Microsoft Office 365 Reviews

Microsoft Office 365 Reviews

Microsoft Office 365

Cloud collaboration and file sharing application suite

4.27/5 (94 reviews)
404,256     649,037

Chris Connolly

Verified Reviewer

Easy to use!

21/02/2017

Good tools to manage the platform - Word, Excel and PowerPoint are the industry standard tools. The online management tools and the flexibility of the office suite of tools are just excellent!

Pros

Ease of management - Microsoft Office is the standard office productivity tool!

Cons

None come to mind other than cost maybe!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Microsoft Office 365

Why wouldn't you? It sure beats the older on-premise versions!

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anastasios Petropoulos

Verified Reviewer

Great Value for everything included.

14/02/2017

Office 365 includes the full Office suite for 5 computers along with 1TB of OneDrive storage for each of the 5 users, you also get 60 minutes of Skype calling per month. Microsoft Office is the usual office suite, OneDrive is an excellent cloud service, but it sucks Microsoft only offers 1TB instead of unlimited like they used to. The 60 minutes of Skype calling each month is great, especially since I do business overseas, its great to save money on phone cards.

Pros

Excellent Value Full Office Suite 60 minutes Skype calls every month 1TB cloud storage per user

Cons

Cloud storage used to be unlimited, now its 1TB

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Microsoft Office 365

Office 365 is a great value, buying everything that's included separately would cost a lot more. If you just need Office and dont need skype or 1TB of cloud storage, then you're better off purchasing the Office suite as a standalone product.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Victoria Anniston

Verified Reviewer

Excellent software

27/09/2016

What is there left to explain when you are getting the complete MS Office Suite multiple places. You are not only getting the suite, but there are quite some exclusives available to a subscribed user. The exclusives include a limited time upgrade to the next MS Office when it becomes available, provided your subscribed time is still to avail. You also get a terabyte's worth of cloud storage which seems an ample amount of storage as all you really do have are spreadsheets or presentations. You can download the software on a Mac or PC and also run programs such as Microsoft Word, Visio, Excel, and PowerPoint online via browsers without needing to fill up your hard drive. Another name for Office 365 is office online which is rightfully given because all the facilities are available online. This creates an ideal situation for the user as there are minimal load times when running in the browser and there is no harm to the computer as a unit. The resources drained are minimal, and there are no strains on the processor as well. This enables us to multi-task more easily by switching tab-to-tab for creating a presentation instead of first opening a presentation then dedicating the browser to hunt for resources. Perhaps the major achievement is the cloud service which synchronizes different content to our Microsoft account. We can go later on, download Skype for business as well on our machines. The cloud service enables us to simultaneously work on our mobile and computer alike so there is no data loss and it also develops a sort of continuum which does prove helpful.

Pros

Access through mobile and browsers now available. Apple cloud storage. Simultaneous links between devices. All tools of office are automatically updated.

Cons

Poor Customer support. There is some room for improvement.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering Microsoft Office 365

The entire suite is very important, a must needed software

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Phone Use has Skyrocketed

22/07/2016

Once my company incorporated Microsoft 365 we became streamline like no other. Having access to all my documents and programs on my phone allowed me to answer questions immediately rather than waiting till I got to the computer.

Pros

access to all programs and documents on your phone

Cons

none really to talk about

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Microsoft Office 365

Your company and employees will thank you. the ease of use is amazing

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tim Lilyquist

Verified Reviewer

A great collection of tools that falls short for business

22/06/2016

Office365 has it all. Productivity apps like the Microsoft Office suite, Sharepoint, Delve, Sway, Email, Active Directory sync, etc. are what's included. Once downloaded and installed, the office suite works better than previous versions. The online version of the office suite works well, but is still lacking features of the desktop apps. It is similar to Google apps for business but looks like Microsoft Office. Delve is a super cool tool that allows users to see recent documents that they are their coworkers are using. The email system functions well and also works well in conjunction w/ Microsoft Outlook desktop app. My big gripe, as always, is Sharepoint. Even though Sharepoint has been improved with the updates to 2013 and then 2016, it still has many issues that Microsoft has not fixed, although they know about them. The 2 most common problems I have had with Sharepoint are disappearing files and OneDrive for Business desktop client errors. Randomly disappearing files is a horrible thing for a cloud storage service to do! I have seen at least 1 file disappear per month that I have been using Sharepoint and that's simply unacceptable. Especially since Microsoft is supposedly gearing their business towards business technology. Seeing as I work for a state funded organization that has a fixed income, there really isn't much of an option to switch from the service, because Office365 is the cheapest one that can be easily administered from off-site. Every 1-2 weeks I have to manually stop syncing sharepoint with my computer and resync it. This costs me about 2 hours of minimized productivity each time. I have also had 2 issues where the client simply failed for unknown reasons. The first time, Microsoft support forced me to reformat and reinstall everything, which again is a huge time waster. The second time resulted in 2 days of inconsistent access to sharepoint through he client, so I had to use the web interface. On the topic of the web interface... YOU CAN'T MOVE FILES IN THE WEB INTERFACE! The only way to do it is with a paid app that you add to Sharepoint, which still isn't that convenient. Additionally, the web view of Sharepoint is clunky and not easy to navigate back once you've made it somewhere in the file structure. The 2 stage recycle bin can also be a big space waster. If you manage a lot of documents you can end up with a loaded recycle bin and no free space. I can honestly go on and on about how much I like the concept of Sharepoint, and how bad it has always let me down.

Pros

Full of features that can meet just about anyone's needs at a fair price.

Cons

Sharepoint is still awful. Bottom line... explore your options for cloud storage thoroughly before making the choice to store your files w/ Microsoft Sharepoint.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
IT Business Analyst Intern (Mental Health Care company, 501-1000 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great!

13/06/2016

My university offers a free Microsoft Office 365 to students which has been fantastic for group projects and personal work. The functionality of all the services has been great.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Graham Pocta

Verified Reviewer

Why run an Exchange server anymore?

15/04/2016

We primarily run Office 365 as a replacement for an onsite Microsoft Exchange servers. At $5/month for the small business plans, it doesn't really make sense for small businesses to drop thousands of dollars on hardware and hundreds of hours on maintenance of these servers anymore.

Pros

-Very quick setup -Great reliability -Almost all of the features of an onsite Exchange server are available -Powershell support for bulk actions -Ability to sync users from an on-site Active Directory forest

Cons

-There is no way to chat with support -- they will only give you a callback. They are responsive, but I prefer to use chat as a way to get around accent/language barriers

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James Smith

Verified Reviewer

Negate the risk of on-premise exchange and empower employees to work remotely

22/12/2015

Office 365 is now a stable platform I'm more than happy to trust and run our users mailboxes and office applications on. There are with out doubt blips along the way and you'll most definitely require an appropriate network connection but the pluses of office 365 negate the negatives.

Pros

Work anywhere on almost any device - office 365 allows our staff to work out of the office on almost any device with a seem less user experience. Migrating to office 365 was fairly easy from on-prem exchange 2010, its well documented with step by step instructions. Collaboration is made easy with shared documents, yammer or sharepoint Integrate office 365 with an appropriate single signon solution (adfs, okta, etc) to make it easy to control user access and logon credentials.

Cons

Appropriate internet connection required - can be costly but most businesses will more than likely have this in place already. Support still has a lot to be desired. Whether a business or a public user you both go into the same pot with Microsoft so don't expect enterprise support unless your prepared to pay them for it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Reuben Rail

Verified Reviewer

Office 365 Makes a Great Start, But Has Room for Improvement

18/09/2015

I like Office 365 and do recommend it for current Office users, but I also want to like it more (but can't until they fix some feature sets, processes, and get 'up to speed' with other platforms). There are a lot of great things about Office 365 (I prefer Outlook 365 over the desktop platform, which is heresy for many long time users of Outlook) such as the cloud collaboration on documents (Word, PPT, Excel) and the Skype for Business has been an excellent addition to our organization (replacing many online video chat and webinar meeting platforms). That being said there are a lot of bugs, and you can tell that they are working pretty quickly to get it 'up to speed' compared to other platforms like Google Apps (which I love). So, it's nice to see their commitment, but at the same time, as a user, I am experiencing a lot of their bugs, PLUS the 'software design logic' used in many areas is just confusing - very different than other platforms (and I've used a lot). All that being said, I do think people should give it a try. The advantages outweigh the disadvantages, and I do believe Microsoft is working at getting better each day.

Pros

- Pretty clean interface - Skype for Business is pretty great - Each app works fairly well (not 100% all the time) with the other apps; e.g. Outlook 365 with Word or PPT 365. - They are constantly adding in new features* (see Cons) - Ease of use on finding and connecting (built in Skype IM feature) with employees via directory and mail. When you search for someone it pulls up their 'card' and you have a lot of action options, plus you can see their info such as location, phone number, etc...

Cons

- Logs me out on a regular basis - They change layout and features during the day fairly consistently w/o notification to users - Do not follow a lot of standard SaaS features, procedures and layout design. This makes it hard to learn new layouts, and understand their 'software logic'.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Afrim Kamberi

Verified Reviewer

27/03/2017

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Afgan Askerli

Verified Reviewer

25/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Joe Baughman

Verified Reviewer

23/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Thomas Milanese

Verified Reviewer

17/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Martin Newell

Verified Reviewer

16/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Christopher Phillip

Verified Reviewer

12/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
William Erhart

Verified Reviewer

10/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Courtland Sorenson

Verified Reviewer

09/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Alyssa Fournier

Verified Reviewer

08/03/2017

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Jacob R. Kunøe

Verified Reviewer

07/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Greg Mannes

Verified Reviewer

25/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Doug Forester

Verified Reviewer

23/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Pooja Singh

Verified Reviewer

20/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Jean-Pierre Clauws

Verified Reviewer

19/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Jennifer Farwell

Verified Reviewer

12/02/2017

Time used: 6-12 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
Ryan Mitchell

Verified Reviewer

01/02/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: GetApp
Read more