App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Rent Manager Reviews

Overall rating

4.5

/5

301

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.79/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

This software is highly recommended and it is very versatile. It's ease of use and flexibility is excellent.
The customer/technical support is outstanding. I really cannot say enough good things about the support department.
Very customizable, very user friendly, and great customer support. The integrated service manager program has been instrumental in the growth and success of our business.
It crashes and customer service is terrible. There is no way to correct accounting mistakes.
There's no section that says "Late Charges" and what they are for.
There are so many variables in Property Management and they are too cut and dry.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


301 reviews

Recommended

PK
AvatarImg

Priya K.

Teacher

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Manage Your Rental

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Priya: Hi, my name is Priya. I'm a small business owner and I give Rent Manager a four on a scale of...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kristi S.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Your One Stop Shop For Property Management

Reviewed 5 years ago

A few years ago we decided go to 'All in" with Rent Manager. We upgraded to the online platform, integrated all our rent collection, accounts payable, and phones. We wanted to streamline a few processes so we could grow and we did!

Pros

I love the integration Rent Manager allows. We have our screening, receivables, payables, communication (phone/text) all integrated in Rent Manager. Also, since we are web-based I can access my data anywhere. Also - the customer service, from our account rep, to the help desk . Everyone is very helpful! The amount of free training they offer is exceptional. The Weekly webinars are a must!

Cons

A couple minor things: I wish there was a different way for users to share a license. Maybe some sort of bundle pricing for 10+ Licenses. Also, I wish I could track HR/Payroll through Rent Manager.

Vendor response

Hi Kristi, Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you're all in with Rent Manager. Let us know how we can be of any help in the future and feel free to submit any feature requests here so our development team can research them for you: https://www.rentmanager.com/featurerequest

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great Software with Even Better Customer Service

Reviewed 5 years ago

It is the one stop shop for a large number of management needs from sending out notices to billing and payments with great support.

Pros

I love how customizable it is. I also love how many different daily tasks it can address all in once place.

Cons

While the company continues to make improvements to the software (a positive thing), it really slows down the ability to function. There seem to be 'fixes' going on almost every week. Sometimes the software runs VERY slow.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! Our support team would be more than happy to take a look at any slowness issues you might be experiences. Please give us a call at your convenience.

CW
AvatarImg

Carady W.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great & Recommend

Reviewed a month ago

Great! Totally love this product and how it works. No matter who calls, there is always a report to be ran or a way to help get them the information they are requesting.

Pros

It is easy to use and to teach new employes to use

Cons

Nothing is really not likable. If I can figure out how to use a feature, their techs are always helpful.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

KT
AvatarImg

Kristi T.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Transitional Issues

Reviewed 6 years ago

Since RentManager upgraded us to "Premium" support - we have had a higher success rate. Casey has been amazing and VERY responsive. Britany has also been extremely helpful. A comparable feature request was finally successfully completed. We are hoping that we do not have to change companies, but rather, RentManager assists us to be 100% functional for our customer needs. To date, we have lost 18 homes due to technical issues with our software (email, etc). This is a significant and irreparable loss. I communicated these concerns with Casey and he did his very best to advocate for us in updates to the email information, report functionality, reconciliations and more.

Pros

Provides us with tools to manage effectively. Allows for reports, letters, media, and more to be used.

Cons

Transitioning from RentManager Xi has been a nightmare. Marketing formats 100% changed. Owner information lost in the transition (and more) Not all Technical support staff on "ground floor" calls were knowledgeable enough to answer questions - some even answering questions/providing information that was incorrect (costing hours of time/money/loss of owners) API information to Zillow is delayed longer than 3 days or more before being able to be seen on their site. Low/Zero response to new function requests - even though they provide a way to submit - response is zero. Medium Response to comparable feature from Xi request - WITH

Vendor response

Hi Kristi, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that Casey, your Premium Support Representative, has been able to help solve some of the issues you have expressed. We apologize for any inconvenience during your conversion to RM12. This feedback as well as all notes from your interactions with Casey have been sent to upper management to review as we continually strive provide the best service to our customers. We would also like to speak with you further. We will have our Sales and Account Manager reach out to you.

BH
AvatarImg

Bobbie H.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rent Manager review!

Reviewed 3 months ago

Great experience I really do like Rent Manager

Pros

The customer service and remote live access

Cons

I had never heard of Rent Manager before coming to Greenbrier and a short cut work sheet would of been nice.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

JD
AvatarImg

John D.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

There's a lot there for the money!

Reviewed 4 months ago

We are learning more and more about the features as we attempt to attend Tech Tuesdays and Thursday trainings.

Pros

Once you understand the creation of tenants, the creation of units, prices, etc. - it becomes very easy to manage rental transactions.

Cons

The program is not always as intuitive as I would like. But, support is VERY helpful in resolving issues.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

SW
AvatarImg

Savannah W.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Property Management Software

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

Rent Manager is a very intricate software, that integrates well with our business.

Cons

The user interface is clunky and dated.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We recommend checking out Rent Manager Express, the newer browser-based version of our software. It is included with your current Rent Manager subscription. Please reach out to your sales representative and they will help you with the login credentials.

dl
AvatarImg

desirae l.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very recommended

Reviewed 2 months ago

When first introduced to the software at my new job i was worried because it looked like so much. After going through everything it really is beginner friendly and easy to learn i would say in a week or so!

Pros

This software is very easy to learn and if you do happen to get stuck you can call their amazing costumer service!

Cons

Like everything important things have to be precise, so you have to be very careful and double check everything.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

sB
AvatarImg

shanna B.

Investment Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rent manager Review

Reviewed 18 days ago

Very pleased with rent Manager and their service

Pros

Easy to use, I live on Rent manager to see how i can make and clean my tenants books

Cons

Really don't have any cons, other that i don't have full access

Vendor response

Thanks for your review!

VT
AvatarImg

Veronica T.

Construction, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

user friendly

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

I love using Rent Manager. It is very user friendly. Support is always ready to help and they have many training courses.

Cons

I don't like sharing seats with other coworkers.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

MD
AvatarImg

Mchael D.

Utilities, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This software put us lightyears ahead

Reviewed 5 months ago

This has streamlined our entire operation. There are features available that we have not tapped.

Pros

It is a complete package. Customer information, billing, collections and accounting. We make pdf copies of customer statements and forward to a mailing service that sends the bill and an SASE to each customer for less than $1.00 each. The Rent Manager system for accommodating credit and debit cards is fully automatic. When a customer pays a bill, their account is credited and the money is deposited...

Cons

We are in Western New Mexico, and Rent Manager is located in Ohio so there is a bit of latency of one or two seconds.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review!

CP
AvatarImg

Cody P.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Fantastic product that makes huge difference in our work

Reviewed 5 months ago
Pros

it has pretty much every tool we need. it gives tenants access as well as owners and is well organized

Cons

it has access from internet browsers and i would like to see it be improved and have even more functionality. it is good, just want to see it be better

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! We currently offer a full web browser version through Rent Manager Express. This version is available for use on tablets and mobile as well. We would also like to learn more regarding the updated interface and additional functionality you'd like to see within the program. Please let us know by submitting a feature request here: https://www.rentmanager.com/submit-a-feature-request/

DD
AvatarImg

Daniel D.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Definitely consider Rent Manager!

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall, Rent Manager has certainly enhanced our business and daily operations. We do not regret the decision.

Pros

Rent Manager allows for certain customizations which can make the difference for certain customers. Having flexibility can help with your unique processes or methods.

Cons

I think the rent ledger transactions can be enhanced. It seems like customer feature requests are not taken very seriously or are rarely implemented.

Vendor response

Hi Daniel, Thank you for your review. We actively review every feature request submitted and prioritize development on overall customer need, number of requests submitted, and more. If there is ever a feature vital to your business, please reach out to your sales representative as well.

KB
AvatarImg

Kasey B.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Not Perfect, but Very Good

Reviewed 7 years ago

We had considered other software before deciding on Rent Manager in November 2015. Rent Manager has been around for a very long time. They seem to understand what property managers really want/need based on the length of their experience. We like that there are a lot of options; the software is robust. Reporting, usability, cost, and integration (with our website/tenant application, a consumer credit...

Pros

- Customizable options (User Defined Fields) - New updates being rolled out - Reporting - Customer support - A lot of features - Integration - Cost for basic use...especially if you have a small staff - Scalability

Cons

- Web design is wildly expensive! (The quotes from RM's design team are nearly the rate our independent web designer charges luckily you can get their user guides and use your own web designer (to create your integrated website, application, rental listings, etc.) - A la carte features that need to be purchased for an additional fee - Rent Manager 12 has some small bugs still being ironed out but nothing major - Web Portal Suite (namely the MobileRM website) should be better/more user-friendly

SH
AvatarImg

Scott H.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Rent Manager

Reviewed 4 years ago

Good product and support. I primarily changed because of the online payment fees assessed. Much too high, but, consistent with most other products. I found a product that did not charge for online payments. Having complications with that product in features, functionality and service though....maybe that is why others charge.

Pros

Good batch reporting and formating capability Strong accounting features Excellent Owners portal...even though most owners do not use. Strong sales tool for Management Company. Relatively intuitive Consistent logic

Cons

Mobile application was just rolling out. I did not convert to the mobile solution due to plans to convert to another software. New mobile application might solve some of the Cons. Pricing: Per seat pricing, set up fee for each additional seat, mobile, web integration, etc. modules additional costs. However, the biggest issue was the $1.50+ charge for Residents to pay online using E-checks. If you have 1000 units paying online, cost is $1500 per month. Too much. LImited integration with various online posting services.

Vendor response

Hi Scott, Thank you for your review. It is possible to pass all epay fees to tenants vs the management company covering the cost, similar to other online credit card processing fees. If this is something you might be interested in, we can gladly help initiate the conversation with Zego to make the switch.

NW
AvatarImg

Nathan W.

Commercial Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Wealth of Features & Could Always Use a Few Tweaks

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It is a tenant-centric platform, allowing our residents to see their accounts and pay on-line, thereby reducing our central office workload. We operate 15 or so entities with RM and a handful with QuickBooks. From a financial analyst viewpoint, I prefer QB, because of the easy export features. Still, we have 1,300 + tenants and are re-building occupancy at newly acquired mobile home parks, so our focus is on providing the best face for our residents. QB was not doing that for us. This is a more comprehensive program tailored for the rental world

Cons

For some inexplicable reason, report exports to Excel do not carry the formulas over. It is a huge time waster for those of doing a repetitive analysis of multiple companies. I can only think this relates to some licensing issue. QB does it automatically and I miss that. In fact, I resent that RM does not provide that functionality and don't understand why they wouldn't provide this time and money saving convenience to their customer base.

Vendor response

Hi Freehold Real Estate LLC, Thank you for your review. I apologize that you have been having issues with our export to Excel function. We greatly appreciate your feedback on your software and I will pass your review on to the appropriate parties in our company for further examination and review.

AJ
AvatarImg

Aaron J.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Rent Manager Review

Reviewed 3 months ago

Rent Manager is our all-in-one support basket for our managing needs.

Pros

The support team is always worth calling. They will speak English and provide the support you need to fix your problem.

Cons

Some parts of the software are clanky. Like running 1099 reports you have to remember that some characters are not supported so we have to cross reference to the W9 or remember whose reports won't run correctly. On the other side Rent Manager allows for support tickets and this is in the works to be updated.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review! Regarding 1099 reports, please reach out to our support team at support@rentmanager.com regarding the issues you are experiencing.

SP
AvatarImg

Stacey P.

Commercial Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Don't waste time with Rent Manager

Reviewed 6 years ago

If you only manage 1 or 2 properties (and you own them), this might be OK. But, if you're in the business, this is the bottom of the barrel

Pros

It's cheap. That is the only pro. But if you're looking for good software, please don't even consider this.

Cons

It crashes and customer service is terrible. There is no way to correct accounting mistakes. It does not generate leases nor offer e-signatures. You have to manually generate owner's statements and manually e-mail them as all e-mails sent from Rent Manager end up in the spam folder.

Vendor response

Hi Enclave Holdings II, Thank you for providing your feedback. We do take customer feedback seriously and we would love to speak with you further regarding any issues you might be having. Rent Manager does allow you to correct accounting mistakes using GAAP standards. We also have leases, electronic signatures, an owner web portal for owner statements and information, report automation (including...

CF
AvatarImg

Christopher F.

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Rentmanager has been a positive factor in the growth of our company.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

You can petty much customize the program to fit your operation. Being able to intergrate our screening, maintenance, reports, phone system & website & e-commerce into one system for our office is a tremendous asset. It allows our office to function smoother and more efficiently which in turn, allows us to handle more properties with less personnel. Rentmanager is continuously upgrading the software and introducing new modules that can be incorporated into your operation. I also like that the company is privately owned and carries little or no debt.

Cons

Converting from the Rentmanager 11 to the 12 version took more work than I anticipated. It can be difficult keeping up with all the changes and additions that are continuously happening.

Vendor response

Thank you for your review Christopher! We're so happy to hear Rent Manager has been able to help grow your company. With all the new additions, be sure to check out RMU. Our training team is working hard to add new courses each week to discuss any new features that have been released. Your account manager, Nick, is always more than welcome to walk you through any recent releases as well.

BS
AvatarImg

Brent S.

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Been with RM since 05, LOVE the recent upgrade of v12--offers a lot for the analytical end user

Reviewed 8 years ago

I like that it's free and open until 7pm eastern. There was a time when the phone reps didn't seem that well trained but that hasn't been the case in the last 4 years or so...we get VERY well trained support when we call in and they are friendly. Like the extremely detailed reporting that I can customize, great andriod app, user defined fields that we use a lot to manage the unique competitive...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Vendor response

Hi Brent, Thanks for your great review! Our pricing is a bit different than most. We would rather customers only have to pay for what they use and help keep costs down the best we can. We hope you are able to attend RMUC.16! We're excited to be back in Florida and really missing the warm weather at the moment (it's currently snowing here). If you would like, we are sending out weekly release notes for RM12 that go over all the new features, updates, and fixes. To sign up to receive emails, please visit: https://www.rentmanager.com/customer-resources/self-help-resources/emails/ Kari Digital Marketing Coordinator

MB
AvatarImg

MaryLou B.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Rent Manager Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, I think Rent Manger is an amazing product. I have put customer service through a lot of "extra" work, working with me to make RM as efficient a tool as my mind could make it and it has not disappointed me yet. I tell everyone - RMs potential - to me - is limitless.

Pros

There appears to be very little Rent Manager cannot do. You may have to contact customer support to explain what you are trying to get RM to do (in terms of report wise), but I have yet to come across an idea that RM was not able to work with me on how to produce.

Cons

The drop down menus are narrow - so if you don't remember the property account number, you have to scroll down to "find" your account.

Vendor response

Hi MaryLou, Thank you so much for your review! We're happy to hear you are enjoying Rent Manager. Never hesitate in giving us a call - we love working with you all!

SG
AvatarImg

Susan G.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Positive Experience with Rent Manager

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The most recent version, Rent Manager 12, is a much better user experience and comes with many improvements; we just converted on May 7. The staff overseeing the conversion did a great job in helping us be prepared and we converted with very little issues, all of which were resolved quickly. Additionally, we have had very good experiences with Customer Support and think that the company does a good job of listening and considering suggested enhancements.

Cons

There are a few minor navigational items that could be improved but nothing we would consider a major issue. As with any software, you'll always find yourself saying "I wish it did [this]" but it serves the purpose well for property management companies.

Vendor response

Hi Susan, Thank you for your review! We’re so glad to hear the conversion process went well and we can’t wait to see what all you do with Rent Manager 12. Let us know if you ever need assistance or if you have any thoughts on how we can make our program even stronger.

TR
AvatarImg

Teo R.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Not enough customization available for commercial rental properties

Reviewed a year ago

Tough & rough. Bumpy ride...

Pros

The ability to manage multiple companies at once

Cons

It's more geared towards residential rentals. Many features do not apply to commercial rental management. Also, the software doesn't allow for "clients" set up. The only ones that can pay an invoice are tenants and owners... Very confusing for a property management who does also brokerage

Vendor response

Thank you for your review. We would like to learn more about the commercial features you'd like to see in the software. Please let us know by filling out our feature request form here: https://www.rentmanager.com/submit-a-feature-request/

SC
AvatarImg

Sarah C.

Commercial Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust system for property management

Reviewed 6 years ago

Rent Manager assigns you a dedicated "trainer" for a 60 day period in which you can schedule as many phone calls as you would like. The trainer logs in to your computer and guides you through step by step how to use the system. When the 60 days was over, we felt ready to be on our own. However, we are still learning new things day by day. Overall, this is a great program and I would recommend it to any property management company!

Pros

This software is very robust and can handle more complex property management tasks. This is the only software I have found that I can use for my full accounting needs. I stopped using Quickbooks and fully use Rent Manager now. It can handle property management and real estate transactions simultaneously. It is able to automatically handle a lot of items I was having to do manually with my previous system.

Cons

Sometimes my co-worker and I get kicked off of the system for no reason. Occasionally we also have to log out and log back in to be able to print. I don't know if this is due to our internet connection or the software. There was an extensive training period needed (60 days) and we are still fine tuning our use.

Vendor response

Hi Sarah, Thank you for your review and welcome to the Rent Manager family! Our training team appreciates the shout out and Carson loved working with you all as well. Typically if there is a connection issue, it is the internet connection. Next time it occurs, feel free to give our support team a call and we can help identify the issue on the spot. Also, definitely check out our training calendar (https://www.rentmanager.com/customer-resources/training/training-calendar/) for all of the live training courses available each week. This can help you become a Rent Manager Guru in no time!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

The Worst Property Management Software on the market

Reviewed a year ago

It does the most basic function possible in this field. It's the "quiet quitting" of property management software.

Pros

They try so little to make it good, useful or robust, it's easy to learn.

Cons

I hate this software. The customer service is awful, they promise a multitude of upgrades and never follow through or launch half developed, glitchy things that can't be used. They are severely behind the software in the same field and have no interest in catching up or being a better system. They nickel and dime you for everything, so even though it seems cheap on the surface, watch out, there's a hundred fees for every additional feature.

Vendor response

Hi there, we're sorry your experience with our software was less than 100%. We would like to learn more about your experience with us so we can do better in the future. Please contact us at info@rentmanager.com with any additional feedback you might have.