Humanity (ShiftPlanning) Reviews

Humanity (ShiftPlanning) Reviews

Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

Easy Employee Scheduling & Workforce Management

4.51/5 (72 reviews)
5,801     3,525

Steve Brown

A great way to schedule staff

24/02/2017

We have been using Humanity and Shiftplaning for the last 3 years and love it. It has been easy to use, customizable to our complicated company needs and most importantly helpful to our staff. The ability for staff to update there availability on the fly and check there schedule via mobile has been huge. Its intuitive from the moment you start using it. Overall its been a wonderful program that we use everyday.

Pros

Customization is great for complicated organizations. Staff find it simple and easy to use. Helps keep our staffing organized.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rachel Baird

Horrible system - leaving and never will return or provide any positive feedback to anyone!

12/01/2017

1. Horrible Customer Service, impossible to get anyone to train you or your staff on how the system works, and you NEVER respond to calls, took 3 months to get someone on the phone despite setting up times they were supposed to call us. 2. Horrible system with regards to availability and trading - provided all this feedback and it was put in a que of things to be done sometime in the next 10 years maybe? 3. Humanity was NOT an improvement, no changes other than visually how it looks 3.You are wasting your time on fixing stupid things like the 'colour' of shifts instead of actually taking your customers feedback and fixing these that are actually wrong with the system - once I actually talked to someone on the phone I proved him wrong about how your system works (he didn't even understand how trades worked) and I was able to convince him that your program is awful... still my list of feedback is on a long list of 'potential improvements' 4. So many better programs out there - maybe check out your competition for some good examples

Pros

nothing.... maybe it better than paper schedules? maybe

Cons

everything. Availability system is useless as it isn't based on particular period of time - check out When2Work or RecStaff's availability system - so much better. Trading system is useless - people can't view or pick up shifts if they have stated they are un-available (linked to how awful the availability system is). People have so many problem trading shifts that we as managers basically have to switch all shift trades ourselves and since we have so many this is a waste of time that a scheduling system is supposed to fix. The print and report options are also awful and poorly formatted.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

re-write it entirely. hire new code writers.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Maureen Dominguez

Excellent Scheduling software!

15/12/2016

We were looking for a software that would handle scheduling, shift trades and hold our staff accountable for showing up on time to each shift and more. This software has exceeded our expectations and we fully enjoy using it. The staff is able to upload their photos so other staff can put a face to a name, set their own availabilities, release shifts, see who is clocked in, add their personalized notifications and run reports for timecard and schedules. It is very user-friendly and easy to learn. This software has solved a lot of the problems we used to experience in the past. If ever there is an issue a staff member is readily available to answer our questions. We often get personalized phone calls or emails and chats just to see how the software is doing. They are always improving the software and updating to make even more powerful and user-friendly. It did not take long for us and our staff to start learning how to use it.

Pros

Easy to use, great customer service and flexibility of the software.

Cons

none at the moment

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

Just an all around great product

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Genevieve Guerin

Gives managers like myself more time to do more productive work.

02/12/2016

ShiftPlanning has been great for us as a company. We moved from spreadsheets to ShiftPlanning and it helped us manage our schedules better. It gave us a better view of our operations as a whole and helped see where we needed to make adjustments quicker. The self-service for employees is great as this gets them to be a part of the work of scheduling by submitting their availability and day off requests. It definitely keeps us more organized. It is very efficient to use and gives managers like myself more time to spend on other big impact projects!

Pros

Being able to see the operations as a whole, able to see all departments at once.

Cons

The reports aren't very great!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Benoit Duchaine

Perfect employee scheduling system

06/09/2016

We've been using for the past year and I absolutly love it. We even use the system for room and timeslot reservations for birthday parties.

Pros

Easy to use and the interface is very responsive. They keep improving the application periodically with minimal impact.

Cons

Nothing to complain about.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Derek Peris

Wow, what a difference.

01/09/2016

Mt Baker Camp has been using this software (Shiftplanning) since the end of 2013. We use for managing all levels of staffing. We track hours worked, HUGE advantage in allowing employees & volunteers to see when they are scheduled multiple weeks ahead of time. At the end of the year it's easy to run reports to show how many total hours where contributed.

Pros

Time Clock - for payroll processing this is a life-saver (going from paper punch clock & card swiping) Scheduler / Calendar. Lots of training material & how-to-do's.

Cons

mmmmm...nothing

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

Take the 30 Day Trial run...you wont' be disappointed.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Moe Muslet

Great for Scheduling!!!!!!

26/08/2016

I use shiftplanning for my 4 locations and absolutely awesome I really love it. Very Simple and has a bunch of great features. Pricing is very reasonable and customer service is top notch.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Christine Qi

This App Changed My Business

16/08/2016

This product helped me manage all my empolyees with ease and simplicity. I just want to find out, however, how this rating system works.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
(Pharmaceuticals company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Easy to use, Helpful

09/08/2016

ShiftPlanning is incredibly helpful for payroll, staff database, organization location, and common messaging. Would recommend for any company. Attractive, easy to use interface and simple layout.

Pros

Easy edits, good connections for payroll.

Cons

Harder for employee use than HR management.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

VERY good choice, use it.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aminata NDIAYE

Love the new look

01/08/2016

I love the new look but still miss the ease of use of the old look. So far though, I love the application and use it everyday.

Pros

The ease of use. Customer support is always available

Cons

A few bugs when using the site with Google Chrome

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alison Smith

this program saved my business

31/07/2016

We spent so much time just getting schedules done and then something would happen - some one is sick or their grandmother died - Then there was all the communication getting employees with the right skills to cover the shift -. I went looking for a scheduling software and got so much more. We use the dashboard and email features every day to keep staff aware of changes. Our business depends on everybody knowing 100s of ever changing details. We use the email and training functions to keep the staff current with policy changes, to learn new systems and to refresh knowledge when things seem to be slacking. Being able to send emails to specific groups let us communicate sensitive information securely to those who need to know. I recommend this to everyone I know who has to manage any size business.

Pros

Communication - quick and flexible. most of my 20 somethings have a phone, rarely use email and rely on apps for everything. The phone app still needs some work but it has been the end of excuses about schedules the bulletin board keeps everyone communicating not just us to them but they communicate with each other.

Cons

Searching forward and back by months is awkward - google has the same issue with their calendars. I often need to go from a day view now to a day view months away. the path isn't intuitive

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

Can you make an app that finds and hires the right people?

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kyle Culpepper

Scheduling Made Simple!

12/07/2016

ShiftPlanning has been used at our facility for one year now. We are a college campus environment. Thus, scheduling for student workers can be a great challenge due to their dropping and adding classes and potential to working multiple part-time jobs, and of course, due to the differing course load, each student takes on. In the past, we used excel in combination with a learning management system to communicate and maintain student worker scheduling. I am the scheduler for student workers in our area. We have around 8-10 student workers, give or take which part of the year we are scheduling for. We schedule our shifts in a non-linear method. We like the availability feature that ShiftPlanning has. It is a static "when I am not available" table that you or your workers can fill out. At this point I supply entries into these availability tables based on student class schedules and external employment. We do this to prevent students from falsifying availability. ShiftPlannning has a pre-generate schedule wizarding system. This allows managers to schedule weeks, or months ahead of time, based on their current availability. If you are a manager for a college campus, then you may want to consider only doing this once a month for summers, and once a semester for spring and fall. You will be changing availability frequently during the beginning of each semester, almost all summer, and also during finals week. Duplicating the schedule for each week is as easy as two or three button taps on your mouse. Once a schedule is more concrete then this is super easy. During the high volatile periods mentioned above, we highly recommend not scheduling ahead of time. Just do one or two weeks worth of scheduling and make sure to communicate to everyone that the schedule will have a high degree of change. We have also enjoyed the use of the ping feature and other notifications to communicate to students when they should be at work.

Pros

The strongest features of ShiftPlanning are the many methods for communicating when a worker is to work (general scheduling), when policy changes or other changes at work need to be quickly and easily assimilated to all employees (dashboard notifications), and when notifications need to be sent to just individuals (ping). All of this communication can be managed in ShiftPlanning. Workers can set up their cell phones to receive important notifications. Administrators can control which methods are mandatory and which communication methods are not. A worker can elect to be notified via email and/or text prior to their shift starting. Workers can access ShiftPlanning from any device since this a cloud-based service. Workers are able to make vacation requests ahead of time, even when there is nothing posted for the actual schedule yet. We would recommend a 2-week requirement for this type of request. Otherwise, student workers can request off via a trade shift or drop-shift option, if short notice is provided. All trades can be set to approval first by manager. It is super easy to setup different worker types by area, or by responsibilities. Thus, if you are budgeting out hours between different areas (positions) then you can easily view the subtotal for each while scheduling who should work when. It also gives you a clear distinction in schedule mode as to who can actually work during the designated times you are generating (i.e. 10 AM ¿ 12 PM, 1 PM ¿ 2 PM¿).

Cons

The only concern that we have is with tweaking the trade shift and trade drop feature. Workers who are shown as available for the entire shift don't have the option to select parts of a shift that they are actually available for. Important meetings or events outside of work cannot always be accounted for using the availability feature. The only way this can be done is to not use a static schedule and go to making a policy for weekly updates. Then making it the student worker¿s responsibility to maintain their own work availability. In our case, we want to stay with a static scheduling system to help reduce the sense of a changing hectic work schedule for our student workers. Thus, students will benefit by having the ability to select from a portion of a shift trade rather than having only the option to pick up all or none of the shift being made available.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

Check after the scheduling wizard. It is not perfect. There are a lot of anomalies and points of error that you will need to keep up with. Personally, we still plan ahead using both ShiftPlanning and our excel sheet. This allows us the most control possible and also the most flexibility possible for our student worker schedules.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Allen

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful HRIS

06/07/2016

Shiftplanning is a very comprehensive and easy to use system. They support and training is phenomenal. It has really helped our company with accountability. I would recommend this system to all companies.

Pros

Easy to use Cloud based affordable able to grow with your business

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tamara  Lamont

Shift Planning!

05/07/2016

Shiftplanning is brilliant. It is easy to use and has more features than I expected to find. I give it rave reviews with other local business owners and feel that it is very valuable to me. I would not give it up for anything. The support team is prompt, professional and kind. They have been willing and able to help with any and all questions I have thrown their way. Very Impressive!!

Pros

Ease of use. It is very user friendly. I also love all the additional features such as training, doc uploads, messaging, personal profiles, change history, etc...

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

I love it!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Help Desk Manager (Hospital & Health Care company, 1001-5000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Using trial version of ShiftPlanning and am very impressed

05/07/2016

I am the Help Desk Manager of five employees at Monongahela Valley Hospital. My employees are on a shift rotation. Things become complicated if someone goes on leave or on vacation. ShiftPlanning was able to import my current schedule from an Excel document. This took a short time and imported most of it successfully. What it didn't import successfully, they were able to correct after fixing the format it was in. The support is great (I use mostly chat). Their chat support is fantastic. If you do not respond in a certain time frame, they email you with updates to your question/problem. I have dealt with other chat support where if you don't respond in a certain time frame, the chat is closed and you have to start over. This is where ShiftPlanning's support outranks most company's.

Pros

Automatically schedules employees with rotating shifts. Able to set rules that apply only to your organization. For example, my employees cannot be scheduled 2 shifts within 8 hours of each other and they cannot work more than five consecutive days without a day off. The support is great. When using their chat support, if you do not respond, your session does not end. You will be sent an email with any updates on your question/problem. This is a huge plus for me as I get pulled away from my desk often. Employees can request vacations and personal days, and can also request to swap shifts with another employee through the software. This can be set to require approval.

Cons

Not a deal breaker for me, but unable to put OFF on days an employee is not scheduled. For Week mode, unable to remove the employee title from the schedule. Again, not a deal breaker.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

Be sure you do a fully operable trial version of any software you are considering. Ask any/all questions during the trial (before buying). Be sure all of you questions are answered.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Russ Miller

Great for our growing company

27/06/2016

Very user friendly for our employees who have to record their time in the field. Not only can our employees clock in and out from their cell phones, they can also attach notes to each time card so we can easily give status updates to our clients.

Pros

Easy to use and very small learning curve

Cons

The schedule seems a little seems a little redundant at times

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pam Kimble

Not perfect, but it is meeting our needs.

24/06/2016

We're still learning all the features and working out the kinks. Overall, it seems to be going well.

Pros

The schedule wizard is helpful. I like that I can schedule specific staff to specific locations and positions.

Cons

I wish there was a way to assign specific supervisors to specific locations so that only those supervisors who need to see the staff availability or vacation requests from that location would see them. Right now, all supervisors see everyone and it really fills up their e-mail. Then then have to sort through to see which ones they are actually responsible for.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Humanity (ShiftPlanning)

The wizard doesn't fill every option shift, even when there are staff available. This is a little frustrating because then we still have to go in and manually do this for many, many shifts. Our shifts are sometimes only 2 hours long and there are multiple in a day a staff might work because the shifts are children who have therapy appointments. The wizard seems to like to only put a staff on one shift, then won't put them on another they might actually be available for.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sabrina Perron

Verified Reviewer

An amazing Scheduling system

09/06/2016

We use shiftplanning for scheduling purpose in our Call Center since more then 2 years and are not planning to change soon. It's not only a scheduling tool as you can also manage your payroll, training and your staff files through it. It's a complete system handle by a proactive and efficient team.

Pros

Easy to use, Customization, Customer service, Customer Support, Amazing Team, affordable cost, Webinars, Messaging system

Cons

No possibility to give a 5 minutes delay period before the clocking in is considered lates with the Timeclock tool would be my only complaint at this time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Natalie Moore

Does the trick!

02/06/2016

Every once in a while there is a hiccup and it doesn't what to post time slot, but refreshing screen usually does the trick.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kara Grisamer

Easy and user friendly

01/06/2016

We only use the scheduling part of the software, and it's made scheduling a lot easier. The alerts on people's phones take a load off of extra texting after the schedule is completed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephen Weickert

Time Saver

01/06/2016

This product allows us to publish our shifts directly to the employees without having to contact individually. It also allows the managers to see shifts and locations for the following day. Our overall productivity has increased across the entire company.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Dan Gauvreau

Great product, some hiccups

24/05/2016

I think it's one of the most easy to use shift planning tools out there. I've had a few issues with billing that have been annoying. The transition from sales to customer support was bumpy. The forum for suggesting new ideas or asking about problems seems to be dead. Lot's of suggestions are going up there, including mine, but not much, if any, feedback from the company. Looks like the forum was used heavily early on, but now it's not very helpful. I've talked to a few people about some features i'd like to see and I'm told it's possible, but there doesn't appear to be any progress. Apparently there is a redesign coming that I was told would be arriving last fall, but I don't see anything yet. I would like to know how it is progressing. Overall, there is a lot of potential with this product and I hope it continues to be developed and improved.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Wesley  Kronberg

It was easy to learn

20/05/2016

I like the differant options to they have to view the schedules. My manager likes to view the schedule by position and it makes sense to her but not me. I look at the visual because it makes sense to me and not her. Options are good

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Porter

software is not value priced

19/05/2016

software shift planning is okay. has a habit of shifting the opposite start or end shift if you change the other start or end time or will change the date . employee shift trading seems to be not user friendly my staff as issues with it. a company shouldnt have to do training on something that should be user friendly. as soon as I find another program that is more user friendly i will be leaving. their pricing is a little high.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karen Williams

Easy to use, Lots of Features, Affordable

19/05/2016

I cut down on time spent scheduling by 75%. The support is good but since ShiftPlanning is easy to use, you don't need much support. It offers 95% of what I need in scheduling software at a very affordable price. Staff loved it.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more