Intercom Reviews

Intercom Reviews

Intercom

A fundamentally new way to communicate with your customers

4.58/5 (65 reviews)
20,875     28,534

Darren Linkstrom

Verified Reviewer

All-in-one tool

21/03/2017

As an early stage startup, we were attracted to Intercom due to the low price point and quick & easy integration reviews we had read. We have a very agile development team and process which has helped us to get the most out of the platform. We initially started using Intercom for user re-engagement - a use case which it does perfectly. It is very scalable via the API for as many custom events as you want to define. And the rule setting interface for the touchpoint triggers is really intuitive and you don't have to be too technical. Our use cases for the platform have evolved and we now use it as our primary CRM and for all customer engagement.

Pros

Easy to implement, very scalable

Cons

They have a nice low price point for the Lite versions but you need to upgrade to unlock a lot of the valuable resources.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Intercom

Just start using it for whatever you narrow use case is that helped you discover it. It is really good at the narrow use cases and may win you over to the other use cases over time.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lucy Barber

Just awesome

28/02/2017

Intercom sets a new standard for software. Our team relies on it heavily for communication with our userbase and for note taking on issues. It's got really useful integrations to link to other efficiency tools for software teams as well. The team behind it is really helpful and answers support questions quickly and thoroughly. They also practice a lot of transparency so it is a company that feels good to work with and support. They're rolling out improvements constantly and keep their userbase informed about them. They also use the tool themselves and its nice to work with a company that "eats their own dog food", as the saying goes. The one thing that is confusing about their platform is the differentiation between their different product lines. We've been with them for years and maybe it is clearer for new accounts what they're using, but for us we often scratch our heads over whether or not we've got access to something. Other than that, amazing product for communicating with new and old users alike! Couldn't recommend more highly.

Pros

Great support team, constant improvements, easy communication with users and tracking over time, nice segmentation of customer base, great integrations for software teams

Cons

Hard to understand the differentiation between their product lines

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tales Buonarotti

State of Art

14/02/2017

Think about a good product...now multiply that 10x. Intercom is just getting better and better overtime. They have a true understanding of theirs customers needs and purpose. We been using for over a year and every new feature makes us do UOOOOUUU faces :)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
lisa jimmy

Amazing for customer support!

14/02/2017

We use Intercom at work for customer support, and email reach out, and absolutely love it! It is a very efficient tool to control the basic and advanced aspects of our customers.

Pros

easy to use

Cons

none so far

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Intercom

i highly recommend to every one

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Peters

Amazing Software

09/02/2017

They are by the best in the industry in my experience. The only problem is that they are extremely expensive. For any small company, they get to be very pricy. Keep that in mind when making your decision. As far as features, they can do most things but they do have a few drawbacks. They don't give you the ultimate level of customization in their iOS SDK but definitely have a convo with them to see if it is the right fit.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

False and misleading advertising reflects poorly on their corporate culture

05/02/2017

They did not honor their early stage startup bundle offer. Even after we wrote and complained. Added a condition that the startup must be live which was not stated on their website. We're actually live (embedded feature within other websites) and sent them the link to prove it. Will not deal with them any further. False and misleading advertising and not owning up to their mistakes.

Pros

Not relevant since they did not honor their offer.

Cons

Please see review above.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

0/10

Recommendations to others considering Intercom

Please see review above.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aleks Borisenko

The best product in the category

01/02/2017

I've been using multiple live messaging apps, however, Intercom is award winning solution, which is great for small biz as well.

Pros

Functionality is great. So many tools on one platform.

Cons

Too expensive as every product must be paid separately

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jordy Michaels

Really cool new company

25/01/2017

The setup was a little daunting because it mixed 4 platforms together but all in all I am amazed with the capabilities it has!

Pros

UI/UX is very impressive, it groups everything together so you dont need to be monitoring 5 different apps.

Cons

customer service has been just so so. It is hard to get answers on a timely manner

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Marcela Batisteli

Great product!

12/01/2017

Quite simple UI and great UX! We the product our company was able to filter and determine our audience more precisely.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ross van der Pas

Awesome Insights

05/01/2017

We have been using Intercom to interact with our clients on our website as well as monitor our web pages. The system is easy to use and has all the features we could need, the amount of information we can call upon using Intercom is brilliant.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nida Rasheed

Amazing for customer support!

22/12/2016

We use Intercom at work for customer support, and email reach out, and absolutely love it! It is super easy to use, has great features, and the support team is amazing! Would definitely recommend it to companies looking for a customer support software.

Pros

How easy it is to use.

Cons

The pricing plans are very confusing, and I feel like there should be one overall plan for the whole product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Schaeffer Arnold

Staying in touch with your users has never been easier

15/12/2016

Intercom has been a game-changer for our business to get real-time user feedback, automate messaging based on user actions/conditions, or prior to log out/post-login.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ryan Creamore

Huge Fan! The Future is Bright for Intercom!

10/12/2016

I utilized Intercom to implement our Customer Lifecycle Messaging. We were able to target our customers based on specific events they had or had not taken in the app. This wasn't complex to implement with this software, in fact, it was quite simple thanks to the intuitive UI/UX within Intercom. We ran targeted campaigns utilizing the messaging functionality, both in-app, and via e-mail. Intercom is the CRM of the future, and that future has come now.

Pros

Intuitive UI/UX Incredibly Detailed Filtering Great Support Team

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Fran Conesa

All in one: support, mailing, mobile apps

07/12/2016

It is a very efficient tool to control the basic and advanced aspects of our customers. For example, you can quickly access a complete record of any customer and see how he has interacted with your business: use, shopping, interaction. Perhaps it is a somewhat complex tool because it has many characteristics.

Pros

I like to have all the information of my clients on the same site. Working with such an extensive database is very useful for any business.

Cons

Sometimes, having so many features makes the platform not accessible to smaller businesses. The price is high, and it takes quite some time to take advantage of everything it offers.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Roxane Ost

Awesome support and features

06/12/2016

I love Intercom and their products, it is highly customizable and easy to get the hang of. The only thing I am not totally sold on yet is their chat. I feel that if I see a chat option on a site that I will get an immediate response. I like the innovation of what they are doing in this regard, but am still not totally sold:) Everything else is awesome!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Emily Cleary

Intercom is my go-to CRM

06/12/2016

I use Intercom on a daily basis to monitor customers and distribute content. Intercom's variety of features makes communication among your team quick and simple.

Pros

Setting up messages in the tool is easy. There are automatic and manual options to distribute content, and the monitoring of the content is done automatically. The customer service is also wonderful.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vincent Fonade

Very performant but expensive

06/12/2016

We use it for the chat service and the automation marketing tool. It's very helpful but quiet expensive.

Cons

Price

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Raquel Smith

A great way to engage with and get information about your customers

05/12/2016

I've used Intercom extensively for a couple years now. The product does exactly what it promises - it makes it easy to get information about to communicate with your customers. It is a bit expensive, but it's worth it to us for the service it provides. highly recommended.

Pros

Pretty easy to use, responsive customer support, allows us to easily communicate with our customers

Cons

The UI is a bit slow sometimes

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tiago Gouvêa

Great tool, but with reservations

17/11/2016

Really a good chat solution. But, when my trial expired, I knew that the "admin" user are counted as attendant, increasing the price. In fact, one agent and one admin will pay like two agents. I feel mistaken.

Pros

Great tool

Cons

Admin are agent? It's a cheat.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

3/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
CEO (Real Estate company, 1-10 employees)
Verified Reviewer

Intercom - it was cool, it's getting annoying

11/11/2016

Intercom's a product that we do like, we do use a lot. Our customers find it easy to use. The biggest issue to date has been their change in their apps UI/UX and the customer support during this migration. It wasn't great. I also feel like the value for money

Pros

- UI/UX - Ease of learn - Integration with your app (depending on your stack I suppose) - Client facing quality / customisation options of the tool

Cons

- Price point for different packages. Because you have to pay per month for each and there are 2 tiers for each, for a smaller startup it's expensive. Have to work with them to grow into it. - The product isn't that great relative to a self build if you got big enough. You'd want to look at building your own solution.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Intercom

This is a great product to just plug and play. Don't commit long term to this product. And certainly don't consider it your one stop shop for your customer support. You need to have and house your own data.

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Amber Stacey

Great for mass communications

03/11/2016

Intercom is awesome for mass communications to your workforce. You're able to specifically target the users who need new information.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Clinton Boyda

Intercom Improving

03/11/2016

Tested Intercom for several months, loved the experience, loved how it made the customer interaction easier and less intrusive (which is important when users already are having problems) but wow overpriced!

Pros

Lovely Interface Powerful Analytics and Dashboard Great way to maintain strong Customer ongoing relationshiops API is sweet

Cons

COST COST COST Incomplete product keeps engagement high and drops the ball as it can't fully function as a helpdesk by itself so you end up with intercom + helpdesk software still needed to keep helpdesk tickets/cases organized

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Intercom

Would love to migrate to this software permanently, API work already done for our Saas but without a complete helpdesk solution we can't afford this PLUS helpdesk licenses.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brent Kleinheksel

Great product, but they nickel and dime you a bit

03/11/2016

Overall I really like this product. Their UI is a bit wonky (although they think it's great), but it's been getting better. There are a few quirks that are annoying and the service experiences more service interruptions than other platforms we use. For what they do, versus what they charge however, we probably would switch quite quickly if something less expensive came along. Customer support is good though.

Pros

Generally makes customer service easier, however there is no knowledge base or any slick way of mining the data from the your customers.

Cons

You need to watch when typing a long response, the interface might crap out or freeze, etc.. It becomes annoying at times.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sam Runkle

Intercom is Swag

06/10/2016

Intercom has made it easier than ever to engage customers with our platform. I'm able to talk to customers in realtime and walk them through the process, keeping them interested.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
sarah koo

Amazing, intuitive product!

06/10/2016

As basic or as complicated as you want to make it, and totally streamlines the customer interaction experience. Our users love that they can get a hold of us in one click and chat with a real person, plus it allows for us to send out automated messages, announcements, etc. We could not live without Intercom and we get all the compliments for having such great customer care!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more