This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

BigCommerce Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

4.4

203

5

4

3

2

1

104

74

20

3

2

88%
positive reviews
94%
would recommend this app
How would you rate BigCommerce?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pros

BigCommerce is a recent addition to my portfolio and I must say that I am impressed thus far. Their customer support and willingness to be creative to solve an obstacle has impressed me.

JP

Jannis P.

BigCommerce is a dedicated ecommerce platform and is thus very suited for any store from simple to sophisticated.

DG

David G.

Bigcommerce is a great platform for small businesses or businesses in general that do not have a great budget to start developing their e-commerce.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Every app I’ve installed has caused a problem with another app or the native functionality of the platform. Simple desires have been turned into nightmares and BigCommerce has offered no support.

SF

Shelby F.

There are some instances where the lack of control or access to the server has caused us to change some of our plans, but it's nothing I would call a dealbreaker.
AvatarImg

Jennifer H.

Custom styles get very costly. Some features that should be standard are non existent.

MK

Mark K.

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


203 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Bigcommerce good for e-commerce store

Reviewed 8 months ago

Transcript

Daniel: Hi, my name is Daniel. I am the manager of a e-commerce company, and I'm giving four stars to...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Scalability, smooth set up and great customer support

Reviewed 3 years ago

I use a few different ecommerce solutions as it depends on the business model when determining which platform is best. BigCommerce is a recent addition to my portfolio and I must say that I am impressed thus far. Their customer support and willingness to be creative to solve an obstacle has impressed me. Customer support and the ability to address unique situations is a key feature for an ecommerce platform in my opinion.

Pros

The ease of use and access to assistance when needed. It is not unusual to get the brush off from a large cloud platform when you ask for a solution to an unusual situation. I was pleasantly surprised by the response I got from BigCommerce when this happened. Not only wee they willing to address it, they provided very detailed, walkthrough information to help me handle it myself. I highly recommend BigCommerce on the basis of their superior customer service alone at this point. Most platforms these days provide all of the basic necessary functions. Customer support is where the best rise to the top.

Cons

I wish there were more free templates available or the ability to easily customize/create a template to suit your desires. That said, the free templates provide a good platform for a variety of industries.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A Poor Man's Shopify Plus---Easier to Use/Maintain than Magento But Lagging Behind Shopify

Reviewed 4 years ago

We moved from Magneto Go, to Magento CE, and then to Bigcommerce over the course of several years in business. Moving from Magento, Bigcommerce was an obvious and needed upgrade for us. Our store was more reliable, and significantly easier to manage day to day. A lot of things that had kept me up as a sysadmin were no longer an issue and we saw very little loss in functionality all things considered. We used Bigcommerce for roughly a year and a half, leaving the platform entirely in early 2018 for Shopify Plus. In terms of the software itself, I do not regret this transition at all. If you can afford Plus I would advise you to go for it. The product is more mature than it was even a year ago, and is now a clear industry leader over Bigcommerce, OpenCart, Magento etc.

Pros

Cloud based, more-reliable-than-magento hosting, decent discount rules engine, compatible with most major "Shipping Manager" softwares like Shipstation etc No overly-restrictive terms of use, suitable platform for sellers of "high-risk" items. Better than Magneto in practice for 85% of small to medium businesses.

Cons

Poor optimization for speed, poor user-facing checkout experience, tepid app ecosystem, objectively inferior automation and reporting tools, admin UI is clunky, customization of themes is difficult and costly, new features/product launches are paywalled and often incomplete, didn't stop billing us when we canceled service to switch to Shopify, experienced a glitch which inexplicably hid paid orders... Out...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Small Commerce

Reviewed 3 years ago

BigCommerce has allowed us to have an online store, but the manual processes related to it make the cost of having the site higher than expected. Simple things like a minimum order have to be coded in. If you are a midsize company, you might want to consider another platform.

Pros

Ability to have an online presence cheaply and easily.

Cons

Big Commerce doesn't allow for (and isn't even familiar with) level 3 processing for credit cards. The site also does not have a setting to establish the minimum amount of an order. Editing information about products is cumbersome; unless you are willing to export the entire contents of the site and feel comfortable importing it without problems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

well rounded eCommerce solution

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

BigCommerce is easy to set up and use; provides a lot template to begin with and you can also customize your site. The new releases Stencil theme performs better than the old template but also requires more skills to develop and manage the template. Manage and process order is easy too. Overall a great eCommerce tool for online business. They are also adding features all the time. Support is good too.

Cons

Some feature is lacking or still under development. very limited coupon settings customization and other few customization features but they said they are working on improving those features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

An elegant platform, just lacking some features found elsewhere.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Beautiful and modern themes allow you to easily make a website that will attract customers into your online store or blog. There are numerous customization options, such as embedding another website's video, photo, blog post, etc. You can customize nearly any aspect of the website, like background, font, color, and the like. Making a store is simple as well, and they only charge a flat fee, so adding additional options is easy and doesn't cost anything extra, which isn't the case with some comparable competitors.

Cons

While the themes themselves are quite customizable, there is a very limited quantity of different themes to choose from in the first place (before you start customizing them), which leads each customization of a specific theme to end up looking and feeling somewhat similar. So, if too many people use a certain theme, it could end up becoming recognizable and seeming like a website version of a "stock photo". Fleshed out websites fully loaded with features and add-ons can be slow to load and have longer response times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Powers both of our company websites and performs amazingly!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

There are a lot of things to love. Integrating this with Netsuite or Fishbowl ERP's is fairly easy and makes your life much easier. We've been able to maintain our companies on these sites since the very beginning of 4 employees and 1 customers all the way to 70+ employees and more than 1,000 customers. Makes our life very easy and makes growing an e-commerce company much easier.

Cons

Have had growing pains early on since we were one of the first companies it seems to what to integrate Fishbowl but once the initial setup and processes were hashed out most things went smoother.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Bigcommerce has given our growing business great insight to the e-commerce world.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Ease of use. This has been useful when training new hires. It is very easy to use. The navigation is very straight forward. When dealing with customers it is very helpful. Webinars are appreciated. We used them frequently when looking into selling on Amazon. Support portal is straight forward when a problem arises.

Cons

I do not like the analytics page. I do not find them effective. I wish they were easier to use and gave you straight forward data on the dashboard. Customizing reports is a challenge as well. This should be easier to use and more intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, full-featured shopping cart and website builder

Reviewed 4 years ago

Easy to use, all-in-one solution.

Pros

I love that it is an All-In-One solution. It can build your website with shopping cart included is just a few easy steps. Their support is great too if you run into any difficulties. They offer lots of different shipping options, purchasing options (Credit Card, Paypal etc), there is also a big community if you want to do things that are not built in.

Cons

Sometimes it can be a little hard to make modifications to things that aren't naturally supported by bigcommerce when editing the template but the community helps a lot.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good eCommerce Platform - Needs Improvement

Reviewed a month ago

Excellent support while you keep the site standard. Need some improvements but this is true for most of the platforms.

Pros

Easy to setup, Easy to use, Very reliable

Cons

When you do any customization you loose the support. In most of the cases you raise an issue BC ask you to contact your developers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A great tool for customizable templates

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love it. It offers additional features like my online store's SEO, drop shipping, etc.

Pros

Love the templates available for my store and customization options.

Cons

Price difference between the level of subscriptions can be a little high. Some basic features fall into a higher subscription.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Would switch if I could find something better

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Easy to get up and running. Features are some of the best offered in this class. Pricing doesn't take a cut off of sales.

Cons

Many advanced features lacking or cost extra, like filtered search and navigation. Bugs are fixed and new features are added based on number of requests as opposed to the severity or need of the fix or feature. As a result, some bugs can persist for years if only a few people have reported them. No release notes or detailed info on updates. Overall it seems the company is still run more like a startup...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for getting started.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have used BigCommerce personally for many years and have never been offline or had any technical issues. I have also set up stores for clients and was happy to see that they could learn to use the system with minimal training.

Pros

Launching a new store on BigCommerce couldn't be easier. They have an onramp that is very smooth. They also have excellent integrations with third-party software like MailChimp.

Cons

BigCommerce email hosting is just OK, and really not well supported. They actually recommend hosting email elsewhere.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great SaaS Platform

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great platform with a wealth of features. But you need to make sure you know what is possible if you have any specific logic you are trying to create on the platform.

Pros

The ease of use to setup and implement this eCommerce platform is extremely quick and painless. Being that it is SaaS means that the launch process is as easy as literally flipping a switch.

Cons

Being SaaS you do trade off control for ease of use. When working in the platform, you need to understand there are just things you cannot do.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent E-Commerce Plattform

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have gotten used to BigCommerce and I like it. It is very easy to manage the store and I am very happy with it. Highly recommended!

Pros

I have been using BigCommerce for 5 years and I am a happy customer. It has plenty of features, customer support has always been very helpful and it is a reliable platform with very few server issues or downtimes.

Cons

There is a little bit of a learning curve that never ends, but I am ok with it. The more you want to implement, the more you need to learn.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I have used BigCommerce to build two ecommerce stores for a client; a consumer site and a wholesale

Reviewed 5 years ago

I learned a lot about selling online and selling through channels. Using this software I was made aware of other types of software as a service products that were useful for my other clients.

Pros

It took me a while to get used to the new management dashboard when BigCommerce upgraded to the new platform, but I am getting to know my way around. I like the integration to manage various channels through the dashboard. The reports are very informational to keep up on sales.

Cons

The coupon or discount codes are sometimes hard to configure based on the type of offer you would like to do. It would be nice to be able to set a time of day for an offer to expire. My client's customer had a customer ID. It would be nice if you could add a customer ID to match your offline accounting and shipping software . A lot of features my customer would like would require an developer.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ideal solition for a dedicated solution.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Over multiple stores, we have always managed to achieve what the client needs. The stores are robust and the pricing is reasonable. BigCommerce is a very dynamic company and I enjoying watching their progress.

Pros

BigCommerce is a dedicated ecommerce platform and is thus very suited for any store from simple to sophisticated. The system has an abundance of features and a growing number of apps (plugins) that are available to increase the funtionality. Support is excellent and you can actually call them up and find a very helpful and knowledgable person at the other end.

Cons

Lots to love but because it is a hosted platform (by BigCommerce) there are some limitations on which parts of the code you can get access to. The flip side of this is that BigCommerce take care more/most of the behind the scenes work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Hard To Beat.. Especially If You Don't Like Wordpress

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

For what BC offers, they're hard to beat. Coming from Wordpress/Woo, it's a goldmine of flexibility when it comes to their backend structure, security and flexibility. They offer so much in their base package. Wordpress is messy and so much to maintain. BC is not. It's a simple plug-n-play type of system where you add your content and you can be up and running within 24 hours. It's quite refreshing, actually.

Cons

As with most of the others, customization is lacking. Their "free" templates are blah and boring and their paid templates are cost-prohibitive for a startup. If you've got the funds for one, that's great; but for many of my clients, they need something quick and easy to get started with. While BC has a superb back-end, the design side of it for "unseasoned" business owners can be very challenging and frustrating. Their new(er) page designer is good, but not great.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very User Friendly Shopping Cart Application

Reviewed 5 years ago

Ease of use, efficient product maintenance, etc.

Pros

I love the fact that most of the coding has been done for the user. The program is so user friendly, that anyone could easily have a website up and running within a day or so.

Cons

Bigcommerce has a great shipping set up for individual products. I would like to see their developers provide an "in-house" dim-weight shipping solution. This would give them a huge advantage over their competitors.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Platform/Customer Service

Reviewed 9 months ago

All good, again, the customer service/tech support has better than any other platform, vendor, period.

Pros

It was easy to build and choose features, templates, and payment processors for my site.

Cons

Nothing yet, every issue has been solved via telephone or escalated to 2nd tier support (rare) and adjudicated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for Small Businesses

Reviewed 2 years ago

Bigcommerce helped our business to start with a webpage. The customer service is great and they are always open to new ideas.

Pros

The ease of using Bigcommerce was a huge plus for our business. It was easy to navigate and program the software to fit our business needs.

Cons

The options for adding different clothing options didn’t exist making it difficult for our customers to choose their sizes in the drop down sections.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

SaaS shopping cart made easy

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to use and has some great functionality.

Cons

As always with SaaS platforms there's always a feeling of features missing, slow progress to make changes, dealing with bugs and being told that you need to turn off apps that maybe causing a conflict (but you can't do so without uninstalling and reinstalling) and general banging your head against the brick wall because the core product is slow to see improvement.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Bigcommerce growing rapidly as CMS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall as a developer i have been using this product from almost a year & found this product quite friendly even in setting up & in customizing it.

Pros

I have been customizing this product for my customers regularly & much familiar with underlying APIs & design. I found this product very helpful for someone who wants to grow business online. Here's the list of pros i observe from that product. Store management is very easy. Shipping handling is also quite easy. Its Secure Its give live support 24/7 All in one solution Its easy to customize API guide is too easy

Cons

Few of the cons i found if not there this product will grow more rapidly. Its limited theme library Its Lillie expensive for newbie

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

INCREDIBLE E-Commerce Platform... will NEVER use another!!!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Seamless. Minimal effort. When I need service, its there. Most times I can figure out everything I need using their online documentation and forums.

Pros

Simple and easy to use, but its Big Commerce's customer service that earns them the crown of King of E-Commerce platforms.

Cons

Not really a BAD thing, but they are always adding features that usually are of no use to me..... but hey, they work well for SOMEONE.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Bigcommerce Review

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience with Bigcommerce is undoubtedly excellent. It would have been better if they considered to lower the price of this mesmerising software.

Pros

I loved the fact that I could easily build my site the way I want without coding a single line. It's easy for beginners to start designing your first e-commerce site even if you don't know how to build sites

Cons

I worst thing about this is I think it's overpriced. For the price it doesn't have that much features. The overall value doesn't match with the pricing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Love the shopping cart

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I like the ease of use and the 24/7 customer service.

Cons

I think it is expensive for what you get. Also when I purchased it I was told that the tech team would understand that I needed assistance hooking up my affiliate panel to the system. They had no idea what I was talking about and I had to figure it out myself, which meant I paid for the system way before I could use it.