mobile Access
Mobile Alerts
Mobile Signature Capture
Online Time Clock
Order Entry
Order Management
Performance Metrics
Picking & Routing
Rating Engine
Real Time Analytics
Real Time Data
Real Time Monitoring
Real Time Notifications
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Route History
Route Management
Route Optimization
Routing
SMS Messaging
Scheduling
Search/Filter
Service History
Status Tracking
Strategic Planning
Surveys & Feedback
Territory Management
Third Party Integrations
Transportation Management
Two-Way Communication
Work Order Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Activity Dashboard
Alerts / Escalation
Alerts/Notifications
Automated Scheduling
Barcode / Ticket Scanning
Barcode Recognition
Barcoding/RFID
CRM
Cross Docking
Customer Database
Customer Management
Customizable Forms
Data Connectors
Data Import/Export
Delivery Tracking
Dispatch Management
Drag & Drop
Driver ETA
Driver Management
Electronic Signature
Employee Management
Fleet Management
Food Delivery Dispatching
For Courier Services
For Restaurants
GPS
Geographic Maps
Import/Export Management
Live Driver Tracking
Live Tracking
Location Tracking
Mileage Tracking
Mobile Access
Mobile Alerts
Mobile Signature Capture
Online Time Clock
Order Entry
Order Management
Performance Metrics
Picking & Routing
Rating Engine
Real Time Analytics
Real Time Data
Real Time Monitoring
Real Time Notifications
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Route History
Route Management
Route Optimization
Routing
SMS Messaging
Scheduling
Search/Filter
Service History
Status Tracking
Strategic Planning
Surveys & Feedback
Territory Management
Third Party Integrations
Transportation Management
Two-Way Communication
Work Order Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App
API
Activity Dashboard
Alerts / Escalation
Alerts/Notifications
Automated Scheduling
Barcode / Ticket Scanning
Barcode Recognition
Barcoding/RFID
CRM
Cross Docking
Customer Database
Customer Management
Customizable Forms
Data Connectors
Data Import/Export
Delivery Tracking
Dispatch Management
Drag & Drop
Driver ETA
Driver Management
Electronic Signature
Employee Management
Fleet Management
Food Delivery Dispatching
For Courier Services
For Restaurants
GPS
Geographic Maps
Import/Export Management
Live Driver Tracking
Live Tracking
Location Tracking
Mileage Tracking
Mobile Access
Mobile Alerts
Mobile Signature Capture
Online Time Clock
Order Entry
Order Management
Performance Metrics
Picking & Routing
Rating Engine
Real Time Analytics
Real Time Data
Real Time Monitoring
Real Time Notifications
Reporting & Statistics
Reporting/Analytics
Route History
Route Management
Route Optimization
Routing
SMS Messaging
Scheduling
Search/Filter
Service History
Status Tracking
Strategic Planning
Surveys & Feedback
Territory Management
Third Party Integrations
Transportation Management
Two-Way Communication
Work Order Management
Visit WebsiteCompare App

Mobile apps

iOS App


10 reviews

Requires iOS 10.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.

Android App


57 reviews

OptimoRoute Feature Reviews

25 reviewers had the following to say about OptimoRoute's features:

Joe C.

Everything we needed, big time saver

2019-01-16

Previous method of routing involved home grown JavaScript utility to make the routes, imported into Delorme software to produce maps, directions, and then somewhat manual process to load custom points of interest into Garmins for the trucks.

Pros

Ability to add stops to routes in process and resent to the trucks is very nice. Real time tracking of progress of all trucks also very helpful.

Cons

It would be helpful if all the fields in the import spreadsheet flowed in and then back out in the "all data" export. I had to use two of five custom fields to get the street and number imported as separate fields so I could then create an "all stops" spreadsheet sorted by street.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hey Joe! We love stories like yours. Wonderful to hear we saved you so much time for a good cause! We are working on customizable exports. Something to look forward to next holiday season.

Read more
Brianna R.

Scheduling is a breeze

2020-10-30

We are solving our communication with customers and the real time of arrival versus best guesses.

Pros

The BEST feature though is the real time tracking!

Cons

It is not able to differentiate between the fact that our truck has to be empty of our deliveries before we can pick up but that is I think unique to our business.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jamie J.

Great Food Delivery Tool

2020-11-19

Overall, very easy to import and schedule on the computer and then execute with the app.

Pros

As a small business making weekly meal deliveries to clients, OptimoRoute allows me to easier import the weekly orders, plan efficient routes, and streamline communication with the recipient.

Cons

Allowing recipient to track the driver is important with fresh food deliveries, but our average weekly deliveries are quite low.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute



Hi Jamie,

Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it! Happy to hear you liked using our software and that you've found it to be helpful for your business!

As for flexibility, we'll be adding new software features soon, be sure to follow us on social media for updates!

Read more
Teresa G.

Review by The Produce Squad

2020-10-27

Overall, love the app. Very professional and reliable. Our drivers have had no to very little experience with the app crashing or not working for them. Great app!

Pros

Also, I love how I can import addresses from our orders on Shopify and then see the locations all at once on the map.

Cons

I realize the real time tracking adjusts the schedule, but we'd like to send a personal message about what is occurring and why.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Steven U.

Positive but needs improvement

2020-10-31

Really good on a basic level, routes are effective and reporting is adequate however requires a separate maintenance management tool so doesn't resolve some issues that could easily be managed in the app with some accounting integration.

Pros

Simple integration into existing hardware.

Cons

No option to avoid tolls for routing. Believe it would be better to have the routing tool imbedded in the app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hi Steven,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we really appreciate the feedback! Glad to hear you were satisfied with our pick up and drop off features.

Thanks for letting us know about your concerns and issues. You can contact us at support@optimoroute.com so we can hear more about the specifics of your case and improve your experience.

We're constantly working on improving our route optimization software and you can keep track of news about new features on our socials, so be sure to follow us!

Read more
Monica B.

Well-Designed Flexible Routing System that is a Joy to Use!

2019-09-24

We have been impressed by the system's flexibility with access to a mobile application.

Pros

Ease of use, specifically the ability to copy customer orders/routes as well as upload them using Excel.

Cons

Must log in to send routes to the mobile application daily rather than being able to schedule to send weekly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hi Monica,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your OptimoRoute experience! We're glad that you've found a lot to love about our route optimization software. In particular, it's great that you feel you've found a planning solution that will grow with your company.
We want to ensure you're getting the most out of OptimoRoute. Please contact our support team at support@optimoroute.com and we'll go over solutions to the issues you've experienced.
And - we're working on signature capture, it's almost here!


Read more
Tore T.

Great app

2020-10-27

Pros

Ease o scheduling routes for deliveries.

Cons

I would like to know if there is a way to alert the recipient that there delivery is on the way and estimated time of arrival

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donald J.

Excellent Software

2018-12-12

OptimoRoute has significantly streamlined our pick up and delivery process.

Pros

Ability to adjust drivers schedules on the go, and update their iPads immediately.

Cons

Lack of integration, I wish it would directly integrate with third party apps within OptimoRoute App Store.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Thanks for your feedback, Donald! We will be making integration easier in the coming months. What apps do you use? Please let us know at support@optimoroute.com so we can keep you in the loop.

Read more
Ann S.

Great choice for growing companies

2019-09-20

Using routing software has made the job a lot easier and saves us hours of time each week since we no longer live in spreadsheets.

Pros

It has really streamlined our processes and allows us to make changes to our busy routes on the fly.

Cons

Adding the ability for drivers to add a note along with their order status update would be indispensable.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hi Ann,
Thanks for taking the time to share your impressions of OptimoRoute. We're glad that you've recognized us as a route optimization tool that will grow with your business, because that's exactly the kind of software we aim to be!

Please drop us a line at support@optimoroute.com, we'll be happy to go over the issues you've come across and we'll find a way to improve your experience.

Read more
Elaine P.

Great features compared to other routing software, but I don't use full functionality

2018-12-12

Pros

I do not use the gps tracking capability for drivers so I am not able to provide details about that functionality.

Cons

Again, I have not used the gps functionality so I have no feedback for that aspect.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Thanks for your feedback, Elaine! We wanted you to know that bulk editing time windows is now available! Check it out and tell us what you think.

Read more
Katie K.

Review

2020-11-03

Route schedule for home deliveries

Pros

When we had over 50 orders, we quickly realized we would need a route app. Optimoroute solved this problem quickly and overall with ease of use.

Cons

We have had a few delivery days when the route was glitchy (app not loading, kept re-routing, not making most effective route).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hi Katie,

Thanks for the feedback, glad to hear our app has helped you solve the route planning problem, especially during COVID and that your business had a way of continuing during shutdown with OptimoRoute's help!

If you keep on having glitches, drop us a line at support@optimoroute.com and our team would be happy to help you out.

They're working on app improvements every day and new features are in the works - be sure to follow us on our socials to stay up-to-date!

Read more
charlene c.

Easy to use!

2019-09-06

Pros

plans routes easy!

Cons

would like to be able to scan pictures for failed delivery status

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hi Charlene,

Thanks for taking the time to review OptimoRoute. We're so glad that our route optimization software is improving how you work - that's what we're here for!
Also, we're working on the photo capture feature, so stay tuned because it's not long to go now!

Read more
Coby H.

Amazing software!

2020-10-22

I already have GPS tracking in my truck, but if I did not I would use the live map feature as well because it works really well.

Pros

This software has solved my routing problems and greatly increased employee productivity.

Cons

I would also like to see the route timing schedule adjust to when the driver specifically starts their route so they know if they are on time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James F.

Small company using sofware

2018-12-11

All in all it is a positive experience with Optimo Route. I know some of the options I would like to see could be accomplished through their web api, but we prefer out of the box solutions.

Pros

We signed up with Optimo Route early on when they came out, price point is good when you have a small fleet.

Cons

I would like to be able to share the schedule with my sales people via a calendar where they can view future deliveries. *They have a Depot showing up but it is unusable in the scheduling.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Thanks James! It's great to hear what works and your wish list. If you have a moment, drop us a line at support@optimoroute.com and let us know what's missing from using Custom Fields for your Products.
Perhaps we can recommend something that would suit you better. What's more we have some new functionality with our Weekly (and Monthly) planning feature that might get you some of the visibility you were looking for. Happy to discuss.
Lastly, we expect that some upcoming improvements will make planning with a tablet a bit easier! Thanks again for being with us so long. Stay tuned...

Read more
Cathy F.

Esceptional Customer Service

2020-10-22

We are able to deliver to food sacks to homebound seniors because of you fabulous route optimization process.

Pros

The mapping of the route is very helpful and the most impactful.

Cons

I would love to see a place to add photos, customer sign off of delivery and time card feature would be amazing!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Thanks for your review! Great to see that OptimoRoute is helping your business grow, we love this kind of feedback. Stay tuned for our next big feature release - we think you'll be thrilled!

Read more
GC V.

OptimoRoute has saved us tremendous time!!!

2019-09-10

We are all volunteers and often times spent many hours in helping to organize our routes, drivers and deliveries.

Pros

This allows us to update the system in real-time allowing us to be very efficient.

Cons

I'm not sure that there is anything about the software that I dislike.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hi GC,

Thanks for reviewing your organization's experience of using OptimoRoute. It's great to read that our route optimization software is making your fundraising efforts much easier and more efficient. We're always improving features and adding capabilities - so keep an eye out for more ways of making your valuable work even easier to perform!

Best, Cathy

Read more
Hana S.

EASY TO USE, ACCURATE AND EFFECTIVE!

2021-02-02

MARCH 2020 VS DECEMBER 2020 OPTIMOROUTE NO YES NUMBER OF PRESENTS 300 300 TEAM MEMBERS 7 1 NUMBER OF DRIVERS 3 3 DELIVERING DAYS 7 3 As you can see from the comparison above, not only have we saved the costs for drivers by decreasing the number of days needed for delivery, but also, having only one member of our team involved in the whole process, we have freed 7 working days of our 6 employees so that their time can be used in a more efficient manner.

Pros

The best thing is, after you import all the data, choose number of drivers and optimize the route, you are able to print routes for each driver, but even better, you can import the routes into their Google maps so the only thing left for them to do is drive!

Cons

I didn't find any downsides of OptimoRoute software.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hi Hana,

We appreciate the fact that you took the time to review OptimoRoute - thanks!
It's awesome that you managed to save time and money with our route optimization software and that you found it easy to use!

If you'll be in the need of any additional assistance in the future, you can always drop us a line at support@optimoroute.com - our team would be more than happy to help you out with anything you need.

In the meantime, be sure to follow us on social media for updates about new features!

Read more
Melanie A.

Makes Life Easier!!!

2020-10-22

In the beginning, we were messing around with try to use Google and route our own journeys.

Pros

I loved that I could import the data for my deliveries directly from my website.

Cons

It has had a few glitches when I try to readjust routes that are in progress and drivers on the road lost their routes and had to work off of the manual sheet we print (from the program) which is handy to have for many reasons.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Thanks for your review. And congratulations on your successful pivot - we're glad OptimoRoute helped make it happen! Our customer support team is there to help whenever questions pop up, just drop us a line at support@optimoroute.com

Read more
Christopher M.

Plenty of features, some functions not as straight forward as I would like

2020-10-22

It's not as good at predicting the route as other programs I have used in the past but it's not bad.

Pros

I appreciate how easy it is to import my locations and custom fields into the web app.

Cons

Making changes to a plan already dispatched and replotting a new route based on those modifications don't seem straight forward.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James E.

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is an amazing representative of your product

2020-03-20

Pros

I really like all the options for seeing your routes in real time.

Cons

There are some inefficiencies in routing when it comes to putting 2 stores that are within walking distance on 2 different routes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Free Trial

Frequency of use: Occasionally

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hi James, this review is still making us smile! It's feedback like yours that keeps OptimoRoute focused on giving customers the best service and product possible... Thanks for going to the effort of sharing!

Read more
Rudy P.

Boyd on a Wire

2019-03-19

It really allowed us to optimize our field techs and create very efficient routes for them.

Pros

It made scheduling easy for my schedulers and the ability to update drivers and change routes was very smooth!

Cons

Having all routes deleted when updating one driver.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hey Rudy! Glad you overcame that initial hiccup to get awesome results.

Read more
Thomas P.

Business Changing Product!

2020-10-23

Great!

Pros

- its accuracy (customers are raving that our drivers are turning up on the minute of their ETA) - the time saving it brings to the business - the best routes are far better than what I would be able to achieve with manual GPS input. - versatility (can send 1 driver to do 40 drops or split between 2 or more)

Cons

The only thing that could be improved for my business is to have another option when adding more deliveries to an already established delivery run.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Geoff M.

OptimoRoute Review

2020-10-23

Experience has been great, the customer notifications has been the highlight of the program.

Pros

Address memory is convenient and the routing is great, very accurate.

Cons

I’ve also had issues with switching stops to different drivers if I need to edit the route.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Philippe P.

Easy to use

2019-09-24

It radically changed the way we plan our deliveries. Easier for everyone, fast to get information for all as to WHERE our tucks are.

Pros

Nice to be able to track the trucks live and to see the history vs the planned schedule

Cons

Can't link a document to the delivery lines so the drivers can't have the clients confirm the deliveries.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from OptimoRoute


Hello Philippe,
Thank you for leaving a review about the difference that OptimoRoute is making to your business, especially the live tracking capabilities.
OptimoRoute does take into account road network information and this information is updated regularly. After surveying our users for accuracy of plans and routes, we found they are highly realistic in real-life conditions. Please contact us at support@optimoroute.com, as this might just be an issue of fine-tuning.
Keep an eye out for even better delivery confirmation features - these improvements are in development and they'll be released soon.


Read more
R.W. H.

Making us look good!

2020-10-22

We looked at many competitors and options but Optimo Route was the best.

Pros

We appreciate that this software has a tracking option and communication protocol.

Cons

We are not aware of how to integrate Optimo Route with our Wix E-Commerce platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more