This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories

Learn why GetApp is free

ProEst Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


44 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

ProEst is OK

Reviewed 3 years ago

Our suggestions for improvement are taken seriously.

Pros

It's easy to use and the customer support is really great. The Report Center was the draw to the software (and that it's cloud based).

Cons

The report center isn't quite what it's cracked up to be. I thought we could do more with the reports, but the capabilities are rather limited.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

If I could not figure out an issue they would call and get on remote s

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Great support from the support team. They call you back right away and they seem to care and want to take care of any issues. They are good at explaining the program or any issues that you might have.The program is easy to use and I have never used an estimating program before this one so I know if I picked up easily anyone can. Training was top notch!

Cons

The assembly could use some reworking. There could be more assembly made as well.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Pro Est

Reviewed 4 years ago

I've really enjoyed getting to know the software and putting it to use for my every day estimating operations.

Pros

They have thought of everything. Every line item you can think of is included, and they can all be altered to align perfectly with your business. Customer service has been excellent as well.

Cons

You must receive training before being able to utilize all of the functions of the software. It can be rather difficult to use unless someone shows you first hand.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Efficient but kind of clunky.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

ProEst is a pretty solid, and incredibly deep take off program with very helpful and responsive customer support. It makes drawing takeoffs simpler and allows multilayer markups on a single pdf, estimating and responding to RFPs is far less time consuming.

Cons

The user interface is cumbersome and has too many window pop ups. The system will occasionally lock out users which can be a pain.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Liars

Reviewed 3 years ago

They are not truthful in their abilities and they sold us a server based version which when they started training they wouldn’t give us and wanted us on the cloud which has very little functionality. Had to fight with them for a month to get the server base and they said they wouldn’t support in the near future plus they never gave us the databases that they claim to have. They are a rip off artist so avoid at all cost.

Pros

There is absolutely nothing we liked about this product or company except the sales pitch and presentation.

Cons

If you are an mep contractor this is not the software for you. They say they have their on databases but after many request they could never provide them. They wanted us to build all databases from scratch which would require a full time person about 6 to 8 months due to the number of databases you would need. They don’t listen to the customer and we finally just uninstalled the software and broke off communication with them

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Poor Takeoff Software

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Prompt customer support - unfortunately, there wasn't much they could do about the poor operation of the software

Cons

Constant glitches in the userface. This takeoff software is not at all a polished finished product. I'm sure the Project Management integration is great, but we only needed the takeoff software, and it's been a huge letdown. Takeoff layers & text arbitrarily fall behind each other, text size can be huge or tiny & you can't change it. If the scale is metric you are forced to use metric takeoff numbers - it's the little things that make you fiddle around & waste a lot of time. This product feels unfinished - not 40 yrs old. (using a PC by the way - don't blame it on me)

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

ProEst gives us an advantage over our competition.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The ease of use and ability to perform quick takeoffs has sped up the productivity and accuracy of our bids.

Cons

We are a Mac-based company and have been using this product via parallels on a Windows-based platform. Although we've requested they develop a Mac version, it doesn't sound like it's in their future. We will be heading in a new direction this year because running two operating systems simultaneously bogs our systems down too much and ProEst is the only reason we run Windows.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ProEst gets the job done!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

What I like about ProEst the most is how user-friendly the software is. I also like that the software is integrated with onscreen digital take off, and that it integrates directly to your estimate take off sheet all in the same software program. They also have good customer support.

Cons

What I don't like is that you have to pay for training. You also have to pay for custom reports. In the long run the training pays off, and if the custom report saves you time and/or money than they pay off as well.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Pro Est Estimating Software is a good deal for the money

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Excellent customer service. In the rare events when we have questions or issues, customer service usually returns calls within 1 hour.

Cons

Easy on screen take off. Unit prices are fairly reliable and based on RS Means data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ProEst Estimating Review

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The larger Data Base makes takeoffs easy

Cons

Material Pricing, They can't set average cost due to the every changing market.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 8 years ago

I've have implemented this software in the residential home building industry. By estimating the budgets for newly designed product, it has literally saved the company hundreds of thousands of dollars. The estimates proved to be so accurate, we used the numbers from the trade budgets (42 trades) to negotiate contracts in our procurement process. The trade budgets generated provided final sales pricing with gross profit margins to our exact expectations. It all about how you set-up the software.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great software for quantity takeoffs

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

This tool was easy to use for quantity takeoffs. We use this tool to calculate dimensions ad areas from plans quickly and easily,

Cons

There are many other tools that offer a measuring tool plus more, while the additional capabilities of this software are limited.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Software for Estimating and Controlling

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software lets you link up with a payroll/scheduling software to give you an all-around control of your estimates directly on to your projects.

Cons

It is an activity database, you have to build your database first while you're doing your estimates, you'll reach full operational capability once you have a concise database of activities that will let you speed up the estimating process.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to Use and Quick to Learn

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I liked that this software is very simple and easy, and we had free training sessions which was very useful. I also find the take off system and tools very powerful and the database is huge.

Cons

Some of the items have very detailed costs items which i don't need

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Could be a powerful estimating tool.

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

Takeoffs Possible For Estimating before actual bids are received during budgeting.

Cons

Cannot overwrite the estimate with an actual number once you use the takeoff software.

Vendor response

Thank you for taking the time to review ProEst! We appreciate your feedback.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ProEst rating

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I like how fast I can take off a job.

Cons

I wish there was a pan feature. I have to zoom in and out of the drawing.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Many software errors.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Support is fast to reply to your requests and very friendly.

Cons

The software does not function as intuitively as it appears to in demos and training videos. There are many, many error messages, some of which cannot be resolved. I had to start over on an estimate twice due to software glitches.

Vendor response

It's unfortunate that they did not have a good experience but we really do not support Mac machines which were utilized by this client. A PC is really needed to best utilize ProEst and its functionality. If the client buys a PC we will gladly extend their service contract at no cost.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The teacher remotely connects to the PC for one on one instruction. Great Product!

Cons

Actually finding time for the instructors to remotely connect was the hardest part. But is well worth it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Did not perform they way it was sold to us

Reviewed 4 years ago

We wanted an estimating software that would be for a general contractor and therefore not so detailed. We also needed it to function with our virtual server. the sales people said it could accomplish all of these goals only to find out once we purchased it and started training that it did not do any of these things. We canceled our order after 2 weeks and they would not refund any of our fees.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

page 2 of 2

Select your country

10+ YEARS RECOMMENDING SOFTWARE

© 2010-2021 GetApp. All Rights Reserved.
GetApp® is a registered trademark of Nubera eBusiness S.L. Nubera eBusiness uses its own and third-party cookies. By using the website you are accepting the use of these cookies. To get more information about our cookies click here.