Appcues Reviews

Appcues

UX personalization and product-let growth platform

Appcues

Review Summary

Pros

We managed to double our won deals with the product tours. Additionally to the product being awesome, the staff has been superb too.

Arturo O.

Very pleasurable experience with learning to use the product and sharing it with our customers, to using the help desk, and getting help from support persons.

Anonymous Reviewer

I love how easy it is to create multiple guides to share with our customers in our platform. The extension makes this process extremely simple and seamless.

Sarah Z.

Cons

Less than 6 months after the start, prices are going out crazy and it makes no sense to use that provider.

Annie M.

One pain point that I have experienced is in the way Appcues interacts with our site. On many pages, users open and close windows without actually navigating away from a specific URL.

Ryan M.

The tool can be a bit buggy at times. If I'm working on a flow, sometimes it won't save my work or may get stuck, so I'll have to refresh the flow builder and pickup where I left off.

Jared D.

Overall rating

4.8

(93)

5

4

3

2

1

79

13

0

1

0

99%
positive reviews
99%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


93 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Help Your Customers Adopt Your Platform Quicker!

Reviewed 8 months ago

Appcues has been great for efficiently communicating to current customers about new features, updates or issues with our platform being down. We've enjoyed using it so far, but need to take better advantage of all the ways it can be implemented by different departments. We have found that our users' interaction with Appcues has been fairly lower than we'd like, but look to improve the adoption.

Pros

Appcues easily allows us to add in-app messaging to our customers for onboarding, new feature announcements, outage reporting and surveys/feedback. Their interface lays over our app, so we can add various flows and cues without having to bug (pun intended) our engineering team. There's some great reporting features and a good amount of customization through their API and their new integration with Salesforce.

Cons

The tool can be a bit buggy at times. If I'm working on a flow, sometimes it won't save my work or may get stuck, so I'll have to refresh the flow builder and pickup where I left off. Also, I can understand how it's challenging to build a UI to do what they do, but I do think there could be some improvements without their builder that would make it a bit more intuitive. I was also very surprised that Appcues didn't use their own product for walking a new user through using their flow builder.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

So glad I convinced the boss to pay for this

Reviewed 8 months ago

We're using it to provide a far better onboarding experience for new users. It's been great so far and we're excited as we're two months in and haven't really scratched the surface of what's possible with Appcues.

Pros

It's incredibly easy to use, the interface is nice and simple - they've prioritised this over just making it look impressive. It doesn't take much time to build impressive and effective experiences for customers. Best of all it allows me to provide the right assistance to my customers at the right time.

Cons

The installation is difficult/impossible without the intervention of a developer. It seems to be a very 'American' business in that there's an assumption that creating experiences in English is enough for most people, support for multilingual flows/checklists/NPS is an enterprise feature - which I find bizarre.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Appcues allows our Marketing team to accomplish more than ever before.

Reviewed 2 months ago

Our Marketing team previously had to rely on developers to implement models or flows that would allow us to help engage our customers further by either activating them on unused features or highlighting product improvements. With Appcues, we are now able to improve customer engagement as well as create further messaging around new offers or opportunities to improve their experience within our app.

Pros

Appcues' Chrome extension is far and above one of it's most useful features. We are able to construct and visualize flows where it matters, within our app. Being able to quickly enable and disable it makes a huge difference in our workflow.

Cons

Occasionally, the Chrome extension can be buggy. This has led to some frustrating moments or awkward presentations where I've struggled to get the app to behave. Overall, this hasn't been a large blocker to seeing success with the app.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Good product, awful management

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

The product is easy to use and you can create several tutorials in few hours.

Cons

They increased the price of the lower plan by 256% last winter. That is not sustainable for start-ups and we invested time and money to use that product and build good tutorials. Less than 6 months after the start, prices are going out crazy and it makes no sense to use that provider. I can't have any thrust for the long-term use since they do this type of action for existing customers. Yes, when they announced that, they offered to get 3 month at previous price before getting hijacked prices... What a deal. We have quitted like many others.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

My loyalty level is: Appcues lover

Reviewed 2 months ago

Our products have complex onboardings and learning processes. Appcues helps us improve this problem and generate more engagement with our users. In addition to that, it allows us to make specific communications about updates, or relevant information in a simple way. We also measure the NPS through Appcues and this allows us to improve the quality of our experience and products.

Pros

It is very friendly to use. It has everything I need to create and resolve communications within our products. It also allows me to view metrics in a simple way and then export them. And the best thing is that they have the best customer service.

Cons

I honestly have not had any problems. And whenever I have needed something, customer support is present.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Appcues = Game Changer

Reviewed a year ago

We initially used Appcues to support a freemium period we offered to all of our customers, as well as, a beta period that was targeted to a small subset of customers. From those two use cases, we saw immediate increase in engagement as well as a reduction in support tickets. We also include Appcues in our customer support process in which we analyze the common requests and design a self-service component to help deflect related tickets. We've seen between 20 - 40% reduction in support tickets in the related areas!

Pros

Appcues' simple and intuitive design makes it easy to implement and use! We were able to get up and running quickly, with little support and immediate saw results. The Appcues team is super helpful, outgoing and committed to each customer's success.

Cons

I don't dislike anything about Appcues. The product could use some enhancements to expand its functionality, such as: adding a scheduling tool, more criteria for establishing / tracking goals, and easier integration with APIs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very happy with Appcues

Reviewed a year ago

Very happy with my experience. The team we worked with was great and very informative/helpful.

Pros

Easy to get started and easy to edit along the way. You're not stuck with anything you create and can continually inetrate based on user interactions with your product.

Cons

Difficult to use the checklist due to changing URLs within an application.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Increased digital adaption - and reduced support calls

Reviewed 6 months ago

Excellent way to have low or no-touch onboarding of new customers. Experienced a quick uptick in customers who see the value of our product much faster and ultimately keep renewing their subscriptions. Also, seen ROI in reduced support tickets.

Pros

We use AppCues to help on-board new customers and essentially walk them through their account setup. We've seen a major increase in customers getting up and running much faster on their own. This has reduced the load on our account managers and tech support who previously spent much of their time doing live on-boarding wit new customers - sometimes multiple times per customer when customer had multiple uses who each had different questions at different times.

Cons

The onboarding of AppCues itself was difficult. It took me a lot of sessions with the AppCues staff to get it setup properly on our site. The tool is so robust that I frequently found myself down rabbit holes just trying to get one element set up. They did offer a lot of live support - but I wish it was more intuitive and easy to use on my own.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

An easy way to communicate with users of your platform/ website.

Reviewed a month ago

Instead of having to constantly keep lists of users up-to-date and wait until our monthly newsletter to fill users in on news, we can now reach out to them instantly with very little effort needed. This platform is used by both our product owners and marketing team so that we can make sure we always give the right information. It's also super handy when you have a system outage or maintenance to schedule- you can send out an instant alert so that our support team isn't stuck having to respond to the same email over and over again.

Pros

We've been looking for a similar solution for years that we could put onto our platform to notify users of updates, issues and changes. We thought we'd need our dev team to develop something on the website, which would take a long period time, but then we found Appcues. It's really changed the way in which we communicate with candidates. We no longer have to send formal emails, but can now send quick and instant alerts.

Cons

Honestly, I love this technology. I am yet to fault anything. As a not-so-tech-savy person, it's really intuitive.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Superior Support and Quality Product

Reviewed 6 months ago

Overall fantastic.

Pros

Ease of use, very intuitive, but if I run into any issues the support is top notch and very responsive.

Cons

The document library can be difficult to find what I need at times, I usually like to find the answers myself.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Onboarding Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

We discovered AppCues after making the decision to go with a third-party onboarding software instead of writing it ourselves. This gave us more flexibility in terms of who could control and publish the content (it did not have to be someone on the dev side). We did have some dev and UX involvement initially, but we are pretty much up and running independently now that we have some published flows under...

Cons

Would be great if they offered an "opt-out" or unsubscribe option. I do worry about users getting annoyed of seeing certain message groups, like training notifications, etc. It would also be great to have a better format for exports, especially when survey results are involved. Right now they are dumped to an excel spreadsheet which we can further manipulate, but it would be great if it were quicker and easier to get to that data.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

LOVE Appcues!

Reviewed 2 years ago

We have been using Appcues to deliver our new release announcements. Being a fast growing software company, we release features usually every week or every other week. It is extremely important we keep all our clients informed and up to speed on the platform's most recent capabilities. We need to be able to easily and quickly inform people of these releases in-app and with context. Appcues has allowed us to ensure people are in the know at all times.

Pros

Appcues is a great tool. It is extremely user-friendly, allowing you to create impactful flows that help deliver messages, info and helpful tips directly to your customers. The people at Appcues have been amazing since day 1, always checking in to ensure we found success with their product. I have nothing but good thing to say about Appcues!

Cons

There are one or two UX improvements I would make but overall I can't say there is much I dislike!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Appcues is an easy and powerful tool for in system guidance

Reviewed 2 years ago

It provides a great way of guiding users in the system, about almost anything. With the exception of sending new data through, actually setting up new flows and in system guidance can be done by product or customer success, with no further dev effort needed.

Pros

Appcues is great, offering a simple, effective and easily set-up method to provide in-system guidance and advice. While some small developer effort is required to ensure that Appcues has the data on which you want to base showing cues, the flexibilty of the flows and the granularity with which you can control who seems them is fantastic.

Cons

That it requires any developer effort. But the amount is minimised. You're not going to get away with a highly configurable solution that doesn't require some data to be sent to customise it. And getting data out. It's limited to relatively basic exports. This is particularly annoying when it comes to surveys done through Appcues.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, fast results!

Reviewed a year ago

We have used Appcues in a couple of different ways. We have used it to simply support the launch of a new solution or an enhancement, to provide targeted support during beta testing, and to provide reminders and updates to users. We have barely scratched the surface, and eve have plans to create a "choose your own adventure" set of flows, that allows users to select the amount of detail in a walk through based on their comfort level with our applications. We have seen amazing results in the impact on tickets coming into our Customer Support team.

Pros

In my time using Appcues, it has been incredibly intuitive to use. From creating my first "test" flow, to designing more complex groups of flows that adjust based on user selections, it has been a breeze to use. It is also incredibly versatile when it comes to personalizing and targeting flows to specific groups of use.

Cons

One pain point that I have experienced is in the way Appcues interacts with our site. On many pages, users open and close windows without actually navigating away from a specific URL. This can make it tricky to guide users through processes that require the opening or closing of windows and menus. There are workarounds, such as stringing different flows together, but it does make the build experience a little more time consuming and difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy for customers and organizations!

Reviewed a year ago

Very pleasurable experience with learning to use the product and sharing it with our customers, to using the help desk, and getting help from support persons.

Pros

Appcues has been a great resource to our organization in engaging and teaching our customers! It has helped to grow our product adoption metrics and the new improvements make it easy for us to create campaigns on the fly!

Cons

In the beginning, there were features that were missing such as highlighting options and segmentation, but they have continuously improved the product over time.

Overall Rating
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Onboarding and Feature Adoption Tool

Reviewed a year ago

Appcues has come in hugely instrumental during our first and second quarter this year, both from a planning and execution standpoint. We became Appcues customers towards end of Feb, 2019 and by March we had launched our first big initiative with a team as lean as 2 and half people. Since then, we have been able to launch 2 additional initiatives. Both of which have created great awareness within our...

Pros

1) The Ease of building and launching 2) Can execute with a lean team 3) Has a great customer success and support team that you can rely on

Cons

I would like a more indepth analytical Insights displayed within the Appcues UI itself. Currently we get a high-level view within Appcues and for a more detailed view, we require to download a .csv or excel file which is a bit cumbersome. Additionally, Appcues isn't optimized for localization and that is something we would love to have as we are in the global market space.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Appcues has revolutionized the way that we do onboarding. We have seen a ton of success using it!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Support tickets from first-time users have been almost eliminated as a result of using Appcues. This saves our company time and energy. We're able to educate users quickly and efficiently without annoying them with obnoxious additional registrations or blank fields to populate.

Pros

Appcues is amazingly well designed for any user. It's intuitive and simple to set up. It's data and record keeping make it a breeze to maintain and manage. Their customer success team is very friendly and truly desires to see your business succeed. By using Appcues, we've almost completely eliminated new user support inquiries. It provides us a way to proactively communicate how to use our software and where to begin.

Cons

Software updates are sometimes poorly communicated. But they're quick to educate and catch you up to speed when you're in need!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

User onboarding made easy with Appcues

Reviewed a year ago

Appcues has been nothing but a pleasure to work with. The continue to add features, analytics, and tools to help augment the process of onboarding new users into our web applications.

Pros

Appcues lets you implement user onboarding features (i.e. help tooltips, feature tours, announcements, etc.) into your application, on-the-fly, without the need to implement those features directly into your code, thus no dev, QA, to prod traversal. Simply open the Appcues console, create a new appcue (e.g. modal, tooltip, etc.) or modify an existing one, choose where to deploy it to, and you're done.

Cons

There's very little NOT to like about Appcues, but the fact that you're relying on a 3rd party is about the only thing that I don't like, but that's a very VERY small price to pay in order to implement user onboarding features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Build Beautiful In-app Tours, without Coding!

Reviewed a year ago

We've enjoyed using Appcues and learning from their wealth of companion resources, especially the Onboarding Academy. We've become a better team and been forced to think more about our customers' viewpoints and experience. Appcues support and their Customer Success reps are also knowledgeable and a pleasure to work with. The company is not only helpful, but fun as well!

Pros

Appcues is pretty easy to learn and use and very flexible and powerful. It's easy to customize for our tool and brand, and provides a way to onboard our users in a scalable way without taking up precious developer time.

Cons

It can be a little tricky to use, especially when we get into more complicated use cases. There are occasional bugs (although they are typically fixed quickly).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

True Builders!

Reviewed 2 years ago

Lovely. I'm a fan!

Pros

How they reinvest into R & D. The product had blossomed over the last year and I'm really impressed how they build new features and improve the old ones. It's really easy to use and takes away the previous barriers between dev and our customer facing teams when it comes to announcing product changes.

Cons

They need some more work on integrations with Intercom. We had to figure out a hack to get proper NPS tags in Intercom.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great help

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Great, great tool. Easy to use and very useful. Appcues makes our work much easier and helps us connect in a better way with our users. I highly recommend working with Appcues. Everything you need to do, will take just minutes.

Cons

No cons. It's great working with Appcues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

10/10 for feature enhancements. These guys are always adding new stuff to make my messaging great.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Feature Updates - updates that add depth but keep ease of use are great. Everytime I log in I feel like I can do more, but the design/setup is very intuitive. Ease of Use (non-technical) - Super easy for my busy dev team to do the one time set up and I have been able to do the complete customization from there. Support is great - Help resources and the people that answer questions/reach out are really helpful I looked into a log of "app walk through" options at first, but this was definitely the best value and I am so pleasantly surprised how much the Appcues resources have helped me come up with new ideas to engage clients.

Cons

Cannot really think of any cons. Appcues lets you have custom events and fields, but its not the one click integration yet. The day I can just put in my Hubspot code and be able to automatically choose which fields/events I want to see will be amazing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

My experience with Appcues has been extremely positive, both in regards to the product and support.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Appcues makes it extremely easy to engage with customers. The variety of message types they offer, along with capabilities like personalized content and message flows (where you string together multiple messages to create a guided tour of your product) make it the best way I've found to welcome new users, announce new products, and encourage adoption of existing features. Beyond the product itself, I've been very impressed with the customer experience. Support is quick to respond and the product folks I've spoken with are very receptive to feedback. They also are constantly releasing updates and new features.

Cons

Honestly I have to get fairly nit picky here as the overall product is very strong. Reporting could be stronger, but I've seen improvements over the past few months and I would expect that to continue. I'd also like to see improvements to their integration with other vendors. Right now they have strong capabilities at exporting data from Appcues to other platforms, but like another reviewer mentioned, if I could configure an integration to upload event data that's been tagged using other platforms (so that I don't have to double-tag things), then it would take Appcues to the next level.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Targeted User Messaging

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall, our experience with Appcues has been highly positive. CSR, our account rep, has been magnificent in assisting us with our strategic use of Appcues to drive customer engagement and improve retention. (Both our engagement and retention rates have improved significantly as a result of our Appcues usage, and that trend looks to improve into the future.) Further, the Appcues team is continuously making improvements to the product. The functionality today is streets ahead of what it was even a year ago, and the product improvement shows no signs of stopping. Based on my experience, I highly recommend Appcues to any SaaS company looking to improve their customer engagement.

Pros

The granular targeting of users is fantastic. You can specify messaging to appear to customers according to a wide variety of parameters, allowing you to tailor a communication for almost any situation your user encounters while using your application.

Cons

The Reporting still leaves a bit to be desired, being, at time of writing, limited to a CSV of user interactions with a given message flow. The data is there, but it's up to you to ingest it into your BI software and slice and dice the data to get insights.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Really simple to use and a big help in onboarding new users

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has greatly improved our user onboarding and has been of big help in reducing the workload of our support staff.

Pros

I have enjoyed the experience with Appcues from the start. First, their Academy is very insightful and gave me many ideas to use in our own Onboarding flow. Second, I really liked that I was able to create our own flows into our system during the free trial which meant that I was able to see how it would work for our customers. Third, the ability to customise the tutorial to visually match our brand identity was very important to me. In general, the experience for me as has been basically frictionless.

Cons

It's missing a way to easily analyse your data and to see where your users drop off (only available through third-party integration). It can be done via a csv export but is not as user-friendly as the whole other experience with the system.

page 1 of 4