This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

ProEst Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

I liked that this software is very simple and easy, and we had free training sessions which was very useful. I also find the take off system and tools very powerful and the database is huge.

Hank A.

Overall it is a great system, they have an awesome trainer that will work with you until you got it. Customer service is also real helpful.

Helen M.

I have been using ProEst for the last year and have for the most part been very happy. The customer support has been very good.

Seth W.

Cons

Terrible schedule program; visually unable to have clients and vendors understand it.

Brian S.

I do have one complaint which may seem petty, but it is an annoyance.

Seth W.

Building an assembly from scratch is so difficult that they now have someone in house that does this for their customers because its so difficult, think about that.

Brandon B.

Overall rating

3.8

5

4

3

2

1

12

17

11

2

2

66%
positive reviews
83%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


44 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Game Changer

Reviewed 10 months ago

We enjoy many features ProEst has to offer. There are many different ways you could use the software, from a pure budgeting stand point, to keeping historical data, to only writing formal proposals. ProEst gives you the freedom to customize how you want to use it.

Pros

ProEst gives you the ability to quickly turnover a budget or estimate by integrating take offs with your historical data and translating it into a report that can be emailed directly to the owner. All while your accounting is kept up to date if a budget or estimate is accepted. The ability to do takeoffs that build your estimate simultaneously has saved countless hours or extra work.

Cons

The software is cloud based, if internet is down or a glitch on their end occurs it could be frustrating. This is very rare however, and shouldn't direct your decision.

Vendor response

Thanks, Jon, for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear ProEst has been a good fit for your company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

iICON Const Procore Revirew

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall experience - I would rate the product 8 of of 10 for user capabilities. The scheduling program lacks tremendously; the estimating and couple other modules are completely unused, otherwise very capable program for managing vendors and clients. One of the better systems I have used (JE Edwards, Sage, Premivera, ect)

Pros

Vendor management, budgets, change events, change management, cost integration, document management, submittal processes, RFI processes

Cons

1, excessive separate modules rather than single page options as was 2017 version 2, lacks home page full client contact, lists only project info not people or their contact info 3, excessive message 404 errors and too much downtime on system 4, terrible schedule program; visually unable to have clients and vendors understand it

Vendor response

Thank you, Brian, for taking the time to review ProEst! We appreciate your feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

ProEst Review

Reviewed 10 months ago

ok

Pros

I can keep all my quotes at one place and easy to use.

Cons

There are so many things to improve. They can do lot with it. I have already suggested them a lot to change. I want them to make it like excel format.

Vendor response

Thank you, Sandeep, for taking the time to review ProEst! We're happy to hear that you've found our platform easy to use. We understand that switching from Excel to estimating software can be an adjustment, but we hope that you've found ProEst to be a more streamlined and accurate solution for your company.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Daily User

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Proposal Writting is made easy and summary reports.

Cons

Learning curve when first using this software. some features from ProEst did not transfer to the cloud version.

Vendor response

Thanks, LeAndrew, for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! We're happy to hear that ProEst has made proposal writing and reporting easy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ProEst Simple experience with Options for customization

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall ProEst has been great, easy to learn and use, and can still have many more options for customization

Pros

The fact that it is easy to customize the take-off settings and get a clear measuring tool when needed

Cons

Integration with other CRMs is a little bit more tricky.

Vendor response

Thank you, Marco, for taking the time to write a review! We're glad to hear you've found ProEst customizable and easy to use. If you're still experiencing issues integrating with your CRM, please reach out to our support team (https://proest.com/submit-a-support-case/) or your account manager, and they will be happy to help you find a solution.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Difficult software to use and generated ZERO takeoffs for our office. We wasted nearly $6000!

Reviewed a year ago

If they offered a Free Trial, there is zero chance I would have purchased the software. Mid way through my ownership they rolled out the cloud based application of the software and it was garbage, lost of glitches, very slow response, etc. If they dont offer a free trial, there is no money back guarantee (not even 24 hours), etc., you should probably ask why this is their policy. Anybody can get a customer, only the best can keep them.

Pros

There was honestly nothing I liked. It was a very bad experience, not to mention lightened the company bank account by almost $6,000.

Cons

Building an assembly from scratch is so difficult that they now have someone in house that does this for their customers because its so difficult, think about that. Setting the software up on my desktops was very time consuming and took their IT guys a few attempts. Its not as simply as downloading an executable, running it, entering the serial key and off to the races. The time investment was in the hours to set up PER machine. During demo is wasnt mentioned that building assemblies required programming of formulas to build the assembly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Ok but not great.

Reviewed 10 months ago

So so.

Pros

Nothing stands out. The desktop version seemed more complete while the cloud based seems like it was rushed out, missing key features that the desktop version had. Disappointed.

Cons

Clunky, poor flow of program through estimates, reports etc. No material cost table like the desktop which is a major con. Submitted requests, never hear back from support. No updating option when exporting to accounting, a feature that was part of the desktop version.

Vendor response

Hi Kirk, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about ProEst. We're sorry to hear that you've missed some of the old features from before ProEst switched to the Cloud. We hope that our many product updates over the last several months have resolved some of your issues. We're constantly rolling out new features, but if you're still experiencing problems, please reach out to your account manager and they'll be happy to assist you.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

View on PROEST

Reviewed 8 months ago

Its easy to use but, the team has to improve lot of things to this software like it should work like Microsoft Excel

Pros

Its easy to use estimating software and saves our time in creating a price proposal to several customers of our company and easily keep track those at one place.

Cons

Its not compatible with accounting software and everyday you will find some problem with print, page setup and adding line items to the proposal.

Vendor response

Thank you, Paul, for taking the time to write a review. We're happy to hear our platform has saved you time on your estimates! If you're still experiencing issues integrating with your accounting software, please reach out to our support team (https://proest.com/submit-a-support-case/) or your account manager for assistance! ProEst integrates with various accounting software, including Foundation, Acumatica, and Quickbooks, and our team should be able to help you find a solution to your problem.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ProEst

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall it is a great system, they have an awesome trainer that will work with you until you got it. Customer service is also real helpful.

Pros

I like the fact they have modernized the software to a cloud based system, also like the fact 2 people can work in the same estimate at the same time.

Cons

I think that they need to work on adding features, the reports are a little hard to manipulate especially when you are trying to allocate. Its a little overwhelming at first to figure out how to use.

Vendor response

Thank you, Helen, for taking the time to review ProEst. We appreciate your feedback. We're glad ProEst has been a good fit for your company and that you've found our trainer and customer service team helpful!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good if not better than other estimating software. Much competition- But very reliable

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Customer service gets big marks. Once I figured out how to easily put in bids and add-ons I figured out the rest. Separating onsites and offsites is very easy

Cons

A bit much to figure out. Wish it were simpler. How to add field extras and designating the responsible department was not originally clear.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Estimating Software build from the point of view of the contractor

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The software is easy to understand and it truly meets and exceeds all of our expectation when it came time to turn in a bid . We are a building and design firm, the range of the work we bid goes from electrical, plumbing, HVAC to complete turn key. We appreciate the fact ProEst is constantly improving its functionalities and overall performance.

Cons

The issues we had over the years are the same issues we get with other software in our systems, updates sometimes fix one program but conflicts with others. Happy to said the issues were not critical nor catastrophic in our daily use of the program nor cause major delays in our bidding process.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great potential, poor execution

Reviewed 2 years ago

Our experience with ProEst started good, and went downhill quickly. The salesman attached to our account was helpful and able to demonstrate the product well, but did not fully address any limitataions of the product he was selling, even after we described our intended use case. The big red flag was, when asked to be able to trial the software for a week (or less!), they were not able to honor that...

Pros

Our company is transitioning from self hosted, installed software to cloud SaaS products. This is one of the few estimation softwares that is completely cloud based. The ability to route estimations through workflows, maintain a shared cost database, and produce good looking reports from the system were all high points. Even the user interface was clean and uncluttered.

Cons

The software lacks KEY features that limit it's usability. Our core issue was the inability to copy takeoff or assembly information from one page of a drawing to another. 100% of multifamily developments have shared elements between levels of the building, and to recreate these from scratch every time instead of copying them from another page wiped out all the time savings of assemblies and workflows. There is NO other estimation/ takeoff tool that lacks this functionality. Additionally, there are no keyboard shortcuts (... in 2019). This is a significant slowdown when estimating large projects.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

ProEst Rating

Reviewed 9 months ago

This is a friendly software for estimation purpose but, they have to improve a lot and make it use like excel.

Pros

Proest has a inbuilt database and also you can create your own database so that you can use this again and again for your estimation in one click. This software is very friendly and easy to use.

Cons

Adding of line items is not possible between two line items. You have to start over if you want to add between lines . It not very much compatible with integrating accounting software like Foundation.

Vendor response

Hi Angela, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! We're glad to hear that you've found ProEst to be user-friendly. If you're still experiencing trouble integrating with Foundation, don't hesitate to reach out to our support team (https://proest.com/submit-a-support-case/) or your account manager.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ProEst Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

My company has recently purchased the Enterprise Version of ProEst. We have only started learning the system but have so far been very impressed with the functionality, ease of use and product value. The ability to do digital takeoff straight from the program, as well as the flexibility to edit / modify just about every piece of information on the system gives it an advantage to other programs i have used.

Pros

This is by far the easiest estimating program i have used thus far. Other pros include - Flexibility to edit almost everything; the large cache of report templates; the large database and pre-built assemblies; the built in digital takeoff; the bid day summary to use for sub-contractor bid tabulation

Cons

The preset costs are very generic (i.e. labor costs) - for large projects with heavy labor, this could throw off the labor estimate. In addition, the digital takeoff module, albeit very handy, is somewhat limited. It would be nice to have more flexibility to manually manipulate takeoffs, even after associating it with a digital takeoff. It would also be nice to be able to switch between different forms of measurement, right now you are only limited to the unit of measure determined by the line item for which you are taking off.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

I was looking for a powerful software that we could use to build a system for our estimating process. ProEst was exactly what I was looking for. We are able to build a custom database that we can use to quickly and easily estimate projects with accuracy and consistency. I am very happy with my choice.

Pros

Ability to create a custom database and can be used to consistently produce quick estimates. I love the onscreen take off.

Cons

It takes a long time to set up the database, but this is to be expected with any software. It is a lot of work up front, but then makes things more efficient on the back end. I would like to see a year off free tech support included to answer question about how to use the product. Most of it is intuitive, but there are somethings I would like to do, but it takes me a while to figure out how to do them. It would have been nice to be able to pick up the phone and quickly get answers for the first year while I learned how to use all of the features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

ProEst Analysis

Reviewed 9 months ago

Its easy to use but, they have to update lot of things make it use friendly.

Pros

We can create all our proposal or quotes at one place. Easy to use.

Cons

Difficult to edit or insert line items with the created proposal. Lot of work to add Client inforamation. Print page setup is not easy.

Vendor response

Jason, we appreciate your feedback! We're happy to hear that ProEst has been a user-friendly solution for your estimating. We hope that recent product updates, such as the introduction of our CRM feature, have helped to make it even easier to use. If you're still experiencing difficulties, please don't hesitate to reach out to our support team at https://proest.com/submit-a-support-case/

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall good for the money

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Ease of use Reporting Predefined database's to fit specific company needs Onscreen takeoff and estimating software in one Cloud or Desktop

Cons

No live tech support or chat support. Must submit a support ticket and wait for a call back. No way to change database and have it reflect on templates without updating templates individually Training is not free

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Unprofessional Workmanship

Reviewed 10 months ago

Very disappointed with our experience and will not refer any business associates. We will not be renewing our subscription.

Pros

We have been client for 10+ years. Today, we had a scheduled zoom meeting with [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and while I was trying to get my audio to work, he stated "She isn't the sharpest knife in the drawer!" The unprofessionalism and lack of respect from a man to a woman is unfathomable. This world is ugly right now and people like him continue to make it ugly. I will not tolerate disrespect in the work field, I am a professional and expect to be treated as one.

Cons

There has been many glitches through the portal since we switched to the new iCloud system. We've been patient and kind. We are no longer able to populate the proposal to send to our clients who are expecting their bid today.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Proest

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Everything from start to finish can be done. A lot of different tools to use. The tech support is wonderful.

Cons

Was a little tough to learn. Pricing is a little expensive. Had to schedule training classes. I had to wait a few times for tech support to call me back.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very Helpful But Not Quite Perfect

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using ProEst for the last year and have for the most part been very happy. The customer support has been very good. I do have one complaint which may seem petty, but it is an annoyance. The program takes a while to load and is password protected. Occasionally when trying to switch between estimates or screens I inadvertently will hit the close window button which closes the program. On bad days this can really raise your blood pressure. A are you sure you would like to exit box would be very helpful.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Decent Software for the Money

Reviewed 5 years ago

Proest is software that has a fairly steep learning curve but when mastered is pretty powerful. It requires the building of all of the assemblies that you, as a builder or subcontractor, actually need. If you buy the database of assemblies you'll at least have those to start with. Building the formulas behind the assemblies can make you want to cry. However, if you like you can use simple unit...

Pros

Bid day function.

Cons

Steep, steep, steep learning curve.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Support is excelent

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

The customer support is outstanding. Training was good.

Cons

It cannot share data bases. i.e. piping, electrical, and civil are separate files that must be added together outside the software. Add features to allow the exporting of database to other software, so it can be manipulated. Or add the tools to the software. I would like to add much of the existing excel files to the data base.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Overwhelming at first, but worth the effort to push through.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Great product. It is very overwhelming at first. However, if you push through it will be rewarding on the other side. It took me a while. I would go home frustrated and felt like we made a mistake purchasing the product. However, it eventually sunk in and now we are excited to have produced our first bid and looking forward to others.

Pros

The endless possibilities to produce what is needed. As I explore the product I expose new ways to obtain helpful information.

Cons

The product is VERY complex and takes time to understand. However, once an understanding of the product is grasped, the product becomes very helpful and decreases the time needed for an accurate bid.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The software is very comprehensive

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The best part about the software is the depth at which you can estimate especially with all the factors that you can take into account, whether you are using existing ones or custom ones. That, coupled with the extensive cost database makes for a solid package of available information where you can track costs not only in terms of material, labor, equipment but according to divisions, assemblies, or even at a per room level. The software provides a good deal of flexibility in being able to create and customize the data to fit your work needs.

Cons

It was surprising that it wasn't as similar to excel as I expected. Although the layout is similar, manipulating columns,rows and data is different. Once you're familiarized with the tools and order of operations for the different tasks it becomes a very useful tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Initial walk through was well done. Purchase was easy and the turnaround was same day. Had a few problems getting installed but turned out to be my computer not the product. Six trianing courses were included in purchase so we are still going through thos

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of takeoffs and assemblies are plenty detailed RS Means cost data embedded in the program makes pricing/budget very easy Multiple ways to view information in reports Customer service

Cons

Install was a little tricky Missing a few assemblies I would like to have (minor issue) learning curve at the very beginning, but became very proficient after a few trial and error moments