This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Automox Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.8

/5

55
96%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.45/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Ease of use & outstanding graphics for representing the data - those are the 2 things that stand out the most.
AvatarImg

Josh W.

Powerful patch management and proven reliability. Excellent reporting and policy enforcement.
AvatarImg

Zachary E.

Product has done exactly what is advertised (patch management) at a fair price. Support has also been great for the few times I had needed to reach out.

MM

Mike M.

Hmmm, that is a tough one. I think all patching software has problems getting all of the patching done so there still is some manual intervention, but a small percentage.
AvatarImg

John K.

Sometimes the individual device status can get stuck on 'rebooting' or 'refreshing' for a few days, adds a little confusion.

RM

Rod M.

We also are patching additional risks that were difficult to cover with other products.

JP

John P.

Automox users...

PDQ Deploy-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

PDQ Deploy

ITarian-logocaret
listing-logo

ITarian

How would you rate Automox?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


55 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great patching solution

Reviewed 3 years ago

Automox has been great in terms of support, billing, new features, etc.

Pros

It is web-based and easy to use. Login, review or kick-off a patching cycle and that's that!

Cons

Hmmm, that is a tough one. I think all patching software has problems getting all of the patching done so there still is some manual intervention, but a small percentage.

Vendor response

Thanks for the great review, John!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Made my Job much easier

Reviewed 3 years ago

I was using an old Windows Update Server (WSUS) which in itself was a pain, but that only updates windows. Automox updates windows plus all of my other software that I have installed.

Pros

Easy to use, visibility of the end points status, my auditors loved it

Cons

Nothing really, it is as advertised. It made my job much easier

Vendor response

Fantastic, Ken! It's great to hear that you're job is easier from using Automox. Thanks for the great review!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing cloud based patching tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Deployed to a mixed Mac/Win shop. Really good initial results. 3rd party app patching is superb..

Pros

100% cloud-based. Able to adapt quickly. Still growing integrations with other popular MDMs and management tools. 3rd party native app patching is a growing list.

Cons

Needs some more default options around reboots(coming soon) and reporting engine(coming soon).

Vendor response

Thanks for the review Shawn, and it's been great working with you on the Automox community! - Nic

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Great cloud based Patch Management solution for local and remote user devices.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I run an IT department that has multiple US and International locations, patch and update management is always a chore across multiple OS platforms. AutoMox solves this issue for us and gives us great reporting for security, compliance and support needs. AutoMox has also helped us greatly with new MAC OS X deployments and software compatibility issues that require updates. Ease of use. Very easy to get up and running in minutes. I am very grateful for the stability and lack of bugs within the system.

Cons

Lack of SSO, SAML and MFA adoption. With this application having the ability to touch all systems from your company that are added, a better security model for account access is required. A login password only does not cut it these days. 3rd party software list needs growth.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

We've been running Automox for a year and have had a great experience.

Reviewed 5 years ago

We were able to do away with our wsus server and need for a vpn connection.

Pros

We are a completely cloud based operation so the ability to manage our asset updates via the cloud is amazing.

Cons

Over the past year, we've had lots of issues with the site loading slowly as well as the reporting function needs some work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automox Rocks!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Like everything...easy to use, deploy and budget friendly. GREAT customer service!

Cons

Nothing so far :) I've enjoyed using it and hove referred others who were looking for a solid patching solution.

Vendor response

Thanks for the referrals, Jeff! We're always glad to hear your experience with our Support team is excellent.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automox is the perfect tool for our patching & inventory needs!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Security for our PCs, Macs, and Windows-based servers. Our accounting department likes that I can pull up specific information about users & computers.

Pros

Ease of use & outstanding graphics for representing the data - those are the 2 things that stand out the most. This software gives us peace of mind knowing that our remote company-owned devices are being patched. The developers are doing a great job of keeping up with the latest security threats. I love having current threat info easily accessible within the Automox dashboard. Their tech support is excellent.

Cons

I would like to see more attention given to the 3rd party software deployment policy so the steps involved in creating the policy make the deployment even easier. More compatibility and guidance.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rocks

Reviewed 3 years ago

Windows has been horrible this year with their patches, automox has been wonderful.

Pros

Ease of set up, dashboard is simple and shows what I want to see.

Cons

Problems with Windows updates, there is more manual restarts than I care for.

Vendor response

We are happy to hear you had an easy setup and can get the information you need efficiently! Yes, Windows updates can be challenging but know that we are working diligently to optimize how our system manages those updates.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good product for patch management

Reviewed a year ago

We were looking for a software patching solution and this fit the bill perfectly.

Pros

Easy setup and it makes the patching process easy.

Cons

Nothing really was bad at all. It was fairly basic I guess if thats a con.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Perfect patching solution for our mixed environment

Reviewed 3 years ago

Without Automox I would have no way of knowing for sure that our devices are patched. We do not have a Mac management tool or local Active Directory. Automox has been the perfect solution for our needs.

Pros

The ease of use. I love the ability to see everything at a glance in the portal, and it is so easy to apply policies and settings.

Cons

I would prefer to have the ability to search on additional properties of the connected devices. Currently the search is limited to built-in filters.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback, Josh! We're so happy you're loving Automox. We'll keep your idea about searching in mind as we continue to make enhancements this year.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for IT professionals

Reviewed a year ago

In our company we have many groups of machines with different purposes, Automox enables us to keep up with app and security updates as well as sending scripts with the worklets for other purposees. The different types of policies and flexible scheduling allow us to keep up with the growing number of computers we need to manage, it's a life saver!

Pros

Easy to integrate, very flexible and clear device grouping and organization, policy types are very useful for automating patching and other things through the worklets, superior patching support for different OSs

Cons

Sometimes the individual device status can get stuck on 'rebooting' or 'refreshing' for a few days, adds a little confusion. But even when it does policies will still run which is a relief.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great tool for Patch Management

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been looking for a tool to help with patch management and Automox by far is the easiest to implement. We have a small IT staff and having Automox in our toolbox boosts our productivity. Thank you Automox!

Pros

Easy setup, UI is a no brainer, lots of effective tools for patch management.

Cons

It did not cover the smaller apps like Foxit, Winzip, etc.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback, Manuel! We're glad your onboarding experience was easy and the UI creates a simple path for you to patch your devices. Regarding the smaller apps, stay tuned! We have something coming this summer for 3rd party application support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Awesome Product

Reviewed 3 years ago

I was in search of something cloud based to replace WSUS. Its worked really great so far

Pros

Cloud Based, browser based, the reporting function

Cons

I have not come across something I dont like so far

Vendor response

Thank you, Mike!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automox WSUS

Reviewed 3 years ago

Ease of use , reporting on the spot patch updates and management

Pros

This software really automates a function that can be very task oriented.

Cons

Automox not only automates Microsoft patches but other software and helps keep a very good track of my inventory

Vendor response

Thank you, Norman. We are happy to hear your experience is going very well!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Expensive, but cheaper than remediating a zero day

Reviewed 2 years ago

We were having issues with our existing patch management software, the jump to automox was easy and only took a few hours to deploy and setup policies. It is basically set it and forget it, just pay attention to your failures and remediate as needed (very few require more than a "retry")

Pros

It just works! Policy management is super easy Patching is hardly a thought anymore Additional scripting is a neat "lite rmm"

Cons

Lacks true multi-tenancy UI can get a little buggy with lots of groups Email alerts are not super detailed

Vendor response

Glad to hear you're liking Automox. We do have plans to improve functionality for MSPs around multi-tenancy. You can check out our roadmap here: https://portal.productboard.com/automox/1-automox-product-portal/tabs/2-under-consideration

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

automox review

Reviewed a year ago

Brilliant software that has helped us more than I expected

Pros

This software was amazing to implement and had lots of help as well this has helped our business get organised and become m=re secure

Cons

i havent found anything I dont like yet....amazing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid Patch Management Application

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software is simple to configure and use. It just works without intervention.

Cons

Inability to tell if a user is logged in to a target machine.

Vendor response

Thanks for the feedback, Brent! We have flagged your idea for improvement internally.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Overall it's a great software patching software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Easy to navigate and use. Also has the ability to provide easy to read reports to present to higher ups to show them that patching your software is important and Automox was worth the purchase.

Cons

It lacks logging capabilities right now. For example if someones machine fails to update, or reboots when it should not have, there's not really a good log view in Automox to identify the root cause of the issue.

Vendor response

Isaac, well stated and thank you for your review! We love the idea of logging and root cause self service for our users. It's on our roadmap!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Nothing better than this software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Exceptional. Prior we used WSUS. It was terrible. But you get what you pay for.

Pros

We get alerts every Wednesday of patching that failed and we can easily take action. We love Automox

Cons

nothing. We love it. it has made our jobs so much easier

Vendor response

Great to hear, J.R.! We're so glad you're loving Automox and are excited to have you as a customer while we continue to improve the product!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Could be waaaaay better

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's easy to setup. Relatively affordable to other options. The UI is great! But that might be it's downfall as well..

Cons

I wish there was an ability to get more optional info on the Dashboard. The ability to do mass actions is very hidden and not straight forward. Also, I dislike that fact that I have to create a policy to make mass computers perform an action. There is no "select and execute" feature.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback, David!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amazing Product

Reviewed a year ago

This software makes patching and deployment of software so easy. Before we were relying on GPOs and WSUS, which became difficult to manage with the sudden change to working remotely. With Automox, we can update remote workstations, deploy software, and scripts with no headaches. I'm also impressed at how fast it is. And it's saved us a lot of time.

Pros

Great UI, easy setup, very fast deployment

Cons

I do not have any complaints as of yet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Solved our patch management problem cost effectively.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It just works. The client is easy to deploy and it is easy and intuitive to configure the policies. You can be up and running in a very short period of time.

Cons

Not really a con, more of a request. Would like some better help/instruction/examples on custom policies.

Vendor response

Thanks so much for the great review, Matthew! We're talking internally about that help for Custom Policies and are excited about the future!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Let Automox do your patching

Reviewed 3 years ago

I am happy with the professional service from Automox.

Pros

I do not worry anymore about the patching.

Cons

I believe for the user with more than 200 devices price need to change.

Vendor response

Thank you for your feedback, Fardis! We're always very happy to hear that your patching needs are solved with our product. We appreciate your feedback on the pricing and will take that into account in the future to meet our customers budgetary needs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Safe bet for patch management

Reviewed 3 years ago

The ability to keep our endpoints security patches up to date saves us time and gives us peace of mind.

Pros

-Straight forward UI -Easy deployment/enrollment -Easy scheduling -Lots of scripting potential

Cons

-32 bit agent requiring 32 pit powershell scripting -Reporting capabilities could be more elaborate -No pending reboot notifications for user

Vendor response

Excellent feedback, Scott! Thank you!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great piece of software

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, the product has been really easy to use and the support team has been great as well.

Pros

Really easy to use, its a great alternative to Active Directory with a bunch of group policies for smaller organizations. Also useful on servers, to have a central view of updates and how critical they are.

Cons

Some of the documentation was a bit lacking, especially around custom policies to install specific software packages.

Vendor response

Thank you for the feedback! We're happy to hear your experience with our product and support team have been great. We agree that documentation could be improved and are actively working on it!