This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

SolarWinds Service Desk Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

The dashboard and reporting are very helpful. They give us a good picture of how we're doing and where we can improve.

Jason I.

Ticketing system, knowledge base and inventory management are all awesome and constantly improving. And the metrics are great to help justify budgets to upper management, and show trends.

Paul S.

I am the administrator and I love having the ability to make changes and customization on the fly. The user friendliness of it is well above our previous software we used.

Jeffrey J.

Cons

By that I mean the lack of reports and reporting tools.

Jada M.

Reporting doesn't report accurately compared to a custom query, which is odd.

Tim M.

Some of the customizations of the user portal are a bit hard to find from the admin side.

Scott C.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

335

167

16

0

1

97%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


519 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Samanage is an easy to use solution that makes my life so much easier

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are in the pharmaceutical industry and have implemented samanage over 2 years ago. The system is perfect and easy to use which enables users to understand the problem and submit tickets!

Pros

The ease of use. The system allows the natural flow of tickets into problems, problems into changes and the audit trail is perfect for our validation/qa friends. We love that the API is easy to intergrate and have pulled in our sharepoint system with the API to automate tasks like account creation/separation.

Cons

The system could uses a few tweaks but I think this is just growing pains. The Samanage team has been straightforward with what they are implementing and changes are being released consistently. Over the past two years of having the system, I can say the updates are wonderful and truly address issues. Not purely cosmetic.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent ITSM tool

Reviewed 10 months ago

Solarwind Service Desk has met all of our requirements. It is easy to use and follows ITIL best practises.

Pros

Ease of use and customisation. Customer services

Cons

Reporting is limited. Even customisation in reporting is limited

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

SolarWinds Service Desk - Great Serve desk that meets the ITSM needs

Reviewed 13 days ago

We've been using Solarwinds Service Desk for a few years now, and I highly suggest it. It provides cutting-edge support and asset management use cases. It is an excellent solution that satisfies the most, if not all, of the ITSM requirements, such as incident and issues management, changes and release management, and asset management.

Pros

1. Solarwinds provides an excellent Incident Management experience. Agents can prioritize events and add custom fields for improved reporting and analysis. 2. It includes remote control software (Dameware), which enables support personnel to quickly enter into clients' computers and provide remote assistance. 3. It is also beneficial for asset management. Organizations may maintain track of all assets, including their location and status. 4. It is quite simple to open a support ticket. Its connection with email makes things a lot easier. 5. It also provides a Customer Satisfaction survey (which is issued automatically) to assess the level of service provided. 6. It is also cloud-based, allowing users to join in from anywhere and give help.

Cons

1. The user interface could definitely benefit from some enhancements to make it easier to navigate. 2. The Search functionality is not properly optimized and frequently produces irrelevant results. 3. To create more user-friendly reports, the reporting may be upgraded with a much better UI. 4. The notification system may be improved to allow desktop pop-ups. 5. The mobile app frequently hangs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Good Out-Of-Box product for small, scalable team

Reviewed 3 years ago

We were attempting to solve the issue of ticket management in the IT department. While it was a great out-of-the-box solution, it didn't offer the unique scalability we needed and the customer service wasn't helpful in growing the product with our needs. However, I still believe that, for a small shop, this product offers the best value for the price and is a great entry-level solution.

Pros

I like that, out-of-the-box, Samanage offers great core functionality with a stable product that ties neatly into a beautiful UI for the end users. The UI is where Samanage really knocks it out of the park though. It's modern, simplistic, "forum" layout is attractive and intuitive, and chat indicators on the tickets feels like your moving from a traditional email reply into a IM chat.

Cons

There's a lot to be desired when it comes to the fine details of the service. There are specific customization options for project management and ticket automation that aren't available that we wanted in our shop. When we reached out to our support member to discuss a possible addition/fix. They advised us to post our suggestion on their feedback board and if it received enough votes they would implement it. The same suggestion was found submitted over a year ago on the board (with over 300+ votes) yet no action was taken. I was hoping for a more, collaborative answer, instead of posting on a forum board in hopes that other members validate my need for them to implement it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing Tool Kit for Management & Monitoring of Service Desk.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall experience is very good before implementation of this solution we are using internally software for manage service desk and we had lot of issues.

Pros

Asset Management (Automate) Cloud base management Live chat

Cons

User interface not so good ( must improve this section ) Searching is not good improve it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Product for Helpdesk, Task Management and Software Inventory

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

This solution is great for tracking incidents, solutions, problems, etc for company IT departments. It provides an easy to use interface that allows for easy creation of FAQs and a Solutions Database.

Cons

There are some things bulk items that cannot be imported without the use of the API, which is a tiny bit annoying, and some of their python and Ruby API sample code is out of date or no longer maintained.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

New to SolarWinds Service Desk--Perfect fit for us!

Reviewed a year ago

I am Super Happy with this software. I am the administrator and I love having the ability to make changes and customization on the fly. The user friendliness of it is well above our previous software we used.

Pros

Efficiency--There are so many things that can be updated from the main page that lists your incidents. Very easy to learn and to use.

Cons

Integration with Active Directory. We were able to setup Single Sign-On, but it wasn't as smooth as I would've liked. But it does work, so it's not really a con, just the complexity of it was a little more than the rest of the setup.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

SolarWinds Service Desk

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

SolarWinds Service Desk is an intuitive, robust and dependable service management platform. It is cloud based (big plus) and continually has new feature/functionality roll outs.

Cons

The mobile app could use some work, it is a little cumbersome from a technician's stand point.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Cloud Service with Many Features, Expensive for the Full Version

Reviewed 2 years ago

Incident, problem, and change management are all extremely easy to set up and begin using due to the cloud-hosted nature of the product. As it is fully web-based, low-level training is not required for techs or users.

Pros

Easy to deploy as it is a cloud-based system. Initial setup requires low effort and detail. Branding is easy to apply, functionality is easy to test out of the gate.

Cons

Information on asset discovery, connections, and scanners feels lacking. Connecting to SCCM via the database has very little information, and after a month of attempts, it is not functional. Support has been a bit slow on response when inquiring regarding this issue, even after purchase.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Practically Perfect in Every Way

Reviewed 10 months ago
Pros

It has a clean, easy to use, and intuitive interface. We have only scratched the surface of what it can do.

Cons

I haven't really found anything I dislike. Our previous solution was that bad.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good Product for ITIL Best practices

Reviewed 10 months ago

I am the administrator of the application in my Managed Information Services department. I selected this product, deployed this product and administer this product and the setup and use of the product is intuitive and easy to master quickly.

Pros

The ease of creating automated workflows makes the product easy to use and creates efficiencies by automating mundane manual processes. Having the ability to work, escalate and integrate tickets all from a single pane of glass is also a good feature

Cons

Reporting is a downfall for a majority of apps these days. While some of this is mitigated through the ability to filter and export list results, more functionality in reporting is needed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Huge Upgrade

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall experience with this product have been great so far. Our employees use this platform more than our last and they have also been able to find their own solutions more. I really love the support from the customer support a lot. The support is always right on top of any issues and I have experience very quick responses when I do need to contact them. A+ on customer support.

Pros

I like how easy the GUI is, editing the categories and assigning the ticket to a support tech is all very simple right from the first view. I also like how there is a quick view option where you can view the ticket without having to leave the screen.

Cons

We have an issue with Tasks. They cannot be changed once a service catalog item is ran which has made us have to create work around or create extra tickets in order for multiple people to work on one catalog item.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Enterprise Quality at a reasonable implementation cost.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great ITSM alternative to the big guys, with all the same features, without the price tag. They offer a full feature trial and will help you with a PoC. Great value, positive ROI and superior TOC. Have a look at this one!

Pros

This tool is a hidden gem. Compared to it's peers in the ITSM space, SAmanage has all the features you would expect from an Enterprise ITSM without the Enterprise price tag. It's cloud based SAAS model saves you from the hassles of onprem setups, and if you are global it just works for all your users. The feature set is rich, I recommend you do a Proof of Concept (POC) with them to gain an appreciation of everything the product gives you. The on-boarding process was very well orchestrated, they guide your team through the whole implementation via a Trello board. Everything is spelled out for you, there is little risk here. Truly an Enterprise Grade Product at a reasonable SMB Total Cost of Ownership (or Subscription-ship). Worth having a look.

Cons

The product does not hit the radar in terms of "Known" go to ITSMs. So this left us to do more research and vetting with their existing clients. Also, because they are lean on price, they do not spend a lot of time "Wining and Dinning" you, and this gave us the false impression of the organization being small. They are not small as we found out in the implementation phase. They are a true SAAS so they...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great platform for asset management and trouble ticket

Reviewed 4 years ago

The pricing is based upon the number of users in our network that will be accessing the system, and the number of "Managers" running the system. The salesman were very helpful in providing a great offer on the cost and have kept that pricing concept since we started. As you are starting out with basically a "Blank Page" it can seem a little overwhelming at first setting everything up to get that...

Pros

Flexibility The "Sand Box" approach. Support. Cost effective

Cons

Printers are auto-populated, not based upon where the printer is installed from and shared from, but by every single shared instance of that printer. As a result, a single printer in an office of 200 users all sharing the same printer will show an inventory of 201 printers. Software suites, like Autodesk "Building Design Suite Premium" are sold and licensed as a single unit, even though it is a collection of some 2 dozen programs and plugins. Samanage does not have the ability automatically, to track and manage this; it shows them as a bunch of separate programs. There is a way to cheat the system and make this work, but it is a manual step that requires a bit of work to setup and manage. It's getting better, but the agents do not always refresh as quickly as I would like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Outstanding!

Reviewed 4 years ago

We needed a solution, and we needed one fast. We had test driven many, but something didn't feel right. Two things made us choose Samanage. The software had every feature we were looking for, and the people were excellent. From the beginning, we were treated like VIP's. We were given professional courtesy, we were given kindness and flexibility, we were shown appreciation, and we were given everything...

Pros

Ease of use, very intuitive. As described in the demos. Evertyhing worked as expected.

Cons

It doesn't know how to make me coffee in the morning, but other than that, it's hard not to like something that makes your life easier.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Solarwinds Great Ticketing system

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ease of use Able to create custom Workflows Ability to build custom reports

Cons

Procurement module can use some improvement but does what it's intended to do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great little ITSM

Reviewed 3 years ago

They have been a great partner to work with bending over backwards to accommodate us in our mergers and acquisitions as we consolidated tenants and imported and exported data. They listened to our feedback and incorporated some of our ideas into their final product as well. They are a company that will work with you to get the job done the way you need it done.

Pros

This is a great ITSM. We have been with them for many years and have watched them grow. They have a lot of the features of the big name systems but without the high cost. If you are looking for an ITSM that will get the job done here it is. While it does not have all the expanded features of some of the big systems it has asset management, change management, incident management and a service catalog which is all you really need to get started. Plus they have integrations with other platforms like slack for interating with your tickets. Overall a good choice for an ITSM

Cons

The only drawback would be that they are a young company and they do not have all of the in depth features of some of the big ITSM's like Servie-now and others. But then again do you really need all that complexity?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Great product with even greater potential

Reviewed 10 months ago

Overall, we have had a generally positive experience with Service Desk, we would just like to see them mature out more of their features

Pros

A few of the things that I like most about Service Desk is the ease of learning to use it. I was able to go from one ticket management system to this one in a single day of training and have had almost no issues in terms of knowledge gaps. Their customer support is top tier and their change management workflow is one of the best I've seen.

Cons

Reporting. By that I mean the lack of reports and reporting tools. It would be nice to be able to build out our own or create our own reports. A BI tool in this application would really put it over the top.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing internal and external customer service portal

Reviewed 3 years ago

Asset management, asset auditing, help desk ticketing system.

Pros

Amazing help desk ticketing system, it integrates with our two email inboxes for internal and external support. Our internal employees use one address while our external clients use the other. Everything goes into the same queue and are labeled and categorized appropriately. When we comment and attach documents on a ticket via Samanage, the requester gets a nicely formatted (and extremely customizeable)...

Cons

It costs a decent amount, and depending on how many administrators you have the costs can jump up. But I will say it's well worth it for all the features you get.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Interface - Still Room for Improvement

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have reduced email congestion for our team and streamlined ticket requests for our media services department.

Pros

The interface is incredibly easy to use. You can very quickly assign and respond to jobs, and make sure there is no doubling up on jobs. The mobile app also works quite well compared to others I've seen.

Cons

The software is really tailored for an IT department, and the company has been unable/unwilling to broaden their focus.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Strong service desk software with a lot of potential

Reviewed 5 years ago

Benefits: 1. Its easy to use and looks nice. Staff have required very little training, despite not having a centralized system. 2. Its pretty flexible. It's able to do about 90% of what we want it to do. 3. Support is active and engaged. Their community website has a lot of activity, both from others using the product as well as comments from Samanage's support. 4. Its actively developed. Recently...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Samanage Helpdesk Best!

Reviewed 4 years ago

The most granular are where Samanage stands out from the crowd is in its Dashboard and the array of reports that it generates. Upon login, the Dashboard is where users are automatically placed. It provide users with immediate inside into what's going on across the organization. Another feature I like in Samanage is its single sign-on functionality. Many of contenders failed to support this capability...

Pros

Contains most needed features. Includes ITIL service management tools. Offers asset tracking and more reports than other help desk solutions

Cons

A lot of features but some seem unnecessary.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tremendous product that drives efficiency, quality, and customer satisfaction

Reviewed 2 years ago

I've had a great experience with SW SD. As a developer the ability to create workflows and use the API has made this tool indispensable. It is also extremely helpful when trying to track down a problem that may have occurred in the past or is similar to something we're currently dealing with.

Pros

I like the easy-to-use interface, the communication history that allows us to keep track of end user needs and concerns, and the API (personally that's my favorite).

Cons

I have very few complaints. I wish the list of "filters" wouldn't show the most commonly used at the top or would at least leave those items that are commonly used also further down in the list. I feel like I'm always searching for the items I want in the list because they're not in the same place if I recently used them! Outside of that I wish there was a ticket prioritization feature (or even project management-related features).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Samanage simplified and expanded the feature set of our current Incident Management System

Reviewed 5 years ago

Samanage helped simplify our incident management, expand our feature set and ultimately helped us increase the capabilities of our customer support and information management on the support side. We were really impressed with the import capabilities and admin capabilities provided right out of the gate. We were also impressed with the flexibility of the licensing and the willingness to help package...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

CHG Review

Reviewed 15 days ago

Overall experience was great! Definitely like better than service now and also works well with solarwinds network monitoring.

Pros

Ticket management is easy to use Asset management works well Ticket assignment function works well Helpdesk monitoring is a great tool

Cons

A little cumbersome to set up, but once completed works great! Had some difficulty adding custom fields.