This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

All categories
Hostaway

Vacation rental software for property management companies

visit website

Hostaway Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

I like this company, their culture, and their obvious commitment to the client. The software is very intuitive, user-friendly, and has a fantastic design.

Jamie L.

It has been good working with them and the customer support has been wonderful. The learning curve is really steep so it just takes time to get things really set up and understood.

teddy l.

How it is able to help with so many aspects of my business. I love how I can use it to help with guest communications or just use it to sync calendars.

Elizabeth G.

Cons

Difficult functionality, unable to put in standard restrictions or rules that you can when dealing with the channels directly.

christopher a.

Constant double bookings and horrible support.

Roy Y.

Response time can be delayed due to timezone challenges.

Erica P.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

88

22

4

1

3

93%
positive reviews
93%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


118 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

BEST PROPERTY MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE

Reviewed 14 days ago

BEST TEAM AND TOOLS

Pros

EASE OF USE , TECHNOLOGY , DESIGN

Cons

EVERYTHING IS PERFECT AND THE TEAM SUPER SUPPORTIVE

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Top notch customer service

Reviewed 7 months ago
Pros

We found Hostaway to be the perfect option for our property management side of the business. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] went above and beyond meeting with us to get us started and through the first few months of operation. Now we deal primarily with the customer service via the app, and they get back to us immediately. They will either fix the issue we're having or we dialogue and troubleshoot to fix. They are constantly working to streamline the program for property managers in terms of calendar updates, updating listings etc. We host between 20-30 properties and they've been great to work with. Highly recommend.

Cons

Sometimes the updates are glitchy, but customer service immediately attends to the issue. It's a newer software and very inexpensive compared to its competitors so minors issues are is to be expected, but they troubleshoot and update constantly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Customer Service and All Questions answered

Reviewed 2 months ago

Everything was easy and explained to me to implement easily.

Pros

I liked how easy it was to implement with the help of the customer service professional. I was shown all the features and am going to use more than what I initially came to the product for.

Cons

None so far. Everything is great after fully implementing.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Not suitable for guesthouse

Reviewed 14 days ago
Pros

Easy setup, good and responsive support team

Cons

The software is really not suitable for a daily use for Guesthouse. It had major operational flaws : - it's not possible to change the room of the guest in the property if reservation is from a channel manager - not possible to see easyly what is the balance of each reservation, need to make a lot of click - really complicated to add items (like breakfast) and then bill them - booking.com integration problem - if the client change his reservation on booking.com , it will create a duplicated reservation and need to contact support to remove the other one The booking engine is really complicated with no translation, only english. They propose google translation but the integration is messy.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

No Other PMS Compares

Reviewed 3 months ago

The software solves a lot of issues for me, but three core problems were solved because of Hostaway. 1) Channel distribution, 2) Automated guest communication, 3) Cleaning/task coordination.

Pros

Hostaway was able to distribute my listings across the main sales channels with ease. While it does have a lot of other features the primary reason for purchasing this software was for the ease of managing multiple units across multiple OTA's.

Cons

Like any other software, trying to learn how the platform works takes time, but overall it was super easy!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great CM

Reviewed 2 months ago

Costumer service is super. The best! Quick response and always a solution.

Pros

The overview and communication options. Easy.

Cons

Just small things that are under improvement.

Vendor response

Hello Martine! It's been a while since we last spoke, we're glad to see you're still happy. We have worked on improving the ease of use and hope that you stay with us. Thank you so much for the feedback!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

GREAT FEATURES!

Reviewed 2 months ago

Great training and customer service! Very easy to use and set up.

Pros

I love the task features and also de booking engine, everything is very easy to set up and it helps us to keep organized even with a high amount of properties. Also de the inbox is great! I get to see all messages in 1 window and it saves me a lot of time.

Cons

We haven't found something that we don't like, its a very good PMS in general.

Vendor response

Thank you Lila for your review! We hope you enjoy the revamped inbox and our award-winning support for many years to come!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great product, but some bugs and missing features.

Reviewed 19 days ago

Overall a great product, just need to work a few minor bugs and add a few features

Pros

Ability to sync prices with Beyond Pricing, granular permissions for users, Wordpress plugin, great support and onboarding team.

Cons

No HTML email notifications, only text Some UI bugs Financial reporting a little buggy for CSV imported reservations Unable to manage VRBO messages, only emails Cannot sync multiple VRBO accounts

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

HostAway is making my business SO much easier

Reviewed 3 months ago

I'd rate my experience to date as a 10 out of 10

Pros

Support for getting started has been abundant and thorough The product itself is intuitive, user friendly Hostaway's pricing/business model fits perfectly with my type of vacation rental business

Cons

Not so far, really. It could have a few more features, which i understand are in the works.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hostaway Review

Reviewed 4 months ago

Small company feel.

Pros

Easy to use. Easy to set up. All in one solution. Guest Portal. Commission free website.

Cons

Integration with some OTA's where difficult but this was not Hostaway's fault.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Exceptional Support - Software is still young but off to a great start

Reviewed 5 months ago

I like this company, their culture, and their obvious commitment to the client. The software is very intuitive, user-friendly, and has a fantastic design. Lastly, their customer support is exceptional. They are obviously committed to working with the client and making sure their end users are happy.

Pros

I appreciate the simplicity and user-friendliness of Hostaway. The display is appealing to the eyes and the menus are intuitive. Additionally, the customer support team accessibility is hugely beneficial. I can get quick answers to my questions - they are very responsive. The value of that is beyond measure for a property manager or someone who has a demanding schedule.

Cons

The software could offer more templates and automation as it relates to booking and task management. There are a number of processes that take place due to different scenarios as it relates to guests, their needs, and changes in reservations. My experience thus far with Hostaway is that they are actively improving their product which is very nice.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Sophisticated Channel Manager

Reviewed 7 months ago

Overall, this has been a good experience. I signed up with them a year ago and periodically I do a review of the competition and new entrants to see if they stack up and so far, this is the best solution for us.

Pros

It does a lot of really great things that suit my business model perfectly. It is the best software system I could find for our budget and requirements. My personal favourite is the webhooks and open API that I can use to build my own functions on top of.

Cons

It really needs the functionality to be able to automate the security deposit for guests. That is my one problem. I would have said the financails could be improved but they just released a major update to this and it looks great. Finally, I'd like to see some custom reports for business metrics. I currently have to download to a .csv and manually figure things out. The overview dashboard does have a decent set of metrics, but I want to see them over time.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

I love using Hostaway

Reviewed 8 months ago

I love using Hostaway. It's not the cheapest product; however, it's nice to have all the features I want in one place instead of slapping together a few cheaper products to try to get the same result.

Pros

The thing I like most about Hostaway is the ease of use. I manage my properties while working another job, so I need automation. The automated messaging and task creation with saved checklists really saves a ton of time. My cleaner also really likes it because he can just update the cleaning tasks via the app. I really only have to answer one-off questions from guests because I'm able to seamlessly...

Cons

The booking engine could look better. I used the WordPress plugin and don't love the overall look; however, I figured by the time guests get to that point on my website they're already very interested in booking and won't be turned off by the look.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great Product that listens to users...

Reviewed 8 months ago

Hostaway saves me time and this is a really big thing. We have a lot of moving parts in the hospitality business. The fact that there is a lot of automation possibilities in the product makes our lives a lot easier and time won can be focused on other Business Development tasks.

Pros

The software is intuitive and easy to use. Clear user interface that is not complicated. The first setup is very easy and when questions arise, the helpdesk is really quick in answering. Team is also helpful with the setup. Most importantly, the team listens to what we, the users, are missing and will implement in fairly short time.

Cons

I do not have any real cons for Hostaway product. Like many of the similar products it does not have all in it what we would need (Like good Owners Reporting Tool) but it is 90% of what we need to run our business.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

This is what you need for your business

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

I have used another channels manager before and to compare to them this is the best! I don't have any problems with synchronisation, no overbooking, that makes my life much easier )) As well I save lot of time on messages. Because you can use automations in Hostaway. This software is easy to use, big advantage is app for your phone. And I would like to mention that this team is really working hard and they always improve this software, they listen you! You don't need 80 channels to sell your apartment. Hostaway has enough channels for max occupancy rate.

Cons

May be would be good to make an option to copy prices for another apartment (because I have 4 same apartment in the same building), so I don't need to spend my time to make prices for similar apartments.

Vendor response

Dear Alexandra, thank you so much for your kind words and recognition for our mobile app. As you can see from older reviews, we take customer feedback personally and always strive to build tools that help our customers grow. After all, one of our company values is Our Customer's Success is Our Success.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The Best Channel Manager

Reviewed 2 years ago

Hostaway is an excellent channel manager. I have been using it the last 3 years between my team and has helped to organise my properties with ease! Everything is synced between all channels, prices, availabilities etc. With task manager my cleaners are all informed on when they have to visit a propertiy and all the details they have to take care. The Hostaway team is always there for me, at any question I might have and always get under consideration any feature proposal!! Overall, I would not change the Hostaway at all!! Thank you very much Hostaway team!Keep Up!

Pros

Ease of use Availability Synchronisation Price Synchronisation Wordpress Plugin Messages And Many many other features

Cons

There is nothing I don't like with Hostaway. A few times I have asked for something that is not available, the Hostaway Team added it to their "To do list" and gets it done very soon!!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Best Channel manager software I've used

Reviewed 8 months ago

As I said before, me and my team are a big fan. Functionalities are almost everything I need. The overview is very good. And I never encountered a glitch, something I appreciate a lot! Also, costumer service is really good. Pricing could be better but is OK.

Pros

After using several other channel manager software for my 8 unit Boutique Hotel, I discovered Hostaway about 2 years ago. I truly like the integrated features for my 3 channels (Airbnb, Booking.com & own website). It gives a clear and straightforward overview of the calendar & pricing. Easy to adjust pricing by day & by channel individually. I'm a big fan of the automated messages (set-up), as it saves us heaps of time. Also, we never encountered any issues with sending out & receiving messages (very important!). I'm a big fan.

Cons

Although, I use the mobile app several times a day, it can use some adjustments. I'ts not the best app there is in form a style and overview. On the other hand it's relatively fast & very easy to use. And also here, it always works.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

WE LOVE HOSTAWAY

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

We did several demos on different PMS companies. What I learned is that everyone offers something different. Hands down, Hostaway has been the best fit for our needs and the customer service is nothing short of top-notch. Highly recommend them!!!

Cons

Every software is not going to have all your needs but Hostaway has worked with me, listened, and responded to all my needed request. I'd love to see automated smart responses and few other efficiencies added to the PMS but this company is passionate and committed to working with the client and I feel like a partner with this team rather than a customer. I'm a big fan :)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The team makes the product

Reviewed a year ago
Pros

After trying many alternative solutions on the market, we finally found Hostaway. While not perfect, it outperformers their rivals and offers a far more cost effective solution. The best bit however, is the people behind the product. Whenever we encountered a challenge or an issue, the Hostaway team worked to solve it rapidly. What impressed me most was that during the Covid-19 issue, the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was on the phone, helping customers. That says it all really. Would recommend.

Cons

Would have liked easier setup process as it required changing of all logins.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hostaway has been a game-changer!

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

I could not manage the properties that I manage alone without this program. It keeps me organized and makes connecting with my guests and scheduling cleanings a breeze! The feature that allows you to create a "mother" listing with "child" listings connected is amazing when you have a two in one listing.

Cons

There are the rare things that you still need to actually go into Airbnb to adjust. I'm sure this will be fixed with time.

Vendor response

Dear Michelle, thank you for your review and feedback! There are indeed things that only can be adjusted on Airbnb, but they are constantly improving their API and the same limitations apply to all vacation rental software platforms. We always try to be the first to implement new features, so stay tuned for exciting updates!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great all around product and service

Reviewed 7 months ago

Anytime we have needed customer support the staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Overall we are very satisfied.

Pros

The pricing model is my favorite. You can choose to pay a flat fee or percentage based fee. It's very simple to use on the fly from my phone, although you can't do everything that you can on a desktop. It's definitely made managing our properties a breeze.

Cons

Sometimes we see glitches in the calendars on the app. If anything I think the app could be improved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Hostaway Has Streamlined Many Aspects of My Business

Reviewed 2 years ago

Hostaway has treated me with great care and respect. Due to their commitment to their customers and the time and care, they have spent with me, and the fact that they are growing every single day despite the success level they have already reached; Hostaway is a company I plan to stay with for the rest of my vacation rental management career.

Pros

What I love most about Hostaway is the ability to organize guest info and messaging onto one platform which has enabled the fastest guest response rates of my entire career.

Cons

Many kinks in the system still as they are a younger company. But every day that I reach out to the support to report that something is either wrong with my account or something is wrong in the entire system, they immediately get to work on correcting the error no matter large. The last issue I flagged for Hostaway was something that negatively affected EVERY user of their software. They had this corrected...

Vendor response

Thank you so much for the review! Whoever you may be, please know that we always are open for feedback. We hope you agree that since you left your review in January 2019, our task force to resolve issues has been effective at mitigating more than 90% of them before they even take place!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Hardest working team in the vacation rental software industry!

Reviewed 2 years ago
Pros

Hostaway comes highly recommended from us as the clear cut best value for the money vacation rental software. For a relatively low per listing monthly fee everything is included. Perhaps the best part of Hostaway is their clear interest in improving their software. They continue to make improvements and make it easier to use and more functional for vacation rental managers. When I have an issue their support team is quick to respond to me and also quick to fix the issue. Once you begin working with Hostaway its clear to see the people behind it are the ones you want to align your business with.

Cons

It does not have all functionality of other vacation rental management softwares. It does not have integrated automatic credit card processing and a few other features are missing. However it was missing more features a year ago, but the Hostaway team continues to fill in the gaps!

Vendor response

Dear Landon, we are humbled and honoured by your kind words. We don't talk much about it, but we work really hard to ensure our property managers succeed. Thank you for working with us!

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

One of the best Property Management Software around

Reviewed 8 months ago

We've had an excellent experience thus far. From the seamless integrations with all OTA channels to the free booking engine website to drive direct bookings; Hostaway has been really helpful.

Pros

We switched to the Hostaway software for a few specific reasons: to help manage our properties across multiple OTA channels and to help with guests' communication. The software has been immensely helpful in automating messages and cleaning schedules with our several cleaning staff. The free booking engine website is an additional advantage. Very few Property management software offers that for free. Payment processing integration with Stripe has also been beneficial to our company. Overall, we are pleased with Hostaway Software.

Cons

The only cons, so to say, has to do with the Software's accounting capabilities. Even at that, you can always export your reservation data as a .csv file and utilize the data to create monthly statements via Quickbooks or other accounting software. The good news is that Hostaway is always looking to improve, and that's all I can ask for.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best channel manager and still improving

Reviewed 2 years ago

It's been exceptional. The onboarding went very well, we were given as much time and attention as we needed and since then support as been always very quick to answer and helpful.

Pros

Simple to use but powerful enough to fulfill our main requirements. We find that we pretty much use every single feature in the software, we can see the attention to the detail that makes it user friendly and feature rich while still streamlined to what is needed.

Cons

A few bits and pieces, mostly specific to us, that we find missing, compared to other more localized products (for instance ability to automatically send SEF bulletins), but we find that Hostaway is regularly releasing new features and we look forward to see more in the future.