BuilderTREND Pricing, Features, Reviews & Alternatives

BuilderTREND

A better way to build.

4.5/5 (1,537 reviews)

BuilderTREND overview

What is BuilderTREND?

Buildertrend is the No. 1, cloud-based construction project management software trusted by homebuilders, remodelers and specialty contractors. Since 2006, we have empowered the construction industry with a better way to build. More than 1 million users across more than 100 countries have chosen Buildertrend as their preferred platform for real-time collaboration throughout each and every stage of the building process. Our software helps construction professionals complete more projects while reducing delays, eliminating communication errors and increasing customer satisfaction.

Each customer has a dedicated team to deliver a personalized, unlimited training experience. Customers also have unlimited access to branding and web services, educational webinars, live chat support and an extensive online help center. For more learning, we host online or in-person conferences for an immersive learning experience, or we offer Onsite Consulting if you prefer for our team to come to you and work side-by-side with your company.

Buildertrend integrates with other solutions such as QuickBooks, Xero and material takeoff tools.

Pricing

Starting from
$299/month
Pricing options
Subscription
Value for money
View Pricing Plans

Devices

Business size

S
M
L

Markets

United States, Australia, Canada, China, Germany and 3 other markets, India, Japan, United Kingdom

Supported languages

B@6e8abb07
BuilderTREND screenshotBuildertrend - One Construction AppBuilderTREND screenshotBuilderTREND screenshotBuilderTREND screenshot
Have you already used BuilderTREND?
Help us improve the recommendations we show you.

BuilderTREND user reviews

Value for money
Features
Ease of use
Customer support
  4.3
  4.3
  4.3
  4.7
Brian D.

Revolutionized my sales follow up

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-06-13
Review Source: Capterra

I used other CRMs in the past, but love using BuilderTrend. Its simple setup has allowed me to keep track of my customers as well as provide better follow up to my clients. I just utilize the Sales section of BuilderTrend, but it has improved my client relationships and increased my overall sales.

Pros
Buildertrend is great--I love using the Activity Calendar and Lead Report to keep track of my follow up with my customers. I can use activity notes to remember what I discussed with customers when we last spoke, and this helps me engage in better dialogue when I follow up with customers. Our installation team loves using the project management feature to keep track of our installs and provide an easy transition from sales to installation.

Cons
The user interface is kind of clunky, especially on the app. Sometimes it is difficult to find stuff and the filters can get annoying.

Response from Buildertrend


Brian, thank you for your review and honest feedback! We love hearing how Buildertrend has helped your company.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Richard C.

Streamlines so many parts of our business

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2020-06-30
Review Source: Capterra

Very good. If youre going to integrate BT make sure you take it on a section at a time. Dont try and open up too many sections to your team These guys have given a lot of thought to the software and it forms an amazing backbone for any client facing construction business. We couldnt last the day without it.

Pros
This software is outstanding in many different areas We initially purchased it initially to manage our clients selections for new homes and it quickly got integrated elsewhere to the point its the backbone of many of our processes We use this now to manage client change order (it pays for itself on this alone every month) selections, materials ordering from site, daily logs, H&S management, RFI's for the design team and photo storage and programming to name but a few We couldn't go back to the old ways of doing many of these There are a lot of different features and you'll certainly find many that'll make it worth your while to use Oh and the customer support is ace

Cons
Overall roll out is great and intuitive but you do need to comit to integrating BT to your business and this takes time and effort. THis is a software that gives back 10 fold what you put in, but it does need your comittment.

Response from Buildertrend


Richard, thank you so much for your honest review and feedback! We appreciate you sharing how Buildertrend works for Appletree Estates, and we feel so lucky to have you as customers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Joshua H.

One stop shop

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2021-04-22
Review Source: Capterra

I use it every day on my iPad going over schedules with the trades, which is really helpful.

Pros
I like that everything from scheduled, documents, purchase orders, budgets, etc. can all be in Buildertrend. It has many great features that streamline communication with trades and help them to get paid on time. It’s a great way to organize multiple projects at a time.

Cons
While having so many features is great, it is also a little daunting, and I feel that there is so much I haven’t discovered, or don’t know how to use properly. They have help waiting for you to guide you, which is helpful, but since there’s so much I feel like I’m not using it to its full potential.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Danielle T.

Reviewed 2013-03-26
Review Source: Software Advice

We are a boutique custom home builder; each project is unique and personalized. Although I was not involved in the selection of this software, my understanding is that we wanted a program that could be accessed by all the parties involved, handle the scheduling and move us away from paper checklists - ultimately allowing all users to be both informed of changes and to be able to plan for future events without having to directly communicate with each person. As far as scheduling goes this system has failed. It has caused more time consuming questions. My complaint is that you can only link item to item by a (or a couple) predecessor(s) that, ultimately, the program struggles with which item is next in the list if a few of them share the same linked task. Also in a best case scenario, this scheduled list is how you build a house - but in most cases something, whether it be trade related or whether related or inspection related, cause a task to be delayed but the other ones would continue on schedule however the program has linked the start date to the the delayed task and now the whole calender is messed up. Or perhaps the exterior of the house generally starts after framing and roofing but maybe a winter storm makes this impossible so you continue the interior for weeks. Then you try and adjust backwards and because your best case scenario template stated it should commence at framing completion and you delayed that. Thus your left with a domino affect of wrong dates. and a series of emails sent to vendors informing them of the delay that really didn't apply to them. So they change schedules and you are left with no trades to do the interior work that in your mind could and should be fine. I also find that the program doesn't offer enough flexibility in the selection section. It allows me to upload a previously created document to be stored that a homeowner could then log on and download. They then fill out and can't re-upload this document, so they are forced to fax or scan and email back to us. This is neither time effective nor practical. Perhaps it would be better if we were able to create a checklist that was interactive in this section, similar to the change orders where we type out the change and the client could update decisions. In our company we don't limit our clients to three choices of floor plans and two cabinet doors and 4 granite selections, they are free to choose anything they can dream of. As a result we cannot load a document that would apply to all builds. However, I believe the change orders tab is well thought out, easy to use and provides all the options to make it a valuable asset. The warranty section does a great job of tracking and notifying and saving time and assuring that service and warranty items are handled and accepted. The daily log and messaging capabilities that allow us to keep a record of notes or messages in one area logged by date and job site is extremely valuable and a good system. Furthermore, the software as a whole is easy to learn, has a logical and simple layout so even those who are not computer savvy can fumble through without creating errors and won't be too intimidated by the complexity of the software to attempt to use it. Finally, the technical support and training provided is always quick to help resolve an issue or aid in a question. New training is scheduled in a very quick time frame for free and is tailored to the person that requires it. This is handled exceptionally well in a time when often companies forget you exist once the purchase is complete. So, we have decided that we will use BuilderTrend for those things that they excel at and don't use it as a scheduling tool.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review

PHILIP W.

Very good value for the price

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2021-02-04
Review Source: Capterra

Overall we are very happy with the software and are continually looking for ways to use more features to improve our processes.

Pros
CRM is excellent. Project scheduling is working well but we don't use all the features. Estimating and budget management is fairly easy to use. Like the features for high level management of projects but not for site level and day to day management.

Cons
There isn't as much flexibility in using the software how we would like for our workflows. You are pretty locked into doing things the way the system is set up. Also, some of the features with templating don't carry over into new jobs when imported. It makes using templates sometimes a waste of time and not as beneficial as they can be. Project management for site supers is less effective and lacks some of the features needed for day to day management.

Response from Buildertrend


Philip - thank you for your honest feedback! I will pass this along to our Product team.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

BuilderTREND pricing

Starting from
$299/month
Pricing options
Subscription
View Pricing Plans

Unlimited projects and users starting at $299/month.

BuilderTREND features

Accounting Integration
Bid Management
Budget Tracking/Job Costing
Change Order Management
Collaboration Tools
Commercial
Contract/License Management
Contractor Management
Data Import/Export
Document Management
Estimating
Job Costing
Mobile Access
Project Management
Project Tracking
Projections
Quotes/Estimates
Subcontractor Management

Activity Dashboard (93 other apps)
Reporting/Analytics (89 other apps)

Security and privacy

Encryption

Encryption of sensitive data at rest
HTTPS for all pages

Access control

Multi-factor authentication options
This will ask you to sign in with LinkedIn

Videos and tutorials

Additional information for BuilderTREND

Key features of BuilderTREND

  • Online Schedule Management
  • Change Order Management
  • Document & Photo Management
  • Selections Management
  • Warranty / Service Management
  • Improving Sales
  • Project Communication
  • Job Costing
  • Estimating
  • Proposal Generation
  • Lead Management
  • Customer Portal
  • Subcontractor Portal
  • To-do's
  • Daily Logs
  • Survey's
  • Time Tracking
  • Warranty Management
View All Features

Benefits

Run your entire business from one single platform.

Save time and money through scheduling efficiency.

Never loose money on a botched change order again.

Manage your subcontractors with ease.

Automatic notifications cut down phone calls and emails.