This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Jira Logo
Jira

Project & Issue Tracking Software - See why we're #1!

visit website

Jira Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

11.7K
90%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.21/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Jira is pretty straight forward. Once you get used to how to set up a Jira, and subscribe to notifications it works on auto-pilot helps to get track of complex issues, resolution and monitor progress.
AvatarImg

Stoyan A.

Slack integration is super useful and the ability to write JQL and integrating with Google sheet is immensely useful.
AvatarImg

Shubham A.

It is so easy to get started with Jira. They have awesome integrations into other atlassian products as well (we were using Trello before) so switching to Jira was almost seamless.

AA

Ameer A.

It has limited number of software integrations. Error notifications can be annoying sometimes.

NG

Nitesh G.

If you accidentally click on the wrong name, the submitter gets a notification when it is assigned, and then another notification when you fix this by assigning it to the correct name.

MS

Mary S.

Sometimes Jira does not work for some time and that makes it hard to track work. It has server problems often.
AvatarImg

Jenil D.

Jira users...

Trello-logocaret
avatar
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 125
Asana-logocaret
avatar
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 54
Basecamp-logocaret
avatar
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 19

Basecamp

Compare both
monday.com-logocaret
avatar
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 18

monday.com

Compare both
How would you rate Jira?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


11,793 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jakob B.

International Development Manager

Sports, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Functional and Effective but not Pretty

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Jake B.: I'm Jake, a Senior Manager at an events company, and I gave Jira four out of five stars. Before...

Overall Rating

Great tool to manage your project of any style

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Tapan P.: Hi, my name is Tapan and I work for an educational prep company. I work as a director of analytics,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent, perfect and intuitive

Reviewed 7 days ago
Pros

Before using Jira, I found it difficult to keep my team's tasks organized in a neat and visually friendly way. In addition, it provides me with many tools that help create a more productive and efficient team, and generates reports that show if the team is making real progress.

Cons

I consider that the price can be a barrier to entry when planning whether to decide to purchase the software or not, which can deprive many users of trying this wonderful tool. Also, the support one receives for the product sometimes does not solve the problems one may have while using the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best-in-class and Reliable Project Management Companion

Reviewed 25 days ago

Jira is presently utilized to manage our projects and workflows. We utilize it to manage team members' progress on projects, track outstanding work, and offer context for objectives and procedures. This is utilized across the organization and provides visibility for a large portion of the development effort on a range of projects.

Pros

1) Integrate seamlessly with development tools like Slack, Github, or Bitbucket. 2) Workspace is very configurable; you may customize the components of each task on your board, as well as create your own icons, labels, and automated processes. 3) Connect all issues/tasks to Epics and view the anticipated outcomes in the Product Roadmap. 4) It offers the flexibility of a kanban board, which provides the user with a clearer view of what has been accomplished, what is in process, and what remains. 5) User story statuses may be used to monitor progress and control workflows. 6) Allows for bulk import of epics and user stories, which speeds up administrative duties if this information was previously recorded in another format, such as CSV.

Cons

1) Only internal users may be allocated to tasks and user stories. This might result in unnecessarily long delays when external users want immediate input or participation. 2) When many boards exist within a project, statuses (user stories) cannot be established explicitly for each board. 3) User stories may be assigned to just two categories of users: assignees and reporters. JIRA does not permit the assignment of numerous assignees to a single user story.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Jira is good enough, but definitely needs more improvements

Reviewed 2 months ago

2 out of 5 stars. In fact, we're (my company) is moving from Jira to Monday.com. It might be a little more, but the trade-off is definitely worth it.

Pros

Well, the basics. Assignments, delegations and being able to reply to the assigner and to the client him/herself.

Cons

I'm a UX/UI Designer. So, the workflow is convoluted. The interface needs proper blockings because there are so much thing happening on the main page. Take a look at Monday.com for comparison.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent solution as “One stop shop” in IT industry

Reviewed a month ago

Jira is life savior for many new scrum masters and managers for cost effective project management

Pros

This software is very easy to manage day to day work,progress,assignments and forcast for different phases of projects..It turned out to be very effective tool in order to achieve efficient and cost efffective operational model in enterprise organizations

Cons

This software should have most reporting widgets and open integration ports so that various data connectors can be integrated for limitless reporting

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jira can help you tremendously if user the "right" way, or you can shoot yourself in the foot

Reviewed 2 months ago

I really like it, as I can configure it to suit my needs, I'm constantly reviewing the testing process in our company, making changes to the workflow, adding custom fields, etc.

Pros

It's rich in features it offers and it's amazingly configurable, two organizations can have Jira installations that are nothing alike!

Cons

It's not a big issue for me, but I think they should offer more best practices in terms of templates for less experienced users to save them from headaches - they are already taking steps in this direction. Since it's a very large product there are some inconsistencies, doing the same thing in two different parts of Jira can feel like a very different experience.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great in project management and API integration but UI/UX is a little obsolete.

Reviewed 2 months ago

JIRA has been a good choice for project management overall. Easy navigation, dashboards, access controls and setup, Scrum and Kanban boards, tagging and commenting are some of the most widely used features today on JIRA in our organization. Things like simplistic UI and improved UX, reporting and insights could be improved to make the product really holistic, supremely customizable and will bring it on a competitive edge in the market as well.

Pros

As we work in the RPA Team, API integration is the best part of JIRA offering, but also overall project management with Scrum and Kanban has proved to be really useful for us.

Cons

The UI could be made a little simpler and UX can be improved especially with access controls and resource access management. The charts of Scrum and Kanban board also tend to fly away making it hard to understand and sometimes adds in extra effort for the managers or scrum masters.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Jira for Professionals

Reviewed a month ago

I ran many small-medium-large software projects with Jira. Thanks to Jira, I used the Agile software development method in the best way with technological possibilities. I think that it will greatly reduce the burden of teams working on large-scale projects in terms of project management and project follow-up, and it will make work follow-up easier for managers. Even if Jira is not your Agile methodology for individual use, it will save you a lot of time and effort in planning, managing and documenting your projects compared to its counterparts in the market.

Pros

Jira is the most complete, stabilized and user-friendly software among many similar software on the market. Thanks to the support of the mobile application, you can follow your teamwork or individual progress wherever you are. Jira is a unique product for professionals.

Cons

Unfortunately, we do not have the opportunity to add features for each newly added 'issue' in the 'Board' section. It would be a great opportunity to have this feature, even if it didn't cost Jira much. After adding the 'Issue', of course, an 'issue' related to a great user interface can be edited, but there is no such interface at the time of adding.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jira, the best technical task management tool!

Reviewed 19 days ago

Overall, it was a great experience using Jira. We're still using it, exploring it and learning that how to improve our development processes and make ease for both management and the developers.

Pros

- Easy for devs to understand - Easy to integrate with bitbucket - Easy to integrate third party apps like slack, zephyr and many more - Help employees to manage their tasks and track their production time - Help management to keep track of progress of the project and also to get an idea of employee's performance.

Cons

A bit lengthy tool, for new users, one should be able to use it once s/he will spend 1 month on it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Top-notch issues tracker right out of the box

Reviewed 2 months ago

We migrated our projects to Jira and are very pleased with this decision. Migration went pretty quickly, onboarding of all our key employees took about 2 weeks. And now Jira is our central tool for monitoring all projects in the company.

Pros

Jira is constantly being improved for the better and Jira 2 years ago this is a completely different product than now. I like the ease of task management and as the other Atlassian products here are closely integrated.

Cons

1) Settings are not always obvious. 2) With a large number of automation and integrations, the system has been slowed down.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best tool for Project & Product management

Reviewed 2 months ago

Very useful , easy to use and track and monitor project management activities

Pros

We used Jira every day for development and Product management for creating, assigning and updating tickets ,user stories and tasks.

Cons

Though it's A very useful and easy to use and riched with features but scrum methodology I think Azure devops board is far better in sprint management

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Personal review for Jira Software

Reviewed a month ago

I would prompt program item proprietors ought to utilize this extraordinary item for overseeing their ventures which can allow you more understanding into the advance of your venture. No question this stage is secure as well which bolsters different security offices - getting to git information with private get to keys, SSH certificates and username/password. You ought to too see to induce a trial or free account to play around with the apparatus and at that point on full fulfillment as it were it would be ideal if you go for a permit. I wagered once anybody employments this stage venture administration continuously choice will be Jira.

Pros

I adore the format, checking history. Being able to channel the assignments. And we are ready to see each comment's points of interest just like the correct date. Moreover it is truly simple drag a report Being able to open the task in a modern tab is additionally so precious. Attaching cards to each other moreover makes things simpler.

Cons

Some of the time due to the stack of errands we are taking care of it may allow us difficult time stacking a entirety page. When you attempt to look something within the look bar, it may evacuate some of the letters you're writing down may cause typo otherwise you have to be compose down the precise thing to find the right issue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Agile development software in my eyes

Reviewed 3 months ago

Basically using Jira as my go-to software for tracking and managing any project be it business enterprise level or personal level. I would recommend anyone reading to this review to go try it and without a doubt, certainly you wouldn't regret ur decision!

Pros

Quick and easy management and organization of my backlog tasks, the flexibility of setting up almost any integrations for bug tracking with ease, works flawlessly when used alongside other Atlassian products like Confluence. Best pricing options seen till date. Overall takes my agile workflow to the ultimate level with the amount of extensiblity that is second to none in my opinion!

Cons

At times there is some flakiness in the outcomes of the actions but generally not a lot worrisome. Also the availability, although can be improved using a private cloud probably, does suffer some occasional hiccups here and there. The bug tracking is comparatively the most improvable area i suppose. It is good don't get me wrong, but can be so much more better with just a few tweaks here and there that's all.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Jira is great PM tool for medium to large game development projects

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

Overall, I really like the flexibility that Jira provides. The one feature that I most appreciate when I use another PM tool is built-in support for Fix Versions. Being able to assign a fix version for a sprint and for each build, makes it easy to see all the tasks and bugs that are in a given full release or an individual build.

Cons

A lot of folks, especially artists, have a general disdain for the Jira UX. It is not as ergonomic, clean, and tactile as Trello or Basecamp. I would love it if there were a way for Boards in Jira to be as simple and powerful as boards in Trello.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Top Tier Organizer

Reviewed 3 months ago

I was looking for something that can give me ticket management, reports, workflow, collaboration. It is top tier product for executing coordination and arranging innovation.

Pros

JIRA permits groups to envision and comprehend assumptions for when to convey an undertaking, have knowledge into project/group/individual limit, and track stay at work past 40 hours. In a remote-first world, JIRA permits you to keep up with tight correspondence and adjusted degrees even as groups work across time regions. JIRA is extraordinary for having the option to sort out the extent of significant elements or item dispatches in a manner that can be imagined across groups.

Cons

There is an expectation to absorb information to working in JIRA, it isn't quickly instinctive to another client. It normally requires a great deal of learning to most actually and ideally use JIRA. A great deal of it accompanies time and experience. There are a ton of extravagant accessories in JIRA. It's truly incredible that you can mark or coordinate tickets in a wide range of ways. It is truly dependent upon the association to make a technique for getting sorted out inside those extravagant accessories. This implies each time you go to another association, there is a great deal of cross-over, however, you are gaining some significant knowledge of new techniques and best practices too.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My Review of JIRA

Reviewed 3 months ago

As a software developer, I have used life cycle software for many software developments. For more than two years I have been using JIRA in software development. I found it really helpful to address daily developments using this Agile software development model. I have used JIRA software to develop multiple software while using the Agile approach to work for faster software development with continuous development and bug fixes. I found it really helpful to work with JIRA.

Pros

JIRA is one of the best known software used to develop and track software using the Agile method. Using JIRA is easy to track application usage and easy to assign to developers tasks. I have been working with JIRA in software development for over 2 years. At JIRA we used to develop software on the basis of continuous integration and continuous development.

Cons

Honestly, I haven't found a feature or functionality of JIRA that I dislike because it comes with multiple features that are really useful when communicating on a project with team members on the stories.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Jira is Great for Development, but only Good for Creative

Reviewed 4 months ago

A great way to track deadlines between silos and especially developers.

Pros

Jira is out of the box free, and it's amazing because it works with everything by the same company. It also allows for easy organization of projects and silos, which intersect with each other. You can easily hand off tasks and allow people to collaborate.

Cons

Jira has a very development based angle, so if you're trying to manage a hybrid team, it works well. But if your team is marketing heavy, it's very anti-user friendly unless a person has familiarity with code or databases. It's just sparse and less user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

One of the greatest defect tracking and project management tools in the industry

Reviewed 6 months ago

Project and Time management in many cutomer projects

Pros

I find this software to be very versatile and useful. It has functions that make work easier when it comes to organization, planning, and meeting goals. It facilitates effective teamwork; it is simple to keep track of the activities that must be completed and the notifications of changes to any action work well. It has multiple views and is used to manage projects, so people who want to see an overview of the work can use the To-do List or simply the Roadmap, and team members who are trying to balance their daily activities can use the Dashboard to plan their workload. I like it because it easily adapts to what you want to do.

Cons

In some circumstances, receiving notifications has become difficult, preventing real-time monitoring. Although simple and adaptable, defining and organizing the sorts of work items might be difficult at first.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A robust application that can be used for everything from task management to software development

Reviewed 6 months ago

We started using Jira for simple issue tracking for all issue types, from bugs and ideas to backlogged and in progress tickets. We have since expanded this to track our full development roadmap and to produce documentation within Confluence. We have also taken advantage of the integration with Gitlab and Sentry to help give us a more clear picture of what's going on, even when it isn't happening directly in Jira.

Pros

Jira has a weekly release schedule which means the product is always being improved or changed. This is usually a good thing, although I will admit that sometimes it isn't. Jira is also incredibly functional for a broad range of use cases, from managing a simple to-do list, team task tracking, process automation, to software development. They do a good job of making it user friendly and easy to onboard, especially since they started making drastic UI improvements a little over a year ago.

Cons

A consequence of being capable of so much is that it can be hard to configure initially. More specifically, which features you need and which can be disabled. There are a lot of great features but some just complicate the workflow, and it usually takes time to figure this out.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The only project management tool you need

Reviewed 7 months ago

JIRA has been an integral part of our software development and project management journey and has just about all the tools you need to successfully manage your project or product offerings.

Pros

JIRA has just about every project management aspect covered in their offering and it's easy to set up and configure to suit your needs. Reporting, ticket tracking, requirement and comment tracking, workflow customization, task assignment and follow-up + more make the life of a project manager a breeze which would otherwise have to be done using a multitude of tools.

Cons

The permissions structure/permission matrix at the administrative level could be a bit more user-friendly as troubleshooting an incorrectly configured (permission) JIRA instance can be a hassle. Sometimes when new versions are introduced, some of the older features are dumbed down to make it easier for the user but for power users, this could cause confusion if they were wired to do some tasks using the old methods.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Very Powerful but only if your team is techy enough to use it

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

So far, the gold standard in project and process management, especially in the number of options, features, automations, integrations and workflows that the software is capable of handling. We shifted to this software when the pandemic hit and were forced to stay at home since we needed a more powerful software to handle our workflow. If you have a techy team, nothing else compares.

Cons

Biggest con really is that it is not the most user friendly software. Unlike Trello or Asana where you can just go fire it up and it's good to go. This one takes a lot of set-up to do and a deep familiarity with how it works under the hood. Given that the software is one of the older ones, you can sort of see it's age in both the older workflows (issues, screens, etc) vs the newer templates. The newer project templates sort of partially solved this problem but if you need to tweak the settings, it still has a steeper learning curve. The con really here is that i tried Jira with my other less techy company (a school) and adoption was really low as users just weren't able to keep up with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Enablement of Team collaboration for Agile projects.

Reviewed 8 months ago

JIRA is a great tool that allows for greater team collaboration within Agile projects. It is easy to use and very intuitive. Sometimes connectivity can be a problem especially with the cloud based versions. JIRA definitely provides more value than shortcomings.

Pros

1. Different user roles can be defined to allow for segregation of duties. 2. Epics can be defined to assist with long and intermediate project planning. 3. Duration of sprints can be defined according to project requirements. 4. Statuses for user stories can be used for tracking progress as well as workflow management. 5. Allows for bulk import of epics and user stories which can fast track administrative tasks where this information has been captured elsewhere e.g. CSV format

Cons

1. Only users from within the organization can be assigned to tasks and user stories. This can cause unnecessary delays where external users need to provide urgent input or contribution. 2. Statuses (user stories) cannot be defined specifically for a board where multiple boards exist within a project. 3. Only two types of users can be assigned to user stories, which are assignees and reporters. JIRA does not allow for multiple users (assignees) to be assigned to one user story.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

JIRA enables business to add velocity to their service management tasks and workflows

Reviewed 8 months ago

JIRA is a modern take on a ITSM solution. It is feature loaded yet has a very intuitive User Experience. It has good User Interface as well. JIRA acts as the common interface between Developers, IT ops and business teams and helps different parts of the business colloborate better. It acts as the source of truth for all involves parties and does its basic tasks quite well. It adds velocity to the overall process of task management irrespective of the industry it is used in.

Pros

1. Great User Interface and User Experience. 2. The ability to create custom queues and automatically re-direct issues to these queues saves a lot of time. 3. The inbuilt SLA management and the option of integrating it to third party alert and notification software is impressive. 4. Adding attachment, links and other resources to JIRA ticket is easy and straightforward. 5. It has great audit trail tracking and can act as a source of truth for all parties involved.

Cons

1. The issue search feature could have been a little more customizable and faster. 2. The options available to format the comments on an issue are limited and not very intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One Stop Project Management Tool

Reviewed 8 months ago

We have been using JIRA across the current project and there are at least 10 different teams (Squads) which are working on their projects (Large Project broken into sub projects). From feature describing to user story writing, test cases, defects, reports, matrix, dashboards, time tracking all such activities been handled by JIRA.

Pros

JIRA is one of the best, simple, and user friendly project management tool. We have been working for almost 3 years now and the user experience it offers is applaudable. You can create your agile boards for scrums and can go KANBAN as well. You can create as many different teams and squads. Link your issues to stories and trace it to the feature, Track how much effort is being spent on an item; Track...

Cons

There is nothing much to add in this section. Practically I am all thumbs up for JIRA. I have a suggestion though. JIRA needs to have a Instant Messaging option enabled so that an organizations do not need to look out for a separate tool. I think if Atlassian would be able to achieve it, not only they would be able to enhance their customer base but they would be able bring a lot revenue.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

JIRA works pretty great for projects and tasks

Reviewed 9 months ago

JIRA has been very beneficial to us across all teams and it's very useful for service and technical management.

Pros

I like the kanban board, it works very well and looks simple to use (but it's not easy to setup). The task management for business project is very nice and the new feature of being able to look at the overall work like in a spreadsheet, definitely beats Smartsheet for me. I like that you can easily move your work when you're done using the board view, if you like.

Cons

Scrum/Agile can be difficult to setup because the Kanban board isn't so great when setting it up. I have run into some difficulties with it, their support board was helpful but it did not resolve the issue. Business projects do not have the ability to link to Bitbucket, it would have been nice to include task management with Bitbucket integration, it helps to appropriately follow up on tasks. The board view for tasks and sub-tasks doesn't work for me. I'd like to see that there are major tasks with steps of the child tasks (change the subtask icon too).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Jira : Collaboration of multiple people on same platform

Reviewed 10 months ago

Jira is an extremely useful product to work with a very large team and many project at the same time. Jira supports Agile and Kanban both the types of project management strategies.

Pros

It's a very powerful tool. It provides many advanced features to collaborate with people. We can easily tracks things on Jira through our mobile devises and other gadgets. It helps us to plan the projects with tasks and sub-tasks.

Cons

It is an expensive software compared to other open source software. I have worked with many software Jira is one of the most expensive product that we have used in our projects.