App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

ThoughtFarmer Logo
ThoughtFarmer

Social, collaborative intranet software for organizations

visit website

(4)

ThoughtFarmer Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.8

/5

48
100%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9.26/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Active Directory integration is nice. The support team is fantastic to deal with; quick to respond and supplies plenty of information.
The organization and simplicity of this database will be easy for our employees to use, and hopefully they will enjoy using it.
Support has been excellent and the resources available through the ThoughtFarmer community are also a great tool to help troubleshoot and resolve issues as we learned a new program.
Unfortunately, sometimes the files get lock, and changes get lost. As a workaround, we've started linking files on Office 365 to collaborate instead of having the files directly on the Intranet.
This was frustrating for staff as they were not able to search information to do their day to day jobs.
Working with files is still difficult in ThoughtFarmer. You can upload Word documents , and edit it using a small app that runs on your computer.

ThoughtFarmer users...

Microsoft SharePoint-logocaret
listing-logo
+ 1

Microsoft SharePoint

How would you rate ThoughtFarmer?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


48 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

A delight to use for Intranet Managers, Content Authors and employees

Reviewed 4 years ago

An easy to use Intranet portal with social capabilities that enable employees to be more engaged. Simplified infrastructure for on-premises, no need for massive server farms. Great setup and onboarding experience with their professional services team. Their support staff is stellar, fast and caring for your needs.

Pros

ThoughtFarmer's ease of use, and the easy deployment on-premises (although a cloud option is available) helped us implement our new Intranet on time and budget while providing users with a top-notch experience for corporate news, events and navigating different processes in our organization. Social features (likes, commenting, @ mentions) really empower our employees to have a voice be more engaged...

Cons

There are only 2 security roles, admin and user, so roles like help desk or others might get exposed to settings one might not want them to have. From an integration point of view, would like to see more integration with Office 365 as we use it for more day-to-day collaboration. A SharePoint integration is possible, but not sure if it will also work with SharePoint Online.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, easy to manage

Reviewed a year ago

Our experience with ThoughtFarmer so far has been overwhelmingly positive. Their team has been accessible and easy to work with since day one. Their IT team was easy to work with through implementation, and their ongoing Professional Services team has been instrumental in our getting the most out of the platform. Their Help Desk ticket process is simple, and they respond to tickets quickly and find solutions to problems.

Pros

For our organization the most impactful feature has been connectivity with our Active Directory and the ability to more easily control permissions via security groups in ThoughtFarmer. Each user has a profile in the Intranet allowing us to get more granular with permission and security. Additionally, the product has been very easy to use from an administration perspective, and creating, adding and...

Cons

We have very few complaints about the software or vendor. We do wish there was more control over Admin roles, as an Admin has full access to all functionality, rather than being able to assign different functions to different individuals or groups. The Admin Panel is robust, and we would prefer to lock down certain functions to our IT teams and not to the other Intranet Admins. We also wish the in-app alerts were more robust. Currently they only say whether content was changed or not, but does not tell the user what changed (unless the user is an editor, who can see version history on the page itself, not within the alert). Ideally we would like there to be a summary of changes visible to all users, even if they are not editors themselves.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Excellent Customer Service

Reviewed 2 years ago

The customer service team at ThoughtFarmer is great. Every time there is an issue, or we don't know how to solve a question, we reach out to the team. They are speedy with their replies, and usually have very straight forward direction and imagery to help solve the problem. Thank you [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] for all of your help in the first year of our Intranet!

Pros

The software is overall straight forward to use. The Thoughtfarmer community page is a great way to learn tips and tricks on various software capabilities that we didn't realize were there.

Cons

Challenges with employees connecting to the intranet when off of our Network - but this also may not be a Thoughtfarmer problem! This has made it a bit challenging for our jobsite employees (who never come into the office) to get used to using the Intranet and integrating it in their daily lives. But everyone in the office has had a great experience with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ThoughtFarmer - specializing in Intranet websites

Reviewed 2 years ago

We are working with a knowledgeable team in TF to help us achieve Intranet success. There are also tools and processes that we have in place. For example Content Governance for consistency, leveraging Analytics to understand how employees are using our Intranet and keeping our content fresh for relevancy.

Pros

Integration with our systems did require custom development work from TF and we crossed the finish line. This work was part of our scope, so no surprises. The TF is knowledgeable, diligent and responsive. All qualities you hope to find with your vendor. The software is intuitive and easy to use. It supported our custom branding and allowed for our content management team to achieve their results.

Cons

There were some limitations in the software that were logged as feature requests that we hope to see in production soon. It's difficult for a vendor to support the many 3rd party applications and integrations. We did find some workarounds, so no real issues here. This product was a significant improvement from our previous solution, so difficult to isolate cons this early in our implementation.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to Set Up, Use, and Exciting for Employees

Reviewed 2 years ago

ThoughtFarmer allowed us to finally centralize all of our company information into one portal. The setup was easy, and we enlisted representatives from different teams at our company to help fill out each team page. Employees were very excited about the launch and all of the setup and training was definitely worth having a working system that our employees like to use.

Pros

The onboarding process and training were extremely helpful. The software itself is highly intuitive so not a ton of training was needed to get us up and running right away. Our support representative was there to answer any and all questions, and the entire support team was extremely fast with all of our questions.

Cons

I have very few complaints about the software itself. Nothing comes to mind of anything I didn't like.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Finally found the right Intranet!

Reviewed 2 years ago

It took far too long to find this product, and perhaps ThoughtFarmer needs marketing help, but this product is a near-perfect fit for our medium-size video production company. The organization and simplicity of this database will be easy for our employees to use, and hopefully they will enjoy using it.

Pros

I love the simplicity, user experience and features offered in ThoughtFarmer, as well as the ability to administrate without needing a deep IT background.

Cons

The calendar integrations are one-way, and can only come from ThoughtFarmer. We use other programs and it would be helpful if ThoughtFarmer could receive RSS calendar feeds, not just create them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Collaboration made easy

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

You can set up a corporate Intranet quite easily with this product. There are a lot of out-of-the-box cool templates, features and functionalities. Integration with Active Directory is also a very nice feature, the security of the sections of our Intranet isa based on AD Security Groups. Support is quite excellent also!

Cons

Document collaboration and and co-authoring is not really possible. Working with files is still difficult in ThoughtFarmer. You can upload Word documents , and edit it using a small app that runs on your computer. Unfortunately, sometimes the files get lock, and changes get lost. As a workaround, we've started linking files on Office 365 to collaborate instead of having the files directly on the Intranet.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ThoughtFarmer brings us into the 21st century.

Reviewed a year ago

They team has the entire process fine tuned. We let them guide us while taking all suggestions to heart. They allowed us to focus on auditing our old content (update/keep/not needed) while the programmers built the site framework on the backend. By the time we were done auditing everything the site was ready for content. There were regular meetings which really helped us communicate our needs while allowing us to understand their process and suggestions.

Pros

It is modern and well organized. We needed to upgrade an old intranet that had several years of dust on it.

Cons

Honesty I really don't have much to complain about as the site is very efficient. Maybe a mobile app version of the site for employees on the go?

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Thoughtfarmer transformed our old Intranet into a modern one!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The software is super easy to use from an administration perspective. Not only is it easy for us in the IT Department, we've been able to train most of the management staff on how to run their own pages and make changes. Initial setup took some tweaking to make it our own but Thoughtfarmer support was very helpful whenever we had issues or needed suggestions. The modules themselves on the back-end are very customize-able and we've rarely needed anything besides the tools laid out for us by the software.

Cons

One of the only cons for our organization is that Thoughtfarmer had lacked any good form integration but it seems they improved this with the latest software release.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ThoughtFarmer has changed the way our organization communicates and collaborates

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The easy-to-use platform makes it simple for anyone in our organization to post content. The message boards and alignment with individuals' roles has made it much easier for us to communicate with targeted groups and virtually eliminated the mess of mass emails we used to live with.

Cons

The lack of integrated form-building/workflows in the system is limiting, but we've found ways to work around this in most cases. The platform does allow you to embed Wufoo forms, but it's not as elegant or efficient as truly integrated forms that could be linked to the user's identity.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Super easy to use and great custom features

Reviewed a year ago

Easy and painless - very great customer service

Pros

My favorite part about it is the custom functionality that exists in the themes, colors, branding, images, and the process is very easy to customize our pages and add information. The other thing I really enjoy is that the interface is very user friendly for staff and admin alike. We are able to share company related information very quickly in a clear, concise way which we really appreciate. The benefits are a large company feels more cohesive and transparent - with stories we can easily share with one another.It has also been a cornerstone in creating a wonderful, diverse and inclusive culture.

Cons

Some things require upgrades but those are just minor compromises and there are workarounds if you really want.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Unmatched Customer Service & Easy-To-Use Software? Choose ThoughtFarmer!

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The customer support team for ThoughtFarmer is exceptional! From upgrading to the newest version of the software to working out any issues I had with their features, I can ALWAYS count on the ThoughtFarmer support team to guide me through the process and resolve any issues.

Cons

My company recently upgraded to one of the more recent versions of the software. While I love all the new features that it offers, many features are still being developed or are in the pipeline for the future. Their new FormFlow feature has a lot of potential but still has a lot of limitations given that it's a newer feature.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

If only all our vendors were like ThoughtFarmer

Reviewed 3 years ago

We needed a one stop platform where employees both old and new can quickly access information they need to make their lives easier at work and to find assets that will help them connect with our corporate culture. ThoughtFarmer met all our requirements and delivered what they promised.

Pros

ThoughtFarmer is so much more than just software. The team was there from Day One to help us maximize our platform and build the Internet that met our expectations without breaking a sweat or breaking the bank. Putting together a company wide Intranet from scratch was a daunting initiative but with their expertise and support it was one of the easiest implementations I've ever done and the end product is something the whole team enjoys and uses daily. In a nut shell, ThoughtFarmer is super easy to use, fulfills all our requirements for what an Intranet should be and looks great.

Cons

Having a news post appear in both the feed and in the top carousel is bit redundant .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

ThoughtFarmer self-hosted Intranet

Reviewed a year ago

Very professional company with friendly and helpful employees that offers great customer service and tech support.

Pros

The product is very user friendly, has a great user interface and is also very intuitive for admins. Features are abundant, all elements for a great employee intranet are present.

Cons

Setting up can be quite tedious, as is managing the read and write access for each post and page. In the end, this benefits the user though. One thing that is missing is a chat functionality, although this can be easily solved by having one of the standard collaboration tools installed. I do however believe that with the latest version of the software (that we are currently not on), you are able to integrate with MS Teams. Herewith, the chat function will become available.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great value for intranet

Reviewed 4 years ago

We initially looked into ThoughtFarmer as a way to connect multiple offices and keep our entire company aware of corporate initiatives and news.

Pros

After a bit of a learning curve, it's very easy to use as an administrator. Once you understand the concept of adding pages/forums/groups etc, everything is based on that concept. The search functionality is excellent and used extensively by our staff. Being able to give people access to different areas/content or message everyone/individual groups makes it a very useful tool for a multi-office company.

Cons

If there is anything I would suggest it would be to have more integration with MS Office documents. Being able to edit documents directly in the software would be great. But on the whole it's an extremely useful software!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Product

Reviewed 3 years ago

We really like ThoughtFarmer. Support has been excellent and the resources available through the ThoughtFarmer community are also a great tool to help troubleshoot and resolve issues as we learned a new program.

Pros

This is a great intranet software; by far better than what we had! We have a lot of options to set-up information to share company wide. It has been very effective in helping streamline procedures and helping keep everyone connected.

Cons

I wish the home page news carousel could be prioritized in an order other than when it is published. We have to go republish items we want to remain up there to bump off other new items that may have expired. For example, we had a company wide "wear red day" for heart healthy month. Once that day was over to get that message to expire we had republish ones that were behind it. We are also working through an issue with getting email notifications sent when a form is submitted. Support has been excellent!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

ThoughtFarmer for the Intranet WIN!!

Reviewed 4 years ago

Our company did not have any Intranet at all when we purchased ThoughtFarmer, so it was overwhelming to try to imagine how to sort and categorize all of our documentation. We utilized ThoughtFarmer's professional services to help us with it, and it was worth every penny!! They were so great to work this - their process is easy to follow and allowed us to get all of our staff involved. The results were a very logical and easy to follow Information Architecture that I'm not sure we would have ever gotten to without their help - certainly not in the time frame they made it happen in!!

Pros

Using this software is like riding a bike - takes a little practice using all the different features, but once you've done it a bit, it's a piece of cake!! I don't have to go back to notes to remember how I made something work a certain way - it's all very logical and easy to do time and time again.

Cons

I guess what I liked least about the software is that it uses rich text editor which is a bit different from Word, so it took a little bit to get used to. But that's stretching trying to find something negative to say... lol

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

ThoughtFarmer review

Reviewed 3 years ago

The product is great and the support as well. Everyone I talk to is very professional and very responsive. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Pros

Easy to use. It takes a few moments to get used to the card system. The administrative tools are great (especially with the new version 9)

Cons

If some0one leaves the company, we need to transfer the user's ownership to someone else. We don't always have the replacement right away. There is no way to know once the pages are transfered who it belonged to. There could maybe have a sort of history log as to who had the pages so that we could group them then transfer them to another person (maybe if someone changes departments and transfers them to another)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Slick, glitch free, and adaptable intranet tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

We’ve built a community platform for lawyers and related professionals to share info and network. The granular access controls and security groups allow good siloing.

Pros

It works solidly and reliably. Very hard to break! I’m sure I’ve spent a thousand hours in this tool as an admin and power user. And the results look great in desktop or mobile.

Cons

Lack of integration with automation services like Zapier or IFTTT. It would be nice to have more ways to publish content to the intranet without manually logging on.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Been a couple years... my thoughts.

Reviewed 3 years ago

ThoughtFarmer has been great to work with and responded to our questions in a timely fashion. They always offer suggestions about how to achieve our goals.

Pros

The software is easy to use and added a lot of features to our internal portal that did not exist before. I like the interface and that I can find information easily and quickly.

Cons

Some advanced features require programming to enable the features or use them as needed. There is also not enough security built into the application framework itself.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Office Intranet

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

Navigation ease; notifications feature; ability to save links internally and external to intranet; main page banner to highlight important announcements

Cons

We require staff to follow certain pages (i.e., manuals/guides) to ensure they receive notification of changes; however, setting up new staff to follow the many pages is very time consuming -- need a feature that allows an administrator to select from a listing of pages. Would also be helpful if selecting a page to follow also prompts user to choose to also follow all pre-existing and new sub-pages.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Easy to use. Great support.

Reviewed a year ago

It has been a great experience. The platform is very user friendly. I am able to solve most issues or figure things out on my own, but when I'm not, the customer service has always been excellent and I always get a helpful answer.

Pros

The customer service is always excellent. I always receive a timely and detailed response to any of my questions.

Cons

A way to give (hourly) employees access to just our news page to keep them updated would be great. They do not need access to the entire intranet so it is a bit pricey to have accounts for all of them just for the news.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Fantastic and user-friendly intranet software

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

ThoughtFarmer turned our intranet from an outdated repository of information to a dynamic site for employees. The kudos feature is great, and the news feed is really good. Very easy to use - all kinds of people (with varying tech savviness) have been posting news items. I like that we can target the audience, e.g. post specifically to leaders.

Cons

Adding header images doesn't quite do what's expected in terms of resizing images. I don't love that almost everything you do ends up in the activity feed, i.e. people creating pages and adding events to group calendars. Not all relevant to the whole organization and it makes some of the more pertinent information harder to see.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A strong and versatile social intranet

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Our organization has used ThoughtFarmer for 5 years and we have found it to be an invaluable communication tool that is quick to learn and intuitive. Collaboration has been made easy using this social intranet, regardless of the location of staff or their schedules. Technical support is delivered quickly and reliably through both their helpdesk and the helpful community site.

Cons

ThoughtFarmer's workflow elements could be more robust, but each software update adds more and more workflow pieces.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User-Friendly Interface For Less Tech-Savvy Team

Reviewed 3 years ago

Fantastic, quick customer service responses; we love that it is Canadian; user-friendly interface on the front and back ends. Would reccommend to anyone.

Pros

I feel like I do not need to be a developer or programmer to click around the back end with ease. The front end is also extremely easy to use for our staff, many of whom are older or less comfortable with using the internet as a whole.

Cons

I don't have much to say about what I don't like; I suppose our organization has had some very custom needs lately and it has taken some time to figure those out and get them set up, but ThoughtFarmer has done their very best to work with us and get them implemented, and it is shaping up.