This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

dotCMS Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

We needed a system that was fully responsive and this was an excellent presentation for our needs.

Ravi S.

We've been using the software with out clients since almost the inception of the software. Their support is great, and more affordable than most that are comparable amongst enterprise CMS providers.

Joshua H.

We also have the freedom to push to production without having to involve the System Administrators which gives us AMAZING turn around time.

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

As a result, we missed years of updates and then had a very painful period where everything seemed to break while, version by version, we got our system up to date.

Bill D.

The interface and learning curve can be intimidating for first-time or casual users.

Anonymous Reviewer

Expensive Enterprise license. Site documentation is poor.

Anonymous Reviewer

Overall rating

4.3

5

4

3

2

1

13

15

3

1

0

88%
positive reviews
96%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


32 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

dotCMS, a great java-based, enterprise-level CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've used dotCMS since their early years (something like 15 years now). They have come a long way and created a great product that I would highly recommend for any team that needs an enterprise-level CMS and is wants a product they can mold and shape into exactly what they need to deliver either just their content or their content and their websites.

Pros

dotCMS is a developer's sandbox with lots of toys in it. It has a lot of built-in features and the custom content types and flexibility. There has been nothing we've wanted to do that we could not do using dotCMS.

Cons

With great flexibility comes great complexity. There are examples of how to do everything, but in the end you have to build out your own stuff. It doesn't theme, it doesn't one-click upgrade. You have to have a competent development wrapped around it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid cloud-hosted CMS for the Enterprise

Reviewed 2 years ago

My experience overall has been very good. We use their enterprise cloud-hosted service so we pay one reasonable fee for the annual license, support and hosting. It is advisable to purchase some sort of training package to get started. Otherwise, you may spend extra time figuring out how to ideally work within the system. For instance, you need to become familiar with the Velocity language that is related to Apache/Tomcat/Java.

Pros

This is an ideal CMS for an enterprise environment that needs a product that is flexible, highly customizable and reasonably priced.

Cons

There are bugs at times that are identified and either resolved via a hotfix or held for resolution in the next iteration. I have received emails saying that a bug was identified and proactively already fixed. However, other times I notice an issue that is documented as a feature yet doesn't work and you must wait until the next iteration is released. One example is an automatic sitemap generator tool. While the configuration of the module is in the documentation there are known reports that not all of the features work. Rather than prioritize it as a hotfix, it is idle until the next release. In the meantime, I have to defer to a third-party sitemap tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

DotCMS (hosted/Enterprise edition) might be perfect for you – but it wasn't for us

Reviewed 3 years ago

I think the biggest problem over the years (we are no longer clients) was the lack of a good, consistent working relationship. As a result, we missed years of updates and then had a very painful period where everything seemed to break while, version by version, we got our system up to date. During this time our stakeholders lost faith in DotCMS, so when it came time for a site redesign, there was no question that we would move to another platform even though the capabilities of the updated software were solid.

Pros

The ability to create widgets and place them in any container on the page allows for a ton of flexibility for pulling in and displaying content. The interface for content editors was generally easy enough for them to use effectively.

Cons

If you're not a developer who already knows the language, there's a long learning curve before you're able to code Velocity to do what you want. Also, some things that require little or no setup in other systems require customization. (Example: generating friendly URLs, which is automatic in something like Wordpress.) We also didn't like the strange URLs auto-generated for file assets. Permissions were buggy, partly because some of our files were so old ("legacy" assets).

Vendor response

Hey Bill, We completely understand your frustrations and valued having Oberlin College as a customer This feedback is representative of the why behind our investment in customer experience and customer success. We've built out a customer centric program over the last two years to ensure more optimal customer experiences. Since your departure, we've also built out a much more intuitive and...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

dotCMS gave us the freedom we were looking for.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall this platform has opened doors to us that were previous closed. I'm generally very happy with the freedom this software has given my team.

Pros

We appreciated that we could make tweaks and changes that we needed to get the platform to do what we need. Thanks to dotCMS, we are able to give our front end users an easy way to edit and add content to their pages no matter what their skill levels are. We also have the freedom to push to production without having to involve the System Administrators which gives us AMAZING turn around time. If there is a problem in production, we can fix it in minuted, which makes our client very happy and lowers their impact to revenue.

Cons

Sometimes it feels like the software falls short in some instances. Some UI bugs that we have encountered frustrate us as they seem to simple that with some UI/UX focus, shouldn't have occurred. Better documentation could also help us in leaps and bounds. When we have issues, it can be so frustrating to find the correct way to do things, or how to fix our problem. It is often found to be out of date or inaccurate.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great CMS for the non-techy

Reviewed 3 years ago

My background is in web development, with most of my experience in frameworks and content management systems like Drupal, WordPress, and Laravel; one organization that I work for specializes in web development. However, another organization that I work for (the one that uses dotCMS) does not specialize in web development. This organization does want each of its employees to be able to add content to the website on a routine basis, though, and dotCMS fits this use case perfectly - its familiar concepts and simple interface make dotCMS an easy tool to learn and get comfortable with.

Pros

dotCMS uses concepts familiar to the average computer user, such as files and folder, so it's easy for people who know nothing in particular about web development to add and maintain content. Support is very courteous and responsive.

Cons

Not very developer-friendly: On the job, the main thing I do in dotCMS is write code for templates, detail pages, etc. I often end up copying and pasting code back and forth between dotCMS' interface and a text editor like Notepad++ because I find the built-in code editor fields too small. While dotCMS has WebDAV support, I have never been able to get it to work - and I've tried about a dozen times on a dozen different computers. The closest I've come to getting WebDAV to work is getting a list of all folders in the dotCMS installation -- but no files.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is an intuitive CMS that gets better with each iteration. Technical support is top-notch.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to use folder/html-page style site interface. Extensive API uses Java viewtool objects to interact and code with the data programmatically. Apache velocity is a nice templating language for front-end development. Easy to create and deal with new structures.

Cons

Permissions can be difficult and involved to set up and maintain. There are limits on datatypes in content structures (which is understandable) but I can't think of why the text limit and date limit should be the same. We are always running into the text type limit because so many field types use the text data type. On the other hand, the most we've ever used the date data-type is twice in a structure. We don't need 25 date fields.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Powerful CMS for Complex Content

Reviewed 3 years ago

dotCMS brought our website down from thousands of separate files and pages into a well organized CMS that if much easier to manage. It also gave us the ability for other users within the company to add and edit content without having to go to the web team.

Pros

dotCMS was a great out-of-the-box solution for our organization. It is able to handle complex content and relationships and makes it realitvely easy to build your website or app around your content and data.

Cons

The interface and learning curve can be intimidating for first-time or casual users. However, it had improved significanlly over the last few years with more improvements constantly coming down the line.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

dotCMS is a great Content Management System and Development Platform for Enterprises

Reviewed 2 years ago

We use dotCMS to drive over 2 dozen websites and web apps. We integrate it with our custom internal tooling, as well as many third-party integrations like: Eloqua, Taleo, and Google's entire suite of SEO tooling. We also integrate with many different APIs and back-end infrastructures.

Pros

The flexibility and toolset gives our team a lot of options and methods to integrate with our complex ecosystem.

Cons

IMO, dotCMS is not for the small team. It provides a ton of features and power, but the complexity makes it hard to jump in to.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

New employee learning a new CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

I work for a large college within a university and we needed a solution to organize and centralize all the websites within that college. This product gave a platform for managing each department's sites while giving us a way to generalize the content and share the content between the different departmental units. We have defined content types and the template tool and reused content and widget editor allows us to display those content types in ways that make the code reusable. For regular content creators it is a slight struggle to train them but as time goes on they are able to add their own content more intuitively. We have needed to customize a lot of solutions on our own to accomplish this but dotCMS is very accommodating when we have difficult questions.

Pros

- Lots of room for customization - templating and layout options are robust - file management is a breeze - personalization and personas - ability to establish workflows for publishing content - reasonably priced for a product of this size

Cons

- Complex for non power users - Documentation is overwhelming with examples not always being clear - Velocity is some what limiting when programming certain features - Large macro code base but they don't always function or stay up to date

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

dotCMS is a great Content Management System

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I love the content model, it provides a very flexible and powerful way to model what content makes up our website. I also love the ability to adapt the software itself to what our business needs through the use of plugins.

Cons

Administration is not trivial. The powerful features in dotCMS come at a price that makes it harder to administer at a technical level. It requires more resources to run, upgrades are difficult, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Value of any Enterprise CMS

Reviewed 4 years ago

Fast paced team development built around technologies that we're already using with mainstream clients to tackle enterprise problems.

Pros

We've been using the software with out clients since almost the inception of the software. Their support is great, and more affordable than most that are comparable amongst enterprise CMS providers. As mainly a development shop, the flexibility of the different frameworks we can use (Spring MVC, Struts, OSGi, AngularJS) allow us to use cutting edge technologies along with their scalable architecture and tackle just about anything you could want.

Cons

Software still has some legacy functionality that needs refactored; the impact is very low but from time to time creeps up from a "want" to a "need".

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

dotCMS is pretty great

Reviewed 3 years ago

we have been able to use the system to unify over 500 websites which now are able to share content and features for easy management!

Pros

we were looking for a highly configurable system that would allow us to create and manage a large number of abstract content types using taxonomies, workflow and other best practices. dotCMS definitely provided this for us.

Cons

the system is pretty abstract so it takes some planning to get started. we also ended up going with the cloud solution, which was easier than installing it and managing it ourselves.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

When you need a solid framework that lets you build a web infrastructure, dotCMS is a great choice.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Intuitive interface for creating web pages and reusable or structured content; ease of adding JQuery plugins; custom workflow designer; theme-based templates that support responsive design; built-in personalization and rule-based targeting; effective multilingual support; RESTful API; push publishing across servers.

Cons

Lack of built-in components - but then it's more of a framework than a plug-and-play system like WordPress.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ability to be flexible

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

dotCMS is a powerful tool that could be customized to your need without having to modify the core. Allowing you to create content and use it in many different ways. From totally headless to hosting the pages in itself. You can make it fit your needs.

Cons

Like any CMS, having to create template for special things might be challenging some times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Dotcms Benefits

Reviewed a year ago

It was a good experience starting from dotcms1.7 to dotcms3.

Pros

A Java base CMS which is compatible with all platforms.

Cons

Newer version of dotcms have issues with plugins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Over 10 Years with dotCMS

Reviewed 2 years ago

We need an easy-to-use but flexible CMS; dotCMS is a good balance of both.

Pros

It's easy for new users to grasp. Permissioning is granular. Custom content types are fairly easy to create.

Cons

Getting satisfactory answers from support is sometimes frustrating.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

dotCMS is a great web environment

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Being able to template out multiple websites with the same look and feel. The ability to reuse widgets & content across the site is a time saver.

Cons

Building tables on the web page is painful but it is across most web environments.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

dotCMS backend

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

We were able to customize and integrate with single page application completely. Ability to customize and add features are a big plus.

Cons

So far nothing, most critical issues we found were quickly patched.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Decent, but could be better

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Generally works pretty well and is reasonably easy to use once you get the hang of it.

Cons

Is not very modern. Working with images is cumbersome. Documentation could be better. Support seems quite slow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very usefull tools for making (almost) any potal

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've done several portals, all with customers satisfaction.

Pros

Very simple to use, customizable, time to market

Cons

Expensive Enterprise license Site documentation is poor

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Poor CMS system

Reviewed 4 years ago

Dot CMS does not give you a lot of flexibility as a web publisher. I have experience with many other platforms and this is the hardest to use, meaning it is not intuitive. It is also dated in terms of some of the plug ins.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hey Melinda! We really value customer feedback and transparency (truly, it effects the request we prioritize and future releases so customer feedback is essential) . We'd love the chance to speak with you in more depth around your experience as we're value centric and want to help remedy any of your current pain points here. We've had a relationship with IPFW for quite some time and want to make sure all parties are satisfied with their experience from the platform. I've reached out to you personally so please do let me know when you're available to connect. Thanks Melinda, I look forward to hearing from you. dotCMS Customer Success

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

dotCMS for our intranet platform

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Adding and maintaining content in dotCMS is simple and easy for non-technical staff. The editor is intuitive and has all the features needed without being overwhelming and difficult to master. Content maintainers are up and running within minutes, its brilliant.

Cons

dotCMS has a fairly large footprint and can be quite complex to set up initially. There are some minor quirks which we have come across that their technical support wasn't able to solve for us, but I believe it is specific to our installation and may not affect other installations. Other than that their support has been outstanding.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good CMS software!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use. Very easy to manage your work.

Cons

Customer service or internal problems within software like system bugs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Hit the ground running with this innovative and evolving CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Customer service was always responsive and we were able to get the corporate site up and running on this platform in a few short months.

Pros

This tool was much more approachable than previous CMS and the APIs that they provide allow you to extend the product with ease

Cons

Some of the desired customizations weren't always possible

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very User Friendly Dashboard

Reviewed 3 years ago

The software is vey good and the features and abilities are nice and useful.

Pros

The dashboard is very well done. It has everything you need and is easy to understand. The vanity URL ability was also a very cool feature. Plus, the Java being there was nice as well.

Cons

The pricing. We loved the demo but the enterprise package was a little more that our budget could handle for a CMS.