BigTime Time & Billing Reviews

BigTime Time & Billing Reviews

BigTime Time & Billing

Time billing and PM software for SMBs. Intuit OEM Partners.

4.47/5 (127 reviews)
321     3,479

Lisa Budetti

BigTime Intergration and Training

17/03/2017

Just stated using BigTime this month for time tracking, budget tracking and invoicing. Did training with customer support representative. She has been a wonderful resource to reach out to. After going though both sessions of training we came across some issues that we didn't come up while training and the cust care representative was able to walk us though the processes smoothly. I am finally getting a handle on the BigTime software and am looking forward to really exploring all its possibilities in the future.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Pietro Catizone

BigTime integration with QuickBooks Premiere Professional Edition, Desktop version

16/03/2017

The budget management and invoicing capabilities in BigTime are powerful and easy to use. While we did invest some time in the initial setup and integration with QuickBooks (as expected) we found the the process to be straight forward. Our employees began entering entering their time and expenses immediately after the initial "On board 1" training session. The web user interface is easy to navigate as is the very useful mobile app. BigTime customer service is outstanding. Our software implementation consultant Brea provided very thorough training and made the implementation process easy for us.

Pros

User interface, budget management capabilities, ease of invoicing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Julie Rawitscher

Great software, but sometimes quirky

15/03/2017

We have had a great experience with the support and services at your company and we really enjoy the ease of use with your product. However, there are quirks that we find annoying when things don't work like they are supposed to and then causes a bunch of extra time to change. However, overall it is much better than the last product we used and we are glad we switched. I do love the custom-ability of the software.

Pros

Ease of use and custom-ability. Also the people we have talked to at the company are really responsive and helpful.

Cons

Quirks not working correctly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Josephine Klingler

Review of BigTime After a Month

15/03/2017

After reviewing four options for Time and Expense Tracking software we decided on BigTime for two reasons: Ease of Use and Invoice Templates. The Time and Expense entry for the engineers in our office was intuitive and easy to learn. The mobile app works very well and is used more than we anticipated. From the administrative aspect the setup is relatively easy and the user interface is easy to follow and understand. I really like how the screens navigate from one to the other and how I can customize what I want to see on each screen. The clicking on the column headings to view the information in varies ways is great. We create about 50 - 60 invoices each month where the format may vary depending on the client for each one. BigTime does a good job of providing a base of invoice templates with the flexibility customize. The one thing that is really missing from the invoicing option is the ability to display the Total Cumulative Amount Invoiced as of the current invoice (prior amount + current invoice amount). I have requested this change and hopefully it will be added. The last aspect is customer support. Two training sessions were included in the software subscription. The first one was good for the very basic information, maybe a little too basic. The second session was much more informative that gave us some good practices to use with BigTime (Brea was very knowledgeable in both). The day to day support seems short handed. Most of the time you have to send an email and wait for a response which could take hours or the next day. As a new user that was a little frustrating. I don't necessarily need to talk to someone on the phone but a live chat would be great to get an answer and move on. That is the one area that I would recommend BigTime address. Overall we are happy with our decision to go with BigTime and I would recommend BigTime to others.

Pros

The user interface is very intuitive and easy to learn

Cons

I cannot display a cumulative invoice total in the budget summary for invoicing (prior billings + current billings).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

Try to staff the LiveChat for customer support. It would really help with quick questions.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Diane Reed

Customer Support

13/03/2017

Our rep has been working with me on the transition to Big Time and she has been very patient and understanding. She is very knowledgeable of the features and functionality of Big Time. She will explain a feature and will show me how it works and then we work to detail it to our company. I sent her different reports that I would like to use and she developed them for me and then we went over them the next time we had a secession. I really enjoy working with her she is an asset to your company.

Pros

It is flexible

Cons

Have not used it for very long so I am not sure if I have any yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

No

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cory Chalmers

Easy Timekeeping Software that Simplifies our Time!

10/03/2017

There are so many timekeeping programs out there. I investigated several different versions and many were just too complicated and cumbersome. We downloaded three different free trials and ended up coming back to Big Time. It was the simplest to use, had the best functionality for our needs, yet is expandable should our needs grow. When I needed help initially using the program I spoke to both Michelle and Brea which were very helpful and within minutes had my official timekeeping software running smoothly. What more can I say? So far so great! Cory Chalmers Host of A&E's "Hoarders" & President of Steri-Clean Inc.

Pros

Simple yet scalable if needed to add more functions later

Cons

Would be nice to be able to just put in minutes vs. decibels for time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

Not yet!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marie Novak

Not simple for administrators

09/03/2017

Nancy S. was very helpful, she explained and fixed all my questions and that took time. But BigTime IQ Pro may be easy for an employee to record time and a project manager to track projects but from an administrator view point, it's not easy. When an employee forgets to enter a variable it has to be tracked so it can post to QB. The reporting requires tutoring, you can't just plug in a few numbers, select a few variables and get your result. There are many little nuances to learn and it's very confusing. Like why do I have to 'Copy' a report every time I edit it - why can't I just Save it? The linking with QB isn't simple either. Sometimes a job posts, sometimes there's one little button clicked that shouldn't be. Then there's all the duplication of projects every time you post to QB. Figuring out the integration of the two systems is a slow process. Again, Nancy S. was very helpful and eventually I'll learn the system but it will be a long slow process, just like the old program. No difference to me as the administrator.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Angie Nunez

Outstanding

03/03/2017

We are very happy with the system. I have ideas of how to make it even better. I know that this can go further. Jacob is a great assist to your company. He's been a great help. In fact without his assistant I wouldn't gave chose this system.

Pros

It organizes the team

Cons

tracking double entries

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

tracking double entries would be a great thing to add to it.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Peter Kaplan

great for DCAA

02/03/2017

When we needed to move our timekeeping to a DCAA compliant system the BigTime team helped us get it done quickly. Users have found the system straightforward which has resulted in excellent compliance..

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joseph Tavormina

Excellent Time Tracking Software

01/03/2017

Very usable. Nice integration with QuickBooks. Excellent customer support. Back end integration provided means to deposit expenses either into an AP account (for reimbursement of personal expenses), or to liability account (for expenses paid using company credit card).

Pros

Well thought out. Continuous sync capability with accounting software. Good customer support. Value.

Cons

Mobile apps are well advanced, but not all the features on the desktop interface are available as of yet.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stan Thompson

Brea is Awesome!

01/03/2017

Great and in-depth overview! Very knowledgeable and friendly! Id was great to hear from someone who actually used it as a customer before they started training.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jarrett Gorin

Great Interface

28/02/2017

Very fast and responsive cloud based solution. Interface is intuitive and also aesthetically pleasing. PRO Version allows a lot of flexibility and granularity on setup by admins, but retains a very simple process for time input by employees. Support has also been great, particularly the onboarding session I opted for as part of my contract. Also the sales staff is extremely knowledgeable....like tech support level knowledge....and can answer nearly any question you have accurately (and will also do a screen share to SHOW you how the functionality you are asking about works). Very happy with it so far.

Pros

Great interface. Simple to set up and use.

Cons

No major cons so far.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donna Trammell

Better training with Brea

23/02/2017

This initial training with Brea was the first training that made a lot of sense! She was extremely helpful and listened to my questions. I'm excited for the next training seminar with her. I realized all lot of things that I wish we'd had from the beginning. It would have made the transition less stressful, etc. Several times most of us were ready to dump this software but Brea helped in restoring some confidence. Customer support has been lacking in getting back in a timely manner so I'm hopeful that will change. Customer support from Brea's initial training was a 10.

Pros

That I finally found Brea to help with the software! It's been an absolute nightmare with the transition. I like that at least some of the information from QuickBooks integrates with BigTime.

Cons

Getting help when we needed it. It's not very user friendly. There are a lot more steps to this process. More information needs to be able to integrate from QuickBooks to BigTime and vis a versa. For instance, previous balance in QuickBooks, contact information and also payments made through either QuickBooks or BigTime.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

More information needs to be able to integrate from QuickBooks to BigTime or vis a versa. The contact information in all the correct places and also payments made. Also be able to input previous balances from QuickBooks even though there might not be a current bill for a client yet in BigTime since we are billing out of BigTime. I'm having to spend a lot more time creating invoices from BigTime and then going into QuickBooks to add the previous balances due and print two separate invoices.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donald Friedman

What we needed

23/02/2017

Brea helped us understand all of the features with BigTime, which was exactly what we needed to get started moving our company to the system. She was thorough, patient, and friendly, which is good because the software is fairly complex.

Pros

It has all the features we need - flat fee and hourly invoicing, multiple contacts for client companies, easy time entry for employees.

Cons

There is not a lot of flexibility in the invoice formatting.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
tina tannery

Great with a Live Person

22/02/2017

I really like the customer support, when I can actually get someone to contact me in person. I HIGHLY recommend changing the name of LIVE Chat to Ask a question, since all input goes to email. Based on volume, it is difficult for new users to resolve questions quickly. Yes, the training calls help; however, we are moving fast to convert and don't want to do the call until we are ready with the right questions and training issues

Pros

ease of use

Cons

Would like to have ways to add tasks in bulks for clients and projects. Not integrated with Xero at this time.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

I would like LIVE chat to be Live. BIGTime to link with Xero to eliminate duplication of work.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Beth Hayden

Great software to use with QuickBooks and time tracking

21/02/2017

New customer of BigTime since January. After much research, it was clear they were the best match for our time tracking need as well as the ease of use with QuickBooks. We can now create personalized and professional looking Invoices for our clients, as well as easily track budgets for projects. It is unending the tasks BigTime can assist our company with, and I am looking forward to continuing to learn the many ways it can help our company be a great success.

Pros

Ease of use for time tracking and with QuickBooks.

Cons

It is very hard to get a hold of customer service. If you are in dire need of help, all you can do is leave a voicemail or send an email and wait for someone to contact you with help. Not very good for business who is in need of immediate assistance.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

Longer on boarding calls as we were not able to ask many questions that we needed answered.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jenaya Kiti

Loving Big Time

16/02/2017

Big time was the best solution out there for our business. We have three employees who could be anywhere in the state on any given work day. Big time allows them to enter their time without coming to the office.

Pros

Remote access

Cons

Nothing really

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

No

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeff Chan

BigTime On-boarding support

15/02/2017

BigTime is relatively easy to use and for end users to adopt. However, some of the administrative functions are a bit hidden and hard to notice but overall the value for the money is great. The mobile app is a work in progress, but once the app is more refine it will no doubt be useful tool for the end user. The on-boarding session with BigTime support is great. It is very informative and useful. The support team is helpful and quick at responding technical inquiries.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Philo

Architect-Principal

15/02/2017

We've had a nice transition to date we've been able to get into the system and establish our set up. Kevin Poglitsch has been especially helpful with support questions and guidance throughout that process.

Pros

Easier to use, more architect friendly

Cons

Would love to see it tie in a more robust scheduling/resource allocation ability.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

Create a way to view/review/report on allocated time/tasks prior to submission of hours.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marie Carroll

Big Time review

09/02/2017

Overall, happy with the ease of use for timekeepers to keep time. As with most programs, time will be needed to feel comfortable with it, but with my 2 onboarding sessions, I feel I can at least get through tax season with enough knowledge to use it, and then learn more when I have more time.

Pros

Ease of use for timekeepers

Cons

I need to work with it more before I can answer that.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

No

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joanna Stallsmith

BigTime for Architects

09/02/2017

We have recently transitioned to BigTime and Quickbooks from a historical system using a conglomeration of softwares for time, billing, accounting and project tracking. Big Time has alot of flexibility and options for setting up the system to meet our companies needs. The support during the setup phase has been very well structured and useful in answering our questions and getting us rolling.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sarah  Kuepker

New to Big time

09/02/2017

its getting easier and i think after the next training it will be a lot better, Brea has been a great help and very pleasant to work with.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jared Smith

Don't wait

07/02/2017

Big Time Software is inexpensive, easy to navigate, lots of customization, and a pleasure to work with. Josh and Brea were amazing - couldn't have asked for more. I waited far too long to make a switch to job costing software. I looked for months. When I cam across Big Time, I pulled the trigger, hoping it would turn out. I love it. We have access to key information that took WAY too long to compile previously.

Pros

Customizing reports - it's simple, yet there is a ton of data from which I can pull.

Cons

There seems to be lots of "quick fixes" in the software, like random buttons. I'm sure an overhaul is due soon...PLEASE prepare me for it. Don't just lay it on me. Allow me time to adjust - include me in the beta.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering BigTime Time & Billing

Josh Weis and Brea Phillips were amazing! They both deserve raises...or at least a "job well done" from management.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt  Coffey

Great product for the money!!

02/02/2017

We use Bigtime for our CPA firm and have been very satisfied with the ease of use and depth of reports that we are able to get. The integration with QuickBooks was seamless.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nausheen Farishta

Very handy

01/02/2017

I've worked at agencies where we used excel to track time -- this is a huge step up from that. Very easy to use, has a mobile app version, can access my time off tracker and more. Highly recommend.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more