App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Spark Hire Reviews

Overall rating

4.7

/5

107

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.31/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

What is great about using Spark Hire is that it is so seamless and easy to use. You can jump in and review 15 candidates in less than 30 minutes and get a feel for how these people communicate.
The support team is very responsive and helpful, and my account rep is fantastic.
The video quality was very good, as is the candidate interface, and their customer service was attentive.
The main negative I have with this is that it takes the personal interaction out of the initial interview process.
The quality of the sound can get choppy at times which can be irritating if you’re in a middle of obtaining an answer from the applicant and she needs to repeat herself.
Sometimes does't work with flash player, especially on Macs. At times it is hard for candidates to submit their videos due to this issue.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


107 reviews

Recommended

LG
AvatarImg

Lauren G.

Recruiter

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Spark Hire Improves Time to Fill

Reviewed 3 years ago

Transcript

Lauren G.: My name is Lauren. I'm a senior talent acquisition specialist. My rating for Spark Hire would...

KW
AvatarImg

Kim W.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Time Saving Tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

The results are usually good and usable, sometimes there is some compatibility issues but it is usually due to wifi issues.

Pros

We are able to do candidate evaluations at the beginning of the recruitment process to weed out unqualified candidates and identify highly regarded talent. This saves our client's time in the process by using the SparkHire videos as a first interview to view when they have time in their day.

Cons

I wish we could edit more to delete wifi glitches or shorten if needed.

Vendor response

Hi Kim, Thank you for sharing your experience using Spark Hire! We are so happy to hear that our candidate evaluations feature has been helpful in saving your clients' time! We appreciate hearing from you!

BJ
AvatarImg

Brian J.

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Not the traditional way to interview in public schools

Reviewed 3 years ago

There was a period of time when our clients were not receiving the interviews or notifications from the Spark Hire app. Our representative was very cooperative and his response times were always within a 24 hour period. He returned all of my calls and even talked to our IT people here to troubleshoot the problem. My overall experience with Spark Hire has been a wonderful experience from the beginning. We were put in a very difficult situation with the pandemic first emerged and they helped us address a huge need in our industry.

Pros

The most important part of the addition of Spark Hire to our organization is that it has given us the flexibility to offer applicants an opportunity to complete a quality interview experience during a very difficult period of time. We were able to provide our principals with an opportunity to review countless interviews in a very short period of time.

Cons

There was only one hiccup with the software, but that was corrected with a few phone calls and collaboration between Spark Hire's Helpdesk and our IT department.

Vendor response

Hi Brian, We appreciate your wonderful review about your experience using Spark Hire's video interviewing! We are happy to hear that our platform has been helpful in connecting you with candidates while in-person interviews haven't been an option. Happy hiring!

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Iryna K.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great tool , definitely a bog help!

Reviewed 5 years ago

Great!

Pros

I looove that it saves tons of my tie and actually shows me how interested the candidate is in the position. I can use tags and rating for my candidates nd filter them however I want. Always easy to come back and revisit some answers or refresh my memory about some candidates. Tech support is always responsive!

Cons

Sometimes the sftware has bugs (if the candidate has some wrong version of PC or other computer issues), but ostly it's working great1

MC
AvatarImg

Monica C.

Financial Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spark Hire review

Reviewed 2 years ago

Time saved and more applicants screed. Our service delivery to has been massively improved.

Pros

I love that this has become an essential part of our screening process, it eliminates the time spent conducting face to face interviews with candidates that are not suitable for certain roles, thus saving us time. It also speeds up the time in getting candidates in front of the hiring manager. The video is a great selling tool for us internally.

Cons

I wish that there was an avatar, this is the only thing similar providers have that Spark doesn't offer.

Vendor response

Hi Monica, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that our platform has helped save you time and that video interviews have become such an integral part of your screening process. Thank you again for sharing your experience using Spark Hire!

CH
AvatarImg

Cathy H.

Nonprofit Organization Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spark Hire-A Valuable Screening Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

I love Spark Hire and would recommend it to anyone. Their tech teams are spot-on in responding to issues with candidates, alleviating the pressure for our team to have to respond and know all the answers to the items that may come up from a candidate side.

Pros

I love that Spark Hire puts all candidates on the same playing field for an initial interview. The candidates don't have the verbal/non-verbal feedback of Zoom/phone/in-person, so the interview is much more structured than our other options later in the process.

Cons

As stated previously, some of the searching for previous candidates/interviews has become more cumbersome.

MD
AvatarImg

Marikaye D.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used other for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Significant time saved with improved candidate review process

Reviewed 7 years ago

Faster higher process. Saved time and resources. Better quality candidates moving forward through our hiring process. Able to collaborate more as a team to identify the best candidates.

Pros

As a virtual company, I love the ability to 'meet' the candidates and more strongly identify their cultural fit prior to a phone interview. Prior to using Spark Hire's one-way interviews, we spent significantly more time on phone interviews. With the one way interviews, we now can 'meet' the candidates, have questions that give us greater insight into a candidate from just their resume/cover letter, and allow the candidate to present their best self to us in a setting that's most comfortable and convenient for them. Too, we love that we can easily share the recordings with our team to have a more collaborative process.

Cons

For live interviews we involve our team, and being virtual we're not in the same location. With current system, can't currently have everyone on one live interview together.

JH
AvatarImg

JoAnna H.

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Like Hiring a Recruiting Team!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Very positive! We use Spark hire to interview participants for academic programs, so is a bit different than many other users. Instead of using an interview process to select one person for one job, we use Spark Hire to interview 100, 200 or more candidates to fill 20, 60 or 100 positions (depending on program).

Pros

Spark Hire is a great tool for increasing interview and selection efficiency. My team conducts 200-300 interviews a year, and managing all pieces of the process became very time consuming. We initially tried Sparkhire for one of our programs and had a great experience. We've now rolled out Spark hire for more than 4 programs, and it's honestly like we've expanded our team by 2-3 headcount.

Cons

There are few items that are a little confusing on the main dashboard. Setting up Spark Hire takes a bit of time, but it's not too bad!

Vendor response

Hi JoAnna, Thank you for your awesome review! We are so happy to hear that our platform has helped increase your interview and selection efficiency. Happy hiring!

LG
AvatarImg

Lauren G.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spark Hire Improves Time to Fill

Reviewed 3 years ago

We are solving the time to fill numbers and also improving the interaction from recruiter to candidate.

Pros

This product has been easy to integrate within our Applicant Tracking System. It allows us to interview faster which is helping our time to fill numbers tremendously.

Cons

I would prefer to have more customization options for communicating with candidates within Spark Hire. We have several hubs to recruit for and I need to be able to personalize the message.

Vendor response

Hi Lauren, Thank you so much for sharing your experience using Spark Hire! We appreciate you sharing how time-saving our platform has been for you and how easily it has integrated with your ATS. Happy hiring!

LD
AvatarImg

Lisa D.

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

INFUSEmedia. New approach to the hiring process

Reviewed 3 years ago

It saves a lot of time for hiring teams! I receive 99% of positive feedback from candidates. A great tool to use nowadays, when remote working is a new reality!

Pros

The platform is awesome! Easy to use, user-friendly, all the tutorials are in place!

Cons

I love the product, and no cons were spotted so far.

Vendor response

Hi Lisa, We appreciate your wonderful review about your experience using Spark Hire's video interviewing! We are so happy to hear how easy to use and time-saving you have found our platform. Happy hiring!

AH
AvatarImg

Amy H.

Insurance, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best technical support and customer service!

Reviewed 7 years ago

Cuts initial interview time in half (or more), candidate can complete at their convenience, recruiter can review at their convenience, gives a good sense of how serious the candidate is without having to schedule a formal face to face meeting. When 2 people interview over 1000 people a year, this is HUGE!

Pros

Spark Hire took a 45 min phone interview to a 10 min video interview and a 10 min phone interview (only for the videos we approved)! Cut the time in half and have a better understanding of the client - win win!

Cons

Many times our candidates don't have the internet speed for a clear connection. Sound and video quality is shaky then.

MT
AvatarImg

Meg T.

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spark Hire is a must for busy HR professionals!

Reviewed 3 years ago

When I joined the company, our [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] had heard about it from a business colleague. They showed it to me and I was sold. Implementation was easy and it has truly helped streamline our hiring process.

Pros

Spark Hire is easy to use and convenient. Candidates can answer questions in the comfort of their own surroundings and our hiring managers can easily access and rate their submissions.

Cons

I do find it difficult at times to file candidates away--the labeling and tagging of them can be a bit clunky. And I'm reaching for that as this works beautifully for us!

Vendor response

Hi Meg, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear how convenient and easy to use you have found our platform. We appreciate hearing from you!

AK
AvatarImg

Amanda K.

Facilities Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Sparkhire Review 2021

Reviewed 3 years ago

Allows a higher volume of candidates to engage in the prescreen process.

Pros

It is very user friendly as an administrator. It is easy to set up questions, walk candidates through the process and provide the shareable link with hiring managers.

Cons

When submitting directly from Sparkhire most candidates think the link for completion is spam, or it goes into their junk mail so you spend time trying to connect with these candidates.

Vendor response

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear how easy to use you have found our platform. Happy hiring!

RA
AvatarImg

Randy A.

Staffing and Recruiting, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spark Hire is an effective, user-friendly and affordable option for acquiring video applications.

Reviewed 7 years ago

Through Spark Hire I am able to more efficiently and accurately screen applicants, which bolsters the conversion rates of my candidates for my clients. This, of course, makes me look good!

Pros

What I like most about Spark Hire is that it's so easy to use both for applicants and for recruiters or HR teams. Also, I can easily customize every aspect of the entire process down to the last detail.

Cons

If Spark Hire would "self-integrate" an Applicant Tracking System or at least the very basics functions of an ATS, it would be the perfect platform. One specific example is to view a video application and being able to immediately and seamlessly send a "customizable" email template to candidates. This is because specific thoughts/ideas/suggestions come to mind that are unique to each applicant and it would be extremely efficient and productive to be able to spontaneously write to/communicate with them.

SZ
AvatarImg

Sarah Z.

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spark Hire Rocks

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, this platform is fantastic. It is part of our recruitment's team usage daily. We have had much success cutting down our interview time frame and getting quality talent in seats in a most efficient time frame.

Pros

The ease of use. You could literally not have a tutorial on how to use this product and still figure it out. It is very user friendly.

Cons

Nothing!! I am most happy with this product.

Vendor response

Hi Sarah, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear how easy to use and time-saving you have found our platform. We love having you as a customer!

CB
AvatarImg

Casey B.

Staffing and Recruiting, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spark Hire is Great!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Spark Hire has really helped make our interview process more effective and efficient. By using Spark Hire for our initial interviews, we are able to spend more time focusing on the candidates that we want to move forward with, and less time on the initial interview process. Spark Hire is also very user friendly, both on the admin side and the interviewee side. Additionally, with the video interviews stored in Spark Hire, we are able to easily share these interviews with members of our Leadership Team, allowing the team to communicate and collaborate about our candidates.

Cons

We do not have any complaints about Spark Hire!

Vendor response

Hi Casey, Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that Spark Hire has helped make your interview process more effective and efficient. We love having you as a customer!

BB
AvatarImg

Bethany B.

Human Resources, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Very Happy With Spark Hire!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Awesome overall experience! From HR to hiring Supervisors it is our favorite tool!

Pros

We appreciate the ease of Spark Hire. Also your customer service is top notch!

Cons

No Cons. All around great experience and used for every job opening that we have.

Vendor response

Hi Bethany, Thank you so much for sharing your experience using Spark Hire! We are so happy to hear how easy to use you have found our platform and that you've had a great experience. Thanks again for your feedback!

JH
AvatarImg

Jennifer H.

Food Production, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product, Great Value

Reviewed 2 years ago

Great! Regular support calls on features along with the fast Support tool for us and our candidates if we run into issues is always responsive!

Pros

The one-way videos work great to cut time on phone screens and I can share live answers with members of our team easily!

Cons

Nothing I think it works great as it, keep it simple.

Vendor response

Hi Jennifer, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear that our platform has helped you cut down on time-consuming phone screens and that you've found our platform easy to use. Thanks again for sharing your experience using Spark Hire!

JG
AvatarImg

Julie G.

Staffing and Recruiting, 10,001+ employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spark Hire

Reviewed 6 years ago

Overall, my experience with Spark Hire has been extremely positive. I appreciate its user friendly nature, prompt customer service, customization features (e.g. one minute responses vs. three minute responses).

Pros

I appreciate the having the various interview options (e.g. open) - I specifically prefer the one-way interview option.

Cons

Not being able to update the candidate's information on the backend e.g. name is mispelled or email needs to change when you open a candidate's profile.

MS
AvatarImg

Maddison S.

Retail, 1-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Our experience with Spark Hire has been so positive! We use it everyday to screen talent!

Reviewed 7 years ago

It is a huge time saver! I love being able to view our candidates ahead of time before we move forward in our hiring process!

Pros

Spark Hire provides our company with an easy way to view and vet talent interested in joining our platform. It is fairly self-explanatory and takes a huge load off of our team (if it weren't for Sparkhire we would have to do all phone or skype interviews which is highly time consuming.

Cons

From a back-end view, it is not always easy to personalize the videos--if there was a way that we could adjust the questions to be more brand specific that would be very helpful.

JR
AvatarImg

Joe R.

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SparkHire Rocks!

Reviewed 3 years ago

It has been great. I've used asynchronous interview software before and SparkHire is the top of the list.

Pros

We have saved a bundle in interview travel costs and reduced time to fill!

Cons

Hard to say.. Really no immediate drawbacks that I can see.

Vendor response

Hi Joe, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear how time and cost-saving Spark Hire has been for you! Happy hiring!

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Events Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review

Reviewed 6 years ago

Great customer service and technical support.

Pros

The ease of being able to screen candidates in large amounts for cultural fits in the company.

Cons

The inability to brand different groups internally. We can only have one company brand, but internally many of our departments function with their own unique identity.

BW
AvatarImg

Bradford W.

Telecommunications,

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use and exceptional customer service

Reviewed 9 years ago
Pros

Their customer service. Most HR technologies require me to be a go-between and try to troubleshoot tickets. If one of my candidates is having problems, Spark Hire calls them directly (yes, calls them! not emails them... such a great service!).

Cons

There is no screen sharing option. But honestly I don't even need that for 99% of the candidates I'm interviewing.

BK
AvatarImg

Burak K.

Public Policy, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used other for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A great time-saver (in the era of the pandemic)!

Reviewed 4 years ago

It helped me get more productive and efficient work-wise during the time of COVID-19.

Pros

I love that Spark Hire turns the hiring processes in the era of the pandemic into a convenient, more effective, and relatively more stress-free for everyone involved. It is a great tool for video interviewing--I highly recommend it!

Cons

I have yet to find any problems with this software. I am pretty happy with its features.

AR
AvatarImg

Amy R.

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Ames Taping Tools Review

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall, our experience with Spark Hire has been a good one.

Pros

This tool gives us the ability to see our candidates even when we can't get a face to face scheduled due to travel schedules.

Cons

We initially purchased this with the intention of doing live video interviews. The software does not allow candidates to do live video interviews from a mobile device.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Human Resources, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Spark Hire - One Way Video Interviewing

Reviewed 6 years ago

Clients enjoy 'meeting' candidates before deciding who to invite to interview. Candidates appreciate that it saves time and cost of fighting traffic and attending interviews when a video interview can save time.

Pros

The ability to schedule candidates to take one-way video interviews in their own time.

Cons

The standard email that is sent to candidates is very basic, but love that we can customize it.