This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

QlikView Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Has a multitude of options to enable the creation of complex dashboards. Fantastic online community providing excellent support and guidance.

Paul N.

I have being worked with QlikView for last 5 years and It was one of the best BI tools in the world. The level of slice and dice is amazing.

Tharindu R.

And the data holding capacity is excellent. Further it is easy to use and the integrations are also user friendly.

Tharindu R.

Cons

The tool can slow down and crash often depending on the size of data its processing.

CL

Cynthia L.

Limited usage, but this could of been because if the types of functions we were needed.

CC

Chris C.

It can be difficult for users to learn how to make complex functions. Also you have to invest a lot of time to build beatiful dashboard.

MG

Marcelo G.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

73

75

13

2

0

91%
positive reviews
96%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


163 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Single point of contact for your analysis!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Completed more than 15 implementation across domains like Government, Distribution, Retail, Insurance,Manufacturing and services. Have overall 10+ years of IT experience and 6+ years in BI Worked with one of the Fortune 50 retail giant who uses QV for more than 200 business users around the world across regions. i would say most of the people are happy with the way how QV is helping them on decision making. Since its a retail business, QV handles more volume of data with ease. Thanks to their In-Memory technique.

Pros

1. Associate linking 2. Self Service - Business users can create their own charts and data table with little technical knowledge 3. Inline (Mapping ) for adhoc dimension or values 4. QVD can act as data cubes or even as Data warehouse for medium size companies 5. implementing QV will take less time compare to traditional BI 6. Partner eco- system and support is very good 7. One of the best In-memory BI tool available in the market currently

Cons

1. Initial investment is little high but they have release Qliksense to counter it and it comes with Saas Model as well with more animated data visualization

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

QlikView good option if you are into BI

Reviewed a year ago

Been using QV for 2+ years now, have a lot of reports for almost any department in my companny, sales, buying, wharehouse inventories, financial, etc, etc all of them are productive resources for my internal users.

Pros

Once you set up your "reports" (IN QV they are called projects) there is no room to get things wrong, the final user will be able to run those reports and play with them with no worries of deteling something or change the report setting, as this can only be done by the admin, therefore the final user will be free to play and apply as many filters the report may have. On the other side, you will need some training to get the reports done, QV uses a report designer you will need to setup/install to build your projects.

Cons

QV as a company has some other products that all are but the similar to QV they have "QV Sense" is the "newer" version of QV that has a lot of support for mobile devices, dont get things wrong, QV has either support for mobile, but you need to build your reports thinking how will they look on a small display.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Data at my fingertips

Reviewed 2 months ago

It gives multiple people looking for different data points an easy hub to access

Pros

Qlik gives me customer data from multiple inputs which reduces the search and having to look through multiple sources

Cons

The only thing that I would like to see is an integration into my old antiquated crm - sugar. other than that, nothing

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Qlikview: An Analytical Tool

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

This is an excellent analytical tool with below best suited features: 1) Flexible chart design 2) A lot of charts and plenty of minutes properties to configure the chart. 3) Power of custom expression using a expression language called "SET ANALYSIS". This enables a better control on data transformation and manipulation. 4) Script editor where in Data Layer can be defined, designed and managed. 5) Nice client server architecture so that report designed can be easily published over to web and access can be controlled easily through management console. 6) Qliksense, a cloud model, is a best thing qlikview has.

Cons

It's nothing like bad things but good if it has few features (that other BI tool has) 1) Data management should be more user friendly. Right now it is in script editor. Someone with good knowledge of Relational Database can easily handle this but a programmer knowledge is must. End users or non technical person may timid to start with qlikview as they will find it hard to start with. 2) Too many...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A New way to look at old data

Reviewed 4 months ago

Overall, we have been very happy with our QlikView purchase. It allows us to easily provide insight into our data warehouse for manager and executive level users. While the majority of our usage is reporting on a weekly basis, Qlikview provides the ability to dig deeper and find new business insights into the data than we would otherwise have been able to.

Pros

Ease and speed of implementation are what I like most about our Qlikview deployment. Compared to other Business Intelligence products, Qlikview is a breeze to set up due to its ability to load in data from multiple data sources quickly and easily, with little more than slight changes to an import/mapping script. For users already familiar with the data, importing into Qlikview is quick and easy. Additionally, and importantly, changes to the data dictionary (adding, removing, or modifying fields that you're watching) are very easy to make, and don't require starting from scratch. This sets Qlikview apart from most other Business Intelligence software we considered.

Cons

Qlikview's biggest strength - it's unique way of linking data together in ways you wouldn't have thought of on our own -- can also be a weakness, as it requires a different way to thinking about data than most users have experience previously. However, the color-coded column fields indicating related fields and data links become second nature to users once they are retrained and have a bit of experience with the software.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

QlikView; A BI tool with deep level analytics

Reviewed 2 years ago

I have being worked with QlikView for last 5 years and It was one of the best BI tools in the world. The level of slice and dice is amazing. Data holding capacity and power of deep level analytics are simply outstanding.

Pros

It has more analytical power. And the data holding capacity is excellent. Further it is easy to use and the integrations are also user friendly.

Cons

It needs the support of a programmer to create charts and end users can't do much. Graphics are low compared to newer BI platforms.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent in-memory data exploration tool

Reviewed a year ago

Very powerful tool having capacity to solve every business problem. Can we used as ETL tool for transforming & modelling of data. It can be used to store the data in different formats like qvds, csv etc.

Pros

QlikView has very powerful ETL script editor with many functions. Also measures can be calculated with help of set analysis. Fastest in-memory tool. We can create custom objects as well.

Cons

User interface is not that pretty. Less availability of charts. Geo analytics map can have many more features like enabling satellite view. QlikView is not on cloud but a on-premise tool.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Qlikview provides solid, customizable visuals for your data.

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Extensive customization options. Nice drag and drop interface.

Cons

Complexity of setup and customization. Not entirely user friendly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Reporter but kind of Slow

Reviewed a year ago

I Really Like it, It is easy to use, but kind of slow, eventho I Like it, because the User Interface it is Selfdescriptive and I have never had to train anyone on how to use it.

Pros

That it is Very Seasy to Use, it is like doing filters on excel and you will get the data you need with Graphics and more.

Cons

That the people that want to see the data and Graphics say that it is very Slow, We use Millions of lines and rows of Data, and it gets very Slow, we are checking the possibility to move to Power BI.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Qlikview - Excellent tool for analysing heavy complex data

Reviewed 4 months ago

The overall experience was amazing (now I can say after couple of years :-) ). This was a very useful tool while doing large complex analysis. If as an organization you can afford this software then this is a must have tool.

Pros

The best part is that you can create the query once and use it multiple times (for all recurring tasks). You can customize your data to look more attractive and presentable through Qlikview. It can also be integrated over your existing ERP (e.g. SAP) and you can get the reports automatically from Qlikview.

Cons

The learning curve is definitely a challenge that I faced. The software is slightly complex and being a finance manager (non IT person) it was difficult for me to understand it initially.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

QlikView Business Intelligence - A Beginners View

Reviewed 5 years ago

We recently adopted QlikView as our Business Intelligence application, using it primarily to draw from and combine data from three different databases. It is a very cool product that is great for everything from producing regular standard governance reports to providing a playground for cutting and exploring data every which way. For beginners it is pretty easy to get going with QlikView. There is...

Pros

Easy to get started, very intuitive for end users, great data and image output capabilities, simple to use over multiple data sources within one document.

Cons

Creating geographic mapping charts is pretty complex unless third-party add-ons are purchased.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Real Deal When It Comes To Business Intelligence

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm happy as a Qlikview user and Developer, this is all i can say.

Pros

Qlikview is a perfect platform to develop your reports, to consolidate your data from many different sources into that final, beautiful and useful report that your users want. In the beginning you shall get some specific training building some simple reports and watching some tutorials, but let me tell you it is not difficult to learn since it is very similar to SQL scripting, and it allows you to embed your SQL script to build your reports. It is POWERFUL, within the script you can do pretty much anything with your data. The other great thing is about reports customization, when you are building your reports front-end you can also do pretty much anything, after some time and training your reports will look like apps.

Cons

Being a daily user and report builder i can say that there is nothing i dislike about it, i mean right now if asked i would not move to another BI tool. Qlikview serves its purpose 100 %. A thing you need to know is that when you build big fat reports, i mean loaded with data the reload of the report may take a while but this can be improved while coding the script i mean there are no miracles but depending on how you build it you can make the same amount of data to be a little faster to reload.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Product review for Qlikview

Reviewed 2 years ago

I participated in the several implementations using Qlikview/Qliksense over the past several years. Really impressed by the in-memory design and associative query engine of Qlikview. Really like the excellent performance and beautiful modelling design of Qlikview. Still hope Qlik can improve the UI design part of Qlik product.

Pros

1. The association modelling design in the Qlik query engine; 2. The principle of put correct granularity data to your data object which can guarantee the data integrity; 3. The good performance for big data set; 4. The straight forward built-in always connected data and UI design.

Cons

1. UI Design is not as intuitive as Tableau or Power BI; 2. The UI design is too flexible to manage, not as simple as Tableau or Power BI; 3. Poor job control and workflow management.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

turning Big Data into Easy decisions

Reviewed 3 years ago

Once I was able to tame it and learn the tricks, it helped me to provide better insights to my customers and also provide them visibility to problems they didn't even knew they had before we implemented QlikView. Usually after our presentations, managers come out with more questions than answers, but not related to the tool, but to the business model they currently have and how to make it more productive, all thanks to Qlikview graphics and display of trends.

Pros

THe flexibility and freedom that BI developers have to work with the suite to create not only management friendly infographics but also the possibility to drill down to any level you need to pinpoint the exact cause of any issues found in a metric, in real time. I must also point out that it can read from almost any data source and provide you with several options and different points of view on what would be considered a useless pile of data that nobody understands or cares about.

Cons

due to its powerful engine and lots of options, the learning curve can be a little longer and steeper than other products.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

QlikView is a powerful, flexible BI visualization toolkit that lets you show your users what's in their data

Reviewed 4 years ago

QlikView is an excellent tool for data visualization. Developers can create intuitive solutions with relative ease.

Pros

QlikView has a positive 80/20 ratio. The first 80% of what you need to know (everything you need to know for most visualizations) can be learned in 20% of the time. The remaining 20% (complex expressions, extensions, and other advanced options) takes 80% of the time to learn. A skilled analyst can sit down on day one and create a useful, meaningful QlikView solution. An advanced user could spend years learning new possibilities and creating more advanced offerings.

Cons

QlikView is an "in-memory" BI tool, which does offer speed and data manipulation capabilities. However, the data model is loosely managed. If it's not structured carefully, loading and processing times become unnecessarily long. The underlying model could be strengthened and otherwise improved to help the platform scale to larger projects.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Qlik products are powerful and flexible, great ROI.

Reviewed 2 years ago

Remembering that this is a platform, not just a BI tool, there is some back-office IT work required to implement, launch and maintain the software. Once up and running (which was very cost effective to outsource) the maintenance costs were minimal and we never had any problems.

Pros

Everything. This is a well engineered and powerfully designed tool that dominates the ETL and BI Visualization space for those that need both aspects combined into one. A decade of fine tuning make this a great tool for your analytical and data management toolbox.

Cons

The only con here is the cannibalization factor in the release of Qlik Sense, a far better and more modern take on the same tool. The Sense platform is very similar, but more powerful and expandable, and is getting 99.9% of the development resources, making Qlik View static. So while a great tool and still has years of life left, if you are launching new I'd go with Qlik Sense instead.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Driving the business with Qlik

Reviewed a year ago

Business has been able to realise value in having reliable data at their fingertips to make informed business decisions. The ability to highlight any issues has meant that business improvements can be made quickly, thus reducing waste and inefficiencies.

Pros

We use QlikView to pull together a variety of data from multiple sources ranging from system databases to spreadsheets. We are then able to present this in a user friendly way allowing all levels of our business to use the data. We provide dashboards for executive summaries while still allowing operational staff to drill down into the details. Users are able to get up to date data in the way they can use to make informed decisions

Cons

The only thing we haven't been able to do is to generate regular reports and to then distribute them, however we have used another Qlik product (NPrinting) to achieve this.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

With very less/minor effort we can build attractive Dashboards in no time. Cool formatting features.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Performance, easy use, less maintenance required.

Pros

Dashboard Designing made so easy in this Tool. Bunch of formatting options and features. Scripting capabilities took this tool to next level to build more complex dashboards in a simpler way. Implementation and maintenance is so easy compare to Business Objects. Data integration, mapping capabilities, drill functionalities are too good. In Memory capabilities gears up performance. Another big advantage is, just one product.

Cons

Not that great when you work with data sources like BW and Big Data. R integration is not possible. For Detailed reporting is it not the tool preferable. If you are looking for a great scheduling and publication capabilities you may not like this tool since this requires a separate setup like NPrining etc..

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Have been using QlikView for 13 years. Love the product!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

QlikView is extremely easy to use, user-friendly and developer-friendly. At the same time, it offers a lot of depth - when a complex solution is required, QlikView offers robust tools for your most intricate analytical needs.

Cons

After 13 years of using the product, there are many little things that I don't like. For example, while QlikView scales up very well to handle hundreds of millions (sometimes even billions) of rows of data, QlikView Server management tools are relatively simplistic. It's easy to manage a single server or a few servers, with a few dozen of reload tasks, but it may be difficult to manage many servers with thousands of users and hundreds or thousands of reload tasks. Having said that - QlikView is still one of the most well-rounded tools that offer a great frond end and a phenomenal back end in one package.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I work everyday with QV. You can customize everything with extreme ease in a very short time

Reviewed 4 years ago

my work revolves around these BI software. They gave me the opportunity to take certifications

Pros

The very high level of personalization of formulas and objects. Moreover there are different versions of the software (like the QV publisher) to further restrict the accesses of the staff involved in the consultation. Excellent tool for SQL

Cons

you need some training to use this software, and a minimum of one year of use to be able to use it with ease. It is not easy to understand the "set analysis" syntax to make intrarecord selections. The qmc could be improved. It would be interesting to integrate the possibility to refresh the document directly from the front end to update the data analyzed. Improve the use of macros and enable the QV publisher to use them

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

I mentioned above - we needed to consolidate, analyse and use data for managing 13 hospitals. There were various ERP systems, HR systems, clinical systems, etc, so we had to implement interfaces and put all data on the same level, then automate the pumping of data, reporting, etc. (this was not in my current job)

Pros

User-friendliness of the tool while doing analyses. Many companies use excel, pivot tables etc., but once you discover how easy and fast it is with Qlik, you will love it. It is also possible to use it for free, with limitations, so you can test it. We have implemented this tool in hospitals, from where we needed the data to be collected on 1 place and then analysed. Normally you have a problem, that...

Cons

Maybe only that it takes some time to learn how to use it, but compared to many other systems it's good. also you have to learn how to code in data interfaces (there is also a good wizard for that) or you can find a consultant for this (even online), not even this is not a big deal.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Abstracting and showing data sets in comprehensible form

Reviewed 2 years ago

In our company, our historic data is huge and that is why we need analytic interface to summarize and show them is efficient and effective way. Qlikview is perfect product with this features and provide our needs.

Pros

This product is perfect for our company due to summarizing our data history in simple way by choosing subjects or indicators. You can personalize subjects or indicators and have a report easily by opening the product.

Cons

Data sets as chart or graphs can be kept by chart on the screen but there is no special screen for only charts and graphs. When your indicators or statements increase, there is crowd on the screen and you must delete some of charts or graphs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, Not so easy on the eyes though

Reviewed a year ago

We're using Qlikview within almost all of the departments in the company. From finance to HR and Garages. we see it as an essential tool for the group activity.

Pros

triggers, On load, On open, etc. easy to manage load tasks using the QMC task tree.

Cons

User activity monitoring is a bit of a lack. unable to export a list of all currently licensed users. it's especially difficult if your using DOC licenses, you to go from app to app to see the licensed users for the particular app. also the UI getting a little old, the newer Qlik sense look much better. if you're considering moving to Qlikview from PowerBI or Tableau, Qlik sense will make more sense.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Still the best BI product for me

Reviewed 2 years ago

I'm now a certified developer and I feel really comfortable to solve any problem with this tool.

Pros

Maybe it is because I'm have develop my skills with the tool but still it is the best product for me in the BI section. It has a lot of power to analyze big set of data, use it like an ETL and then create beautiful visualizations. Once you learn to use the desktop version and how to build metrics is very powerful and you can analyze anything with a different type of graphics.

Cons

Maybe the learning curve but not really, once you learn how to use the set analysis, variables and how the associations of data works is really good.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Merging and structuring data to create meaningful single customer views

Reviewed 4 years ago

Allowing us to knit together multiple data sources into a single customer view to aid our marketing and sales teams to better target their audiences.

Pros

Has a multitude of options to enable the creation of complex dashboards. Fantastic online community providing excellent support and guidance. Good intuitive, professional interface makes it productive to use. Can handle extremely large record sets without a problem.

Cons

Tough initial learning curve to get to grips with the language and best practice methods. Some extras likes maps and email marketing ability carry additional costs. Requries computer with lots of RAM.