App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Zoho Books Reviews

Overall rating

4.4

/5

628

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.53/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

I also like that I can attach receipts to my expenses. I'm very thankful for Zoho Books and hope they continue to meet the needs of sole proprietors like me.
To conclude, Zoho Books is easy to understand and its configuration is quick and easy. The automation of the system is great and you save a lot of time.
That said, the Zoho family of products are solid, so if you have need for an accounting product and you are familiar with accounting software, this product would be a great choice.
The payment plans are a little frustrating. The limits are on the number of contacts and as a business with lots of contacts and only one transaction often per contact it gets really expensive.
Bad automatic matching, paypal multi-currency feed all over the place.
The another problem of this software is that this software is very difficult for the new users and it is not so easy to learn how to handle our accounts and invoices.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


628 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jordan S.

CEO

E-Learning, self-employed

Review source

Overall Rating

Great QuickBooks competitor with additional features to boot

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Speaker 1: Hi, my name is Jordan. I'm a CEO and I give Zoho Books a five out of five. For more reviews...

KB
AvatarImg

Kelvin B.

Director Technical Services

Management Consulting, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Zoho Books is a very easy program to setup and use. Not a lot of modifications required.

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Kelvin B.: Hi, my name is Kelvin. I'm the director of technical services in the industry for maintenance...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

David T.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Tool For Suite Users

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are running all of our books for our small business with Zoho Books. It is simple to sync bank accounts and credit card accounts, and quickly categorize expenses, and run reports. Pleased with results.

Pros

Very simple to categorize funds, connectivity with other tools in Zoho Suite.

Cons

Anytime a new vender is updated to an expense item, the screen needs to be reloaded and refreshed before that same vender can be selected for another item.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

David L.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Using ZOHO Books for invoicing and payments in US Dollars and Mexican Pesos

Reviewed 2 years ago

use it for all client invoices and payments also use for all vendor payments and invoice tracking of accounts payable and recieveable

Pros

very easy interface with Zoho CRM and integration with online payment capabilities in both US Dollars and Mexican Pesos

Cons

the multi currency feature is sometimes glitchy in reports

CH
AvatarImg

Cassi H.

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

It's easy to use but that's as far as it goes

Reviewed 5 years ago

The overall experience with Zoho Books has been disappointing. We were told that they were capable of so much more than what they seem to be able to deliver on. There's no real good workflow capabilities and no real way to automate processes that the user imports over and over again. If you're just starting out and don't have many sales (especially online sales) or a big budget, this is great...

Pros

It's easy to use if you're doing simple bookkeeping

Cons

This software is not made for those wanting to automate as much of the workflow as possible. It is also not for businesses hoping to scale with the software. The software link to the bank account and credit card frequently breaks leaving the user to have to sync manually. I have contacted customer service regarding this issue but there does not seem to be a solution. If you're looking to upgrade...

GK
AvatarImg

Gatuko K.

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

An Amazing Accounting Tool For Business

Reviewed 3 months ago
Pros

I like that Zoho Books makes handling online payments and accounting easy It makes payment processing a breeze and handles most of our accounting needs It handles accounts payable and comes with lots of data security features

Cons

Using Zoho Books is super easy and all has worked in our favor. No complaints.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Sara B.

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

As soon as ZohoBooks is set up, creating invoices is a breeze

Reviewed a year ago

Once you have your invoice template set up, creating invoices is a breeze. Zoho Books integrates quite smoothly with both Zoho CRM and Zoho Subscriptions. It would be helpful if there were a way to customize reminder emails depending on the reason the invoice was not paid.

Pros

Each and every one of our clients' billing and subscription needs are handled by me personally. We really liked how simple it was to link Zoho Books and Zoho CRM. Since our customers come from all over the world, having access to many payment gateways is invaluable. The creating goods function is quite beneficial, since we offer numerous services at different pricing.

Cons

Workflow and Invoice Personalization. One company's choice of languages for use with international clients.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Andre v.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend4/10

Share this review:

They don't fix old issues

Reviewed 2 years ago

There are a lot of outstanding problems that users have notified them about and I continuously see people bringing up the same problems years after they were first brought to the attention of the developers.

Pros

It was relatively easy to switch from the previous accounting software.

Cons

They do not fix old issues unless they are critical to the functioning of the software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Phaneendra Kumar P.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Accounting Software for Small Businesses

Reviewed a year ago

Too good, I am a Zoho One member and for the price I am paying I am very much satisfied with the product

Pros

Online Invoice creation, Sending & Payment Collection, Invoice tracking, Inventory Mangement, Bank Reconciliation

Cons

Not anything in particular, But the option to send Invoices to Whatsapp would have been better if made available.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Rick K.

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Zoho Books has been our go to for invoicing for years

Reviewed a year ago

I started using Zoho Books many years ago and have used it ever since. It's been easy to use and the customer service has been great whenever I need a little help. It's simple to create new invoices and it's what I always recommend to others. Every so often I try other services but always end up back at Zoho and all their different services.

Pros

I have been using a single template for years and it's made my life very easy. It even creates the invoice and reminds me to send it.

Cons

I wish Zoho Books would automatically send the invoice for me but it's not a big deal. I just really like automation whenever possible.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Unenabasi Godwin E.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Incredible Accounting Software for Freelancers and Startups

Reviewed 4 years ago

Zoho helps my business keep accurate accounting records, bill customer and drive down receivables.

Pros

Zoho captures every aspect of my company's finances. The tool makes it easy for you to create estimates, and invoices, capture bills and expenses as well as monitor business health. The muti-user feature lets business track expenses and movement of funds between departments and business teams. Another incredible feature that makes Zoho stand out is their customer support. They have an amazing support team that responds quickly. Plus, they help you valuable suggestions to help you navigate difficult accounting operations.

Cons

Zoho does not have an offline capability. The software is cloud-based so you must have an internet connection to access the software.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Michael M.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Zoho Books

Reviewed 3 years ago

Zoho is very user friendly and once you have used any other accounting software it's easy to get up and running with Zoho Books.

Pros

Ease of use, it has all the features I was looking for in an accounting application. The security is another factor I like Zoho Books.

Cons

I wish there could be a way to get transactions directly firm wave accounting app.

JR
AvatarImg

Jose R. L.

Computer Networking, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best invoicing / accounting tool for freelancers, period.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Zoho Books is just a fantastic tool. Coming from Freshbooks and paying a hefty fee for it I was not only limited in terms of features (and paypal support) but also somewhat bored with their lackluster interface. Zoho was great and hit all the marks for me, the interface is simple and intuitive and the price point at my scale is just unbeatable. I can't see any other accounting system after using Zoho Books.

Pros

This is the best bang for buck you can get if you are a startup, an independent freelancer or just need invoicing to start. There is no other system comparable with Zoho at this price point.

Cons

There are many features I didn't test because they are out of realm for my specific needs. I am sure for others they might be important but if these were "enabled as needed" rather than always there cluttering the interface that would be better.

AC
AvatarImg

Anthony C.

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Zoho Books: An efficient and user-friendly accounting software.

Reviewed a year ago

As an IT intern at the university, I had the opportunity to use Zoho Books for financial management. Overall, I found the software to be user-friendly and offering a great deal of useful features, such as invoice management and expense tracking. Additionally, I really liked the integration of Zoho Books with other Zoho services, such as CRM and Human Resources, which made collaboration and project management easier.

Pros

Zoho Books is an online accounting and invoicing software that offers a wide range of features at an affordable price. With this tool, users can manage invoices, payments, expenses, and time tracking all in one integrated platform. Zoho Books also offers integration with other Zoho services, such as CRM and Human Resources, which makes collaboration and project management easier. Additionally, the software allows for task automation and customization of templates and workflows, increasing efficiency and saving time in financial management.

Cons

Despite the extensive feature set that Zoho Books provides, some users can find the user interface to be too complex, and it might take some time to become accustomed to all the possibilities. In addition, integration with third-party services may be limited compared to other popular accounting software and more economical plans might not include certain sophisticated capabilities like inventory management and budgeting.

IL
AvatarImg

Immaculate L.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Zoho for small to medium business

Reviewed a year ago

This software is great for our business.

Pros

This software it's very easy to setup and start using it. Even the free version is very rich in functionality. Once you have set it up you can also install the mobile app to keep up with the business. You can even create customer on the mobile app, invoice them, recon payment and send statements. The recurring schedule invoice are such a great feature. You can even setup reminders for unpaid invoices. Month end you can pull reports and understand your business

Cons

The bank connection doesn't always work nicely, sometimes it delay to update and end up sending incorrect statements to customers.I wish the clone customer was also available on the mobile app.

BG
AvatarImg

Babu G.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Zoho Books reconciles bank statement automatically and GST filing is way better than anything else.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Overall, it's a boon, If you are in India then this is the takeaway software as it helps ease in filing GST reports.

Pros

This software when I started using I thought I made a wrong choice but as in when I started managing my accounts & Books for my business, It became my friend, an accountant indeed it did everything that an accountant would do with very little accounting knowledge. The best part is if you are a startup company and you do not have strict compliances then this is for you, you don't have to hire an accountant and DIY. :)

Cons

Support is the only part which sometimes made me upset as the Employees were not uniformly assisting as if they were not trained on customer service. The worse thing is they just have support for technical help and no bookkeeping support.

MN
AvatarImg

Mohammed N.

Industrial Automation, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Smart Accounting Software Built for Business

Reviewed 3 years ago

My overall experience with Zoho Books is good and I've been using it for the past three years and have recommended it to a number of clients.

Pros

-Zoho Books is an easy-to-use accounting app which displays all your financial information in a simple format and a person with less or no knowledge of accounting can also use it. -Zoho Books eliminates the need to manually enter data, lowering the risk of errors. -With access control and audit trails, Zoho Books ensures data integrity and gives you complete control over your business data. -GST...

Cons

-The app is appropriate for small and medium-sized businesses. It is incapable of managing complex corporate processes. - On weekends (Saturday & Sunday), the support crew is not available to help clients with their problems. -The software doesn’t allow you to import contacts from your social media sites. It allows you to build your client details through the inbuilt mail feature. -There is no budgeting feature available.

CB
AvatarImg

Cheikh B.

Accounting, self-employed

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good software for beginners

Reviewed 3 years ago

Zoho Books made my job easier and saved me a lot of time.

Pros

Zoho Book is a good software if you are starting out in a small business. What impresses me most about Zoho Book is the BRS statement. It's an excellent feature that prints all the required details very clearly, just as we intended. The automated bank flow is another feature that saves you a lot of time. The advantage of Zoho Books is that it can be linked to your online sales sites easily. 
 
Another...

Cons

The major problem with Zoho Book is that it is only practical with a small business. It is better to choose another software like Wave if your business is large. Finally, the other blockage is that Zoho Books is based on the Cloud so without a connection you can go and have a nice cup of hot coffee (LOL).

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Daniel C.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Why limit yourself to just Books?

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I think Zoho Books is on par with all the other bookkeeping software, but what is even better is how it integrates with all of the other Zoho products. I have had to integrate SFDC with ZenDesk and other solutions and what a pain! The fact that books integrate with their CRM with their Desk app is wonderful. This does everything you need from creating invoices to managing expenses and accounts. Very easy to use and full-featured. It is a definite must for small businesses that are looking for a robust affordable solution that might also need a CRM (look at zoho one).

Cons

With any bookkeeping software, there is a learning curve. Not always the easiest, but certainly worth it. Once you get all of your accounts set up you'll need to make sure you get all of your payment processes in place. Which is nice once it's ready because people can simply pay from click on an invoice. My only complaint would be how certain things don't flow as easily as I would like to start off with. But once you get it figured out it's pretty easy and will save you tons of head aches when time goes on.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Streamlining Business Operations with Zoho Books: A Game-Changer for Efficient Invoicing and Contact

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

Prior to joining this company, we relied on self-coded solutions for various tasks, including invoice generation and template design, all within our own database. This approach required significant time and effort whenever we needed to introduce new features or implement controls, even though similar solutions already existed in the market at a reasonable price.Transitioning to Zoho Books:We made the...

Cons

Initially, when we first started using Zoho Books, there was no feature available to automatically create contacts if they didn't already exist while uploading new invoices. However, I'm pleased to say that this has since been improved, and it now works flawlessly for us!

AC
AvatarImg

Ann C.

Retail,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Go-To Invoicing Software Everyone Should Have

Reviewed 9 years ago

We are a company that's 10 years in the industry. We cater a thousand orders a month and getting an invoicing software that's basically gonna do the job is essential. We've been to a couple of invoicing software but none of those were good enough to bring with us on our road to success. The last software we've got literally ruined our business for a couple of months that we decided to give it up until...

Pros

Pros: 1. Reports. We needed to track our progress down every week and what better way it is than to view our reports. Zoho allows you to get a report for Sales Person, Items and Customer. It's detailed report on overdue invoices are great for us to pound the ones that need to pay. 2. Payment Reminders. Our invoices are always set in an open account. Therefore, we need an automated system to remind our customers about their due invoices. Works great for our collection! 3. Customer Service. They are always good at getting back to you. When no one is available to answer your call, tehy are going to call you back in less than 24 hrs. Their email support is also pretty quick they wont leave you hanging.

Cons

Zoho is good about getting a constructive suggestion done. However, I wish they have an API integration with the system. Also with the Zoho Inventory along hte way, Im pretty sure they will be a perfect go-to software for our company.

MT
AvatarImg

Matt T.

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

If you have Zoho CRM This product is a must

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

This product Hooks up easily to Zoho CRM. The product works almost fluidly with the CRM. it makes it easy to see each client payment and how much we have received each month. The information the books hold really helps for some financial reports. The Reports do make my life easier kindof. Books make it easy to bill clients and it keeps all the information in one place.

Cons

The Reports as mention in my pros are missing some really good information that is already there in the system. They want me to pay for Zoho reports, but to my understanding Zoho reports, I would still need to go in and set it up. In our business every month we have to pay out our salespeople. fist I'm not able to split commissions easily or add multiple salespeople to an invoice. second, if I look...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dr. Jeethendra K.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

From free to paid subscription

Reviewed 8 months ago

Overall I liked the experience since we deal in both retail & software industry in one account itself.

Pros

The ease of using the zoho books across all the device since the data is stored in server rather than tally in which the data is stored locally in the system.

Cons

Nothing to complain as such, but you can say demo or training is necessary extensively to use the application in more productive way.

sp
AvatarImg

steve p.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

for a 1 man shop, it's a nice, inexpensive alternative

Reviewed 4 years ago

in the ~2 years i've been using the software, i've seen dramatic improvements over all (it felt very "beta" when i started, it now feels much more robust).

Pros

cost and the ability to build your own integration tools. compared to other options (unnamed here, but you know who they are), it is VERY cost efficient and effective. depending on options chosen with alternatives it costs anywhere from 25% to 75% of what The Other Guys offer. i've even been able to write some integrations with it (using some powerful and reasonably well documented REST APIs)

Cons

the interface is a bit clunky - things like matching take a bit of getting used to. banking integration only allows one sync per 24 hour period.

MH
AvatarImg

Mitch H.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Accounting Software for Small to Medium Size Businesses

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I use Zoho Books as part of my Zoho One subscription. Zoho is integral in the operation of my business. I have found these tools to be comprehensive, powerful, and relatively easy to learn and use. Zoho Books is certainly no exception. I love the automation tools and customization options. Support is also prompt and efficient.

Cons

If I wasn't part of Zoho One, I'm not sure I ever would have discovered or used Books. Though it is a great option, I'm not sure how it compares with other modern bookkeeping software. I haven't examined the market recently.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Overall Zoho Books is easy to use and works very well for a small to medium business.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

You can automate much of your purchasing and invoicing 'paperwork' process which is wasted time you can spend actually working on your business. It integrates easily with other Zoho products, QuickBooks and Google if you need it to.

Cons

While it is very easy to integrate with other zoho products like Zoho Expense it can sometimes be hard to understand how that integration is meant to work. Some best practice documentation like using Zoho Books and Zoho Expense would be great. For instance it took me a while to figure out that I needed to make sure I had chart of account line items in both. I assumed they would sync but they didn't....

JW
AvatarImg

Jaime W.

Photography, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

I have been using Zoho for years

Reviewed 7 years ago

When I first started my photography business I needed an invoicing program and I stumbled upon Zoho in my search. It had everything I wanted and was free. Here I am 6 years later still using it. Back then I only needed Zoho Invoice, but through the years I needed more organization than the invoicing program offers so I upgraded to Zoho Books. At that time I didn't realize that it wasn't truly it...

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Customer Support and the lack of detail in payments received. My bookkeeper struggles to reconcile my PayPal payments because the fees aren't identified.