Clarizen Reviews

Clarizen Reviews

Clarizen

Enterprise Project Management Solution

4.31/5 (107 reviews)
3,371     2,454

JIM NGUYEN

Verified Reviewer

Serious Project Management tool

27/09/2016

Clarizen offers a range of tools for your project management needs and especially for the value, it proves to be one of the top products on the market.

Pros

Works well with Salesforce.com by providing additional helpful information

Cons

Requires a lot of training and time to adapt for non-techsavy staff

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Product Configurator (Automotive company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Intuitive, Flexible, yet Powerful

05/02/2016

Clarizen is a great solution, which is proving to be an invaluable tool within our business. Despite having some very strictly defined processes that Clarizen were required to include, all of these were developed efficiently in full collaboration, even ensuring that developments were future proofed to ensure continued use with no requirement to pay out for additional development. The layout and ‘look and feel’ is crisp and clean while virtually everything on the page can be configured to ensure that it best fits the user’s requirements. Before implementing Clarizen it was difficult to get true visibility of how the portfolio of projects sat, where potential conflict of resourcing would occur. With the powerful calendar and resource tools that come as standard in Clarizen it has become easy to see these potential issues earlier, allowing for a more planned response which ultimately benefits our customers and strengthens our brand.

Pros

Flexible and easy to use. Social interaction, with in-context discussion panels for all projects and tasks. Easy monitoring of time submissions. Great (and expanding) set of modules (Apps) that can be deployed to further enhance the solution.

Cons

Reporting tools are still lacking, but this is actively being addressed with regular updates and improvements released.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mohannad Amr

Verified Reviewer

Serious and Specialized System

26/01/2016

Clarizen is not a generic light tool for simply task scheduling and contact management. It is a serious project management software done by project managers for project managers.

Pros

It profoundly covers all aspects of project management, very customisable, with advanced reporting and custom fields.

Cons

There is always a room for improvement, Clarizen is relatively a new product that needs to build an ecosystem around it. That includes more integrations with other cloud services, 3rd party products in its marketPlace, and faster customer support.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sean Fuller

Verified Reviewer

A mostly positive experience.

21/01/2016

We are implementing Clarizen as a project management tool for the entire organization but starting in the Information Technology and Performance Improvement departments. Our goal is to capture all project requests and projects in one place for review, approval, management, and reporting. Clarizen has mostly met our expectations so far. Most of the items that have not met our expectations are minor. We are still early in our implementation so there are still lessons to learn in our journey.

Pros

1. Unlimited email-only users. Resources that infrequently or rarely work on projects can report progress via email without consuming an expensive license. 2. Email and/or API integration with work order systems. Clarizen doesn't charge an expensive license to integrate it with other systems. 3. A modern-looking user interface with an emphasis on social media-like collaboration. 4. Lots of options for charts and graphs for reporting. 5. Can import spreadsheets and MS Project workplans. 6. Lots of training and support webinars every week. 7. Pre-recorded online training via the Clarizen University.

Cons

1. Support seems slow to respond to support requests. 2. There is currently a bug they haven't fixed yet that requires you to keep resetting column widths in reports and dashboards. They don't stick. 3. Their online self-help knowledge base seems new and thin. 4. They don't have a feature I used in other project management software to identify the last (most recent) note, comment, etc. on an item. This can be worked around via user training or some custom workflow programming but it would be nice if they built it in as others have.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Edmundo Morales

Verified Reviewer

Excellent Project Management application

23/12/2015

A web -based tool that allows so easy and orderly management of all projects within the organization , allowing making management decisions is more accurate

Pros

Allows the incorporation of flow charts adapted working processes of the organization

Cons

Compared with other similar tools, the implementation cost is a bit high .

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pracha Chuacharoensiri

Verified Reviewer

Success in Practice

06/11/2015

I have used this application for around 3 months. WoW is here. I can analyze data I have on Live. The organization I work for have decent projects in the portfolio and we spent too much time talking something that we can actually find directly on Clarizen. Right now, data is here, it saves lots of my time and also my colleagues. I love the People module which allows me to do resource balancing and Dashboard module as well. There are more great things in this App.

Pros

- Live, everyone sees the same data set. - Be able to share reports/dashboards outside the Clarizen

Cons

- Sometimes the system shows slow responses when I send requests/comments.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeffrey Driscoll

Verified Reviewer

Clarizen's deep set of tools

30/10/2015

We've used Clarizen for a few years now, and it's made a huge difference. I came in with project management experience, but many of our managers were just winging it. We moved from a simple time-tracking application to Clarizen's full fledged Project Management. That was a bigger step than most were ready for, but it's come into its own. We have visibility to things we didn't have before, and can make data-driven decisions instead of gut-feeling our way along. I've been able to prove that instinct was not the correct choice in many cases. Clarizen won't tell you what to do, but whatever you want to do, you can probably do it with Clarizen. Other packages I've used gave you a methodology with their software, but Clarizen is flexible, nimble, and robust.

Pros

-Lots of customization -SQL-like API calls -Detailed data -Does what it says on the tin

Cons

-Lack of a canned process for organizations that don't know where to start -I wish it was cheaper :)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
UX Designer (Computer Software company, 51-200 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Trainwreck

14/10/2015

Yes it is project management but the way licensing works along with a lack of customization (I just want to see the tasks I am assigned) make this tool the most convoluted and stressful part of my job. Why can't I receive an email when I have a new task? I can't pin open the sidebar navigation so i am constantly opening it to figure out what I need to go to. Document management is atrocious.

Pros

it says it is capable of doing many thing

Cons

It doesn't do any of them well

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
0 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kent Hahn

Verified Reviewer

Clarizen Ease of Use

28/08/2015

We use it to manage time and project data for our services and support businesses. Mostly for time and task tracking but also model our finances.

Pros

Flexibility and ease of use especially in terms of mass editing. Easy to deploy and get going.

Cons

Financial tracking vs specified monthly targets.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Peter Koch

Verified Reviewer

Clarizen: Perpetual Motion Towards Great

22/08/2015

I started using Clarizen 18 months ago to manage multiple complex projects and to corral a pool of shared resources. Out of the gate, Clarion performed well. But what I am most impressed with is the perpetual evolution towards great. Updates are delivered on a regular basis and deliver meaningful improvements.

Pros

At its core, Clarion is a strong project portfolio management tool. The social media element is seamlessly incorporated and has added a valuable dimension to project management. The resource management component is strong and just got stronger with the Summer '15 update. And, most important, Clarizen provides a high-availability SaaS platform. They haven't left me hanging.

Cons

I am still waiting for a mechanism to assign multiple managers to a task. Our projects span multiple shifts. I need a mechanism to allow all shift supervisors to adjust tasks and sub-tasks as needed. The pricing model could be improved. The number of customizations are limited in all except the Enterprise package. We use all three customizations in our package and, at times, turn some off so we can turn others on. Surely a better balance can be reached.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brian Bihl

Verified Reviewer

Clarizen a great Project Management Tool

18/08/2015

My team has used Clarizen for a little over a year now. I cannot say enough good things on how well it has done for my team and organizing the implementations of our Software. My team from an employee level up to management are able to use Clarizen to run their individual days and teams. We implement time and attendance software for clients and use Clarizen to organize our Projects with our specific timelines that we have. Clarizen makes it easy for employees to know exactly where they are at with all of their clients and allows management to easily track the progress of their teams.

Pros

Customization. I cannot say enough on how exceptional the Clarizen technical team is with taking our needs and making them happen in the system. One specific example is I formulated a scoring system for incoming clients that based upon how they were going to use our system would be given a "complexity" score so that I could assign higher level clients to my best employees and lower level clients to my lesser experienced employees. Clarizen took my request that I submitted and within a month had the entire scoring system automated and up and running giving me a fantastic tool to use daily.

Cons

Pricing. Clarizen needs to be able to add options on as fixed costs instead of raising the overall monthly rate. My team doesn't use every aspect of the program so when I need more of just one option in the system I shouldn't have to pay for a higher level across the board with more of all their options when I need just one. I am hoping that can change in the future to meet individual client needs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sean Woods, PMP

Verified Reviewer

Clarizen is a great tool for our PMO

13/08/2015

Clarizen is a versatile an flexible offering that one will not regret implementing into their organization. I often say to people that ask what the best part of Clarizen is that "Clarizen wraps around your business processes rather than force you to bend them around it". This has got to be the most important consideration in my opinion. There are many great features of Clarizen, the API, interact, social collaboration and much more. I would suggest to anyone looking for a new software tool or replacing an existing to get on the free trial, speak with a Success Manager at Clarizen and really give it a good test drive.

Pros

Flexible, API, Interact, Social Collaboration and easy customization.

Cons

There are not many and I should point out here that Clarizen is actively enhancing this product and very receptive to their clients issues and recommendations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Area Manager, Services - Pacific Region (Computer Software company, 201-500 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Great product - Fantastic support!

12/08/2015

Clarizen is a great product with fantastic support. Their webinars are great examples of how to do things right, they have Q&A sessions that anyone can join and get all of your questions answers. Keep up the great work gang.

Pros

Great support and webinars, fantastic innovation in the product.

Cons

So many features can make it hard to use for a none technical person.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Claire Schneeberger

Verified Reviewer

Overkill

14/01/2015

while clarizen’s feature looks great from the outside, our experience is that they the product is convoluted and we did not get effective support or responsiveness to our support requests in a timely or complete way. For us the time and money invested in clarizen has not paid off. buyer beware.

Pros

The platform can do anything.

Cons

it takes a huge time investment to set up processes that fit our use cases. customer support was limited in their ability to respond to our requests.

Source: GetApp
8 of 10 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from Clarizen


We appreciate your feedback and look forward to meeting with you to ascertain your needs. Please watch for a meeting request from your customer success manager. Clarizen holds customer success as a top priority.

Read more
Tony Laban

Verified Reviewer

Clarizen Does it All

16/09/2014

Clarizen is an intuitive, easy to learn and professional cloud based project management application that will improve the effectiveness of any organization. You can use it on your computer, tablet or smartphone and gives you everything you need to create and monitor a project. It also tracks staff timesheets, project budgets, resource allocation, Gantt charts, roll ups project progress reports and integration to Salesforce as well. They have thought of just about everything, their support and training is stellar and their people are always there to help and support their clients. You can't do better than Clarizen!

Pros

Feature rich, easy to learn, mutli platform, great UI and reporting.

Cons

None

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Driscoll

All in one place

05/02/2014

Clarizen brings all of our previously disparate levers and knobs into one package. Since deploying, they have constantly upgraded and innovated to allow for more capability and smoother operation. The API has proven strong for us, and the customization means we can use it exactly how we like. Mobile and Outlook integration have proven valuable as well. We can present our users with multiple ways to use the technology so that they can pick the method they feel most comfortable with. My remark to our VP: "We're going to put success right out in front of you, where you can grab it." Our support has been excellent. Multiple people from Clarizen have supported us not only through the transition and rollout, but well beyond. When I need support, I get it, fast.

Pros

Vast behind-the-scenes tech support just about any environment, from micro to huge. You can use it how you want, you don't have to adopt a philosophy for your processes unless you want to do so. The best software support I get.

Cons

Reports and Templates, while great to have, need an interface overhaul and greater capability. Visualization of data could be better.

Source: GetApp
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrzej Lechowicz

Great Project Management tool

27/12/2013

Clarizen is the most versatile saas solution for all kinds of project managers. It's highly collaborative and communication solution.

Pros

Collaboration, social communication, professional project management features, cross platform, easy to use, powerful reporting module.

Cons

A little bit slow, no iPad integration.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ashley Hoyt

Terrific Product with Outstanding Customer Service

13/12/2013

I highly recommend Clarizen for my clients. The ability to start running out of the box, or customize the product to your exact specifications provides the ultimate flexibility. The product can evolve with your company, allowing you to maintain one product as your company grows. The customer service is unparalleled. Webinars, forums, and online resource tools prove to be invaluable resources when customizing this product.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott

Three way integration with Intacct and Salesforce works great

27/03/2013

With Clarizen's integration to Salesforce anyone with appropriate access can check the status of a project without having to pick up the phone and call our delivery team - visibility into project status is right there in Salesforce. If you happen to use Intacct Cloud Financials you will be even more pleased as time and expenses can flow from Clarizen to the accounting system. This three way integration has been a huge win for our company

Pros

good support. UI is very intuitive and easy to use the first iteration of the Salesforce plugin was so-so, the newest version is years ahead

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick Taylor

Reporting is not flexible enough

01/03/2013

Decent product overall and cheaper price, but you sacrifice a lot of functionality when compared to other offerings in the space.

Pros

More functionality that tools like Basecamp, Asana, etc. Web-based Easy Setup

Cons

Support is not very helpful. Very little guidance in best practices with their software. Reporting is not nearly as flexible as other tools I've used in the past (AtTask).

Source: GetApp
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Frederik Van Hecke

Clarizen 5.4 review

25/05/2012

Clarizen brings peace of mind in a fast paced environment - we create multimedia animations - and makes sure everyone can focus on their key competences. Since we use Clarizen, we feel we have more control over our business, margins, reporting and overall customer success. Using Clarizen and customizing it is straightforward, for project managers using common tools (MS Project), Clarizen is a very easy to understand and use solution. The most important thing that impressed me is the proximity of the Clarizen team. They are quick with to the point answers, very accessible and open to listen to your challenges.

Pros

Clarizen gives you all ins and outs of project management and goes way beyond. If you go the extra mile and link it to SalesForce.com, you get so much more customer insight - relevant data is shared amongst your entire company to every department.

Cons

Getting more reports out of Clarizen is a bit of a struggle if you want to step beyond the standard offering. It requires some tinckering with an Excel plugin, which does the job - frankly. That is a point of improvement Clarizen is very aware of.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jim Hickey

Project Visibility inside SFDC

03/02/2012

I have just completed our Clarizen and SFDC integration a few weeks ago. We are very satified with the results! We have 100s of active projects - these dashboards allows our Services Organization to better manage our business. The Clarizen-SFDC integration allows anyone from our Sales, Customer success, or our Support teams to see up to date project data. If you're familiar with Microsoft Project you can easily find your way around this app in minutes. Definitely recommend

Pros

I especially like their design of allowing Clarizen Projects to be linked to Opportunities, Accounts, and/or Campaigns.

Cons

Pricing a bit high

Source: GetApp
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Paul Fury

Finally a real project management app for Salesforce

03/02/2012

great to see Salesforce.com integration with Clarizen. We have used Clarizen for years and recommend it to all our clients. We are always asked for solutions that integrate with Salesforce.com and now we have a solution we can refer with confidence.

Pros

provide SFDC Dashboards to your Executive team using Clarizen project data

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rachel Smith

Clarizen - Work and Project Management

28/12/2011

The best project management solution for team work! Clarizen's cloud based SaaS software is easy to use, without needing any technical support. It is the best choice for Project Managers who run multiple projects and/or have a team of people working from different locations. Real time visibility means everyone can see exactly what the team is working on, ensuring that time and resources are not wasted. Managers get a full picture of the project, while team members only see what they need to know. Communication is easy with built in email, chat and notes. Everyone's tasks are clearly defined and deadlines are visible, via the Dashboard. A project can be planned, with a time line and milestones, so it is easy to see where you are holding, and which tasks have been assigned to each team member. In general, Clarizen's project management program can help you become more efficient by ensuring that all team members have the same information, and time and money are not being wasted.

Pros

Progress reports and reviews with real time data. Easy collaboration and communication between team members. Great online support team and webinars. Easy to track budget, time and resources from the same home page.

Cons

Clarizen's features mean that if you have a small, simple project that only needs a team of 2 or 3, Clarizen is probably too powerful.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
projectmanager

I would highly recommend it to other PMs

17/10/2011

I'm using Clarizen to plan and execute my projects. I have a small project management business and a small team, but we really appreciate how easy it is to use the Clarizen software and how it helps us use our time and manage our resources so effectively. I would highly recommend that other PMs try the free trial.

Pros

Easy to use

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more