App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

PRTG Reviews

Overall rating

4.6

/5

231

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.86/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Easy to use, the free version of the software provides a good number of sensors to work with and easy to integrate.
The customer service is fantastic. It's very configurable and once you learn the basic setup it's easy to set up new systems and services.
I love the licensing model for PRTG. I can just buy a bulk set of sensors and then I can "spend" those sensors in any way that I like.
They sporadically experienced strange bandwidth problems and the cable provider didn't solve the problem within months.
After paying them for support all this time I am done with this company, they are a scam.
Windows based, and sometimes it's awkward to manage lots of linux machines with it - especially when the monitoring requires scripts to run on the remote machines.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


231 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nicat B.

Government Administration, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

It is a pleasure to use

Reviewed a year ago

I have been working in this field for more than 5 years, and everyone knows that you have to monitor the established IT infrastructure at all times. There are many solutions like PRTG, but I prefer PRTG, which is chosen with both the convenience of the interface and a lot of features. It was very easy to set up and manage. And one of my favorite parts is that you can use licenses that are suitable for your environment, even if your environment grows in the future, there is no need to rebuild the license accordingly. I think the monitoring application is very important from the point of view of security and stability, and PRTG is the most suitable and convenient for me among these applications.

Pros

It was very easy to use in the first turn, moreover, it has sensors suitable for the desired device.

Cons

There are many network monitoring tools like PRTG, but PRTG had the most convenient and easy-to-use interface among them. It has many good features. I've been using PRTG for several years now and I'm very satisfied. There's nothing I don't like about it.

Vendor response

Dear Nicat, Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled to hear that PRTG's interface stands out as the most convenient and easy-to-use among other network monitoring tools. We're glad to have met your expectations and provided you with a satisfying experience over the years. Furthermore, we greatly appreciate your support and look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations in the future. Your Paessler Team

RB
AvatarImg

Rene B.

Chemicals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Monitoring with some limits

Reviewed 4 months ago

overall we are pretty happy with this product.

Pros

I really like the scheduled scanning with templates for specific ip ranges, so that even new servers/devices/components directly are monitored without forgetting them to add. Also the possibility to write own sensors with Powershell or other languages is very good.

Cons

Batch management is poor in some places. if you want to manage multiple servers at once it is possible at some places but there are limitations so that some task are pretty repetative if you need to add batches, or you have to use workarounds.

Vendor response

Dear Rene, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're glad you find the scheduled scanning and custom sensor features valuable. We'll take your comments on batch management into consideration. We appreciate your support and are committed to improving your experience with our product. Your Paessler Team

CA
AvatarImg

Chris A.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Zero customer support / loyalty

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been a longtime customer of PRTG 7+ yrs now. I contact them about once a year for little things I run into with the program. This time around they refuse to help, beyond basic email support in the middle of the night. If you want a program that provides support this isn't the product for you. If you are in the US the best you get is email support and they usually only respond while you are sleeping. Don't expect them to go out of the way for you. PRTG has wasted 2+ hrs fighting with me on fixing something their software caused, something they could likely fix in a 5min phone call. After paying them for support all this time I am done with this company, they are a scam!

Pros

Great for monitoring bandwidth usage or finding health problems/over utilization of resources. All using the SNMP protocol.

Cons

Support, they don't provide much beyond an KB article or emails in the middle of the night.

Vendor response

We're sorry to hear about your frustration and that our support has not lived up to your expectations. We always try to give you the best possible support in case of problems. Kind regards, Paessler AG

SV
AvatarImg

Sachin V.

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simple & Powerful Monitoring tool,feature oriented,reliable sensors

Reviewed 2 years ago

Notifications and mail alerts for minute attributes in all devices rescue us from major hardware or network issues and reduce downtime to a large extent.

Pros

User-friendly dashboard, Easy to configure. High quality sensor reporting, Can monitor almost all server platforms, Networking devices, an awesome product.

Cons

Nothing much to say, almost perfect. The only suggestion is to make it budget-friendly for medium-level customers.

Vendor response

Dear Sachin, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

MD
AvatarImg

Matthew D.

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PRTG Network Monitor is a powerful tool

Reviewed 10 months ago

This tool has saved us a lot of time with configuration of in-depth service monitoring

Pros

The ease to implement and on-board new devices into the portal. The out-the-box templates are also very good and enable us to monitor in-depth services with ease

Cons

Bespoke and customised service monitoring is a bit complicated and it would be nice to have more comprehensive documentation on this

Vendor response

Dear Matthew, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! We're happy to hear that you find PRTG Network Monitor to be a powerful tool. It's great to know that the ease of implementation and onboarding of new devices, along with the out-of-the-box templates, have helped you to effectively monitor services. Your Paessler Team

BW
AvatarImg

Brock W.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My go-to monitoring solution for almost 10 years

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have been extremely happy with PRTG for the close to 10 years that I have used it. It has been extremely reliable, which is paramount for a tool you are using to monitor your entire network.

Pros

I love how easy it is to get rolled out and customized to work for pretty much anything with an IP Address. Real-time and historical data that is provided in PRTG is invaluable.

Cons

While this is not necessarily it's intended purpose, the Syslog/SNMP sensors could use some work to make it easier to use them as a collector/trap for historical logs.

Vendor response

Dear Brock, Thank you for leaving us this review. We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

VK
AvatarImg

Vladimir K.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

prtg monitoring

Reviewed a year ago

More than 5 years. monitoring (ISP infrastructure, Enterprise clients infrastructure)

Pros

Intuitive management interface. Ease to integrate to your environment

Cons

Price. But if you compare to other monitoring services, it is normal

Vendor response

Dear Vladimir, We're happy that you're happy! Thanks for leaving us a review! Have you already tried the new user interface? You can now use it in production environments. Your Paessler Team

RA
AvatarImg

Reski A.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PRTG is simplified my work Everyday.

Reviewed 5 years ago

PRTG can do Monitor all systems, devices, traffic and applications of your IT infrastructure. Everything you need, and don't expect more for custom weekly / monthly reports

Pros

This is the Recommended software that I often use to monitor or improve the Information Technology infrastructure. Very easy to install, user friendly and supports mobile devices. It can detect our problems quickly. We can check all critical Service Application components on the bus :)

Cons

This software does not yet have a weekly custom report for audit needs, so we do a manual retrieval :(

Vendor response

Dear Reski, thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

KE
AvatarImg

Ken E.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Monitoring Tool for the money

Reviewed 2 months ago

We have a very good experience with the Network Monitor and have recommended to some colleges.

Pros

The ease of setup and configuration and also how to get alerts in case of an issues.

Cons

More option can be added but overall, we are happy for what we were looking for.

Vendor response

Dear Ken, Thank you for your positive feedback! We're happy to hear that you found our monitoring tool easy to set up and configure, and that you appreciate the alert system for problem detection. Your Paessler Team

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Easy installation and configuration.

Reviewed a year ago

A very easy and intuitive tool with a lot of material available for consultation without the need to program in code

Pros

Native sensors and easy customization of dashboards

Cons

Some sensors still need to be configured via script or OID

Vendor response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review! Your Paessler Team

JN
AvatarImg

Joshua N.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I Find PRTG as the defacto standard in multi platform System Monitoring

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Ease of use, Web based, highly customizable if needed.

Cons

The only quirk I have is it is still not available in Linux (though a linux is probe is development I prefer the whole system on a linux environment)

Vendor response

Dear Joshua, Thank you taking the time to leave us this review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG. Cheers, Paessler AG

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gideon A.

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PRTG Network Monitor

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Comprehensive Monitoring Features: PRTG Network Monitor includes a variety of monitoring features, such as bandwidth monitoring, device health monitoring, server monitoring, application monitoring, and more. It supports a number of protocols and technologies, enabling businesses to keep an eye on many facets of their network infrastructure and gain visibility into its performance, availability, and...

Cons

Interface Customization Limitations: While PRTG Network Monitor provides customizable dashboards and reports, some users may find limitations in terms of design flexibility and customization options. Users with specific visual preferences or those requiring highly tailored reports may find the available customization options somewhat limited.

Vendor response

Dear Gideon, Thank you for highlighting the comprehensive monitoring features and customizable alerting capabilities of PRTG. We designed our system to provide businesses with extensive visibility into their network infrastructure and enable timely responses to critical network events. We appreciate your feedback! Your Paessler Team

DS
AvatarImg

David S.

Human Resources, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The software you want monitoring your network

Reviewed 4 years ago

Fantastic, we can proactively monitor connections and equipment, often we are working on fixing it before the end users know it is broken

Pros

Easy to use, reliable, can email or text about alerts, can execute scripts etc. Able to monitor snmp, pings, https and all sorts of things.

Cons

It is licensed by sensor, so you can easily run out of you monitor everything, you'll need to be careful to only monitor what you need to

Vendor response

Dear David, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are happy that PRTG supports you and your team that well. Cheers, Paessler AG

CC
AvatarImg

Carlos C.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

PRTG is a great option to monitor your IT assets

Reviewed 2 months ago

The experience has been good in general. Once you get everything done in terms of configurations and custom settings, you basically need to keep watching the dashboard and your email for the notifications.

Pros

I like the interface, which is very versatile and allows you to customize the views that are more important to you. I also like to receive notifications when something happens so we can quickly react and fix.

Cons

Some of the sensors require very complex configurations and that sometimes prevents us to get the most from PRTG. The system is so complete that it also has too much settings for each sensor which sometimes makes the work of configuring them very exausting.

Vendor response

Dear Carlos, Thank you for your detailed review! We're glad to hear that you find PRTG's interface flexible and customizable, allowing you to respond quickly to incidents. We're constantly working to simplify sensor configurations while maintaining the system's comprehensive capabilities. Likewise, we appreciate your feedback and are committed to improving your experience. Your Paessler Team

ZK
AvatarImg

Zandre K.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Network Monitoring Master

Reviewed 3 years ago

The platform allows you to easily communicate to customers regarding the fault/s being investigated. This software use to be the preferred monitoring for our core environment.

Pros

This software allows the user to monitor a wide variety of different sensors on a large scale customizable equipment spec. The graphs are easily manipulated and can benefit the user by visualizing the fault/issue being investigated.

Cons

My company has since parted with the software due to other systems being more cost affective however, I still believe it should be good value for your buck considering the features are getting.

Vendor response

Dear Zandre, Thank you for leaving us a review! It's a pity that you don't (can't) use PRTG anymore. If we could support you in any way, please feel free to contact us at any time! Cheers, Paessler AG

CB
AvatarImg

Chad B.

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

PRTG Network Monitor Review: Simplify Your Network Management

Reviewed 2 months ago

In terms of performance and reliability, PRTG generally receives positive feedback. Its distributed monitoring architecture helps ensure high availability and fault tolerance, contributing to a smooth and uninterrupted monitoring experience

Pros

One common positive aspect users highlight is the real-time insights provided by PRTG, which allow them to proactively identify and address network issues before they escalate. The ability to customize dashboards, reports, and alerts according to specific requirements is also highly appreciated.

Cons

While PRTG is known for its user-friendly interface, some find the initial learning curve steep, especially when configuring more advanced monitoring settings or integrating with third-party systems.

Vendor response

Dear Chad, Thank you for your positive feedback! We're glad to hear that you find PRTG's real-time insights valuable for proactive network management. Your Paessler Team

EW
AvatarImg

Eike W.

Industrial Automation, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good engine

Reviewed 2 months ago

The engine is good, the amount of available sensors is good. The GUIs / clients could be better.

Pros

Quick and easy setup Open interfaces for custom sensors An API Fair prizing

Cons

Almost all GUIs Old web GUI stuck sometimes or do not show everything New web GUI put focus on strange things and not very intuitive The full client does not work good at all No multiselect on sensors for multiple changes on sensors are possible

Vendor response

Dear Eike, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you're happy with the sensor options. If you would like to give us more feedback, why not become part of our PRTG Feedback Insiders. You can find all the information here: https://go.paessler.com/prtg-feedback-insiders Your Paessler Team

RF
AvatarImg

Ryan F.

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

PRTG Feature and Functionality in summary

Reviewed 5 years ago

The application has helped us monitor all types of equipment and proactively resolve issues early.

Pros

This monitoring application has helped us stay on track of what is happening at every corner and for every device on our network, from Storage to network, security and usage statistics and notifications for each, this application has saved us many times in restoring and fixing problems before they get noticed by end users. From our desk and our our phones using the app, we can monitor and get visibility into many device types, including Cisco, Linux, storage systems, Microsoft operating systems just to name a few, with thousands of sensors to choose from. Very powerful and constantly improving.

Cons

While just a few sensors were not performing well, like the Ping 30 for Cisco 1900 routers, PRTG has constantly released new updates that once applied, these issues are rectified.

Vendor response

Hi Ryan, Thank you for your review! Cheers, Paessler AG

AA
AvatarImg

Ali A.

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

prtg monitoring tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Thanks to the prtg product, I can monitor my network devices with snmp. With the e-mail notifications coming to my phone, I quickly get information from the devices or ports that are down and I can intervene. I realized that with prtg my job became easier.

Pros

With OID numbers, it can monitor the status of the hardware found on the device. It is informed by the determined threshold value. PRTG product can be easily managed due to its compatibility with all brands and devices. We monitor it by integrating it with the switch router access point devices we use.

Cons

I would like to make visual monitoring by creating the topologies of the sensors I created, this subject can be developed. There is nothing difficult about the product. It is also easy to integrate with our business processes.

Vendor response

Dear Ali, Thank you for leaving us a review! We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG and we love hearing about how you are using it. Cheers, Paessler AG

RF
AvatarImg

Richard Fortigate A.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very good network monitor

Reviewed 2 months ago

Very good monitoring. When i first set it up, it immediately found a defective fibre cable for me.

Pros

Realtime monitoring, easy to read display, handy events

Cons

The "unusual" traffic monitor is annoying and you can't turn it off.

Vendor response

Dear Richard, Thank you for leaving us a review! The unusual detection can be configured globally under Setup > Monitoring > Unusual Detection. Also, it can be disabled/enabled on device-, group-, probe- and root-level under Advanced Network Analysis > Unusual Detection. Your Paessler Team

EM
AvatarImg

Esben M.

Aviation & Aerospace, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Very good product for live monitoring

Reviewed 2 years ago

Gives us what we need for live monitoring

Pros

Pretty fast to get started with. Has alot of monitoring options. Good value

Cons

Some of the setup is a bit tricky. The unusual traffic monitoring is not really useful.

Vendor response

Dear Esben, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We are happy that you are enjoying PRTG! Cheers, Paessler AG

SJ
AvatarImg

Scott J.

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Robust and reliable monitoring solution

Reviewed 6 years ago

This is your one stop shop for a monitoring solution. Best value and most functionality all in one package.

Pros

Very wide variety of sensors for monitoring of various applications from SQL servers to custom scripts to ping to SNMP and WMI. Can be configured in a distributed configuration to spread out the load that the sensors place on a monitoring server or to consolidate WAN traffic between the central host and branch offices. Can be setup in a cluster for ultra high capacity server. Very robust selection of reports available with the ability to create custom reports. Beautiful Android client with push notifications. If you are looking for a monitoring solution this need be your one and only stop.

Cons

Support can be a little slow to respond often taking a day to respond via email. Only Windows hosts can be used as full sensor probes.

JD
AvatarImg

Johannes D.

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Monitoring with onboard resources

Reviewed 2 years ago

we are very satisfied with the product. the support is very helpful in almost all cases. the product is scalable and can handle a wide range of notifications.

Pros

prtg uses onboard resources and no lokal agent.

Cons

there is a lack of a good priced solution for small environments

Vendor response

Dear Johannes, Thank you for leaving us a review! Cheers, Paessler AG

ZS
AvatarImg

Zahid S.

Utilities, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

PRTG review

Reviewed a year ago

Excellent

Pros

Easy to configure and add the devices, dashboard is excellent, stable application in very in expensive cost compair to the other appliances

Cons

May not be scalable in very very large environment.

Vendor response

Dear Zahid, Thank you very much for your review! For large IT infrastructures we offer the Paessler PRTG Enterprise Monitor. You can find all information on our homepage. Your Paessler Team

Id
AvatarImg

Ivan d.

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very powerful option for monitoring with several ways to alert when issues arise

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Not only did we appreciate the depth and capabilities of the product, but also the customization and granularity of it, allowing us to view the same source information and alerts in different ways. You can receive emails and from there automate your Service Management tools, but the possibility of creating complementary and customized dashboards that we can place on a big screen in our IT room is great.

Cons

No real complaints, I did what we needed and way more.

Vendor response

Dear Ivan, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the community! Would you like to give us further feedback or do you have any improvement requests? Become a PRTG Feedback Insider! You can find all information here: https://go.paessler.com/prtg-feedback-insiders Your Paessler Team