Buddy Punch Pricing, Features, Reviews & Comparison of Alternatives

Buddy Punch

Online Time Clock Software | Web Based Time Management

4.77/5 (508 reviews)

Buddy Punch overview

What is Buddy Punch?

Buddy Punch was built out of a need for a simple, easy to use, and affordable scheduling and time card solution. We can't use paper forever - and time shouldn't be kept in excel spreadsheets or handwritten/faxed time cards.

If you can't be in front of your employees all the time you need a way to keep them honest about what time they're working. How often does an 8:00am start time actually turn into 8:07am? Multiply that by weeks and years, and your employees are stealing a lot of time. Keep them honest and gain some piece of mind.

Offering iOS and Android apps, drag and drop functionality, automatic overtime calculations, exports, and integrations with top payroll companies.

It's simple, effective, and intuitive.
buddypunch.com

Pricing

Starting from
$25/month
Pricing options
Value for money
View Pricing Plans

Devices

Business size

S
M
L

Markets

United States, Canada

Supported languages

English
Buddy Punch screenshot: Administrator DashboardBuddy Punch - How we can HelpBuddy Punch screenshot: PTO CalendarBuddy Punch screenshot: Duration EntryBuddy Punch screenshot: Employee ViewBuddy Punch screenshot: Reporting OptionsBuddy Punch screenshot: TimecardDemo - Buddy Punch Features OverviewUse Buddy Punch on Mobile DevicesFacial Recognition

Buddy Punch reviews

Value for money
Features
Ease of use
Customer support
  4.7
  4.6
  4.8
  4.8
Katrina Love

Great time keeping app

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-01-23
Review Source: Capterra

Great app, check in and out with accuracy, keep in contact with supervisors and can submit photos for proof of visit if not using GPS.

Pros
I am an Event Specialist with Deluvia Inc, they upgraded from emailing and faxing my time sheets in to this system. They are out of state so this is a great way for them to keep up with my time while doing "Road Shows". I arrive at my location, open the app and sign in, my employers do require me to attach photos so I snap a photo of the store front before entering. While there, I setup my samples and take a few photos of my presentation to attach when I clock out. I like that I can see my schedule, even though I already know my Road Shows are 11 days back to back for each demo. It takes out 39 minutes for my lunch and keeps up with my total hours so I can accurately calculate my check. They can leave messages after each shift end set of photos. I have seen a few where they wanted to see different angles or my face more throughout my presentations. I've also been told my samples looked yummy, I left messages and asked questions that were answered. This is a good app to have when your employer is out of your area.

Cons
The only thing I found odd was I could log in anytime during my employment, but couldn't do so between Road Shows. I wanted to look at my schedules and could gain access to the app. Other than this hiccup, the app works fine. Deluvia gets my time and there are no shortages on my check.

Response from Buddy Punch


Thank you for the review, it is great to hear that you're using our smartphone app as well as our notes and photos on punches feature. We have a few limiting options for employers and that is why you weren't able to login while outside of the show. Thanks again!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review

Jim Crozier

Well Done Time Tracking Software

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2020-01-30
Review Source: Capterra

This software has accomplished what we were hoping for - punching in and out when on site. We are a custom fab shop, so we use a lot of job codes and the software is easy to use for purpose. We eliminated paper tallies which over the course of a years time has saved us payroll in regards to employee rounding time on time sheets. I am able to access all the information even when I am on the road, so I am always in the loop on attendance and who is working on what projects.

Pros
Easy to train employees Easy to set-up and implement Straight forward user interface Geofence ability (user must punch in specified areas)

Cons
Would like customizable report options I sometimes forget when setting up a new user to add them to the Geofence. Our company has only one location so an automatic add would be nice.

Response from Buddy Punch


Thank you Jim for the review, it's great to hear that you're utilizing our Geofencing feature and that you're finding us easy to use. We appreciate the feedback and your business!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review

Tohi Angilau

Great Product

Used weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-11-12
Review Source: Capterra

Best solution to time tracking for our hourly employees, and it keeps me updated when someone forgets to clock out. Also, it allows my employees to make changes if needed, which I can review and approve.

Pros
Ease of use, for both employees and managers. The phone app with the clock in/out feature makes this the easiest for our company.

Cons
No cons so far, and I've been using it for almost a year now.

Response from Buddy Punch


Thank you for the review, it is great to hear you are finding us easy to use! It's also good to hear you are making use of our alerts and reminders. We offer a range of reminders that can be sent via push notifications on a phone or email. Thanks again!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review

Josh Sharp

so so not greatest

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2016-09-17
Review Source: Capterra

Several areas of concern. Very little corrections made based on feedback. Not able to contact support by phone. Delayed response in email. Not open to different types and operations for different business types. This is a very baseline product with little features. Menus are hard for older users to read. Not user friendly for most users. Time corrections are difficult for users to complete or request. Very limited on admin ability to control aspects of the clock to prevent user issues. reports decimal place cannot be changed from 3 to 2 decimals increases rounding time for admin. Integration with payroll company cost additional funds.

Pros
online can view anywhere from a computer . the app is poor at best and is not integrated to be used as a time clock or to check all features and make adjustments from admin must have a computer to do so

Cons
Most of it

Response from Buddy Punch


Josh - Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Unfortunately many of your comments we believe are inaccurate and I would like to make sure that Buddy Punch is accurately reflected on Capterra. We do not charge for integrations with other Payroll Companies. We just added an integration with Paychex and there was no cost to any customer for doing so. We are also very timely in responding to inquiries. In your case specifically you opened a ticket on 7/29/16 at 3:52 pm. We responded at 4:14 pm the same day with a resolution. You opened a ticket on 8/29/16 at 12:35 pm, we replied at 12:46 pm. You opened a ticket on 9/12/16 at 10:21 am and we replied on 12:46 pm. We offer many features such as GPS, IP Address Lock, Webcam photos on punches, and notifications. We offer easy change requests with the user clicking on a button that says "I need to change something." I'm sorry we didn't work for your business and we will take your feedback into consideration.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review

Mary Brandt

Perfect Timeclock Solution!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-10-31
Review Source: Capterra

I've enjoyed using Buddy Punch! I've had to deal with several other timeclock solutions at other businesses, ranging from different software to old-fashioned punch clocks to just simple sheets you filled your hours out on. Far and away, BP is the best I've seen yet.

Pros
BuddyPunch is very easy to use and has several login options. Our employees can use their standard username and password, but they can also punch in faster/simpler using QR codes or a 4-digit pin. BP also organizes your timesheet well so that you can check your worked hours, PTO, etc at a glance.

Cons
Occasionally it can be slower to load on our systems, but not to a degree that causes "late punches".

Response from Buddy Punch


Thank you Mary for the review and the kind words! We appreciate your business.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review

Buddy Punch pricing

Starting from
$25/month
Pricing options
Free trial
Subscription
View Pricing Plans

30 Days Free on Any Plan. All features are included with each plan. Features include Job Codes, Locations, Managers, Notifications, OT Calculations, PTO/Sick/Vacation, Reports, Webcam photos on punches, iOS/Android Apps, Automatic Breaks, Single Sign On, GPS, IP Address Locks, Tablet/Mobile ready, Punch Rounding, QR Code support, & Integrations.

Buddy Punch features

API
Reminders

Activity Dashboard (380 other apps)
Activity Tracking (232 other apps)
Applicant Tracking (291 other apps)
Automatic Notifications (358 other apps)
Customizable Branding (282 other apps)
Customizable Reporting (280 other apps)
Data Import/Export (265 other apps)
Employee Database (244 other apps)
Employee Management (306 other apps)
Employee Onboarding (229 other apps)
Employee Portal (238 other apps)
Employee Self Service (231 other apps)
Performance Management (219 other apps)
Real Time Reporting (237 other apps)
Recruitment Management (237 other apps)
Reporting & Statistics (404 other apps)
Self Service Portal (263 other apps)
Third Party Integration (298 other apps)

Security and privacy

Encryption

Encryption of sensitive data at rest
HTTPS for all pages

Access control

Multi-factor authentication options
This will ask you to sign in with LinkedIn

Additional information for Buddy Punch

Key features of Buddy Punch

  • When an admin needs to take action on a request.
  • Coordinates for each login.
  • Make a label that employees can punch into.
  • QuickBooks Online & Desktop
  • Google/Gmail Integration
  • Excel/CSV/PDF Options.
  • Based on rules that you select from.
View All Features

Benefits

Simplicity. We've tested our app with real users and they required no training to be effective. Error handling is built in - we're human and we all make mistakes, our app helps your employees fix them and automatically notifies you. Not only is the app intuitive but security is a top priority. Not only is your information encrypted but if your computer has a webcam it can be used to take snapshots of each punch, to verify that your employees are actually there and doing the punching.

Buddy Punch can be used on any internet connected device. We're a web based solution, nothing to download, install, or update.