App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Microsoft SharePoint Logo

Microsoft SharePoint

Collaboration & content management platform

(46)

Microsoft SharePoint Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

5.1K

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.05/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

If you are a Microsoft fan or heavy user, then Share Point it is a good software for integration and share data and information between your people and clients.
I love how you can integrate Microsoft office. The large file support is great along with the ability to keep everything on your phone.
This software is great for the world of remote working and is a great solution to collaborating online. The program is user friendly and requires minimal training to understand.
Occassionally I will have errors when creating Sharepoint pages– such as the inability to change the column count, insert pictures, etc.
I would describe my overall expense as very poor and frustrating.
If there are too many documents that are not organized it can be hard to find what you need. I think that's mostly user error.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


5,107 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nikhil C.

Supplier Risk Manager

Pharmaceuticals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Microsoft SharePoint Review: Great integration tool

Reviewed 2 months ago

Transcript

Nikhil: Hi, my name is Nikhil. I work with the biggest pharmaceutical manufacturing company in Paris,...

AR
AvatarImg

Alexia R.

Product Owner

Mining & Metals, 10,001+ employees

Review source

Overall Rating

It is not my favourite

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Alexia: Hey, my name is Alexia. I work as a product owner. I'm giving five stars to Microsoft SharePoint....

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nelisiwe V.

Utilities, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Sharepoint

Reviewed 2 years ago

User friendly and easy to use. Has guides and tutorials that assist on how to use the software Makes business collaboration simplified Updating documents seamless Easy to track changes and manage access

Pros

It is user-friendly and easy to deploy. Enable simultaneous access to the documents, and provides real-time updates and collaboration. Simplifies day-to-day business collaborations. Shared documents across different companies. Assist with meetings regulatory requirements, content management streamlined, and have effective decision-making tools. Easy to manage surveys and provides stats as required. Can integrate with other systems.

Cons

Integration requires extra development Very expensive

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bisi F.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Hats Off To Sharepoint

Reviewed 4 months ago

SharePoint is a robust platform, but it still lacks certain features that could enhance its functionality. Additionally, better native support for offline access and mobile device optimization could make it more versatile. Advanced task management and project planning tools are also features that some users find lacking, desiring more seamless integration. Lastly, stronger data analytics and reporting capabilities would be valuable for organizations seeking more in-depth insights from their SharePoint data

Pros

SharePoint offers numerous benefits, including streamlined collaboration, centralized document management, enhanced security, and powerful integration with Microsoft 365 applications. Its ability to facilitate team communication, content sharing, and version control makes it an essential tool for boosting productivity and efficiency in organizations.

Cons

I would like more intuitive user interfaces and simplified navigation to improve the overall user experience. The absence of intuitive user interfaces and simplified navigation in SharePoint can significantly hinder the user experience. Users may find it challenging to locate and access the features and content they need, leading to frustration and reduced efficiency. The complexity of the platform can result in longer learning curves, requiring more extensive training and support. This lack of user-friendliness can deter adoption and limit the platform's effectiveness in facilitating collaboration and document management.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Ross M.

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Misses The Mark

Reviewed 5 years ago

We had hoped that Sharepoint would offer the cloud-to-local sync functionality and performance of Dropbox, but with integration with Office and Excel. In reality, its bugs and inconsistent syncing make it a highly frustrating and a miserable experience for our staff. Dropbox offers some Office and Excel integration and in our testing its simpler and works more consistently. We will be switching to Dropbox Enterprise within the next few months. This is sad, because Sharepoint comes "free" with our Office and Excel licenses, so it just ends up being something we paid for in the bundle price that will sit on the shelf.

Pros

SharePoint integrates with Office and Excel, which are tools we use regularly. It serves as a cloud-based central file store, and you can open files from it via the web browser or use its sync utility to sync the files locally similar to Dropbox. When it works as intended, it's a passable experience.

Cons

There are daily failures by Sharepoint that add up to a miserable user experience. The biggest issue is the sync utility. On a daily basis there are problems with local changes syncing back to the cloud, or cloud changes syncing locally. We work on Macs, which I suppose is understandable that our platform wouldn't be as well-supported, but we do pay the same money that Windows users do. The integration...

TC
AvatarImg

Tharani C.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Features and Limitations of MS SharePoint

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Apart from document management, it also has a built-in form designer that allows users to create custom forms as per their needs without extensive coding. So, it is easy to use even for beginners as it provides a drag & drop interface to create a form.

Cons

In large deployments or when dealing with large amounts of data, its functioning can sometimes be a concern.

SD
AvatarImg

Souleymane D.

Mining & Metals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

The content management platform.

Reviewed 6 months ago

I have been using Microsoft SharePoint for over a year for document management, file classification, and organization. It has been a very useful software for me as a recruiter.

Pros

I use Microsoft SharePoint for document management. As a recruiter, it helps me manage and organize candidate files and folders with ease. That's why I appreciate the document management aspect.

Cons

There is no functionality that I didn't like because Microsoft SharePoint is very robust and secure, ensuring the protection of my data. Moreover, it supports access rights management, which adds an additional layer of security.

LM
AvatarImg

Lauren M.

Primary/Secondary Education,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Using it for teachers to share files online

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Microsoft is a well known vendor with lots of support available - particularly online support via forums. This makes Microsoft a great choice for large companies, because they will always be supported. What I like best about SharePoint is its ability to integrate with other Microsoft programs. We use it as a central saving point for files that teachers may need to share. Our backup files are shared there. I've never had any issues with it losing files nor have I found it confusing. It has a lot of functionality and it is reliable.

Cons

I can't really think of anything I dislike. I guess it does not have as much of a user friendly interface as your typical Box or Dropbox options. However, it can handle a lot more. It is definitely geared more toward larger groups and larger companies than your personal use for individual users.

Jy
AvatarImg

Joo-yeok L.

Financial Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sharepoint is essential

Reviewed 2 months ago

We will plan to continue to use sharepoint

Pros

very easy to use and the interface is very intuitive.

Cons

There is nothign I don't like, it's the best tool in the market.

MN
AvatarImg

Michael N.

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Its been great to use and helps keeping the files safe

Reviewed 2 months ago

Very promising and professional.. Its been amazing.

Pros

Easy to use and file arrangements very esy to find files

Cons

Nothing really to dislike ..its been great.

dr
AvatarImg

david r.

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

No better tool for sharing information

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Sharepoint is so easy to use and manage, but more importantly so easy to keep content secure and access restricted when needed. A valuable tool in my workplace

Cons

I've yet to experience any negatives using SharePoint

BH
AvatarImg

Brendan H.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microsoft SharePoint Review

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

The ease of being able to transfer documents to my colleagues

Cons

Not many that I can think of. Everything that we use is at a very high standard

PS
AvatarImg

Patric S.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Document Management and more

Reviewed 3 years ago

We use it as our intranet, to share information about projects, tasks, opporunities or rather static content to display information about various departments. We have a lot of customers who use it mainly as a document management system or also as a intranet solution. Especially the SharePoint Online version is very easy to adapt and has great integration with Microsoft 365.

Pros

Offers a ton of features, you don't have to use all of them but they are there if you need them. It can be used for document management (DMS) or even CMS for intranet purposes. It has a powerful search engine, you can manage complex permission scenarios, there is also the possibility to manage records, litigation holds, taxonomies, and more and more. With the new modern UI users can also even more simply edit pages, place web parts on them to display different content like, text, images, videos, news feeds, document libraries, lists etc. If you don't go the on-premise but the SharePoint Online route, you can save yourself the hassle of installing it on your own and have a very easy access to a powerful tool for collaboration or to simply display information.

Cons

Has some kind of a learning courve. Can be complex, especially if you want to take it to the next level and start to customize it. On-premise version is rather expensive and needs an IT professional to set up and also it should run on multiple servers and also MSSQL which adds to the license cost.

JY
AvatarImg

Jill Y.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Powerful, Robust Program That Helps Me "Futureproof" My Business

Reviewed 2 years ago

This is the second business where I've deployed Microsoft SharePoint. I find comfort in knowing that the features, while sometimes complicated, are robust enough to grow and adapt with the changing business environment. Overall, I have more faith in the program than I do with other programs that looks similar on the surface. Despite frustration in trying to learn about new features and encouraging employee "buy in" for the program, I am overall satisfied with the product.

Pros

The cost is relatively low for SharePoint when combined with Teams and other Microsoft applications. The integration across users, platforms, and programs is extremely useful in a modern-day business environment. I know that there are more features than I can imagine, and that I've barely scratched the surface of the program. This means I can count on it to always have features that will expand with my business's needs.

Cons

Features I like the least: difficult to learn how to deploy its robust features without seeking professional consultation. Hard to share and incorporate our system with users outside of the organization; this occasionally causes confusion.

DG
AvatarImg

Dawn G.

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great value, Somewhat difficult implementation

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love the ability to store documents in different folders, and the idea of sharing folder-related information is appealing if an organization has the time and expertise to be able to use that feature. Even though it's been tough getting all our staff acclimated, it has been a really good, cost-effective product for our non-profit org.

Pros

This software has a great price for non-profits orgs, and has some pretty incredible, useful features. However, those features are only good if the org's staff is willing to invest time into learning to use them.

Cons

The emails that are sent to the administrators with upcoming changes are written to an IT audience. For a small organization that may not have the staff with that expertise or experience, they are difficult to understand. I really wish Microsoft emails could be understood by a larger audience.

PP
AvatarImg

Pawan P.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

"Streamlining team productivity with Microsoft SharePoint: An in-depth review"

Reviewed a year ago

Microsoft SharePoint is an incredibly powerful and versatile tool for team collaboration and project management. It provides a central location for the organization and sharing of files, documents, and information, making it easy for team members to access and work on projects together. The task management and email management features are also very helpful in improving productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows. The interface is easy to navigate and the ability to integrate with other third-party software makes it even more versatile. It's a great tool for businesses and organizations of all sizes and across all industries.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint is widely used and popular for its ability to improve collaboration and communication within teams. It allows for the organisation and sharing of files, documents and information in a central location, making it easy for team members to access and work on projects together. It also offers task management and email management features which improves productivity and accountability within a team. Additionally, it allows for easy coordination of tasks and projects, making it an efficient tool for managing team workflows.

Cons

Some users may find that Microsoft SharePoint can be complex and overwhelming to navigate, especially for those who are not familiar with its features and functionality. It also requires a good amount of training to be able to fully utilize its capabilities. Additionally, for those who are not using the enterprise version, the cost may be a concern as it may be considered as expensive. Furthermore, some users may experience difficulties in integrating it with other third-party software.

NM
AvatarImg

Nhlanhla M.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Enhance Workflows with Microsoft SharePoint

Reviewed 9 months ago

While SharePoint offers a robust set of features, some users may find certain customisation options and advanced workflows rather complex. Integration with non-Microsoft systems can require additional effort and technical expertise, depending on the specific requirements of existing business processes.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint offers impactful collaboration tools, comprehensive content management, and seamless project tracking. While there is a learning curve, the platform provides user-friendly interfaces. Integration with existing processes varies, with smooth integration with Microsoft tools but requiring effort for non-Microsoft systems. SharePoint enhances productivity and teamwork in organisations.

Cons

While SharePoint is a robust platform, some users may desire more advanced customisation options, improved user interface for certain tasks, and enhanced integration with non-Microsoft systems to further enhance flexibility and ease of use. But I am ok with features available

CR
AvatarImg

Claude Real T.

Graphic Design, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great collaboration, document management and data collecting tool

Reviewed 4 months ago

Globally, SharePoint is the best document management tool, collaboration tool and internal communication tool on the market.

Pros

The lists, librairies and metadatas are the great features of SharePoint. Also the front end tool Microsoft Teams renders the collaboration on projects even better.

Cons

The ability to break the security heritage of folder is one of the worst feature now that metadatas are available to manage per type security. Also the desktop synchronization using Microsoft OneDrive creates all sorts of problem and should not be used.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Mandeep J.

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

SharePoint is the best web based intranet software to streamline the management of the data and info

Reviewed 5 years ago

I have been using this software for information sharing and accessing within my organisation and I can say it's one of the best online web-based tool for sharing record and information and that too very securely. Definitely one of the best software for intranet web based information sharing.

Pros

Microsoft SharePoint is the best software for sharing of documentation and information witin an organization. This software given best control to the owners to enable controlled and restricted access to the information for the targetted users. This helps users to access the information remotely from any location using centralized location link using web browser hence the companies can place the data...

Cons

Though it is very effective tool for management of information Sharing within an organization but it require some experience to set the checkpoints to enable the restricted access to the information to a certain group of peoples such as password protection, applying some read only checks and other restrictions that can be implemented.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Share and SharePoint alike

Reviewed 5 years ago

As mentioned briefly above, my most recent experience with SharePoint is using lists. This particular list (with a workflow to assign tasks) replaces an Excel spreadsheet of the same information. Using a SharePoint list instead, complete with different views and user alerts, allows relevant people access to the information they need in the right format, without having to duplicate work, send email updates, etc. While SharePoint can be frustrating, it seems evident from the updates that there is a move towards more intuitive use.

Pros

The recent updates to SharePoint have come a long way in making it more intuitive to use, and providing a better looking user interface. The management of the 'apps' (e.g. document libraries, lists, promoted links) has become much easier of late. It would be useful to see more information added to the apps descriptions, to help users determine which best suits their needs, without having to navigate to the Office help pages and/or third party sites. The best feature for my current use is the ability to create different views of a list, and initiate workflows to assign list items as Tasks for certain users, thereby automating the sharing of the distribution of workload.

Cons

Some parts of SharePoint's functionality can be baffling - without formal training, it can be very difficult to work out how best to utilise SharePoint's features. When SharePoint is used across a large institution, without consistent training differing practices across different teams can make collaboration hard, as Sites/Pages/Libraries have been set up to function so differently. Inheriting a SharePoint site set up by someone else is tricky, as the logic they used to manage the site can be hard to decipher. Permissions can be hard to manage, particularly as its rarely clear to the requester to whom their requests for access are being sent. This can be frustrating, as it can contradict the 'Share' aspect of SharePoint.

BG
AvatarImg

Brandon G.

Consumer Electronics, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Functionality, but Ease of Use Is a Drawback

Reviewed 4 years ago

Considering both the positives and negatives, I think Sharepoint is a fairly decent tool for what it offers. We went from using exclusively Google's products to Sharepoint, but I still find myself going back to Google Drive, etc. for a good portion of my work. It's not that Sharepoint is explicitly bad by any means--in fact, there are a few things that it does really well. It's just that given the...

Pros

I like the ability to quickly share, access, and retrieve documents that my team and I use on a weekly basis. It's nice having one place where everything is stored, and that I don't have to go to multiple storage locations to get what I need. The versatility of Sharepoint is also a bright spot. I can upload just about anything, and the storage structure is intuitive enough that I can find pretty much anything I need without a direct link to the file or folder.

Cons

The UI can be confusing at times. It was confusing at first on how to navigate back to top level folders or storage locations after diving a few levels deep, and figuring out how to access the file options (delete, share, etc.) wasn't clear on the first use. I had to click around a bit in order to find what I needed. Another point on the UI is that while it seems to have gotten a makeover in recent...

DW
AvatarImg

Daniel W.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Sharepoint: The Ultimate Sharing software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I think that most companies can benefit from Sharepoint, especially if they already use Microsoft software which is highly likely. It streamlines everyone’s workflows and allows smooth collaboration between team members. It creates a space for enterprise document storage and communication.

Pros

In my opinion, Microsoft Sharepoint is one of the ways Microsoft proves that it is a step ahead of other software companies. Microsoft Sharepoint is a powerful but versatile combination of document, workflow, team and collaboration management softwares, which is an incredible asset for any company. There are many things that Sharepoint does right. The user interface has just the right of complexity...

Cons

Sharepoint is really hard to set up at first, especially if you are storing files locally and will require someone experienced to fully set up. The price is also quite high per user, but this is completely worth it in my opinion. It also takes a while to realise the full potential of Sharepoint as there are a few features that are hard to find.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Banking, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent business collaborative document management platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our project is using Microsoft SharePoint for long years (and my previous project in earlier organization too!) and felt comfortable using this product which includes file versioning, sharing across teams, calendar/task sharing, review documents online, integration with multiple Microsoft products like Microsoft 365, Microsoft teams, Microsoft PowerBI, Microsoft Project for project management, Microsoft...

Pros

Flexible to use across any user or large group in the organization, specially in company intranet environment. It allows social networking as well to collaborate across different user groups like developers, designers, business analysts. According to business needs, it can be customized to view the specific content in the design. In terms of project management, it allows to share user calendars, multiple...

Cons

The ROI is pretty average compared with other document management products in the market. Not available to preview the document files. The URL keeps with folder names so it annoys when user has long file folder/file names on it. Training aid is mandatorily needed to do more administration settings.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The everything tool that is hard to describe

Reviewed 2 years ago

We began our journey to online collaboration looking for a one-to-one replacement of our onsite file server. As Office365 has grown and we as well our understanding of the use of tools like distribution groups grew into Office 365 groups and now Teams to support the functions of those groups and underneath each of those was Sharepoint acting as the trunk from which those branches of collaboration have stemmed. Even as we have only basically touched on the capbility for the pages within the sharepoint site to act as a more robust website, we are still only using those as information to direct people the conversation locations and document libraries.

Pros

Essentially everything about Office 365 is wrapped around the core of Sharepoint online. As Microsoft began investing in their online offerings they used this existing structure for an intranet to allow groups to collaborate on materials to work across the internet rather than just across the office. This time-tested, monolithic system isn't fast and flashy, but it is capable if you spend the time...

Cons

Its feature richness is a benefit and a challenge as it is complex to learn all of the capabilities and how to manage them.

UH
AvatarImg

Ute H.

E-Learning, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

SharePoint is the correct name for this solution!

Reviewed 2 years ago

I used SharePoint over several years and saw its evolution and its strengths. I was a little shocked, when the external websites were given up, because I liked the same design principles for Intranet end internet. Now as Teams is the „Eier legende WollMilchSau“ German Word for „can do it all“, I see, that the focus is gone from SharePoint over to Teams and every AddOn is created for Teams, no more SharePoint.

Pros

After a period of time to get used to the product, you find every day new features to improve your Workflows. If you have only been used before to files and folders, you see how easy it can be, to find the file your worked last on, to keep track of changes and versions without renaming files and storing them in different folders. You see, when someone edits something in the same document and you can...

Cons

The learning curve needs to be planned in advance, because the way of working does not change on its own. People who never experienced all the new possibilities will not start to use them, if not shown, with a clear structure and policies from the beginning onwards. The need for an experienced instructor is clear especially in the installation and configuration phase. Because the IT department needs to be involved as well as the head of each department. The instructor has to ask the right questions, to get to know the existing way of working and to advice for the new way of working and that implementation for it.

CP
AvatarImg

Ck P.

Computer Software, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A robust collaboration platform

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The best thing about Sharepoint is how well it integrates, not just with Microsoft products like Office 365, Teams, AD, OneDrive, etc. but also with 3rd party tools like SAP, Adobe, Jira, etc. I really like the fact that it encourages live collaboration, especially when used with Office 365 to edit the same documents by multiple people. The content management functionality is also top-notch. It's effortless to customize and modify quickly. From the security standpoint, it has all the bells and whistles of other Microsoft products, like MFA, password policies, at rest and in-flight encryptions, etc.

Cons

As someone who had the misfortune of setting it up, Sharepoint migration and setup can be a daunting and complicated task. You must do extensive research and/or work with Microsoft partners to configure it. Otherwise, you are bound to run into issues, which can be very challenging to troubleshoot. However, if done right, it results in a very powerful tool. The other thing to be mindful of is the cost. Both the licensing and the support can be expensive.

AP
AvatarImg

Anilkumar P.

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Microsoft SharePoint CMS for Managing content and documents of organization

Reviewed 7 years ago

If you are small organization, always prefer SharePoint Online services and SharePoint on-premise is recommended for big organization usually.

Pros

1. Since it is Microsoft product, Area of development and support is very vast and also accepted globally. 2. Guidelines for installing and configuring SharePoint is very easy to compare to other CMS available in the market. 3. From performance and security point of view, SharePoint is the best product for any organization. 4.Can be easily integrated with other Microsoft product such as Outlook, Azure, Yammer, Office, and PowerBI etc. 5. SharePoint also has Foundation version (till SharePoint 2013) for free to target smaller organization. 6. With the release of SharePoint Online on cloud, It provides more flexibility and less IT team work for any organization, especially for a smaller organization.

Cons

1. Maintaining SharePoint on-premises for smaller organisation becomes very difficult and costly because it requires more technical support. 2.SharePoint may have added customization options for those who wants to implement intranet system, Microsoft actually discourages this from happening. The ease of customization with custom designs, especially from a home page perspective, can help businesses better tailor their intranet experience to the individual workers. 3. To work SharePoint search efficiently, Lots of internal customization is needed. 4. Since for SharePoint online, Microsoft is maintaining server, which ends in providing less scope for customizing. 5.Migration from old SharePoint version to new is little complex and requires lots of efforts