QuickBooks Online Reviews

QuickBooks Online Reviews

QuickBooks Online

Small business accounting software

4.09/5 (610 reviews)
358,400     39,067

Marcie DeBold

QB Review 2017

24/04/2017

Overall it is the best user-friendly software I have used for booking software.

Pros

It is simple a simple accounting package that works for all small companies and most mid-size. Very user friendly so if you aren't an accountant you can still use it.

Cons

Customizable Financial Statements and reports. Some of the reports can be customized, but when all the info is there you should be able to get any excel or CSV report you want.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Susan Rice

Very limited in reporting and customization.

21/04/2017

Customer service seems to be very willing to try to solve my problems and answer my questions.

Pros

It does have multiple solutions for tracking expenses. Can easily move from one module/area to another.

Cons

Cannot customize or format forms to suit the business. Statements are not clear and cannot adjust columns, options are limited. Audit trails are confusing. Cannot get enough customer history on a mobile device. The multiple solutions to tracking expenses can be very confusing. INTUIT payroll is OK to use, but the reporting functions for tax (employee vs employer) payments seem to be inadequate.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Remington Kesten

Quickbooks Online is great for simple, mobile sales.

18/04/2017

We have been using this system for 3 years now and love it! We have several weekly markets we sell at and having everything mobile and in the cloud is great.

Pros

Mobile accounting and payments seamlessly synced.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Robert Gursky

Quickbooks Online is better than sliced bread.

17/04/2017

I printed my vendor 1099s but this was an additional fee.

Pros

QuickBooks Online is a great way to manage your business. I was using the PC version of Quickbook for many years. It is top notch but tied me to one computer. With the online product, myself, coworkers, and my accountant can access our financial data anywhere/anytime. No worrying about updates or backups. The interface is very intuitive. The software is very versatile and can be adapted for many industries. The pricing is not a bargain but it very reasonable for the services rendered.

Cons

At times I have had issues adding users. I wish there was a Online Quicken for home users. They offer a "fat client/server" interface but I was not able to get it to run on my computer.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
mitchell  novitsky

Quick software

16/04/2017

I felt that software was easy to use and it walks you through the program very easily. I had no problems. If you forget something or make a mistake, the software will prevent you from finishing until the mistake is corrected. Very straightforward and user friendly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shane Hill

Quickbooks Online

14/04/2017

This software has plenty of functionality for small businesses. From time to time the online application will experience some issues with connectivity which is why it did not get a perfect score across the board.

Pros

Functionality

Cons

Connectivity from time to time

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering QuickBooks Online

Great reporting as well.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Edward Prieto

Quickbooks online

13/04/2017

We had a dedicated T1 type internet line at the church where we use the online software. There is no reason that the software functions should be slow. With the journal entry function in particular, the processing time to move from field to field is very slow. If you are a fast typist, you will get ahead of the processing and it will not process the entry correctly or it backs up. You have to wait for it to catch up in order to make the next field entry. I have had it lock up on me to the point where I have to get out and lose all that I just entered. I feel like it is their servers that are the delay/problem.

Pros

Can access from anywhere.

Cons

The delays in data entry due to processing time of keystrokes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

2/10

Recommendations to others considering QuickBooks Online

Quickbooks need more servers in order to keep up with the user who can type with all 10 fingers.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jon OBryan

Easiest entry accounting software I've found

13/04/2017

Quickbooks Online (QBO) is straightforward to get started and has easy reconciliation tools and makes porting in balance sheets easy. Their standardized export and import tools are much easier to use than some other software that we also tried (won't name any specific companies...but you probably know the other companies in this field).

Pros

Easy to use, standard features, plays well with other financial/accounting software.

Cons

Difficult to customize for individual business needs (specifically, creating visualizations for our custom metrics).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Melinda Wislon

Very helpful product

13/04/2017

I have been using Quickbooks online for years to keep track of my small business expenses. I also love how I am able to email invoices and have customers pay online!

Pros

It's easy and accurate

Cons

I wish I could do auto-payments with this.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering QuickBooks Online

It's an inexpensive solution for bookkeeping!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lydia Calder

Works great for small companies.

12/04/2017

I am the office manager at a small HVAC Company and QuickBooks is extremely useful and easy to use. We also use Corrigo's Intuit Field Service Management which syncs very well with QB. We do all of our invoicing, bill payments, and other transactions through QuickBooks and use many of their corresponding apps as well. They make everything about running a business very simple.

Pros

Simple to use, good reports, works well with other apps

Cons

N/A

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brandon Ogle

Easy to use

12/04/2017

Pros

Easy to use product that allows you to do all of the basic accounting functions. It's definitely worth your money!

Cons

Reports section is definitely lacking. It's also not the best tool for job costing as you can't retrieve labor spent.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel Fulmer

Great for small business!

12/04/2017

Pros

Very simple and easy to use Desktop app available so not always required to use a browser Clean interface

Cons

Not the best for fast growing companies. Works well for small business Sometimes filtering reports can be a pain

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Clayton Nordhoff

The best accounting software on the market!

12/04/2017

Pros

It is crazy how awesome this software is. From the profit loss statements to instantly seeing where you are at for the year!

Cons

I have no cons on this software. At least as of right now, quickbooks pro has their product together perfectly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Sam Hardwick

QBO - Great for smaller Companies

11/04/2017

QBO is a great online accounting platform that really helps self-employed business owners. However, the functionality is quite limited as your company scales. There are obvious basic features that it lacks - for example, you can link a bill to a PO, but if you only receive 1/2 the items on a PO it creates issues. If I like the bill it closes the PO completely and doesn't show the remaining line items as an outstanding PO, if you don't link it still shows the full balance as open. When you make suggestions they say they will take it to their engineering team, however, I've seen this exact comment brought up on blogs from 3 years ago and yet no fix has been made.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mathieu Baribeau

Fatal flaw, No backup

19/03/2017

I've been using this product for 2 years now and it has good perks about it but it has 1 fatal flaw. There is no way to backup your data and retreive your scanned files. If you make any mistakes there is no way to correct it except redo everything. And if you become disatisfied with the product or service, there is no way to download your data ( with the attached files) and move on. The only thing you can do is export it in excel but you don't get bills that you might have attached ( and receipts). So basically, you are stuck . I have made an error myself which required me to pay an accountant to fix it all, I did ask some help form a customer service rep named: Keaton Kirk, and his response was that unfortunately there was no way to go back and erase my error ( like restoring a backup) and that the probleme really was that I shouldn't of made the error in the first place!!! Duh!?. If that guy was working for me, he would have been out of a job for making the customer feel like an ass.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Barbara Horgan

Great for principles in different places

15/03/2017

Pros

I can see what is happening with my business 200 miles away. Ease of use with all the various forms to keep up with the company.

Cons

Security might be an issue. Just watch out. This only applies to setting up a company with a name much like other companies.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jedidiah Seller

Great but needs work on Payroll

15/03/2017

We use QB for all of our invoicing + Payroll + accounting needs. Everything is great EXCEPT they constantly get our with-holdings wrong for state and local taxes, such as Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, and Delaware. Every time we call and tell them "we've called before" we still get the darn emails saying action required, we need information. They just can't get it through! If they can fix that it would be a PERFECT product.

Pros

Invoicing. Accounting

Cons

Payroll

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Roy Browning

Very Functional Good Value

15/03/2017

Pros

Easy online access and fully featured software. Has everything you need to run the accounting for your business.

Cons

Does not have the versatility of the desktop software yet, but more is added regularly. It's also sometimes difficult to find settings and configurations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Cahill

Excellent product, easy to use

15/03/2017

Pros

Versatile with apps, I can do my multi currency payments very easily. Great reconciliation times. Saves me money

Cons

Can take time to get new apps, sometimes it can run slow but the online help and forums are brilliant

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cassie Lasson

Great!

14/03/2017

I like the app on the Mac. Can customize with logo. On the employee side easy to enter in hours.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

No spell check in the Mac App

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lee Lasson

QuickBooks Online Review

14/03/2017

I recommend it IF it meets your business requirements and you should consider those carefully.

Pros

Access from multiple computers without software install and it removes the need for a local backup...

Cons

Doesn't handle my bank's data download properly nor consistently. Also importing/exporting needs lots of work,

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Larry Zerner

Easier than PC version

14/03/2017

The best thing about the online version of Quickbooks is the ability to access it from any PC or tablet

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rodrigo Martinez

Great bookkeeping tool

14/03/2017

Great tool

Pros

I am new to the application but so far i found a lot of benefits on managing my expenses and incomes. This is definitely a great tool for any small -medium company.

Cons

As i said, i just start using the tool and i am not sure if it really has this functionality or not, but it will be great if we can take a picture of the expenses tickets and have the app to take the standard values of the ticket.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shinzo Blalack

A good, but not great software,

13/03/2017

Pros

Multiple users can log in at the same time to ring up customers. Easy and quick to edit orders and returns.

Cons

UI is not user-friendly and intuitive. Inventory isn't updated automatically and it often takes trial by fire to understand Quickbooks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Piccoli

Love it but want better instructions

13/03/2017

Pros

Fully featured, easy to expand as company grows. Integrates nicely into your bank account. Gold standard in small business account software.

Cons

Basic features are easy to use with good instructions, but anything more complicated is confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more