App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

NetCrunch Logo

NetCrunch

Network monitoring & visualization system for SMBs

see alternatives

(4)

NetCrunch Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

24

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.53/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

The power and ease of use are well balanced. I am able to accomplish all of the usual management tasks and many things I was not able to do with other, less sophisticated products.
Netcrunch works out of the box and autodiscovery is amazing. I would definitely recommend it for IT professionals.
We've been customers of Adrem for quite a few years now. This monitoring systems is one of the best we tested for both ease of use and overall capabilities.
CONS: Unfortunately we have been plagued with issues when updating the past few releases which caused us to lose our config/Atlas for most servers.
As soon you have several locations you have a problem.
The unix bsd (non Linux) monitoring capabilities are very limited. It cant run several atlas in paralel.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


24 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Quency M.

Verified reviewer

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Amazing Software

Reviewed 2 years ago

I was able to get access to a software that monitors all devices.

Pros

I honestly love instead of liking, NetCrunch is system that supports other major operating systems. Its pricing its very reasonable and very easy to use.

Cons

I honestly didn't dislike anything because its the most amazing system anyone could use.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Utilities, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Monitor your entire IT environment in just a few steps.

Reviewed 5 years ago

NetCrunch monitors our entire environment and lets us know what needs attention. We trust the software completely.

Pros

NetCrunch can monitor your entire IT environment, be it Windows, Linux, networking gear or something else. It comes with an enormous amount of monitoring packs, that are either detected automatically or that you can add manually to the nodes you monitor. These packs come with default triggers, based on the vendor documentation or best practices. This makes it very easy to get your monitoring and alerting...

Cons

There are not much things that I don't like, to be honest. Maybe the fact that there is a web interface, but for some more advanced changes you need the dedicated Windows client. But that is not an enormous drawback, because this client also notifies you of any alerts that are occurring.

hs
AvatarImg

harmandeep singh s.

10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

NetCrunch review

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

NetCrunch is very easy to setup Easy for me to manage 1000 computers, 100 servers and 100 switches in a single view of dashboard NetCrunch is pretty lightweight in comparison to other solutions out there on the market

Cons

If your infrastructure is small it’s easy. As soon you have several locations you have a problem Support systems is restricted to special hours when you want to speak to the team Costing is not publicly listed, you have to request the team depending on your requirements

TA
AvatarImg

Tomi A.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tool for experts - get proactive

Reviewed 6 years ago

Even with this excellent tool your own resources and time spent working with NetCrunch determine the level of your success. I have been using NetCrunch since around year 2000 in all companies I have worked - found it searching the Internet for monitoring tool and we've been together since :) Imagination and technical knowledge set the limits what you can do with it. With the latest major addition GrafCrunch visualization you can also get step closer to your business people and offer top level dashboards or perhaps in industrial sector make visual monitors of your factory automation. Anything is possible!

Pros

It does not much limit what you can do - your skills set the boundaries. Its development stays in speed with what you expect of such tools. Cost effective - I am using the Premium version

Cons

Perhaps some improvement on the NetCrunch server side needed - to get its own management module for that purpose

EP
AvatarImg

Eric P.

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great for monitoring, send email, run scripts.

Reviewed 6 years ago

I use it to monitor approximately 40 servers, a mix of Windows, Linux and VMware. It send me an email if a node its not responding, low on free disk or services that don't respond. There were a server that tomcat crashed regularly. Waiting for a patch, I've set Netcrunch to check the service. If its down, it restart it. If after 3 minutes its still down it send me an email. Really great! I monitor around 150 switches too, for node down, service down and statistics, the "Top Charts" is really cool! Overall its a really great software, I have the client on my workstation which is always opened! :) Eric.

Pros

It monitor services, it can even check a non-standard ports and execute scripts on alarms!

Cons

I cannot change the SSH port to execute scripts for a Macintosh server, I have only 1 but it would be cool. But it can be changed for Linux servers.

af
AvatarImg

amir f.

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

the ROI for this monitoring and management system was immediate

Reviewed 5 years ago

the ROI was immediate as the software detected problems that save mony and increase our customers service experience while saving operational costs

Pros

the product is easy to use . feet most of my needs for service monitoring and counter analyzing tools. the dashboard give full picture of network health status in single view it save lots of manual operations checking network .trend view very helpful to analyze system over time monitoring setup is very intuitive and easy to do the system has self maintaining tools

Cons

the Linux inventory is not rich as the windows inventory data. the unix bsd (non Linux) monitoring capabilities are very limited it cant run several atlas in paralel

BG
AvatarImg

Bill G.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

By far best monitoring tool

Reviewed 6 years ago

Very intuitive setup right out of the box. The software automatically detects if it's installed in a virtualized environment and the autodiscovery almost immediately gives you an overview of your entire network. Most machines and devices are categorized on the spot, so you don't even have to remember which machines run Windows, Mac or BSD. For fine-tuning, the software can be customized quite extensively, from alerts to which protocols NetCrunch monitors and at which intervals. Alerting can be done by SMS, email, sound, action or many different ways, so if you're outside the office and have SLA in mind, it's definitely worth the investment.

Pros

Extensive alerts, value for the price

Cons

Nothing so far

BM
AvatarImg

Brian M.

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Value for Great Product

Reviewed 6 years ago

We maintain a company with 4 separate locations, 400 PCs, 25 servers, VOIP phones, and all different types of routers, switches, and access points. NetCrunch can handle everything. It also has the ability to import MIB packs for those that are not natively supported. The reports we get from it are very valuable and gives us an insight on what's really going on. Would definitely recommend this product to anyone that wants to keep an eye on a large infrastructure.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

I wish the monitoring time could be less than 1 minute. It is nice to know about a problem as instantly as possible. Many times, the end users report to us before we get the NetCrunch alert.

RV
AvatarImg

Roger V.

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Five Stars for NetCrunch

Reviewed 6 years ago

We've been customers of Adrem for quite a few years now. This monitoring systems is one of the best we tested for both ease of use and overall capabilities. We tested a number of other systems but none of them had the same capabilities and if they did it was at an extra charge. Adrem got it right with their NetCrunch. I highly recommend it.

Pros

Ease of use and capabilities.

Cons

No cons were added to this review

KM
AvatarImg

Kyle M.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great monitoring and first line of defense

Reviewed 6 years ago

First experienced NetCrunch at a user conference where a presenter done a presentation on it. I was highly impressed by the functionality and spoke with him after to get more details. The ability to auto run scripts and auto restart services if they stop have lowered support time as well as increased up time. I am very pleased with support as they reply back very promptly with suggestions to address any issue we've had.

Pros

Once set up its a set it and forget it. It sends email alerts as well as when they clear.

Cons

Can be pretty intense setting up but that's because its so highly customization.

JD
AvatarImg

Jay D.

Warehousing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Wonderful monitoring solution getting better every day

Reviewed 6 years ago

In our search for an economical monitoring solution, we came across NetCrunch. By far, it was the easiest platform to get up, running, and monitor information from with very little initial configuration. As we've grown with the platform, we've through the customizations specific to our environment making the logged information even more valuable. The depth of customization can be staggering once...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

AB
AvatarImg

Alberto B.

Telecommunications, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Una gran herramienta para mejora la seguridad y estabilidad de una red corporativa.

Reviewed 3 months ago

Muy positiva. Facilita el trabajo, reduce los problemas y la necesidad de atención humana en la red.

Pros

Permite monitorizar una red de forma eficiente y lo mas importante, ahorrando trabajo al admin.Trabaja en detalle con todos los parámetros que el administrador necesita monitorizar y en profundidad con todos los nodos, terminales y hardware de red.

Cons

La curva de aprendizaje no es muy rápida y la documentación ofrecida por el desarrollador podría ser mas completa. Este problema se puede superar en pocas semanas.

Showing original review in Spanish. See translation

RS
AvatarImg

Rob S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great value to feature ratio - some issues with updates

Reviewed 6 years ago

We manage ~12 NetCrunch servers on various networks ranging from 100 to 1000 devices in all sorts of configurations. Once configured NetCrucnh is by far the best NMS for the price. That said, getting it tuned just right will take some time. It has many built-in monitoring packs and can be expanded by importing MIBs or even writing your own custom monitoring packs. CONS: Unfortunately we have been plagued with issues when updating the past few releases which caused us to lose our config/Atlas for most servers. Adrem support has been adequate however in most cases we were forced to build everything back up again which is obviously less than ideal.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Rob! Thank you for trying our software. Do you have antivirus installed on the host on which NetCrunch is running? If so, please try disabling it or making a special rule for NetCrunch. Most likely, this is the case. By our records it looks like you might have been upgrading an older installation into NetCrunch 9. We're sorry that you had trouble upgrading your Atlas. However, we're happy to report, that with version 9 and above, this issue has been fixed :-) If you have any further questions or comments, please feel free to give us a call! AdRem Software Support Team

SA
AvatarImg

Sebastian A.

Civic & Social Organization, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Realy makes our work easier!

Reviewed 6 years ago

My work is much easier, I can help co-workers faster!

Pros

NetCrunch software has facilitated our everyday administration of the network and IT systems while improving the security of our infrastructure. It also streamlined control over our IT assets and software.

Cons

I like the simplicity of the programe most. It really helps everyday network monitoring by error management (by collecting and alerting events from Windows Event Log), syslog messages, and SNMP trap.

MK
AvatarImg

Mike K.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

NetCrunch 8.0

Reviewed 8 years ago

NetCrunch 8.0 is an intuitive, agent free, multi-platform monitoring, and policy-based solution, and provides unprecedented network-wide granular visibility, as well as extensive monitoring, and data consolidation. The engine behind the solution creates an automatic and out-of-the-box intelligence yet to be see on any similar solution. Using NetCrunch allows IT admins to quickly become more productive,...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

VT
AvatarImg

Victor T.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Best of Breed

Reviewed 6 years ago

I have been using NMS products for many years, Adrem Netchrunch is head and shoulders above all the others that I have experienced. The power and ease of use are well balanced. I am able to accomplish all of the usual management tasks and many things I was not able to do with other, less sophisticated products. I am very pleased management console. It is easy to navigate and intuitive to use. WE have been able to manage and monitor devices on our distributed network, across many locations with out any issues. The flexible notifications have alerted us when problems are occurring and we have been able to either prevent or recover from outages. Our users are very pleased with the improved and timely support they are receiving since we started using Netchrunch.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JS
AvatarImg

Jason S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

NetCrunch Awesome!

Reviewed 6 years ago

NetCrunch solution has everything we needed to monitor our environment and way more than we ever expected. Support/Professional services team is great and able to walk us through setup as well as give pointers on best possible way to setup and monitor our environment from our servers to our network infrastructure. Would definitely recommend this solution to anyone looking to discover everything and anything going on in your environment!

Pros

Ease of use, availability of options for monitoring

Cons

Overwhelming at first due to all options but support team was able to simplify everything for us.

CA
AvatarImg

Claudio A.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

New NetCrunch 8

Reviewed 8 years ago

We worked with a customer to install this new version to monitor critical infrastructure across 10 sites they manage. The installation was quite easy. We had some minor questions which were quickly resolved by Adrem technical support on the actual day of installation. The customer is now adding more items to be monitored, on a regular basis. As their knowledge of NetCrunch's incredible capabilities grows, they keep getting it to do more and more.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

TC
AvatarImg

Tomasz C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Powerful tool

Reviewed 6 years ago

We were using WhatsUpGold legacy version for few last years, changed to NetCrunch recently. So far we are very satisfied with this product. Pros: + fast + very good support + many cool functions built-in + frequent updates/upgrades/bugfixes + good price Cons - not very intuitive configuration interface for beginners - sometimes takes a while to find right place to change something

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

KW
AvatarImg

Krzysztof W.

Computer Networking,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

netcrunch 9

Reviewed 6 years ago

The product is much cheaper than alternatives and it delivers on its promises. Adrem software did an excellent job in designing something that is incredibly complex, yet easy to use. Netcrunch works out of the box and autodiscovery is amazing. I would definitely recommend it for IT professionals.

Pros

advanced features and easy to use

Cons

No cons were added to this review

ZC
AvatarImg

Zac C.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 6 years ago

We've been using NetCrunch to monitor our servers and critical services for years now. It's very easy to set up and gives us a peace of mind knowing we will be alerted if something goes down.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

JS
AvatarImg

James S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great product; saves time

Reviewed 6 years ago

Saw this demoed at a tech conf, and then tried the demo onsite and was hooked. We save time and energy with product and recommend to other Tech Admins.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

SD
AvatarImg

Shane D.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good stuff

Reviewed 6 years ago

I found some of the monitoring configuration wasn't exactly fluid. Once you get it set up it works well.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

RM
AvatarImg

Roberto M.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

NetCrunch software essential.

Reviewed 6 years ago

Used NetCrunch every days for monitoring your infrastructures and prevents the issues on the main hardware.

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review