Paymo Reviews

Paymo Reviews

Paymo

Task Management, Time Tracking and Accounting for SMBs

4.77/5 (199 reviews)
1,756     2,994

Michael Earley

Used Daily for Approx 4 years.

06/02/2017

I've used Paymo for the last 4 years for time tracking and invoicing of clients in freelance and work from home use. I don't use all of its features, but love that it has built in invoicing linked to paypal, can handle multiple currencies and makes recording my hours a breeze!

Pros

Works well, does what it says it does.

Cons

Price went up recently, but still value for money.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
vanessa hernandez

I enjoy working with it

25/01/2017

I've been working with paymo for a few month and its been great, so easy and functional that I enjoy taking projects and keeping track of my task.

Pros

easy to use and simple organzation

Cons

the panels could be more atractive.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jack Rodriguez

Average Tool

25/01/2017

I used Paymo for a month and the value for what you get is awesome because the packages are pretty cheap relative to other to other project management tools. However, that makes sense because Paymo does a lot but doesn't do anything fantastically. It is great to stay organized and have all of your information in one place but not for daily activity. There is a lot going on and it doesn't streamline project management as some other applications do.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Emily Josh

Best app ever

13/01/2017

Paymo is extremely helpful in tracking the time spent on multiple clients. Paymo easily solves my issues by detailed tasks for each project and flexible billing options.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Adam  Newdow

Paymo Gets My Vote for #1 Small Business Billing App

07/12/2016

Excellent support first off. Next, killer UI. Paymo presents a plethora of essential features while retaining shear simplicity in execution. From my consumer research, Paymo offers more function and value for less than the competitors. I have relied on Paymo to simplify and automate my accounting and invoicing with over a dozen clients for the last 3 years, and never had a single regret about the service in ANY way. Happy to compose a 5-star review for the app which empowers me as an entrepreneur.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Franco Garcia

Great All in One Studio Management App

05/12/2016

Paymo is a great all in one Studio Management app. You can control every stage of a project production since the estimating process to the invoicing and payment. The app works really fast and has many great functionalities. The Accounting tools let you keep track of every financial aspect of the projects, and the project management app is great for collaborating between teammates. The only bad aspect i can find is pricing... although is not that expensive, they charge you 10usd for using the accounting app and 10 more if you want to use the gantt app.

Pros

- All in one. - Accounting app works great

Cons

- Price (some features are not included in normal plan)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gary Smith

Verified Reviewer

One of my 'must haves'

14/11/2016

As a freelance programmer I've tried and/or used a whole range of tracking and project management software over the past 20 years or so but Paymo has come as close to the perfect solution for me as I'm ever likely to find.

Pros

I use the Mac widget most of the time. I find logging in to online services irritating so Paymo is perfect. Everything goes in via the (unobtrusive widget) and I log in to the Paymo website maybe once or twice a month to create reports. The time tracking reports are very professional and easy to create.

Cons

I can't think of any other than maybe that it doesn't have a cup of coffee ready for me in the morning :)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

If you are like me and want a tracking program that is out of the way unless you want to use it, allows you to easily switch between jobs and has a great range of reporting options then definitely try Paymo.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Felix Hammann

Paymo - one of the best time tracking tools

11/11/2016

I tested alot of time tracking service providers. This one is in my opinion the best - there are a lot of helpful features (invoicing, automatically generated payment reminders, performance measuring of employees, mobile app, estimations, expenses, defining working days, gant charts...), but they managed to keep the application easy to use. The price is standard for this class of business, but the service you get is great. There is also a very active and helpful support.

Pros

- a lot of functionality - easy to use - nice customer support - good integration

Cons

- average price

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

There is a trial plan for testing the software

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Gloria Perez

Paymo Review

01/11/2016

We have so many clients that use so many different products and softwares, etc. But this one is a great product. Used many softwares, and non have truly answers our needs. But the PaymoApp was the one who managed several of our needs. The "time tracking" is the best that we have used to control production. The metrics are just as important because of the management indicators. I strongly recommend.

Pros

We have periodically tested out several other programs, but this one has been the most comprehensive product. Easy to use framework, great integrations. Helpful in tracking time spent on multiple clients throughout the day, and the ability with the ability to invoice. Great value for money.

Cons

Customize the names of invoice files with be a nice feature to add.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

NO

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew Beaupre

Paymo saves you time - lots of it!

12/10/2016

I am a remote freelancer. From day one, Paymo made planning, budgeting, organizing, and billing simple and straight forward. Example: I use it for project planning and task management. I didn't' even realize at the time, but using the built-in timer against each individual task made it so that I could report to my customer overall time on each high-level project and task. When it came time for the first billing, they wanted that level of detail, and got it w/o with the invoice, w/o having to ask. That makes me look VERY good in their eyes. This is the sort of detail put into this product. Expect to be wowed.

Pros

The workflow. I enter data once at the top of the workflow - build out projects, tasks and subtasks. From there, I can estimate, budget, track. When it comes time to bill, one click and my customer has everything they need, including detailed time tracking information.

Cons

There are a lot of needs by different types of use cases. Paymo can't satisfy everything. Of the few details that _I_ personally would like to have, their support has always offered a useful alternative.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

The free trial is generous. Give it a try for one billing cycle.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Petr Fencl

Paymo. Great, I recommend!

09/10/2016

Svelte assistant for recording projects, clients and tasks. Applications PaymoPlus can accurately track your time doing what you do on your computer and link this activity with assignments and accurately track time spent on tasks. Great, I recommend

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cammy Ang

All in one project management application

07/10/2016

PaymoApp is an all in one project management application with time tracking, invoicing, and so much more features at very affordable prices. Currently testing their free trial (no credit card required for the trial!) I love the UI, indeed very user friendly. Their reports are far more better than the rest I have tried. Overall, I'm so happy I found this application, since I was finding an alternative for the one we were using - Teamwork.

Pros

- User friendly UI - Reports are easy to understand - Project Management - Invoicing (add-on) - Far better than Teamwork

Cons

- No freemium - Invoicing (add-on) - No bundled pricing for teams of 5.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Mourato

A must have for every small company!

03/10/2016

I've worked about 9 years in a company writing down my daily tasks on a sheet of paper. It was a real nightmare. For my own little company I wanted to find an affordable, flexible and reliable solution to track down the time spend on different projects. We believe that being well organised with time is a major key to success. Time is money right? I've compared online apps like Paymo for quite some time and tested quite a few as well. Paymo has really all we need and it keeps improving. In the beginning when things were a little confusing, their support was always super reactive to help me out in less than 24 hours. I highly recommend Paymo.

Pros

- Paymo comes with a nice desktop widget Paymo Timer (I'm using Paymo on mac) and another app called Paymo Plus which is really awesome. You can monitor absolutely everything you do with your computer and easily organise each task by drag&drop to each different project. - Their subscription plans are really affordable.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Markus Dorfer

Finally found one

02/10/2016

I work as a freelancer in it, so tracking time and tasks for customers is essential, in every product i tried so far i find bugs or stuff which works not in that way i want to work. So i keep always looking for new tools. With paymo it looks like i finally found one which fits me. A usable client for OS x and IOS was a must and so far i did not find any showstoppers and its pretty straight forward to track time and no delay tracking tasks ok they manage their tasks by themselves but other tools i have to wait 5 minutes to import them or their client is unusable or buggy. Paymo is fast and has a simple workflow that is important for me, i don't need thousands of features and spend ours tracking time and tasks so it fits for me. Only which i did not find yet are reoccurring tasks, that would be an improvement. Overall i am really pleased with it so far, hope it stays like that.

Pros

ease of use, fit my workflow

Cons

reoccurring tasks

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Samir Merchant

Nomly Review for Paymo

28/09/2016

Paymo has allowed us to expand our team and be productive through usage of the collaborative tools. We have gained traction because of the simplicity of the tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Krzysztof Trzos

PaymoApp - It's a good thing :)

23/09/2016

We've been using Paymo since a month for now. Thanks to it, we can now organize our work faster than before and check how much time we are in need for particular project with particular tasks. The report and invoices system are also very in need for us - it's a nice thing in relation to contact with our clients (simplifies some matters a lot). I must also praise their tech-support. When I have any questions, I'm getting answers even within a few moments. Notimeo.pl

Pros

Reports, tasks, invoices, tech-support, gantt charts and much, much more

Cons

It has sometimes problems with timetracking desktop app.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Julian Martinez

A step further

19/09/2016

Paymo is going a a step further in time tracking. With Paymo, the projects management and also the control of resources has improved.

Pros

Paymo makes to work in teams and cooperate with different projects much easier.

Cons

The worst thing we found in Paymo is about adaptation because its difference from others time tracking app we used before.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

Paymo is also the perfect tool to manage your out-of-office workers.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jacob Komar

Probably the best available...

15/09/2016

I've tried almost every time tracking app available, and while the timesheets and time tracking aren't the best of others, adding project tracking, costs, invoices etc... it makes it stand out from all others. It is the most complete package for sure. I really wish they built in integration to Xero (not sure why this was dropped, the answers on this integration are vague at best).

Pros

Nice modern layout, good time tracking. Project management features are great, can bill by fixed fee or time, or even a mixture. Shows you unbilled time which is great.

Cons

Invoices don't integrate with Xero, which makes them kind of pointless because I have to recreate them in Xero. They help to track billed/unbilled time, but lack of integration is a huge disappointment.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

Overall, I still think this is one of the best time/project tracking apps out there. I think the cost is a bit high (an extra $10/month) for invoicing, but you can't go wrong with Paymo.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kelsey Monochie

The Best Time Tracking Software Available

08/09/2016

We have a unique company that has to track our time very diligently. Paymo is the first all-inclusive tracking software we have found that works for us. Before, it took us three custom spreadsheets, two software applications and a lot of time to dump all of the data into yet another software application, to keep track of all of our times properly for all of our various client projects. I love that they also have an expense and invoice feature, as well as a quick start-and-stop stopwatch. We've tried several of the others that claim to be able to handle what we do, but they've fallen short every time. Paymo hasn't and we've been using them for several months. What I love most are the super easy to create and simple look of the reports you can create. They even have a link to send the report to the client, which is so useful for us when customers are curious about their bill. I can say this software is great for teams as big as ten employees (could be more, but I can't attest to that as we are a small company). We currently have 20 clients and several internal projects, and it handles all of them seamlessly. We can assign and set hours to our employees and color code each project so you can quickly see what has been taking the most amount of everyone's time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mitch  Morris

Best on a budget

25/08/2016

Pros

The small price and big function. I went through a lot of options and free trials to find a project management tool that offers as much for as little. The time tracking and reporting work fantastic. They keep slowly improving and adding functionality.

Cons

There are a few minor glitches that really irk me from time to time but they are trivial. It doesn't seem like there is a way to set preferences for window views so every time I log back in I have to reset the view (shut off the archive items, set the view to go from newest date on reports, things like that). Nothing that has been close to a deal breaker for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

There are a lot of bells and whistles here that I don't even use and haven't ever explored - dig around. They have a free tier that lets you use everything and try everything for as long as you need to. It's well worth exploring.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Raul Macedo

Complete software with awesome task and time tracking apps

15/08/2016

With Paymo I can analyze my entire company performance and analyze inside project progress. Paymo allow me to control each project adding custom or pre-configured task-lists and tasks. I use zanier to connect with my CRM, so everything works fine and integrated.

Pros

The time tracking apps are awesome.

Cons

Pre scheduled cronograms would improve my capacity to preview future exceeded hours budget.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jan Drábek

Best Project management tool for freelancers

12/08/2016

I'm freelancer creating websites and I was looking for perfect project management and time tracking solution. I've tried almost 30 different tools but none of them was good enough for me. So I've decided to use Paymo. It's simple and intuitive, you can track time, manage your projects and clients and create invoices. It's the only project management tool which has most of the features I need for managing my projects.

Pros

Simple and intuitive Time tracking Client and project management Different rates per task or project

Cons

Cannot mark certain amount as invoiced

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

If you are freelancer with only few coworkers then don't look for another software. I did it and Paymo is at this time the best.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jason Farran

Great program and app

02/08/2016

I've been using this system for the past 6 years. It's the best tracking system I've found. I'm able to accurately time my hours, stop and go, manage projects and manage my team. It really helps my company.

Pros

Timer by task, project management

Cons

Nothing

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
lily mclaughlin

Paymo is great

22/07/2016

Intuitive interface, could use some color. Works great for small businesses. Such a awesome program.

Pros

Time tracking, invoices and projects

Cons

The time log does not save the date for the invoice

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

This helps small businesses stay organized

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Nelson

Excellent project management solution for a small business

21/07/2016

I've been using this product for a little less than a year and am 100% pleased with it so far. I've used a few other solutions that either had far too much or far too little or were priced out of my budget. I wanted a complete solution for a small business and Paymo delivers.

Pros

The ability to customize, create templates, and easily modify and share projects. I love the fact that Paymo is constantly improving and is very responsive to our needs and wishes for improvements.

Cons

The inability to integrate easily with other apps. This is the single largest thing holding Paymo back. Luckily, they are responsive and show efforts to make integration more widespread.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Paymo

Review all other software before choosing. Just because it works for my needs doesn't mean it'll work for yours.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more