This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Planview Clarizen Reviews

Reviews summary

Overall rating

4.2

169

5

4

3

2

1

78

74

11

3

3

90%
positive reviews
96%
would recommend this app
How would you rate Planview Clarizen?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Pros

Ability to use for multiple solutions in addition to Agile Project Management. I've been in the business for over 30 years and Clarizen Customer Care in the best I've experienced in a very long time.

KJ

Kevin J.

All of the people we've dealt with are likable and eager to help...just not on our terms, which is the place they could improve the most.

JH

Jeff H.

Clarizen is a great product with fantastic support. Their webinars are great examples of how to do things right, they have Q&A sessions that anyone can join and get all of your questions answers.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Cons

Can be a pain in the ass to configure when the application need to so specific for your organization.

YB

Yari B.

The fact that there are so many features also has a downside.

MS

Maria S.

Our biggest struggle comes with the idea that a PSA should be a three legged stool (projects/task management, time tracking/resource management, and project financial management).

GS

Garret S.

Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


169 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

Robust project management system

Reviewed 4 months ago

Transcript

Jimmy: Hi. My name is Jimmy and I'm a controller. I would like to give Planview Clarizen a four out of...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Clarizen - Work and Project Management

Reviewed 10 years ago

The best project management solution for team work! Clarizen's cloud based SaaS software is easy to use, without needing any technical support. It is the best choice for Project Managers who run multiple projects and/or have a team of people working from different locations. Real time visibility means everyone can see exactly what the team is working on, ensuring that time and resources are not...

Pros

Progress reports and reviews with real time data. Easy collaboration and communication between team members. Great online support team and webinars. Easy to track budget, time and resources from the same home page.

Cons

Clarizen's features mean that if you have a small, simple project that only needs a team of 2 or 3, Clarizen is probably too powerful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A Powerful Suite Backed By an Excellent Team

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The system allows you to create a project that is as complex or as simple as you desire. They have the capability for very complex projects.

Cons

Support for custom project hierarchies based on users or their groups. This would allow separate business units to see project categories without seeing the projects within those categories.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Highly Customizable SaaS Tool with Great Overall Value

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Clarizen (V6) is likely the most configurable SaaS tool available in the PPM world. The ability to customize fields and workflows to support unique processes is a major selling point of the tool. The new native mobile app is great. Customer support, access to training and, professional services are all excellent.

Cons

Out of the box, the tool can be a little overwhelming, with few preconfigured workflow options (cases, etc.). Because the tool has an extremely robust configuration/customization engine, there is/are some functionality/utilities that require customization (and thus more custom fields/actions) that most would probably expect to be available out of the box. The weakest point is the interactive Gantt chart, which has very limited configuration options.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A very complete project management SaaS platform

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

It is a very complete and flexible solution, and you can rather easy integrate it with other Saas platforms. The combination of its features and integration with sales related data gives you a very good real-time control over your projects and costs, resources, margins...

Cons

Learning curve - for junior people, it is a very complete platform and people tend to get overwhelmed by features.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best management tool with coolaborative options

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Great new social media and project management collaboration tools with V6. Creating and saving templates is much more intuitive in this new release.

Cons

It doesn't play well with IE; processing time is way too long. There is a substantial delay when working in IE with the application.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Excellent Value for money and user friendly staff

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very good value for money and excellent product for medium to small enterprises

Pros

Easy to configure and easy to use product. Staff can be trained quickly and product can be launched in short timeframes.

Cons

Interfaces development that is not standard take too long. So might need work around some times as required.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Yet to find a better work and project management app

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

It is the most complete and flexible solution I've used that allows me to collaborate with the teams and to get their progress updates. Multi-location, multi-team, multi-currency and timezone. Cost, price and profitability are clear. Run it agile or waterfall or both. Portfolio views, loads of integrations and loads of apps...

Cons

My only gripe is not being able to pay in Australian dollars...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Very useful for getting everyone onto "one source of the truth"

Reviewed 5 years ago

Biggest benefit is "one source of truth".

Pros

The ease of use that comes from being a SaaS solution has been the strongest feature. In addition, because it is web-based, some of the configuration can be done using CSS, which does not take a lot of programmatic experience to implement.

Cons

As a PPM, there are still gaps (as of this writing) in some basic PPM functionality. The most glaring to me is the lack of Capacity Planning functionality. It can handle Resource Allocation, and Resource Loading, but if you are looking for a way to forecast out what your expected capacity for future work is, you can only do it through heavy configuration. As for configuration, it has pros and cons,...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great for time tracking and expense reports

Reviewed 3 years ago

We've used Clarizen for 10+ years and it is easy to create and manage projects for time tracking to better understand where our hours are spent, as well as for client billing. We also use it for Expense reports, which is nice to be able to do it all within one platform.

Pros

Super easy to track and submit hours, including setting up as many projects as necessary.

Cons

Certain reports are only available to certain licenses, not allowing basic licenses to see things like time tracking reports for project management or PTO.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best workplace tool with good communication features

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

it offers a very good platform to discuss specific tasks or projects between the project team and do resource allocation.

Cons

The interface was hard to navigate (e.g., you'd have to click multiple times to get to some of the screens you needed to use most).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

It is a Manager's Choice which enables seamless social integration

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I just love the tool because of its social media integration capability, the realistic information which the software provides is just awesome.

Cons

I wish if the prices become reasonable and they were supposed to be not just a project management toold.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Wrap Clarizen Around Your Organizations Requirements!

Reviewed 7 years ago

I have had the pleasure of seeing Clarizen implemented in many different ways by many different organizations. I attended an event where we received presentations from a few organizations and I WAS blown away at the vast differences in implementations. Clarizen is not a one size fits all. Clarizen is a "How can we fit you" company. There is one key question to ask during a selection process. What are...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great PM tool if set up correctly

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

- so many features/functionality - lots of ways to customize PM workflows - all the options needed for managing waterfall projects and some agile

Cons

- could use more work on agile features and especially the kanban board

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

All in one place

Reviewed 8 years ago

Clarizen brings all of our previously disparate levers and knobs into one package. Since deploying, they have constantly upgraded and innovated to allow for more capability and smoother operation. The API has proven strong for us, and the customization means we can use it exactly how we like. Mobile and Outlook integration have proven valuable as well. We can present our users with multiple ways to use the technology so that they can pick the method they feel most comfortable with. My remark to our VP: "We're going to put success right out in front of you, where you can grab it." Our support has been excellent. Multiple people from Clarizen have supported us not only through the transition and rollout, but well beyond. When I need support, I get it, fast.

Pros

Vast behind-the-scenes tech support just about any environment, from micro to huge. You can use it how you want, you don't have to adopt a philosophy for your processes unless you want to do so. The best software support I get.

Cons

Reports and Templates, while great to have, need an interface overhaul and greater capability. Visualization of data could be better.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Clarizen 5.4 review

Reviewed 10 years ago

Clarizen brings peace of mind in a fast paced environment - we create multimedia animations - and makes sure everyone can focus on their key competences. Since we use Clarizen, we feel we have more control over our business, margins, reporting and overall customer success. Using Clarizen and customizing it is straightforward, for project managers using common tools (MS Project), Clarizen is a very easy to understand and use solution. The most important thing that impressed me is the proximity of the Clarizen team. They are quick with to the point answers, very accessible and open to listen to your challenges.

Pros

Clarizen gives you all ins and outs of project management and goes way beyond. If you go the extra mile and link it to SalesForce.com, you get so much more customer insight - relevant data is shared amongst your entire company to every department.

Cons

Getting more reports out of Clarizen is a bit of a struggle if you want to step beyond the standard offering. It requires some tinckering with an Excel plugin, which does the job - frankly. That is a point of improvement Clarizen is very aware of.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Clarizen as a PMO tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall a positive experience.

Pros

We use Clarizen for Task creation, Task execution , status tracking and reporting. We use this for customer case management especially when it is escalated. Great tool overall.

Cons

While this is a friendly tool, JIRA / Service now is much better with respect to issue tracking. Clarizen could improve there.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Project Management Tool!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Innovation. Clarizen seems to be not content with it's product and continues to innovate new features that we take advantage of. We have also brought a lot of custom scenarios to them that they have been able to develop and implement with our company.

Cons

Tough to get a lot of time with your personal account manager after implementation. I know there is is of course never enough time but yo always want more.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Good tool to manage tasks and projects.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

I like how easy it is to manage projects, tasks, and the effects of their inter-dependencies. You can also create project templates for the very intricate recurring projects.

Cons

There could be more customization/flexibility, similar to what Salesforce provides for their products.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Flexible yet Easy to Use

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Clarizen has an immediate ease of use due to its familiar user interface. If you've used popular social media sites you'll easily be able to start using Clarizen right away. I love that we can customize and extend the features with workflows, validations and automations.

Cons

Clarizen is not the cheapest solution out there - but you really pay for what you get. We've tried other products, including cloud based PPM systems and did not like them as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Greatly enhanced our internal communication

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

We have many workers that are remote and live across the country. Clarizen has help connect us on project so much you wouldn’t know we are not all in the same office.

Cons

We’re able to manage workflows in the solution really well, however integrating external application workflows is difficult and can be challenging.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Clarizen is a very robust, yet collaborative PM software. I've enjoyed the level of support too!

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Functionality, intuitiveness, collaboration tools, the configuration settings aren't too hard to use, and I like how it integrates with Salesforce

Cons

I wish the exported Excel files could include the charts/graphs that are created in reports. It has this capability with PDFs, but so far I haven't seen anything for Excel.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Project management at its best

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Cloud based Project management software that includes workflow automation. These features make this software one of the best we have used so far.

Cons

This software helps to open communication in our office and to know exactly where we are with a project and who we are waiting on to move to the enxt step.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Super flexible software

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

The software has such awesome flexibility, the support network and groups are also fantastic! Product releases are often and fantastic, they listen to their customer base.

Cons

Having so much flexibility and options can be confusing to users. Often a filter is set and forgotten about then the wrong information is displayed. Don't minimize user training and retraining when using the software

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Clearly Clarizen

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

It is very each to enter time in for each individual project you are working on. With the ability to track and report time.

Cons

It is not easy to track the time of other people currently working on the same projects to ensure they don't go over their hours.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easiest Project Management Tool Ever!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Vendor Engagement and assistance is excellent. The product is easy to manage as a system administrator and use as a project Manager.

Cons

in regards to the configuration setup by admins; the product does not offer system level reporting on how made what changes in the tool.