ERPNext Reviews

ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

4.64/5 (61 reviews)

Martin Seibert

The best choice for teams that have some technical knowledge in house

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-07-28
Review Source: Software Advice

The community is vibrant and fast. There are telegram messenger groups for live communication. There is a super active forum platform. And there is a structured and well maintained github project. If you want to be part of this community, it's easy to get rolling.

Pros
The extensibility and flexibility of ERPNext is unrivaled. Every field you create becomes instantly available as an API point in the powerful interface of the ERP software. All relevant core features of an ERP system are mature and help you learn to do it the right way as a company. The team is rigid and consequent in making sure, that this streamlined process of creating opportunities, quotations, sales orders and sales invoices is kept intact which is very healthy and keeps customizations sane.

Cons
ERPNext is not yet easy and straight forward to use. If you have no idea of ERP software and you have no technical skills at all this is not for you. I would love to see the team focus more on the UX of the interface and the ease of use for new and very occasional users. The software feels like it's really made for experts and daily users. That said, we have compared ERPNext with Salesforce and SAP and the open source solution really shines in comparison. But having all the ERP world suck at UX does not mean that this is an unsolvable problem. Also the documentation of ERPNext is not job or use case driven and very technical at times. We have started to try to help this. But it's easy to ask and not so easy to deliver. Work in progress ...

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Tyag Krishnamurthy

ERP Next - open source on AWS

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-11-27
Review Source: Capterra

Excellent for small businesses with limited resources. Probably good for medium sized businesses as well as there are several mid sized companies (< 10 million t/o) also using this as figured out through the forum. There is a very active forum and a very good team of active developers. Would recommend the product purely on its stable functionality, ease of use and comprehensiveness.

Pros
Very very low cost if you can implement and host it yourself. We have hosted it on AWS and for the price of just the AWS infrastructure you have a world class system at your beck and call. We have been using it for the last 2 years and run our small company (20 people) on this system for everything from purchase-to-pay, order-to-cash, accounting, payroll and HR, inventory etc. It is also available as SaaS for a very reasonable price/seat. The system is comprehensive and very thoughtfully designed and actively developed. It addresses country specific requirements for the most part (please check for your country).

Cons
The upgrades are a bit difficult for someone who is non technical. New feature requests usually are addressed but needs external funding/support as it is open system and developed by the community. Best way to use it after evaluating if viable for your business (by trying the 30 day trial on the cloud) is probably as SaaS.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Revant Nandgaonkar

Made for resourceful entrepreneurs of any scale!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-04-09
Review Source: Software Advice

Very active community, any feature you need can be requested on github issues and as per the importance and other priorities your issue/feature request will make it to core product eventually. Whole community, core team, service providers and ERPNext Open Source Software Foundation, India are aligned to resolve issues / requests posted on github.

Pros
Free and Open Source Foundation and Community backed ERP Easy Web UI Actively developed. Quick release cycles (follows semantic versioning) Extendable Allows connection with micro-services, acts as OAuth 2.0 Authorization server and resource server. Making it easy to connect devices, apps and gadgets to your Frappe / ERPNext server

Cons
No proprietary dependencies can be put into core product. Not suitable for anti-free software companies. Rolling release, No LTS. Not suitable for organisations that cannot adapt to regularly updated ERP system. e.g Some organizations still need FoxPro based systems, not suitable for such organizations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Dhananjay Palshikar

Well designed, easy to use ERP and surprisingly easy to customize

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-11-13
Review Source: Capterra

Better purchase, inventory and production management. Better interoperability between different departments- Sales, Accounts and Production. More importantly better adherence standard BOMs.

Pros
- Based on the Frappe framework, it makes it easily customizable - Neat and responsive UI - Great for manufacturing with Multilevel BOMs, managing multiple production departments - No vendor lock in. The software 100% open-source. It provides great security to small scale businesses. - Community driven and transparent approach to development

Cons
ERPNext user manuals should cover more number of use-cases. They typically cover the standard use-case. Compared to products like Tally or SAP awareness of ERPNext in India is still low, end-user confidence and acceptance has to be essentially be established with trials.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Donna Roley

ERPNext

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-03-27
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using ERPNext in my business very effectively to track inventory (and serial numbers) across multiple warehouses. I appreciate the ability to repack and to maintain delivery and installation information.

Pros
The Team is constantly improving this software and listening to their user base. I can almost always find an answer to my questions in the community forums. I look forward to new features.

Cons
Some functions are designed to address specific needs in foreign countries. It isn't always obvious how to adapt a function to meet your own criteria. Some features are lacking, especially if you are accustomed to batch processing.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Pradeep Rathi

Probably most powerful software ever made

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-06-16
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
- Extremely flexible engine. You can define any process in the world without knowing any programming. My team which has implemented this does not know programming at all. We were able to manage entire implementation only through customisations. - Doctype concept they have used is extremely powerful and flexible. - Quite a detailed documentation with ample videos and webinars (also available on youtube). - Extremely strong accounting background. - Same can be used for as many user roles you want. Can be used by start-ups as well large organisations.

Cons
- Bank integration missing - Scope for improvement on CRM like Zoho. Though existing CRM data management is very strong.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Roodesh Ramsurrun

Fast setup, catering for all standard business needs and ready to use from day one!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-09-22
Review Source: Software Advice

Great ERP software for small and medium businesses which cater for quite a number of business processes. Support should be more readily available rather than 'pushing' customers towards blogs for help in sorting out issues and/or understanding them.

Pros
Ease of setup and intuitive navigation through the system. Most standard business processes are already catered for. Changes in look and feel, including overall business template setup relatively easy to set up. Available help through manual and videos are very helpful.

Cons
Hard to trace back minor glitches/bugs. Support not really catering for these small issues, which sometimes take time to understand the cause. Support often not very friendly in explaining the issue/bug but still rectify them.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Andrew Togniolo

ERPNext: Competitive Advantage package for a Small Business

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-10
Review Source: Capterra

ERPNext helps a small organisation like ours to grow without the typical limitations. With this comprehensive package everybody internally and externally can interact and add information to allow better communication, reporting and supervision. Data is live and helps avoiding to duplicate, triplicate, same information into different documents. Moreover, it can be customised to suit your best practices, policies and procedures. We have been using ERPNext for more than two years and not willing to go back to the old way!

Pros
Easy to use, open source

Cons
Some functionalities are not ready yet, but with the community support, contributions will fill the gap quickly

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Abdulla P I

A Great and true Opensource ERP Application

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-04-26
Review Source: GetApp

ERPNext is the great and true opensource,community-driven ERP App out there.It includes the maximum possible modules in a traditional ERP App and had a huge options to customize it with minimal effect.

Pros
A great product, we have used for 1 years without almost any down time. The software has progressed through that time to its now broad spectrum suitable for almost any small to medium size. I recommend this product without reservation.

Cons
Little bit tough to learn,when we need complex customization. Perfect ERP system for smaller companies at a very competitive price. Free up to one users. Has all functionality needed by smaller companies. Easy to use. Perfect

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Sammish Thundiyil

This is best choice your are passionate in IT

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-07
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
The community is very active. software is easy to manage at the end user level and administrator level. they are fixing issues quick. However, this is 100% Open-source rocking with Ubuntu Server.

Cons
1. ERPNext providing a chance to IT passionate peoples to become their carrier in ERP Industry. 2. ERPNext Providing small, medium companies become their business more intelligence. 3. ERPNext is breaking "closed" platform ERP industry common concept. 4. I love ERPNext because of ERPNext for me.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Narciso Nunez

The best ERP for small and medium size companies

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-24
Review Source: Software Advice

In overall, ERPNext is an amazing product, I use it every day and I feel so good with the platform

Pros
Open Source Easy to use A lot of modules available inside the platform such as Education, Non Profit, Agriculture, etc Growing community Active forum to discuss any issue

Cons
As an active Open Source project a lot of times We face a lot of features requirements that are not so great to have in our system. Also, the permission system is a little bit complicated

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Narciso Nunez

ERPNext great experience

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-04-26
Review Source: Software Advice

This is one of my favorites products and i recommend it 100%

Pros
- The easy way of use. ERPNext is a great product that is really easy to use for all users. - How easy is to modify/expand its functionality with custom apps or directly in the core. - We have a great community always helping with any question. - Always evolving

Cons
- Still having some little issues sometimes but the great part is that the community who will help us with all of this.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Vinay Kumar C

Robust ERP

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-05-28
Review Source: Capterra

With ERPNext we have a good HRMS and an employee intranet portal. Our large scale accounting system is powered by ERPNext. ERPNext coupled with frappe framework has offloaded a lot of our time and effort that would have gone into building such a system from scratch and helped us focus on our core business challenges.

Pros
Most of the business requirements available out of the box. Ease of configuration to suit business needs.

Cons
Upgrade issues with customized versions.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Massimiliano Corvino

Best Open Source ERP

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-09-06
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Opensource: today is a must for an ERP Web-based: the only way to be used by everyone, everywhere Solid: even if it is a rather new software, it has already reached a good level of stability Big community: look on github

Cons
Too fast updating: Unfortunately, an ERP is a complex system and its most important capacity is to be able to adapt to different scenarios (each company has its own characteristics). AGILE and open source development pay the price of continuous updates that must be managed carefully, especially if you made low-level customizations.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Anonymous

A complete Business process solution an SME or Startup can imagine.

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-03-20
Review Source: Capterra

Its give me a freedom to take this wonderful product to any segment of client right from early-stage startup to Growing SME.

Pros
The Ease of use, compared to typical ERP's available in the market, ERPNext is quite a user friendly with less complex forms which are almost similar looking in all modules

Cons
some Features like Data import tool lacks clarity so far,, being open source ERP certainly it has a way to go in terms of documentation and ecosystem of service providers in market in terms of options available.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Robert Becht

Does all I need, brilliant support, very fast development track continuously improving all aspect of software, open source,

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-04-26
Review Source: Software Advice

Just give it a shot, this software will make it and become a known name in ERP ecosystem

Pros
Capabilities, flexibility, open source and pricing, very active community, very good support, very modern and user friendly interface

Cons
no link to bank statements yet, POS functionality can still be improved, documentation is not strongest but quickly catching up

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Polite Chinwike

ERPNEXT is a very good open source erp system

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-06
Review Source: Software Advice

ERPNEXT is good but slows down a lot when running locally on a window device

Pros
The reporting system, virtually any report can be generated, it's user-friendly and gives you full control of the software

Cons
The software slows down most times, the offline sysnchronization time is slow, and also its still lacks a lot of features

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Riyas Rawther

Wow... the best ERP system available

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-12-19
Review Source: Capterra

I am using this software after reviewing Dynamics Nav, Oracle etc. Even though we can spend 250K AED for this project non of them could helped me to do field sales from a mobile or tablet. I am using it for managing 10 van sales in UAE. I am tracking over 10 warehouses with serial number tracking.

Pros
Open-source, Custom Script, inventory, serial number tracking, email alert, Custom fields, reporting, sales, purchase, web view, mobile application, history of every transactions, easy to setup, growing community

Cons
Need more community members to provide sample scripts like stackoverflow. Now on the community very few people are posting how they solved their issue.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Anonymous

The Best ERP for small and mid sized companies

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-16
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Backed by an excellent community and foundation. Truly open source. Ease of Use. Most economical ERP. Easy to customise.

Cons
Few features are missing. Documentation can be further improved - specially the documentation of frappe framework on which ERPNext is built.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

AUbdullah Munim

Awesome ERP

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-02-27
Review Source: Capterra

Very much user friendly and easily customizable ERP solution i have ever seen. Really appreciable.

Pros
Very much user friendly and easily customizable ERP solution i have ever seen. Really appreciable. Easy to setup in linux and easy to operate, Multilingual, multi tenant and nice UI. Very helpful doctype

Cons
Young in ERP industries, That's why lack of feature, as their feature adding trend is high, they don't need much time to be robust in feature.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Anonymous

Best Open Source ERP application

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-12-23
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Flexibility with modern design The application is improving rapidly and feature list growing quickly to cover even non traditional genres such as Agriculture, Education and medical practice s such as hospitals. The scope is really that wide.

Cons
It's improving but there needs to be more work from the community in terms of coding to support Frappe with new features and improving existing ones

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Deepak Gupta

No Nonsense ERP

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-11-01
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
Ease of use and codeless customization Easy report builder Value for money Good look and feel Works well on any device

Cons
Complex Setup for Roles and Permission Management Needs a knowledgeable in house resource for a good implementation

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Anonymous

Review

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-07-25
Review Source: Capterra

Get your work organized in a cost effective way

Pros
This software has a search field which is so powerful in assisting the user to get to the setting he or she wants simply by typing it

Cons
New to the market so many companies don't trust it fully.

Response from Frappe Technologies


Thank you for the honest review! As for the trust factor, we are slowly but surely getting there. Frappe Technology, as an OEM for ERPNext, is working with Enterprises to create high value and build a stronger brand which users can identify with.

As for the product itself, it is now close to 10 years old (Frappe just celebrated its 11th anniversary) and now has a visible presence in the market as a cost-effective ERP solution especially when compared to giants like SAP, Oracle, and Dynamics.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Mike Duncombe

Easy to implement, easy to use

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-04-27
Review Source: Software Advice

We are a small software and service company and only wanted software to support the main business flow: quotation, order, project, invoice and found ERPNext could easily be customised to meet our needs almost exactly with judicious use of workflow customisation and form customisation. Also added a few custom fields and scheduled reports. We managed to do this without prior knowledge of HTML, Jinja or SQL - just using the resources of Dr. Google and the ERPNext documentation and some support calls. It's cheap enough to just use it for this purpose and ignore the rest, but I will implement the HR part and Time Sheeting as well to consolidate management activities that are currently done on spreadsheets.

Pros
Easy workflow customisation, implement web version with low technical skill, easy screen and form customisation, cheap enough to use just the features you want and ignore the rest, support is responsive

Cons
Use of HTML for to format printed documents is awkward (difficult to format to include in MS-Word etc), documentation is not great

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web

Steven Brown

ERPNext & last

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-03-07
Review Source: GetApp

A great product, we have used for 4 years without almost any down time. The software has progressed through that time to its now broad spectrum suitable for almost any small to medium size. I recommend this product without reservation.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


ERPNext

Open Source ERP Built For The Web