BigCommerce Reviews

BigCommerce Reviews

BigCommerce

Redefining Enterprise Ecommerce

4.0/5 (21 reviews)
197,119     46,738

Bonnie A

Good Value

24/02/2017

We switched platforms and have been really pleased with Big Commerce. This platform has a lot of features built into it that you would have to pay for an app to use elsewhere. It includes cart abandonment software, real time shipping estimates, a cart countdown to free shipping, it's fully integrated with Avalara, and the list goes on. Also there are several credit card processors that are compatible so you can shop for better rates easily. This alone save us thousands of dollars last year. The customer support has been excellent. They are extremely helpful in terms of getting the most out of the platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Keith Conkey

Feature rich Ecommerce platform

06/02/2017

We've been using Bigcommerce for around 3 years now. The system is extremely easy to use and update. Admitidly to begin with we didn't have all the featurtes we wnated and development was slow. This has all changed in the last 12 months. Some great updates to bring out new features and some more to come over the next year. Love the monthly Town Hall meetings with the CEO and development teams which keep us up to date with what is planned. You can even participate in the development by selecting to do the beta programs and sessions with developmnt team to help shape the new features and ideas. The platform is extremely reliable and over these 3 years we have experienced very little downtime (Our old platform was down many a time loosing us sales) Apps to extend functionality are plentiful and new ones are coming along all the time. The future looks bright for BC and our business.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Hoyt Grant

Great to start! Not really to grow

25/01/2017

Bigcommerce is great - it has a lot of integrations and ways to communicate with other apps. But as far as scaling, I think there are better options :)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brady Stout

Great platform for an ecommerce shoe store

05/01/2017

I run an e-commerce shoe store and absolutely love BigCommerce. Their team is responsive, the apps are numerous, and Big Commerce is constantly pushing updates. My only complaint is that our product catalog is extensive and features many complex products. Big Commerce support of complex products is not the best.

Pros

Customer service, apps, speed, uptime, interface, integrations

Cons

Complex product support is weak

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering BigCommerce

If you are currently looking for a platform to use to sell online then you should give BigCommerce a close look. BigCommerce has a pulse on the market and they stay ahead of the curve.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matison Webster

Secure and growing

08/12/2016

Bigcommerce is the fastest growing E-Commerce platform and it is very secure. This platform has everything you need to set up a successful business. Bigcommerce is one of the more expensive sites but you are getting what you pay for.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Beau Whitfield

Great Platform

08/12/2016

This is the leading e-commerce platform for a good reason. It is easy to use and very intuitive, also with built in apps and a cart it makes for a complete e-commerce package.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Virginia Arteaga

Good value for price

05/12/2016

Learning the system can be a little overwhelming at first as there are a lot of settings you can turn on/off depending on what you want. Their online support help could be a little better (having to repeat yourself after you've filled out the form of what you need) - but they do answer promptly.

Pros

No coding Easy processing of orders Emails customers on your behalf when you change status of their order

Cons

Our storefront can't run directly on our non-profit website (like a plugin), only works as a link.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering BigCommerce

Spend some time learning software before running an item. Will need to familiarize yourself with settings.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
AJ Driscoll

It was an amazing deal, now it's a little less so

28/11/2016

I used Big Commerce for about 3 years and it did a lot of things very well and let you customize it however you wanted. A few things here and there were a little buggy like having to put free shipping on a digital product, but it was clearly tailored for product sales so that was our own fault. We wished there was a way to change that but it isn't available at the moment. When we signed up the product was incredibly cheap, something like $22/month to run a store that did $180k in sales/month. This past summer they raised our rate significantly but it still is a good deal roughly $700/month for our store to run. If you are a low volume high price store the pricing is bad but if you are selling a lot of under $200 items I can see their pricing model costing a lot of money to run each month.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alex Hoffman

Great backend for eCommerce

03/10/2016

I had my first eCommerce site running on Big Commerce. It and Shopify were going back and forth for a while on who was better and at the time Big Commerce was on top. What they're great at is the backend but I found the front end designs and control a bit lacking. I've since moved to Squarespace which suits my needs much better. If I had a high transaction business Big Commerce would surely be better at handling the orders but for my needs I prefer the interface and the elegance Shopify.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joy Knudtson

Verified Reviewer

Ease of Use

27/10/2015

We have used BigCommerce for over a year and it's ease of use is wonderful. It gives you step by step in setting up items with all the info you would need, please you can add custom fields as necessary. Customer service tends to be hard to come by though. Thankfully it's not needed too often because of the simplicity and ease of the site.

Pros

- Very easy to navigate - Simple look - Design how we want

Cons

- Lack of Customer Service (takes many steps to get in contact) - Flexible shipping rates is unavailable which makes it difficult for accurate shipping costs

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
JOSEPH COSTELLO

SHIPPING AND MULTI-LANGUAGE SUPPORT !!/??

14/03/2012

VERY GOOD FEATURE SET WITH LOTS OF BELLS AND WHISTLES,...... SEEMS TO HIT MOST OF THE KEY THINGS I WOULD WANT IN AN E-COMM SOFTWARE BUT LACKS TWO CRITICAL ITEMS LISTED IN (CONS)

Pros

WIDE FEATURE SETS WITH LOTS OF CUSTOMIZATION OPPORTUNITIES!!

Cons

COMPLETE LACK OF "FREIGHT" SHIPPING(LTL) AND DETAILED SHIPPING OPTIONS IF YOU ARE SHIPPING VARIOUS SIZES/WEIGHTS OF PRODUCTS NATIONALLY AND INTERNATIONALLY. SECOND HUGE DRAWBACK - NO MULTI-LANGUAGE SUPPORT! THIS IS A GLOBAL ECONOMY GUYS!

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tatiana H

their design partners design skills in my opinion are mediocre

13/01/2012

It's just ok I have a simple store. My issue with BG is all of the "have our design partners" design your site promo. And their design partners design skills in my opinion are mediocre. I designed my site and took days to figure out their coding file systems and to decipher their %global% meanings to finally get the look I want of my site and it's a simple design but professional. You can't even ask them a question on changing a color unless some design partner comes in the thread promoting. And the reps tell you "we can't answer that" and I just had a simple color change question (wanted to change a thumbnail color of 1 item only, the way the css files are it would've changed everything)! It's easy to use in a way BUT again they have all of these %global% jargon that you have to decode. I program and design and I had another designer try to help me he gave up and he designed big time sites.

Pros

It's cheap.

Cons

Read the first section. You can't edit the mobile site design. You can finally edit the email templates but again it's in the %global% jargon only way to see the email look is to do a test account = time wasting.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Juergen Klein

Be careful to check all required features and (lack of) support!

17/08/2011

Overall BigCommerce might be the market leader, but we're finding too many problems with the software and very slow support. Eg. freight is a BIG issue in our case, as our company is selling bulky and heavy items, where a miscalculated price may be costing us quickly in excess of $50 on a single order. • the system cannot handle "cubed weight" (by volume instead of weight) as charged by many transport companies • you cannot define shipping method per item (eg. we send small items by Post, large items by freight forwarder) • you cannot charge a handling/packaging fee for individual items Support: forget it! I've waited for over a week to have a simple ticket resolved, a post in the "Community Forum" (second support venue) is still without a single reply after 6 days!! Support staff seems to be of little inside knowledge when it comes to the coding (and resulting errors) of the software, so technical questions bounce back and forth [BigCommerce has always vacancies for Support].

Pros

+ Looks easy - but looks are deceiving. Still fine for a limited product range and simple merchandise.

Cons

- Shipping calculation only works for small items (fine to sell phone sleeves or swimwear) - Support often takes over 1 week to resolve a problem - Software bugs take a long time to be acknowledged and even longer to be solved

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lina Khatib

BigCommerce

03/06/2010

BigCommerce is advanced eCommerce platform with highly competent developers and support team.

Pros

Full access to source code which allows for unlimited customization. Competent support group. Extensive documentations. Many features. Good community discussion. Nice handling of photos!

Cons

Few features are missing but are promised in future releases (6.0 or after). Integration with shipping carriers and selective Free Shipping option are not included. Also, coupon of fixed $ discount per order is not currently supported.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michelle Huffaker

One-stop shop for all things ecommerce

01/06/2010

As an e-commerce designer and marketer, I was immediately impressed by BigCommerce's services. BigCommerce was the only company that seemed to cater exclusively to the ecommerce site. They are constantly adding exactly the features that I think are critical to ecommerce success, such as a fully integrated shopping cart and payment gateway, shipping and marketing strategies. They partner with the most up-to-date social media and email sites to offer a complete ability for marketing your ecommerce site. BigCommerce also offers a large selection of templates so that anyone can set up a beautiful shop with no design experience.

Pros

I love that I can set up my shopping cart & merchant account, shipping & marketing programs through BigCommerce. They are constantly offering webinars, tips and social marketing strategies, such as a shop tab on my store's facebook page.

Cons

There are a few issues, such as having the ability to upload your own gift certificate background, changing your initial order number (so it doesn't start at 1), etc., but BigCommerce has told me that they are already working on these issues.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Clint Wilder

BigCommerce Scores BIG for BuyAirbrushes.com

30/05/2010

Alright, so first things first. BigCommerce is a freaking God send when it comes to hosted online store apps. The interface is simple to navigate, the template system is well organized and easy to customize and the customer support is top notch. We just switched our store to BigCommerce from a competitor and couldn't be happier. We've been selling online for almost 5 years now, so getting us to change software was no easy task. But, after digging into what BigCommerce offered, it was pretty much a no-brainer to make the switch. If you're in the market for an eCommerce platform.... You've gotta check these guys out!!!!

Pros

Ease of use Elegant design Simple to customize SUPER AFFORDABLE

Cons

The only thing that this software is missing is integration with a shipping software like Endicia or Shiprush. However, I've heard that it's coming with the next release.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Peter Wang

Why We Switched two websites over to Bigcommerce from eCommerce and Kyozou!

29/05/2010

Very Professional, this company is top notch! The Head Honcho from the company actually cares about his products. We have been with them for almost 5 month now and we see a huge difference in sales as compared to our old sites. There are a tone of features build in (i.e, Daily Google Base Feeds, free SSL Certificates, free keyword optimization) along with actual detailed Help Videos that tell you what you need to do to use the features. When we first sign up, we were invited to a free teleconference seminar, where an actual person was on the other side, answering questions and showing us where to begin. Well For us comming from OSCOMMERCE its been awhile since we were able to speak with an actual person.

Pros

A couple of things that I personally like about Bigcommerce is the easy Youtube integration. The ability to sell on Facebook with the Bigcommerce social shop. NO hidden fees. And most important of all: How Easy it is to use. + They Listen!!

Cons

Maybe this is asking a little too much, again comming from no live tech support from oscommerce. Live Tech Support is only from 8 to 6pm. But they actually have Tech Support Available from 9 - 2pm, and 24 Hours through their on-line support system.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
JJ Birky

Verified Reviewer

19/01/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Chris Camilleri

Verified Reviewer

16/01/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Rain Gray

Verified Reviewer

24/03/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more
Mélanie Viallon

Verified Reviewer

17/02/2016

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more