ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus Reviews

ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

IT Help Desk software - Cloud and On-Premise

3.7/5 (23 reviews)
16,856     4,762

David Pollitt

Like ronseal

17/01/2017

Manage engine allows us to track tickets but on occasion, the ux seems counter intuitive, not to mention the dreaded out of office infinite loop.

Pros

Simplicity

Cons

Infinite auto response loop

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marc Ethier

Great product

12/12/2016

I thought it was a great product that was easy to use and setup. However our purse strings are just a little too tight.

Pros

easy to setup, support was quick to answer back.

Cons

too expensive for a small school board the free standalone version has no support.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

if this is in your price range, you should really take a look at it.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mark Shields

Basic Helpdesk Application

05/12/2016

Our company has been using ManageEngine plus ServiceDesk for our IT Helpdesk support system for several years now. Although this application has been reliable and used widely by our IT support team, it is limited on features and functionality. The support for the application from ManageEngine has been somewhat limited as well. If you are looking for a very basic IT support system, then ManageEngine's ServiceDesk might be a good fit. The application is just limited on what it can do and its ability to scale to fit our needs.

Pros

ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is fairly easy to implement and provides the most basic needs of an IT support application.

Cons

ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine is very limited in features and functionality. It also has a fairly complex interface that is out of date. Our company has trouble tracking IT support tickets because of this limitation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

If you need a very basic IT support system, then ServiceDesk Plus from ManageEngine might be a good fit. However, evaluate all of the features (or lack thereof) and your long-term objective before deciding on this product. This application has not changed or been updated in several years.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Greg Hodge

Decent product for the money

16/11/2016

This product was fairly easy to setup once we learned the basics. It integrates with AD well and the screens are highly customizable. It does not lend itself to customer tickets in an organization like ours with several thousand customer contacts. It is also difficult to ascertain the exact time spent on each case. Great product for the money.

Pros

Easy setup. Integrates with AD.

Cons

Support is a bit difficult to obtain but appears to be getting better.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Zia Ken

Value for Money

12/10/2016

I have been with SDP more than 5+ Years They have very good features like Incident and Change Management. End Less Custom Integrations can be done using Custom Triggers.

Pros

More advanced Features like Field and Form Rules

Cons

UI, Less API

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

UI is bit old but all your requirements will be fulfilled.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Frank  Soyer

Enterprise features and functionality

12/10/2016

Wonderful platform large and small organizations. Couple this solution with a local professional services organization that can implement your ITIL service desk that everyone will embrace. It's a win for everyone!

Pros

Expandable platform

Cons

You can implement this solution with training but why would you. Every solution is time consuming. Leave it to the professionals.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

Engage with a local IT Service Management firm to implement any solution.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
jay grast

Configuration Management done right

07/10/2016

There's alternatives in the space, but ManageEngine has been around for a long time, and provides traditional interfaces to monitoring, code review, and infrastructure management. Tie ins also with vmware and linux to support deploying new software and hardware.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rick Titsworth

MAnage engine

06/10/2016

We like that you it has purchasing and asset management. Support is slow and sometimes not very helpful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
dc kc

Tech support actually best part of the product

31/08/2016

The product itself started out really poor in the early days (3 yrs+ ago). Nowadays with the current version it's still pretty unfriendly and unintuitive compared to the competition. Their price is okay and their support while often unfriendly and hard to coax into actually assisting, has been mostly knowledgeable and capable in our experience. It does all the basics out of the box and can be programmed to do more but it still needs a lot of help in being user friendly - for technicians and end users alike.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

4/10

Recommendations to others considering ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus

before committing to buy look out for: - ease of configuration outside of basics (scripting required for some things like useful reports) - extent of configuration capability (some things we'd like just weren't possible - but are with other software) - technician to technician ticket update notifications - (advertisements built in for) upsell of functionality / additional components

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Larry Leonard

Good

29/01/2016

I am still testing

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Basil Musa

Verified Reviewer

Exactly as they advertise. Big 4's are a pain.

03/12/2015

We used ServiceDesk in the ISP (Internet Service Provider) that I worked for. We nearly lost hope in finding good helpdesk software with ITIL compliance. We even considered building a home-made application. For two years, BMC Remedy gave us a hard time from a usability and performance perspective, in addition to their highly priced customization bills. Until, one day, a decent consultant forwarded a link to ServiceDesk Plus. ServiceDesk Plus breaks the myth that 'java server applications are slow' and really shows that a high quality product with good efficiency and performance can be built using Java. It's all up to the engineers (and when it's slow, its all their fault). One thing I learned from ServiceDesk; don't blindly trust Gartner reports when searching for good software. At the time of searching, Gartner Quarterly reports listed BMC at the top with no mention whatsoever of ServiceDesk Plus. I'm not blaming Gartner for corrupt information, I'm sure they have their criteria in place, but at the end, they're humans, they have their mistakes, biases, misinformation, etc.

Pros

1. Light-weight and highly responsive. Intuitive interface. 2. Wonderful 'Solutions Knowledge Base' side feature based on articles and with an excellent search functionality. (We no longer use Media Wiki, however I'm doubtful about dropping MediaWiki). 3. The ServiceDesk API gives you unlimited abilities to automate and integrate with other applications. For example, we were able to integrate Nagios Network Monitoring tool so that a high priority alarm could automatically open a ticket on ServiceDesk Plus. 4. I admire the effort they placed on their online documention with their and searchable online you'll hardly need to contact support.

Cons

Nothing major, but would like to see improvements in the following areas: 1. Provide a visual view of all entities in the system. Virtual Machines, Routers, Physical Servers, etc. using graphing tools. 2. Provide a searchable menu. For example, if I type "LDAP Authentication" this would show me the "Domain Controllers" in the setup menu (Similar to CPanel's menu search feature). 3. More help notes & tips on 'what to do next' and on 'keyboard shortcuts'.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chris Darrow

AVOID BAIT AND SWITCH AFTER 1 YEAR

01/12/2015

They claim that ServiceDesk Plus is a free product that you only pay for the add on services and if you want support. We did not need any of the add ons and after one year with the software we did not need support once. Well our free license was expiring according to a link at the top of the servicedesk. We click on it all it does is generate a RFI from sales. Then sales contacts you a few days later. The sales person was rude and refused to renew our free license because I refused to buy any of the paid add ons or for a support license. So now in under a month I am having to rush and find a replacement for ServiceDesk Plus. We can easily afford the support that is not our issue. The issue is the bait and switch. I guess their sales vision is to trap companies into their product then refuse to renew unless they purchase services.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Eric Faulkner

I've been happily using ServiceDesk Plus for 10 years

29/07/2015

I wasn't planning to write a review but when I saw a few that complained about poor tech support I felt compelled to. My experience with ManageEngine support has been entirely positive and over a very long period of time. We started using ServiceDesk Plus because it was so inexpensive compared to other solutions with a similarly rich feature set. But I quickly decided it was far batter than its price would imply. Whenever we've had trouble they've either resolved it quickly through real-time communication with me, or they had me generate a support file that they analyzed offline. Whenever they've taken a support file from me they were attentive through the whole process and always delivered a solution. They've even written custom queries for reports I was having trouble with, all without additional payment. I was so impressed with the product and the team that I expanded our use to include many other ManageEngine products such as OpManager, PasswordManager Pro, DeviceExpert, DesktopCentral, and OpUtils.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vicky Kinney

HORRIBLE Tech Support

09/07/2015

I came to this website to look for new software possibilities and saw Service Desk listed here and thought I should share my experience. We have had an ongoing issue with Service Desk timing out with no access to sections of the Admin tab for over a year now. I can not edit any of our Tech profiles, I can not edit any Requestor profiles, I can not use all of the drop down menus within the system with out the system timing out. These are the Highlights of our issues with Service Desk. Reports are glitchy and not always accurate. Overall the system is easy to use and would great if Tech support could resolve our issues. But the fact that we have had this ongoing for over a year is ridiculous. Spend the extra money and get a better system with good tech support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
praveen kumar aatipamula

Just Awesome

31/12/2014

Hi I happen to try this product, Its just awesome, they have done a great job, their followup and service is as good as it can get, hats off. I would recommend anybody who needs service desk, they have it all. Praveen Sudheesah Smart solutions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
IIS IIS

Manage Engine Service Desk Issues

19/11/2014

Please visit the link for ManageEngine ServiceDesk Plus review. http://itsolutionsbyme.blogspot.in/2014/11/manage-engine-service-desk-issues.html Regards, IIS

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Allenage sh

Very flexible and dynamic

11/10/2014

Helpdesk plus is simply and amazing software with so many functionality and features no one can beat helpdesk

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Neaz Ahmed

Decent software with poor tech support

15/09/2014

Manageengine's capacity and options are very good. Business rules help guide tickets and automation very well. Queues for different business units is well handled as is security trimming so only certain employees can see what they are meant to. Couple of problems I have seen is its inability to automatically discard spam. This problem also crops up when an email is sent back to ticket creator from an automated system and they respond back and a chain reaction of run-away tickets start slowing the system down. Second problem is that support for this product is very poor. I have had to call tech support on two occasions and both times they were less informed about their product than I was. Support is out of India and communication barrier still exists. If I explain something, it takes 2-3 more times of explaining before it sinks in. Because of this, I have not updated my instance in over a year, and now I am building a new instance to move production, rather than upgrade the existing. I would not recommend this product unless you have basic needs and have a very strong internal IT resource who will not need to call support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Saleh Barakat

One of the BEST

11/09/2014

Full integrated Help Desk solution with remote support capabilities and assets inventory "Require additional license"

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Worthen

Smart and easy solution

17/11/2011

This is a web based IT management software which helps you to manage your IT effectively. I use it to track different software licenses, the software shows you as well the number of times that one software has been installed. The tool gives you enough flexibility to choose the deployment model that fits to your business needs. Very positive is that ManageEngine is completely customizable and easy to implement, no add-ons are needed.

Pros

Very flexible and easy to implement

Cons

The standard version is good enough for SMBs, for larger enterprises you need the professional or enterprise edition

Source: GetApp
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Juan Molas

Verified Reviewer

13/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: GetApp
Read more
sivasankaran Murugaiyan

Verified Reviewer

01/03/2017

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Read more
Vladimir Radulovic

Verified Reviewer

08/03/2016

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Read more