App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

MakeShift Logo

People First Scheduling

(6)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

MakeShift Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

113

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.35/10

Reviews by rating

Suggested alternatives

when-i-work
connecteam
nowsta

Pros and cons

Makeshift has been great in helping me transition to a "work from home" world. I love that I can clock in and out of work with the ease of tapping a screen.
We love working with MakeShift. The customer support is super helpful and incredibly responsive.
I have used the makeshift to accept and request work-related shifts, and the ease of the technology has been splendid.
I could be unaware of where to find it, but i can;t find a time off accrual function.
Sometimes hard for the employees to log into the app as they enter building - mostly a phone issue with them.
No "Copy/Paste" function makes schedules a bit more time consuming when managing multiple shifts and many requests for times off or fluctuation numbers of shifts per day.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


113 reviews

Recommended

DR
AvatarImg

Daniel R.

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makeshift Team

Reviewed 3 years ago

Not only is it easy for me to use but my Team members like it as well. They download the Makeshift app and can see their schedules with a click of a button. Very easy for them as well.

Pros

I like the fact that it is easy to use. I am not a computer genius but this was easy to learn and use.

Cons

I haven't found anything that I do not like about this software. I use it with ease every day and find it makes my job of scheduling very easy.

Vendor response

Hi Daniel, we are so glad to hear that MakeShift has been such an easy tool for you! Thank you for your review!

MM
AvatarImg

Mary M.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Makeshift Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Makeshift has made it easier to confirm employees ADP schedules, it has taken the guess work out of shifts posted as worked on ADP. Makeshift schedule shows who was on shift, it communicates this to ADP so I do not have to go back to see who was on shift.

Pros

It is very user friendly, I am able to see my staff schedule both weekly and daily, which allows me to see in real time who is currently scheduled to work.

Cons

It can be difficult to post a shift using my phone, I find the amount of fields to be filled out can be time consuming. I don't have the drag and post option that is available when creating shifts on my computer.

Vendor response

Hi Mary, thank you for your detailed comments and feedback!

SF
AvatarImg

Stacey F.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Not recommended

Reviewed 3 years ago

Won't work with us to make a file that is easily brought over to Payroll. I have to manipulate a spreadsheet which can easily cause errors.

Pros

I'm not sure what I like about the software.

Cons

Not being to look at an employee as a whole. You can only see a person's time only in the department that you are in, even though they have hours worked in another department.

JC
AvatarImg

Jenny C.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User-friendly and convenient.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

User-friendly and easy to learn for all users including both schedulers and employees. Easy to see which staff is available on any given day. Being able to integrate with our existing payroll & time and attendance system was a bonus.

Cons

Would like to be able to view or download a monthly version of the schedule. The Positions tab on the Schedule is great to use to see what shifts are unfilled, but it would be cool to have a feature where we can hover over a shift and it could tell us the names of staff that are scheduled for it.

CM
AvatarImg

Chris M.

Recreational Facilities and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Scheduling Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

MakeShift has provided a powerful scheduling system that allows both employees and management to better understand and manage the schedule. It has created a better employee experience and made a previously time consuming task easier. Though there are a few issues and features that could be expanded, this is overall a great resource.

Pros

MakeShift is an easy to use scheduling tool that can stand alone or integrate with ADP/Bamboo HR to import existing employees. We like the ease of viewing and modifying the employee schedules in the system. Employees have an easy way to mark when they are available, and the shift trade system works well. The ability to create rotations that repeat for a length of time has been a huge time saver for us. It's also nice to be alerted when an employee will go into overtime before the shift occurs.

Cons

There are a few features, such as viewing who you are working with, that are only available for employees on the mobile app and not the web interface. The software also does not give an option to subtract exempt employees hours from the budget tracker. It would also be helpful to see expanded fatigue rules to state that an employee can't work before or after a certain time.

dm
AvatarImg

dana m.

Leisure, Travel & Tourism, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ease of use

Reviewed 2 years ago

see above under pros

Pros

once I got used to it, which was pretty quickly, I was able to access my co-workers schedules with the greatest of ease. I could determine daily schedules when client's were trying to reach them, regular days off, scheduled vacation days, for the week, or future, when planning my own time off. I' able to narrow down departments so I'm not scrolling down alphabetically through everyone's name in the company.

Cons

none that I can think of at this time. It's a very valuable product with ease of use.

Vendor response

Hi Dana, we are glad to hear you are finding value in MakeShift! Thank you for your review!

KK
AvatarImg

Kelly K.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use

Reviewed 3 years ago

TheMakeShift team has always been very helpful to us to solve problems; advise on best setup practices and revive feedback to improve the tool.

Pros

This tool allows for a fairly easy setup to get teams up and running quickly. The ability to publish requests to fill empty shifts is quite handy!

Cons

A monthly calendar view would be most helpful to see a month at a glance in a format that everyone is familiar with.

Vendor response

Thank you for the review Kelly! We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying our available shifts feature. We also appreciate your recommendation regarding a monthly calendar view. This is something that we are hoping to implement in the future!

AM
AvatarImg

Adisa M.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Scheduling Made Simple

Reviewed 3 years ago

MakeShift is an easy solution for scheduling. The integration with ADP is seamless.

Pros

Easy for management to edit and employees to access.

Cons

Duplicate email causes a delay. Luckily, customer support fixes it in a timely manner.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review Adisa! We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to hear that MakeShift has provided you and your employees value to your business.

pl
AvatarImg

pat l.

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BC Bounce

Reviewed 3 years ago

like taht i can see who is logged in and on time from a distance

Pros

makes it easier to schedule and monitor the employees as they enter the building for work

Cons

sometimes hard for the employees to log into the app as they enter building - mostly a phone issue with them

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review Pat! We appreciate your partnership with MakeShift!

RS
AvatarImg

Robert S.

Retail, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Software for Scheduling

Reviewed 3 years ago

Makeshift is a great platform for us to build our schedules in the store. It's also great that it updates and changes in real time when changes are made.

Pros

Being able to import users from ADP. Drag and drop scheduling. Repeating previous weeks schedules.

Cons

Color coding shifts that are not used on the shift template in the weekly schedule. Color coding manager and assistant manager shifts.

Vendor response

Thanks for your review Robert! We hope to have some color coding capabilities in the future and will pass along your feedback to our product team.

jp
AvatarImg

justin p.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

really enjoy makeshift

Reviewed 3 years ago

I've had so many benefits from it. You can really monitor what's going on. with the casual staff it holds them accountable which is amazing

Pros

changed how we schedule - so much easier to schedule people

Cons

it's not really on makeshift, but the buy in from staff could use some help. Too many supervisors and staff still just make arrangements without using the app.

DH
AvatarImg

Desiree H.

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Health care

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use for staff. Glance at the calendar and easily see your schedule

Cons

If you work more than one site the shifts are not color coded so you need to open the specific shift to see the site you are working. Would like to be able to add for myself a not available even when full time

DK
AvatarImg

David K.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Convent scheduling program

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Makeshift is very intuitive and easy to use for both schedule makers and employees

Cons

A feature that could be added would be a Birdseye view of an entire weeks schedule on the mobile app

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review and feedback David. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our product team regarding the mobile app!

BW
AvatarImg

Brenna W.

Restaurants, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Stella's Review of Makeshift

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy implementation and updates. Easy for our staff to use.

Cons

Some challenges with respect to scheduling in two different departments

Vendor response

Hi Brenna, we are glad to hear you had an easy implementation experience and MakeShift is easy for your staff to use. We appreciate your review, and we will be making some updates to our software in the future to hopefully resolve your challenges with scheduling in multiple departments! We will be notifying all of our clients when these updates are available. Cheers!

md
AvatarImg

meghan d.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

opinion of make shift

Reviewed 2 years ago

so far my overall experience is positive. I have never had any issues in the sense of conflict between picking up shifts, cancelled shifts or last minute call outs.

Pros

I like the ease and convenience of this app. It allows me to see my schedule and pick up shifts from my phone at any moment of the day.

Cons

It would be helpful if there was a way to communicate easier within the app.

Vendor response

Hi Meghan, thank you so much for your review!

LJ
AvatarImg

Lane J.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Makeshift review

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to copy one week to another without having to reenter information

Cons

Changing times is tedious. Unable to do more than one shift at a time

Vendor response

Thank you for your review Lane! We will pass along your feedback to our product team for future enhancements!

AZ
AvatarImg

Alexander Z.

Individual & Family Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

MakeShift Review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Good to very good

Pros

Straight forward and easy to use. Gives employee and position tabs.

Cons

Did not let me post available shifts too close to start time

Vendor response

Thank you for your review and feedback Alexander!

TR
AvatarImg

Tyler R.

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great product

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Easy to use, very sleek and modern design

Cons

Would be nice to add a feature so coworkers could see when a shift is up for grabs

Vendor response

Thank you for your review Tyler! We offer the ability for employees to exchange shifts as well as available shifts. If you'd like more information on how to use these features, please check out our support articles at support.makeshift.ca.

YH
AvatarImg

Yukari H.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

User friendly

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

easy to use and to see the attendance. The colours of this software are catchy to the eye. Convenient to interact with management, post comments, and so on

Cons

Little bit more flexibility for texting for individual workers.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review Yukari! We appreciate your feedback!

RD
AvatarImg

Rana D.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Rana's opinion

Reviewed 2 years ago

i can see all my shifts at once; very handy; speeds up my work

Pros

very concise, allows many to see calendar and messages in the same time; all in one place

Cons

no ability to communicate back or request partial shift; not all past shifts are there

Vendor response

Hi Rana, thank you for your feedback and review!

DC
AvatarImg

Dennis C.

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Software

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This software is easy to set up and use. I use it on a daily basisi to keep track of my employees

Cons

None. I have nothing bad to say about this product

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review Dennis! We are so glad to hear that MakeShift has been easy to use for you!

AR
AvatarImg

Anna R.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love it!

Pros

It is very convenient to use and User friendly. I would recommend it to others!

Cons

Nothing that I dislike about it! All features are amazing

Vendor response

Hi Anna, thank you for your great review! We are glad to hear you love MakeShift!

MH
AvatarImg

Melissa H.

Hospital & Health Care, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for staffing

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

super easy to pick up shifts and sync to my phone.

Cons

Nothing. This app is great. I love using it.

Vendor response

Thank you so much for your review Melissa!

DW
AvatarImg

Dane W.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Makeshift makes my job super easy

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Super easy to navigate, very user friendly.

Cons

I don’t have anything I dislike about this software

Vendor response

Thank you for your review Dane!

RK
AvatarImg

Ryan K.

Hospitality, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Controls are needed

Reviewed 3 years ago

Poor. I reached out to get clarity on the issues we were having with availabilities and the response was a generic "we're always looking to improve" with no real action.

Pros

The prospect of being integrated with ADP

Cons

The inability to control employee availability changes. This is an integral piece to building a schedule for our business, and the fact that employees could change their availabilities in the middle of schedule creation makes MakeShift a no-go for us.

Vendor response

Hi Ryan, thank you for providing your honest feedback. We're sorry to hear we have not met your expectation regarding employee availability. I will pass along your comments to our product team for future consideration!