App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Rocket.Chat Logo

Rocket.Chat

The Leading Enterprise Communication Hub

learn more

(7)

Rocket.Chat Pricing

Pricing overview

Value for money rating

4.4

/5

139

Price starts from

Free

Pricing options
Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Pricing details

Rocket.Chat offers two pricing plans:

Community: A free, self-managed plan designed for small teams.


Enterprise: $7/user/month with a minimum of 25 users and $35/agent/month with a minimum of 5 agents.

What users say

Rocket.chat is a great alternative to Slack with the possibility to run it without license costs on-premise. Documentation is good and a lot of Slack integrations also works with rocket.chat.
OpenSource, free, and self hosted, gives us the freedom to manage and maintain a nationwide communications platform while keeping the costs very low.

Popular contenders

Price starts from

19.90

/user

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

348

One-time payment

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

4

/user

Per month

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

0

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Price starts from

499

Pricing model

Free plan
Subscription
Free trial

Free trial

Available
Credit cardless trial

Reviewers who mentioned pricing said:

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Lots of features as open-source & enterprise group chat software

Reviewed a year ago

Rocket.Chat has been very useful and relatively low-maintenance. Especially since we deployed it in MongoDB Atlas (another commercial product as DBaaS), so our MongoDB cluster is also low-maintenance. There are many features that can be enabled and configured, it's quite overwhelming at first. (to be honest, it still is now) But it makes me feel good too because if there's a use case, I feel that maybe 60-70% of the time, Rocket.Chat already provides that as an option.

Pros

The core software is open-source, so the cost is low to get started. You have the option, but not forced to, to purchase business/enterprise support and upgrade for additional features, and Rocket.Chat company also provides hosting services. In case you want to modify the code (likely you won't need it), but you can, so it's a big plus for feeling in control. Rocket.Chat supports OpenID Connect for...

Cons

I still see stability issues, sometimes chats not refreshing, and random minor issues. It's quite hard to debug/diagnose the issue, and on GitHub some issues have been waiting for weeks or months. I understand this is complex code without various platforms connected together, and to be fair Rocket.Chat tried to provide several debugging options inside it, so they do put effort in this. Configuring to use own Firebase Cloud Messaging (FCM) push notification is tricky, and requires deploying customized Android and iOS app... but this is to be expected and I'm not sure how it can be made easier. It still feels that they're pushing for new features more than to fix bugs. Which can be both a good thing or bad thing, depending on which side you're getting.

Vendor response

Hello Hendy, we're incredibly happy to see you've been having a positive experience with our product! Your feedback is very important for us - it's the only way we can improve our product. Thank you so much for your review :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My 6 months with Rocket Chat

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very satisfied . I have used Slack, Teamwork Chat before, but Rocket Chat is very economical to me ( free- minus the VPS cost). ANd it has everything we need.

Pros

1. Installation is a breeze. I was able to install Rocket Chat, get SSL configured, and had a running server set up in an hour without having to wave through endless linux commands. 2. Inbuilt support, for Video call using Jitsi, and inbuilt notifications. 3. Slack like user interface , which my team can instantly connect to.

Cons

1. The Quote a message, can be improved, it is visually not very clear. 2. The Video call doesn't ring inside the application, only gives a button to join which makes people skip it some times. 3. On Windows, if the app is running in background, you need to go to the notification panel to bring it to front, if you start from the Start Menu, it doesn't come to front. Overall, the shortcomings are very less and trivial. The software is very stable and a breeze to use.

Vendor response

Hi Aditya, our team is constantly improving the platform to offer our users an amazing team chat platform for internal and external communication. We would love to understand better the problems you are facing, would you be able to detail them and send us on support@rocket.chat? thanks for your feedback!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great, free Slack replacement

Reviewed 3 years ago

Cross-country communications have been simplified and we've been able to move from Slack to Rocket.chat with very little learning curve for our users. While gaining an unlimited amount of messages being saved, nearly unlimited storage space, and still keeping a familiar appearance, we've been able to implement SSO and created a number of custom data integrations with our ticketing system.

Pros

OpenSource, free, and self hosted, gives us the freedom to manage and maintain a nationwide communications platform while keeping the costs very low.

Cons

The biggest issue we have with Rocket.chat is somewhat inconsistent notifications being received to some mobile phones.

Vendor response

Hi Gavin, Your helpful comments are much appreciated,and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rocket.Chat Open Source Messaging Platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

We're using it just within the Systems department, and I like that it's installed locally and is completely controlled by us. We use it daily for quick messages between systems techs that don't need to be on our cloud messaging platform.

Pros

I love the simplicity and functionality of Rocket.Chat, especially for an open source app. Integration with Active Directory was quick and easy, and the mobile, desktop, and Web apps work great!

Cons

My one niggle with RC is with the way notifications work when you're logged in on multiple devices and apps. When I read a message on my desktop app, it's not marked as read on my mobile apps. I've searched high and low in the admin settings and can't find anything that I can turn on to fix that.

Vendor response

Hello Charlie, thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad that you're enjoying Rocket.Chat and your usage insights are very important for the continuous improvement of our platform. If you're still facing any issues regarding push notifications, please reach out at support@rocket.chat. We're happy to have you onboard! Rocket.Chat Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great internal team chat and slack alternative for european companies

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall positive. I would recommend it to any company or team who wants to keep control over their own data and need a reliable chat messenger.

Pros

It's easy to use, didn't cost anything (if self-hosted) and helps us meet EU-GDPR requirements. Further it provides a nice app and a community, that constantly improves the chat and features.

Cons

Overall look could be nicer, when compared to Slack or similiar. So when changing from another system, it may not look as nice as you are used too, but the differences are really mininal, so that's not crucial. A few times I had the feeling that it has issues to reliably mark already read messages.

Vendor response

Dear Rocketeer, thank you for your message. Your feedback is very important so we can continuously improve our product. Thank you for choosing Rocket.Chat!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Rocket Chat Messanger in Customer Service.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Effectieve business communication among clients/internal and customers. happy to use i.

Pros

easy to use, configure, can be installed on many forum like ubuntu,ocean,docker etc. Android/IOS application supported. text formatting is value aded feature. file can be sent or recieved. hence at server level restriction can be made to avoid data sharing. channel/grouping can be made. 2 step security is good option.

Cons

User cant made group, does not work with windows server active user directory, if you paste large data, it will convert it to text file, editor do not support for medium large data.

Vendor response

Hello Mudssar, we're glad your happy with the overall performance of our product. :) About the problems you're facing, you can always contact support@rocket.chat and we'll be happy to help you! Kind regards, Rocket.Chat Team

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

One of the best free chats

Reviewed 4 years ago

It works nicely (desktop and mobile), very intuitive.

Pros

We use rocket chat in our company. It was the most convenient switch after (sad) years using Skype. Rocket is a rich tool for collaboration: group chats, file sharing, privileges, chat customization, etc. All at a cost of zero! It's open source meaning there is a lot of eyes at this product code and quality. Updates are available often too.

Cons

It is not possible to quote a message originated in a different chat room, so if you have an important message to share for others, most likely you end up copying it and then pasting.

Vendor response

Dear Jose, Your helpful comment are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much! About quoting from different channels, if you use the "Permalink" option on the message pop up menu, a link will be copied to your clipboard, if you paste that link in another channel, a message preview will appear (similar to the reply one). This enables you to quote other messages in different channels

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy Team Communication

Reviewed 3 years ago

Instead of emailing, you can send a message quickly to a person, group or company wide. Very easy to use and a very effective communication tool.

Pros

The amount of resources this application needs to run in the background is remarkably low. It is free, open source and maximizes your time when sending along a quick message. We use it in the sales team to get a quick answer if we are unsure of the answer. A great and effective tool which makes us appear smart and knowledgeable.

Cons

Updates. The platform while quick to work out bugs does require you to re-start the app after the update.

Vendor response

Dear Joe, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Cost-effective, less restrictive alternative to Slack

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Our internal Slack instance quickly outgrew the free features & space available. With Rocket Chat, we have more space (so chats aren't reset daily) and features, as well as greater control over features. My team now uses Rocket Chat almost exclusively to communicate within our department and with other departments/teams. It's a great alternative for communicating during remote work or multitasking without disturbing co-workers.

Cons

There have been some stability/compatibility issues; I often had problems loading chat in Firefox (even after clearing my cache and/or restarting my machine) but haven't had any issues after changing to using Chrome as my browser.

Vendor response

Dear Katrina, Your helpful comment are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Rocket Chat - Good But not Great

Reviewed a year ago

Rocket Chat is a cost-effective communication solution for small businesses. However, when compared to its competitors (particularly Slack), it's not a product I'd suggest to someone trying to get the most out of it. The development team must work harder to stabilize the program and make it more user-friendly.

Pros

1. I like the notification system. It's highly unlikely that you will miss a crucial notification. When the status is set to busy, the notifications will stay in the background 2. It is definitely cheaper compared to its competitors 3. It's good for team collaboration and communication with the ability to create changes 4. The emojis spice up the communication 5. It also offers SSO functionality where users can log in with their GSUITE credentials

Cons

1. The major con has to be the User Interface. It could definitely use a lot of improvements to make it smooth 2. When starting it for the first time, the servers actually take forever to load 3. It hangs quite a lot even with a very strong internet connection and high spec laptop 4. The file sharing option could be made smoother. 5. The video call option is still missing 6. It's very easy to miss notifications while using the mobile app

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A great option for an online chatroom

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Cost effective hosting Good Integrations Simple to use

Cons

Customer Support Help documentation is a bit lacking

Vendor response

Dear Rocketeer, Thanks for the feedback! We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience! Given our open source nature, it is sometimes difficult to keep our documentation updated, we are always doing our best to keep it updated and our awesome community does a great job in helping us with this task.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Great Bang for Your Buck

Reviewed 3 years ago

All and all we like Rocket.Chat. It is a very inexpensive option for businesses that are 50+ people but aren't big enough to be a giant fortune 500 company will a lot of money to spend on internal chat. If you have less than 10 people on your team then go with Slack. It's more refined and you'll be spending the same amount. But once you go over 10 people Slack becomes a lot more expensive. If you're looking for a simple solution that gives more flexibility with permissions and save a good chunk of money Rocket.Chat is your best bet. Most of the time you won't miss having something like more expensive.

Pros

- Extremely inexpensive for business compared to something like Slack or Teams - A plethora of customization when it comes to permissions

Cons

- Missing some of the refinements that exist in things like Slack (i.e. notification settings are finicky sometimes, settings / preferences can be difficult for a lot of users to understand) - Anyone with our URL can technically sign up whenever they want. We just keep our public rooms locked so there's no info there - Even as the admin the amount of settings can be daunting at times.

Vendor response

Dear Shaun, Thanks for the feedback! We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience! About the sing up problem, you can change the settings for user registration, you can either, have users be manually allowed on the server by the admins, or give them a secret url that can be used to register in the server. Check out our Documentation on managing account settings at https://rocket.chat/docs/administrator-guides/account-settings/#registration

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Alternative to Slack

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great experience so far, pricing model is the only limitation for integration into our platform as we dont want to maintain our own app.

Pros

RocketChat is probably one of the best alternative to slack, it offers both the long-term support of open-source and the fast adoption cycle of a commercial cloud based offer.

Cons

Per-user pricing model is still to high for a chat, and limitation of push notifications is a problem for mobile user support. Another pricing model would be appreciated.

Vendor response

Hi Christopher, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Moving from Slack to Rocket.Chat was a no-brainer

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

With Rocket.Chat we were able to continue our team internal discussion without fear of losing messages due to account limitations. Rocket.Chat pricing made this move much easier. Great tool for start-up teams.

Cons

There's very little to not like about it. It seems to have most, if not all, of the same functionality as Slack and at a fraction of the cost.

Vendor response

Dear Andrew, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Viable Slack Alternative For Small Business

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Been looking for an alternative to Slack that is more customizable. Rocket Chat seems viable for small businesses that

Cons

Ultimately found that it was missing some features that we had in slack that our users really seemed to miss. Wish there was a cheaper plan for even small businesses, like 10 people or less.

Vendor response

Dear Mike, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Works well but needs polish

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, it's a good replacement for Hipchat but I do hear complaining from my team about it frequently.

Pros

Low cost, option to self-host, open-source, active development, generally fast. Cloud option was an easy setup. Overall, it works.

Cons

It needs polish. There are lots of little things that cause friction: they're annoying or confusing. For instance, aliases are case-sensitive (gets my team constantly). Alias completion has a very slight delay which makes it hard to use. I can't set the order of my groups and direct messages on the left pane. The notification options are confusing and difficult to use.

Vendor response

Dear Ethan, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A completely free chat tool for a basic use

Reviewed 4 months ago

For a free software, it is a good one. It could replace a basic use of Slack for example. You could spare some cost for a startup, as it is for our case.

Pros

It is FREE. Really free. COMPLETELY free chat system, documents sharing, team discussions and info sharing. Also, you can create conversation inside channel as a room. Quite handy to avoid 1000 channels.

Cons

There are bugs that are not fixed (and it has been years...) Eg : once you remove notifications from a channel, even if you try reactivate them, it does not work anymore. It is very confusing to go back if you click on add a file out of purpose... It makes it difficult to use sometimes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Cheap (free) alternative to Slack

Reviewed a year ago

We used it for 1 week and then uninstalled it, probably will look at it again if we need our own server

Pros

It is cheap, lot of plugins. Good sites with documentation. You may install it into your own cloud/server

Cons

The interface is not user-friendly. No threads support as in Slack. Pricing for the app is not reasonable

Vendor response

Hello Dmitry, we're sorry to see you didn't have a positive experience with Rocket.Chat. Our end-users usually find our product very easy to use - could you specify which issues you had with it, specially with threads? We have different plans with different price ranges that we believe are adaptable to each company's needs. We'd love to hear a little bit more about what you didn't find reasonable - it's the only way we'll know how to improve. Feel free to reach out to us anytime and thanks for your feedback. :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Provide everything that I need. Cheaper than Slack Custom integration with other services

Cons

Sometimes preview (e.g., amazon) does not work Searching (especially with Japanese) is really bad

Vendor response

Dear Ryo, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good tool for basic chat functionality

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, this tool does what it is promised. It does miss some of the extensions and integration; however on the surface, this is still a pretty good and reliable tool.

Pros

The great thing about this product vs it's competitors such as SLACK is that it is far cheaper, with close to the same functionality as you would expect with the other guys. You can either communicate with people in groups, or in a private channel

Cons

It does lack some functionality such as extensions that are shared with the competitors. Also an option to save parts of a chat would be helpful

Vendor response

Dear Rocketeer, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

good slack alternative

Reviewed 4 years ago

collaboration and task management

Pros

the best part is that since the product is open source it is highly customizable. Mostly aligns with what slack can do for you, some new features are needed to make it happen. Also nearly free if you can use it right. Would recommend for startups and other tech teams which are less than 10-15 members

Cons

More integrations are required to make this completely usable. Also with hangouts chat now available the product needs better differentiation in terms of the value proposition

Vendor response

Dear Alister, Thanks for the feedback on your experience with our platform. We sincerely appreciate your insight because it helps us build a better customer experience!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Chat with Ease!

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience has been great it gets the job done, I am able to chat with customers and clients with ease, quickness and efficiency.

Pros

This software has made my job so much easier to handle with chatting with customers and clients. I currently use this program to do troubleshoot with customers and it has worked very nicely in providing me great automated system built in and quick responses for my customers/clients.

Cons

The least thing I like about it is that it can be a little more vibrant , its a bit plain jane but that's just me. I do value good visuals.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great open source solution for team chat

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our team tried switching to Rocket.Chat for a while, but we haven't reach a satisfatory setup yet.

Pros

When compared with the market leader, Rocket Chat doesn't miss any features. On top of that, it's open source, free and extensible!

Cons

With the open source and no price tag, comes the lower support and harder setup. If the IT team is up to the challenge, it's worth it!

Vendor response

Hi Julio! Your helpful comment are much appreciated,and your feedback will help us to continually improve our platform. Thank you very much!