App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

WHMCS Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

3.9

/5

77
74%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.58/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Very efficient, easy to use, easy accounting and great support. Perfect for domains and hosting.
It is great that you can resell tons of different servers all from one WHMCS platform, although they definitely do have their favourites.
Have used for a couple of years with minimal issues. Overall it's a great solution.
Software's become so bloated less tech savvy customers have a hard time using it. Invoicing system is terrible and requires research to even see what you're paying for.
It is a real challenge to deal with WHMCS on everything. It is also hard to trust such a morally bankrupt company.
We will be moving to another platform that has the same features and costs much less. This company lost its way after it was bought.
How would you rate WHMCS?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


77 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Best domain name & website hosting client portal on the market

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Steve: Hi, my name is Steve. I'm a Web Developer. My review for WHMCS is four out of five. For more reviews...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Longtime owned license owner moving on

Reviewed a year ago

Longtime owned license owner. I’ve been supportive of the platform and have seen steady, albeit slow development. I’d say about 50% of the new features that are added are what the customers want, the other 50% are features that help WHMCS make money off of the people that use their software. I was fine with MarketConnect because it was an opt-in feature. Hearing the news about the price hikes today (over 1000%) has been the tipping point. We will be moving to another platform that has the same features and costs much less. This company lost its way after it was bought. I would not recommend WHMCS to anyone at this point.

Pros

The software works and does what is advertised.

Cons

Recent price hikes make it no longer economical to use the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Un sistema de continuamente se está actualizando

Reviewed 2 years ago

Tenemos muchos años trabajando con ellos , pero hace algún tiempo cambiaron las licencias por la cantidad de sitios que administras es el precio que pagas sin importar que ya tenías tiempo con un precio fijo , nos incrementaron el precio por manejar más de 1,000 sitios. Es el único problema que hemos tenido, los detalles técnicos son atendidos muy rápido

Pros

Facilidad de integración con otros modulos

Cons

Muy lento en consultas con bases de datos grandes y los reportes muy básicos

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Depends on What You Use it For

Reviewed 3 years ago

I don't mind it for customer billing, and maybe offering third party hosting through it, but for website building... not for me.

Pros

WHMCS offers a lot of functionality with billing and customer products. That being said, the satisfaction and ease of use definitely depends on what you are using it for. If you are using it for customer billing and integrated support, it is solid... if you are trying to integrate it with WordPress and build a site around your product options... it can be difficult.

Cons

Hard to integrate your product packages and capsules into a WordPress website without using a couple of workarounds.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great billing software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, I am happy using this software and would recommend it as automation is always a good thing. And with that, I must add that reliable automation is what WHMCS has to offer.

Pros

Works great and automates your billing system seamlessly. Also sets reminders and can disable accounts for non-payments. You can also run daily cron backups, which is a big plus.

Cons

Some features can be a little complicated, but once set up, the complications are behind you. One plus, yet drawback, is that WHMCS has so many features, it may seem way too hard to understand all that needs to be set properly to your needs. It just takes time and patience.

Vendor response

Thanks Craig, we're happy to hear WHMCS is automating your business and making your operations seamless. WHMCS is a very robust and powerful system - we have a very rich documentation and knowledgebase to help you get familiar with its many features. And if you haven't done yet, please feel free to visit our community so you can connect with other users and our team https://whmcs.community/

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool for automate your business

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

You can automate and configure many processes of your company such as payments, customer support, emails sending, you can create digital products and configure them to give access to customers. It has so many tools. Basically i use it because I work with customer service. It has a tickets system with which you can answer to customers, follow-up cases, assign the case to another team member for solution. It's easier to communicate with customer using WHCMS's predefined answers. You save a lot of time. It allows you to bill customers and automate payments every month, every year, as you prefer. If you have a web hosting business this may be very usefull for you. It also allows fully automated hosting account setup and management with domains.

Cons

As cons i must say it's not too intuitive, it you will need to read the documentation in order to do some tasks.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Very bad customer support - 13 days wasted - 2 months management team don't reply

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very bad customer support.

Pros

Easy to use software but same time very bad customer support team.

Cons

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and related other tickets - 13 days wasted of client - Very bad customer support, staff there is not helpful to customer - They are working for formalities to make ticket answered - 2 months their management still did not got time to reply on escalated cases. - Charging already 3x to what they used to for 10 years for this 10x worst service support Don't dare to kill customer's...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Billing for web hosting firms

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have used this for 15+ years, and do all my billing through it. No plans to switch!

Pros

Handles billing, reminders, suspending clients who are late if we opt for that, renewing domains automatically, easy tie in to payment processor. Automatic updates now available.

Cons

I would like to be able to use a single function (out of many they provide) in some situations and hide the rest, but doing do does not seem straightforward.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WHMCS - Brilliant Software!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Been running my hosting and web development company since 2009! WHMCS helped me to stay focused on my clients while it handles all my invoicing, account setups, support tickets and so much more!

Pros

A complete billing / accounting / hosting service / Domains etc. software solution to make life easier so you can focus on your business while WHMCS do the rest! I cant run my business without this software!

Cons

There is nothing that I can complaint about, I simply love this software!

Vendor response

Hi there, Thanks for writing this review. We're pleased to hear that WHMCS has freed time to focus on your clients.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great for recurring, overall could be better

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

The recurring billing feature & integration with hosting platforms is fantastic.

Cons

Features do not progress very fast. HTML email for support tickets is still not available after many many years, user/contact system is convoluted, not able to have product/category for invoice line items, reporting system is silly (counts tax as revenue), to mass pay an invoice system creates an extra invoice to pay off other invoices - which confuses things (including exports to work with the data)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

i use it doesnt mean i like it

Reviewed 3 years ago

overall it does what it says it will and with out really to many headaches

Pros

i do like that with a few click you can have an online shop accepting any form of currency known to man within a few minutes

Cons

Well there are a few things i dislike the the license issue i think are a little crazy. sure they have different packages but even if you buy a life time lic you will need to pay them 80 to 100 a year for updates that may or may not come out in the current year. and there are no opt out option for other lil things

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good web hosting automation and management

Reviewed 4 years ago

Makes hosting life easier

Pros

Automatic setup, built in ticketing system, recurring billing , this is the software that every web hosting company needs to have to succeed, it automates everything even domain registration.

Cons

MIgrating to another server can be a challenge, especially if the server has different hosting specifications like moving from Apache to Nginx .

Vendor response

Hi Emmanuel, We're happy to hear that WHMCS provides everything your web hosting company needs to succeed. Thanks for your recommendation!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WHMCS Is Manager

Reviewed 9 months ago
Pros

WHMCS is very interesting and widely used application for service management. The most unique advantage of this application is when we open the client’s ticket it shows the complete credentials detail of the particular client which is time saving.

Cons

The little advantage of this application is report area if you want to see the complete report of monthly ticket it is very difficult to view and search the particular ticket

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It is one of the best hosting tools I have used

Reviewed 4 years ago

Excellent!

Pros

It is one of the most stable and efficient hosting control panels that exist, it is the most used by hosting providers, which means that it is a very good commercial panel to sell hosting.

Cons

It will not work on servers with very few resources, it needs a lot of resources to run the panel interface compared to other control panels.

Vendor response

Hi Franklin Thanks for your review. I'm pleased to hear WHMCS has been simplifying your hosting business' operations for over 2 years!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

WHMCS - The best in the web hosting business

Reviewed 6 years ago

We currently have a valid license of WHMCS. The all in one solution for a web hosting business, very easy to use after a few plays with the configuration. It's the best yet WHMCS has terrible support.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Cammy, Thanks for your review, I'm pleased to hear that our software is meeting your business automation needs. We've made a number of improvements to the product, website and our operations which has reduced our average response time for standard support requests. I hope you've had the opportunity to experience this. Unfortunately I was unable to locate your account to check.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WebMaster's best friend!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

With WHMCS you can manage domains and hosting packages. Each package you create within WHMCS has it's own characteristics such as size and bandwidth. You can disable or activate an account in WHMCS which makes it easy to manage your web hosting accounts.

Cons

You need a technical mind to be able to effectively use WHMCS

Vendor response

Hi Desmond, Thanks for leaving your review. We love helping webmasters like you succeed!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Powerfull Tool + Comprensive ability but disconect to other softwares

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Powerfull Tool + Comprensive ability 1. low price 2. Effective Features 3.Powerfull in Hosting Managing

Cons

1. Not intgrations by other softwares 2. Accounting internal connection has many problems and most of time fo out of order 3. regulary break normal performance and send or generate additional invoice, orfer

Vendor response

Hi Mahmoud, Thanks for your review. I'm pleased to hear WHMCS is a powerful tool for your business automation needs!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of access for Sales

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

WHMCS provides you quick integration with different payment processors and best solution for invoicing. You can customize this solution as per your needs. It provides you domain and IP block option to fight fraud. It also have built-in ticketing system.

Cons

Ticketing system needs too much improvements. When you login as Administrator then it works very slow.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

WHMCS - tricky to navigate

Reviewed 3 years ago

The interface is outdated and needs to be more modern

Pros

Most of the functions are available however its very limited unless you install additional API's or plugins which are very expensive

Cons

I tried to integrate Freshdesk and WHMCS but the add on is pricey and limited to the amount of data that can be viewed in Freshdesk belonging in WHMCS

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Turnkey automation solution for Plesk and cPanel with a wide range of third party modules

Reviewed 5 years ago

You install it, you forget it. It's completely automated.

Pros

Customizability, first grade support, import/export features, the new upgrade-in-place feature, invoicing features, the new marketplace.

Cons

cPanel features are a bit more refined than Plesk that we use, the cart procedure could be simplified.

Vendor response

Hi Giancarlo, I'm pleased to hear you have had the ideal experience with WHMCS. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid product/service in hosting business

Reviewed 6 years ago

WHMCS is the solid service/product in the hosting business due to its functionality and the reasonable pricing. Have had an experience of using it few times on client's platform and I would say it has an extensive functionality however it might be quite confusing and not easy to administrate and set up the system in the beginning for the newbie users. Though, personally, for me, I prefer it over Hostbill...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Giorgi, Thanks for your review and recommendation. We consider ourselves a solid company; having been producing and supporting our software for over a decade. We have introduced a number of resources within the software to help new users get set-up, and are working on producing guides for further assistance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A CRM and payment system combined

Reviewed 6 months ago
Pros

Lots of helpful features, the automation for billing and processing payments are awesome, some of the client support options are nice, and very customizable to make the end results look professional.

Cons

License fees were medium/high and receiving support takes time despite paying a lot for it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Product but complex at times

Reviewed 5 years ago

The whole system could be much simpler than what it is. Sometimes it's difficult to understand how to perform certain functions within the software where there are some competitors that make the same process much easier.

Pros

I like all of the options that it offers as well as that it is web based.

Cons

It can be complicated to use at times.

Vendor response

Hi Larry, Thanks for your review, I'm pleased to hear you consider WHMCS a great product! With software as powerful as WHMCS, there are a lot of options to consider, so we've made efforts to make the initial configuration easier for new users. This takes the form of a setup wizard, video tutorials, and we are working on further written guides.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The best tool to remotely mannage a server.

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I can mannage my servers with ease and I can set up different features of software I want to use. Whenever I need support, I can write a ticket and I get help really fast.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Alejandro, Thanks for your review, I'm pleased to hear that WHMCS is meeting your business automation needs!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

For My Hosting

Reviewed 4 years ago

love it, very fast may take to time to setup order but i have it setup to autosetup and love it, sell reseller hosting shared hosting and domains make it so easier on our part for a webhost

Pros

i like how you can add credits to client account and they can top off there account balance, i think that very very cool, and like how staff can place orders from backend and login in as a client to place order on there behalf.

Cons

i love it all there nothing i dont like about this.

Vendor response

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your view, we're pleased to hear that WHMCS is meeting your hosting business needs perfectly!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Best domain name & website hosting client portal on the market

Reviewed a year ago

Can be time-consuming to add/edit domain name prices across 400 different domain name extensions, but if your prices are stable, it is a quality addition to your business.

Pros

It allows me to sell pretty much any domain name on the market (depending on which wholesale domain name provider I sign up with), and sell website hosting. I can install add-on modules that allow me to sell upsells and cross-sells too.

Cons

I am unable to import or edit top-level domain name extensions in bulk. Every domain has to be added/edited individually, which is a serious drawback.