ShiftPlanning Reviews

ShiftPlanning Reviews

ShiftPlanning

Easy Employee Scheduling & Workforce Management

4.51/5 (71 reviews)
5,812     3,521

Anonymous
(Pharmaceuticals company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Easy to use, Helpful

09/08/2016

ShiftPlanning is incredibly helpful for payroll, staff database, organization location, and common messaging. Would recommend for any company. Attractive, easy to use interface and simple layout.

Pros

Easy edits, good connections for payroll.

Cons

Harder for employee use than HR management.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering ShiftPlanning

VERY good choice, use it.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah Allen

Verified Reviewer

Wonderful HRIS

06/07/2016

Shiftplanning is a very comprehensive and easy to use system. They support and training is phenomenal. It has really helped our company with accountability. I would recommend this system to all companies.

Pros

Easy to use Cloud based affordable able to grow with your business

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Help Desk Manager (Hospital & Health Care company, 1001-5000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Using trial version of ShiftPlanning and am very impressed

05/07/2016

I am the Help Desk Manager of five employees at Monongahela Valley Hospital. My employees are on a shift rotation. Things become complicated if someone goes on leave or on vacation. ShiftPlanning was able to import my current schedule from an Excel document. This took a short time and imported most of it successfully. What it didn't import successfully, they were able to correct after fixing the format it was in. The support is great (I use mostly chat). Their chat support is fantastic. If you do not respond in a certain time frame, they email you with updates to your question/problem. I have dealt with other chat support where if you don't respond in a certain time frame, the chat is closed and you have to start over. This is where ShiftPlanning's support outranks most company's.

Pros

Automatically schedules employees with rotating shifts. Able to set rules that apply only to your organization. For example, my employees cannot be scheduled 2 shifts within 8 hours of each other and they cannot work more than five consecutive days without a day off. The support is great. When using their chat support, if you do not respond, your session does not end. You will be sent an email with any updates on your question/problem. This is a huge plus for me as I get pulled away from my desk often. Employees can request vacations and personal days, and can also request to swap shifts with another employee through the software. This can be set to require approval.

Cons

Not a deal breaker for me, but unable to put OFF on days an employee is not scheduled. For Week mode, unable to remove the employee title from the schedule. Again, not a deal breaker.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ShiftPlanning

Be sure you do a fully operable trial version of any software you are considering. Ask any/all questions during the trial (before buying). Be sure all of you questions are answered.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sabrina Perron

Verified Reviewer

An amazing Scheduling system

09/06/2016

We use shiftplanning for scheduling purpose in our Call Center since more then 2 years and are not planning to change soon. It's not only a scheduling tool as you can also manage your payroll, training and your staff files through it. It's a complete system handle by a proactive and efficient team.

Pros

Easy to use, Customization, Customer service, Customer Support, Amazing Team, affordable cost, Webinars, Messaging system

Cons

No possibility to give a 5 minutes delay period before the clocking in is considered lates with the Timeclock tool would be my only complaint at this time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carrie Miller

Verified Reviewer

love this employment tool

05/05/2016

we are a small company 20-30 people, and this tool has saved us so much time it pays for itself! we use all aspects of it, scheduling, reporting, budgeting for labor goals ..etc.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gisele Gauthier

Verified Reviewer

Amazing experience

26/04/2016

Our new store has been with Shiftplanning since the day we opened our doors which was over two years ago now. As the administrator of the software for our store, I would like to say that the experience has been amazing since day one. On a scale of one to ten, ten being excellent I would give it a strong nine. Not ten just because I believe that their's always room for improvement no matter the service. Everything from friendly sales people to support to being a great product to work with, I would defenitely recommend this service to anybody. Gisele, Ontario Canada

Pros

Easy to use for both administrators and employees. Even our employees with limited computer experience find it easy to use.

Cons

Can't really think of any since it as served us well for our needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Randy Feist

Verified Reviewer

Good Customer Support

22/04/2016

They are willing to work with me on custom solutions - I have a seasonal business where I have MANY more employees during a 7 week period than I do throughout the remainder of the year. They were helpful in structuring an annual fee that covers all my needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sam Snelling

Verified Reviewer

Great for our business

19/04/2016

Shiftplanning has revolutionised our rostering and payroll, decreasing the time commitment from around 12 hours per week to 1-2 hours per week. It would be great if it could link directly with xero, our payroll software.

Pros

Customer support, ease of access across multiple platforms.

Cons

doesn't integrate well with xero (yet!)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Laura Messerly

Verified Reviewer

Big Fan!

14/04/2016

We have been using shiftplanning for almost three years now to schedule our 60 - 160 staff for Adventure, Recreation, Aquatics, and Customer Service positions across three sites and we are BIG FANS. Our multiple schedulers and many staff all find the web-based software incredibly convenient, intuitive, and user-friendly. Many of our staff have the app, which is great for checking their schedule but does not have the request feature and a few other features available on the full , web version. Love the color-coding! Thanks Shiftplanning! Looking forward to many more years of scheduling together! :-)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donna Harsh

Verified Reviewer

The App We've Chosen to use because it had the best features

13/04/2016

We schedule 12-16 people/day on our ambulances. If there is a special event, we are easily able to add that. SP keeps track of vacation days used as well as . I haven't integrated it into my payroll system . There are improvements we would like and it seems that changes we ask for take forever to implement. The vacation/time off system needs improved. Overall, SP does what we need it to and we continue to use it. There is live support online 24/7 or by email. They will help you from setup to any questions you have down the road.

Pros

Customer support, live chat, forums and tutorials. Very nice scheduling program with lots of options within the schedule. I like the dashboard to send out a message to everyone or just certain people.

Cons

Some areas could use improvement. The only way to enter time off is to code it as a vacation type. We can't give partial days.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matthew Lottes

Verified Reviewer

Great Customer Service and Great Program

12/04/2016

Shiftplanning took my company out of the stoneage of spreadsheet schedules to interactive and well organized scheduling software. We manage 27 locations within 15 miles of each other with a staff population of about 550. Shiftplanning's FREE setup service allowed us to easily setup all our employees and locations. The Customer Service is the best part. My personal CS client works tirelessly to ensure we are successful and is extremely responsive to needs and requests returning all emails or phone calls within 24 hours. It has made an otherwise colossal task simple and easy to do

Pros

Free Setup Service Event Log Customized Reports Combines HR, Timekeeping, Accounting, and Scheduling into one Superb Customer Service Constantly being improved to make better by listening to clients for improvements

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Great system

07/04/2016

Been really easy to manage multiple locations with multiple schedules. Even the staff find it really easy to use as be able to request time off when ever it comes up with out having to always remember to come in and ask when they get here.

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Randi Binion-Olson

Verified Reviewer

Time Sheets Made a Easy

05/04/2016

The Custom report function has cut my payroll time in half. I just need to figure out how to export it in the format I need without having to do many edits to and payroll would be a breeze. The only thing I wish they would change would be to have the clock-in and out button on the dashboard page to make it easier for my employees to clock in and out. Sometimes they sign-in and forget to actually clock in or forget to clock out so the next employee clocks them out and forgets to sign themselves in... not really a ShiftPlanning issue, really just need my employees to pay better attention and be mindful of their time sheets, but I'' hold my breath on that one.

Pros

Easy of use, excellent technical support and quick implementation.

Cons

Should have clock-in and out button on the dashboard page.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
cathie emerson

Verified Reviewer

Shift Planning Review

03/04/2016

I've been using Shiftplanning for my small business for 3 years. It's easy to use and it's easy for my employees to use. No more paper schedules and no more excuses that they didn't see the schedule. It reminds them by text and email that they have a shift starting in 24 hours and then again in 60 min! The price did change from the 1st and 2nd year by quite a bit. I continue to use it because of it's convenience.

Pros

Scheduling is easy, you can roll schedules from one week to the next. You can budget your schedule and see where you are vs your budget.

Cons

The cost is high. When I first signed up in 2013 it was $500 per year, this past march it went up to $700!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
J. Gary Thompson

Verified Reviewer

Many options, very flexible, solves a MAJOR scheduling headache

29/03/2016

If you have multiple locations, with multiple shifts, and multiple workers with specific skill sets. if you need to know who can work a specific location and who can't. If you need to know the availability of your resources. If you want your workers to be able to clock in using their phone, or be sure they are clocking in from a specific geographical location. If you want employees to be able to offer up their shifts to only equally qualified employees. I could go on, but you get the point. THIS is the application.

Pros

Price Flexibility Options

Cons

Complex. Took me three tries to get it implemented they way I needed, but my use case may be unusual.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Allan Delmare

Verified Reviewer

Somewhat buggy, less than intuitive UI, poor report performance

23/12/2015

We used Shiftplanning for a little over a year, and we found the system to be somewhat counter-intuitive when constructing schedules. It took us over 2 days of concentrated efforts to set up our scheduling system in a way that worked for us (compared to the 20 minutes it took us to do the same through WheniWork). The most frustrating thing was the reports: if you wanted a simple summary of employees hours, it produced this massive report that couldn't be reformatted, and didn't fit when trying to print on legal paper (good luck with trying to print on an even smaller sheet of 8.5/11). We had many issues with the app-based terminals as well - there were quirky limitations that wouldn't allow people to log in from the terminal even after saving it to an IP address (we have a static IP address at the office network). It also "forgot" the authorizations for the terminal, and it was rare that things "just worked"

Pros

Pricing is pretty good. But when compared to other services, you're getting what you pay for.

Cons

User interface is more complicated than it needs to be, and when setting up a complicated shift schedule for multiple locations and positions at those locations, it took a lot of work to organize it in a way that worked how we wanted it to. Buggy apps / iPad terminals Frustrating reports. Difficult to print.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Karen Williams

Verified Reviewer

Saves time, frustration and money

22/12/2015

I researched several options and ShiftPlanning offered everything on my wish list for a price within my budget. All the pre-sale promises proved to be true once I began using ShiftPlanning. I reduced time spent scheduling by 75%. The employees praised the introduction of ShiftPlanning.

Pros

The online chat support is quick to respond and is backed up with online documentation and videos. The software is very intuitive and the support team was very helpful in getting me up and running. After that I needed minimual support. My second favorite feature is the "Availablity" function. Staff can block out either a recurring day of the week, time of day or a specific date. This eliminated scheduling errors for everyone.

Cons

The product is designed for online use by the Scheduler and employees. I also like to post a printed copy of the schedule. The filter function allows significant flexibility when printing but I'd like to see more control over the page breaks when printing the schedule.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Denise Van Sickel

Verified Reviewer

Terrible way to conduct business

25/02/2015

I was completely disappointed in this software. I was assured when I first tried it and then paid for a 6 month subscription that I would be able to create a custom report for my staff's availability. I even sent a copy of the report I created manually to show what I needed. It wasn't until I got all of my staff entered etc and tried to create the report which I was not able to to do. I was told by my "client success specialist" that the custom report I needed was not an option on their platform. I was also told if I needed help she was not available until the following Monday to help me. This was on a Thursday. What? Some customer service. So when I realized this is not the scheduling software for me, they refused to refund my money (I paid for 6 months). They just sent an email with the verbiage of their billing practice..no refunds. I would strongly suggest you utilize their free month to make sure it works. In my case, I went on blind faith that the initial "support" person told me it would work for us. It's bad enough that it didn't work, but then to so coldy inform me I cannot get a refund...well that is the reason I am taking the time to write this review. Otherwise, I probably wouldn't do that. It's a terrible way to do business - not giving a refund if the product doesn't meet our needs. Seems pretty simple to me.

Source: GetApp
11 of 12 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric Blomberg

Verified Reviewer

Game Changer

26/08/2014

ShiftPlanning has completely changed the way we do business. As a Logistics Coordinator for a small business that operates in many different locations over any given day, ShiftPlanning allows all of our employees to say up to date when any schedule changes and gives them exact directions to any remote work sites. Complete game changer for a small business. Would definitely recommend it.

Pros

GPS Navigation for small sites Allows employees to schedule themselves therefore reducing phone calls to employees Easily communicate schedule changes to staff

Cons

Occasional bugs that can manipulate schedules Some remote sites do not come up properly on pin drop

Source: GetApp
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Waddell

Verified Reviewer

Great Time Saver!

19/08/2014

As a small business I strongly recommend Shiftplanning for any event & catering business. It has been a huge time saver for scheduling and weekly payroll. In just minutes I can review all employee hours and track where they clocked in and out. Time sheet reports saves me a lot of time when I do payroll.

Pros

Easy to use

Source: GetApp
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anthony Cordo, CMP, CTA

Verified Reviewer

ShiftPlanning Gets the Job Done and More

19/08/2014

I've used ShiftPlanning for two years to manage the schedules of our employees, timecards, and employee information. The software is reliable and most of my staff can figure it out without a training session. I chose this software specifically because it allowed for open shifts - shifts where instead of assigning an employee, I allow them to sign up to work.

Pros

Many features - open shifts, training module, time cards, great reporting and more.

Source: GetApp
2 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeanne Cygnus

Verified Reviewer

Shiftplanning -- excellent way to manage employee schedules!

18/08/2014

We've used Shiftplanning for a couple of years now, and it has been an excellent resource! It helps keep me organized and allows us all to keep track of our various schedules, vacations, etc. It is a tool that I use and have come to rely on daily. Highly recommend!

Pros

Easy to use -- the interface is very intuitive. Allows for all kinds of customization to suit our needs. Customer service is excellent.

Cons

Haven't found any yet. Excellent to work with!

Source: GetApp
1 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew Rosenblum

Verified Reviewer

Best software ever!

18/08/2014

This software has helped my operation 100%. I went from calling each employee to see if they can work, to having it fully automated. Their customer service is excellent. They keep coming out with new features that enhance the software. All my employees love using it and they say it is the most user friendly site they ever used. Thanks again ShiftPlanning!

Pros

User friendly. Easy to manage. Employees getting text messages.

Cons

None

Source: GetApp
1 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jonathan Wisniewski

Verified Reviewer

Scheduling Made Easy

18/08/2014

The use of ShiftPlanning over the past year has made scheduling an easy and enjoyable task. With the ability to input the daily budgets per location and fill shifts to meet the budget requirements, ShiftPlanning has been a go-to tool for the Management Team. The time and cost savings that ShiftPlanning has provided is immense which leads to a wonderful ROI for this cloud-based program. Great job on the creation of this excellent software ... it has definitely surpassed our expectations!

Source: GetApp
1 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jami Caruso

Verified Reviewer

Great app for small business users

18/08/2014

I work at uShip and I've been using ShiftPlanning for over a year. It's been a great help in managing the schedules and vacation requests for my team. It's easy to use, and the team is EXTREMELY receptive to feedback. They always seem to be improving. I highly recommend this tool if you're looking to get organized.

Pros

- Great support staff - Easy to use - Competitive pricing - Chock full of tools/reporting capabilities - Very customizable

Cons

- Scheduling can be a bit buggy at times, but again, the team is super responsive and always willing to help - Not thrilled with the export functionality

Source: GetApp
2 of 6 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more