This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Zen Cart

Open source shopping cart software for website developers

see alternatives

Zen Cart Reviews

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


11 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best shopping cart software around

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great software. I use it on several sites. There is pretty much a plugin for anything you want to do. Highly reccomended.

Pros

Easy to use . Many plugin features. Pretty much anything you want to do , there is a plugin.

Cons

Somewhat hard to figure some things out at times.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent ECommerce Solution

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been an excellent ecommerce solution for our campground and I am very happy.

Pros

I have used this software for over 5 years with a client and it has served us well. Each year, I load in the new events for the summer camping season and add links to the separate website. It is quick, provides a quick and easy way for our customers to pre-register. I am so glad I decided to go with this 3rd party software than trying to set up my own system.

Cons

I have not found any cons. I have had to troubleshoot customer orders or different features but there is a rich and diverse support system from other having similar issues.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Great cart, but not very beginner friendly.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The cart is open source, so it is perfect for those on a budget. Once you get it set up, adding categories and products are fairly easy, just a bit time consuming.

Cons

I run my own social network, and I couldn't set up ZenCart myself. I had to pay a friend to do it. There's just so much work involved with settings and criteria that needs to be done that it was overwhelming for a first timer. A clearer, more concise back end would be a wonderful thing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Open Source Shopping Cart!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Once you have it downloaded & set up. Functionality is fantastic. You can see behind the scenes. If a potential customer calls and wants to know if their order went through online (because in reality it did not), you can actually see where the breakdown happened & what they had in their cart even if they were shopping as a guest. The program definitely requires a learning period but it is worth it.

Cons

Requires a good amount of tech knowledge. If you are not tech savvy or don't have someone that is, then this is not the way to go. You will only get support through the forums & "tickets". There is no phone support.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Review of Zen Cart

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

It's FREE! and it's powerful. Does everything I need plus more. So much better than the 1and1 online eCommerce software I use to use. So many add ons can do just about anything.

Cons

Nothing at all to dislike. it's free and powerful.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This is a great software when building new eCommerce web site.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

I'm a web developer and most of my clients uses Zen Cart. I recommend this to them compare to Magento is because its easy to manage the code and databases. It has also a feature where you can run the query directly to the software and not going to the host web site to run it there. What I love most is that, you can create your own html files with out touching the original files. Zen Cart will automatically detect the new created files and use it to run. It really easy to customize the software base on the customer needs.

Cons

At first, it is really difficult to understand the layout of the software and where to locate them. But as soon as you get used to it, it will be easily.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Option for Managing Product!

Reviewed 5 years ago

I think my favorite and best user experience was discovering Zen Cart. Operating on a very tight budget, this software offered me an affordable option to maintain products in my store! Works great with WordPress templates.

Pros

I was able to launch a web store with a functional shopping cart with Zen quite affordably!

Cons

N/A

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Seamless and Easy

Reviewed a year ago

Good.

Pros

Very easy to install and use, installation instructions very clear.

Cons

Not that much really, it does everything that it says on the box. Was a little pricey but not too bad.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Just what I needed for small, straightforward sales.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Open source! I will always choose an open source option first if it is functional. Zen cart does everything I need .

Cons

While it's not really a drawback, you need to make sure you know what your doing and can install Zen cart properly on your site.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend3/10

Share this review:

New technologies are coming and this is past

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

By the first time, seems easy to install on your application, but bug solving can be a problem.

Cons

When I faced bugs with this platform or needed to migrate to another platform, it wasn´t easy to get data from it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

This reviewer only left a rating

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review