App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Maitre'D Logo

Maitre'D

Restaurant, bar & hotel management solution

(4)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Maitre'D Reviews

Overall rating

3.6

/5

37

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5.48/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

This POS is great for our restaurants. It provides good reporting for revenue centers and also a good labor tracking report.
Outstanding new version, easy to upgrade and it's what our chain accounts want and need.
The simplicity of implementation is what sold us. Yes, it's easy to use for the line staff, but the initial setup was so great.
Service and reliability have been awful, with frequent crashes, the need to pay for every single issue from day one, and an inflexible setup that is killing our restaurant.
It is so bad that we will dump the system well before the three year lease is up. This POS isn't Point of Sale, it's a Piece of.
Screen navigation disign is poor. Inventory management screen designs are poor.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


37 reviews

Recommended

KN
AvatarImg

Kenzo N.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

fast and reliable, easy to use

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

this software is simple to use for everyone. Everything is well explain no matter the levels of knowledge.

Cons

I really dont know what to say about negative from this software. I really loved this software. Thank you MAitre D

MG
AvatarImg

Mary G.

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Tech guys are awesome!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great but a little difficult setting up for menu items.

Pros

Support was awesome...no matter what time of day or night - someone was always there to help out any problems we'd be having. It wasn't made for communicating with our hotel software but they made it work. The software does a lot more than we actually use it for.

Cons

Problems with interaction for room charges in the hotel...not always a problem with the software though but a hardware problem on our own end.

SB
AvatarImg

Scott B.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

SYSTEM IS VERY OUTDATED AND THE OLDER IT GETS IT SEEMS TO BE A MAGNET FOR GLITCHES

Reviewed 7 years ago

I am curious what the user life of this product is. Our's is 11 yrs old and runs windows xp in the dining room "touchscreen & credit cards" , and my back office is running windows 7.1. The system is slowing down, running sluggish and recently we had a serious networking problem that ruined our Friday Night all you can eat Fish & Chips. 2 managers were on the phone w tech support for hours. The...

Pros

It's a user friendly and training waitstaff is very easy. Big bold buttons and colors on the screen

Cons

When I call TECH support I need support NOW not tomorrow. When POS is down my business doesn't Run!

JL
AvatarImg

Jase L.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Happy

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to set up, Great corporate head office module. Can add new items in multiple locations within minutes.

Cons

Has its fair share of bugs, but which software doesn't. Need to communicate without th support to fix the issues which takes time.

SB
AvatarImg

Sabrina B.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

This is amazing!

Reviewed 7 years ago

This system makes it simple to take care of customers in a timely fashion. The POS terminal is easy to set up and use which made the transition much smoother from the system we were using.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

MS
AvatarImg

Mellanie S.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Not worth the effort Much better products out there

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

Preloaded items were a plus for us when it came to drinks

Cons

So hard to set up new users and train new people on it. I couldn't get training help. Paid for a whole session so they would go over every single part of it. They didn't cover much in the training.

Vendor response

Hello Mellanie, We are sorry to hear that your experience with our training team did not meet your expectations, but we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us at marketing@payfacto.com or via phone at (514) 665-6281, so that we can work to address the issue. We take all feedback seriously and welcome the opportunity to make things right. Best regards, Pierre-Marc Cardinal PayFacto Marketing Director

AR
AvatarImg

Amanda R.

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Difficult

Reviewed 5 years ago

Work at a hotel in BC Crashed all the time, slow Froze Was not very easy to make it our own

Pros

I guess the good thing was easy to train people on

Cons

Old school! Very basic program we used Crashed al the time

Vendor response

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your feedback. We have just released the newest, most powerful Maitre'D version packed with all of our latest features for faster and smoother operations. We are offering for a limited period, free software upgrades to all our existing Maitre'D customers. Please contact us to set it up! https://www.posera.com/claim-your-free-maitred-upgrade/ Wishing you a great new year, The Maitre'D team.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Keith L.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great if you need something out of the box

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This software is great for companies that need something simple to work with and are not looking for propitiatory POS systems.

Cons

At times when using the software at the POS it seems like you have to take more steps then you should to complete certain functions.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

MaitreD is great POS for hotels

Reviewed 6 years ago

Great POS system for restaurants in a hotel if you have a PMS system that is compatible with it so that Room Charges can be synced.

Pros

This POS is great for our restaurants. It provides good reporting for revenue centers and also a good labor tracking report. The UI is very simple and easy to use

Cons

It uses very old SQL libraries, so not the best way to store data. The system does not easily integrate with different systems, so you are limited due to compatibility.

SR
AvatarImg

Steven R.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

User friendly and easy to use

Reviewed 13 years ago

A great buy for any restaurantor that is looking to get the most profits out of his business and increase customer satisfaction with faster and more efficient service

Pros

Great user interface easy to use. Easy to install, great customer service . Very stable and robust software Very flexible can be adapted to any type of rerstaurant. Great reporting. PCI compliant software.

Cons

Nothing bad to say about it, Seriously!!

Vendor response

Thank you for the great review!

DW
AvatarImg

Derek W.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

No customer technical support, wait for ever for a call back

Reviewed 5 years ago

They also changed their credit card processing policies. Last June (2018) they suddenly made a change to their credit card processing software to make it so it no longer held the card information for use when the guest left. If you swipe a card to start a tab, that information is useless to close the tab with, and the system can't access it. You need to rely on the customer to remember to come back and swipe the card again at the end of their visit. They claimed this was for PCI compliance. When I asked how we should hold tabs open for customers, they instructed us to hold customer credit cards behind the bar to secure their tab. That is the opposite of PCI compliance, and actually breaks many privacy laws. What are you thinking Posera? Down the tubes.

Pros

We used to like the optional features and interface possibilities, until we found out that most of them don't work as promised.

Cons

The live customer support has gone extinct. When you call for the "24 hour technical support" you are usually just getting on a wait list for a call back, or leaving a recorded message for an eventual call back. Waiting right now for a call back, over an hour waiting, with a total system failure. Second time like this in the last 3 weeks. Ridiculous.

AB
AvatarImg

Amine B.

Food & Beverages, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

POS MaitreD

Reviewed 5 years ago

It had good functionality and layout, but it was outdated.

Pros

Large colorful buttons on the screen that can easily be identified.

Cons

Too slaw to start and it does has multiple screens option while you are using it.

Vendor response

Hi Amine, Thank you for your feedback. We have just released the newest, most powerful Maitre'D version packed with all of our latest features for faster and smoother operations. We are offering for a limited period, free software upgrades to all our existing Maitre'D customers. Please contact us to set it up! https://www.posera.com/claim-your-free-maitred-upgrade/ Wishing you a great new year, The Maitre'D team.

KG
AvatarImg

Krissy G.

Restaurants, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Horrible

Reviewed 7 years ago

They make it so your stuck with a high profile car credit card oteoccesdibg company. System is not user friendly. Cost s fortune to get anything fixed in it and you will have a lot of problems with it

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

Can’t switch credit card companies without paying a fortune. You’d trapped into a high price processing company or pay a fortune to be accessible to another company.

FE
AvatarImg

Fernando E.

Entertainment, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

it is a nice easy system

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

simple.

Cons

no support, extremely expensive when you get and if you get it. it looks like there is only one tech in the whole city, phone support takes days for a call back if they call back.

HL
AvatarImg

Hannah L.

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

Not worth it

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Easy to use with minimal issues on the floor front. Easy to train others to use. Very server friendly.

Cons

Way too expensive for what you're getting. Long wait times for customer service and credit card processing.

BD
AvatarImg

Beej D.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

It's time to say goodbye

Reviewed 9 years ago

We purchased a hotel that used MaitreD and continued to use it until early 2014, when we decided we would switch to Aloha by NCR. We had seen issues with MaitreD but the company convinced us that those issues would be solved by upgrading to their newest release. Alas, for a variety of reasons, we did not switch, but rather, upgraded our MaitreD system to the latest version and purchased new hardware...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

KK
AvatarImg

Krista K.

Restaurants, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Not the best for the price, also not the worst

Reviewed 7 years ago

The interface looks nicer than some other products on the market, but can be slow at times. Although it does look nicer than others, I wouldn't say it is the nicest. It is very user friendly, which I like. I would recommend this if you are okay with the slower system. I hope newer versions will fix this issue. It is also somewhat pricey for my liking.

Pros

The interface is nice looking Very user-friendly

Cons

Nice, but not nicest looking interface Pricey compared to competitors

KK
AvatarImg

Ken K.

Restaurants,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

Independent review by a POS consultant

Reviewed 8 years ago
Pros

It is a very eliable solution using premises server. Runs on MS Windows instead of requiring IOS. Hardware isn't as expensive and less costly monthly vs high licensing or hosting fees

Cons

Ours is not wireless tablets. Would like wireless tablets and card swipe at the table.

CH
AvatarImg

Connie H.

Restaurants, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Modifications

Reviewed 7 years ago

I've been working in kitchens for more then 10 years and Maitre'd is definitely one of the best systems for efficiency and high turn-over services.

Pros

Easy to modify orders quickly, everything is available to see anytime (guest numbers, bill prices, daily sales etc.)

Cons

A bit difficult to do preliminary training, easy to "get lost" in it if you're not used to it.

MB
AvatarImg

Matthew B.

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So simple!

Reviewed 8 years ago

The simplicity of implementation is what sold us. Yes, it's easy to use for the line staff, but the initial setup was so great. Great customer support when we've had questions.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AB
AvatarImg

Alisha B.

Apparel & Fashion, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

POS

Reviewed 7 years ago

Overall this wasn't my favourite POS system, although it did have all the functions I needed I thought there was just better products on the market compared to this one.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

MS
AvatarImg

Manoj S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

MAIITRED POS

Reviewed 13 years ago

Good software compared to other similar softwares available in market for POS.

Pros

Easy to configure. Modular design Cost effective Compatible with most of standard POS hardwares Good reports

Cons

Not a centralized software. Build on older version of database. Screen navigation disign is poor Inventory management screen designs are poor Masters import from excel not available

DK
AvatarImg

Doug K.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Vice President

Reviewed 13 years ago

Outstanding new version, easy to upgrade and it's what our chain accounts want and need.

Pros

The new SQL version of Maitre'D proves that POSERA is committed to ongoing upgrades and they have committed the company to invest in the system , rather than sit back as others do use 20 year old datastructures.

Cons

All new versions have issues but the issues we had we all resolved.

JH
AvatarImg

Josh H.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 8 years ago

Excellent product, worked exactly as described and exceeded expectations.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JC
AvatarImg

Jared C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

RDS of Florida

Reviewed 13 years ago

Great product with outstanding support for resellers

Pros

Strong back office Great second level support to re-sellers

Cons

Hard to compete due to a high price tag for the software though I understand why there is a high price tag Front of the house functionality not as easy or feature rich as some other competitors in the market