QuickBooks Online Reviews

QuickBooks Online Reviews

QuickBooks Online

Small business accounting software

4.08/5 (569 reviews)
352,106     39,067

Mathieu Baribeau

Fatal flaw, No backup

19/03/2017

I've been using this product for 2 years now and it has good perks about it but it has 1 fatal flaw. There is no way to backup your data and retreive your scanned files. If you make any mistakes there is no way to correct it except redo everything. And if you become disatisfied with the product or service, there is no way to download your data ( with the attached files) and move on. The only thing you can do is export it in excel but you don't get bills that you might have attached ( and receipts). So basically, you are stuck . I have made an error myself which required me to pay an accountant to fix it all, I did ask some help form a customer service rep named: Keaton Kirk, and his response was that unfortunately there was no way to go back and erase my error ( like restoring a backup) and that the probleme really was that I shouldn't of made the error in the first place!!! Duh!?. If that guy was working for me, he would have been out of a job for making the customer feel like an ass.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Barbara Horgan

Great for principles in different places

15/03/2017

Pros

I can see what is happening with my business 200 miles away. Ease of use with all the various forms to keep up with the company.

Cons

Security might be an issue. Just watch out. This only applies to setting up a company with a name much like other companies.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jedidiah Seller

Great but needs work on Payroll

15/03/2017

We use QB for all of our invoicing + Payroll + accounting needs. Everything is great EXCEPT they constantly get our with-holdings wrong for state and local taxes, such as Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, and Delaware. Every time we call and tell them "we've called before" we still get the darn emails saying action required, we need information. They just can't get it through! If they can fix that it would be a PERFECT product.

Pros

Invoicing. Accounting

Cons

Payroll

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Roy Browning

Very Functional Good Value

15/03/2017

Pros

Easy online access and fully featured software. Has everything you need to run the accounting for your business.

Cons

Does not have the versatility of the desktop software yet, but more is added regularly. It's also sometimes difficult to find settings and configurations.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Cahill

Excellent product, easy to use

15/03/2017

Pros

Versatile with apps, I can do my multi currency payments very easily. Great reconciliation times. Saves me money

Cons

Can take time to get new apps, sometimes it can run slow but the online help and forums are brilliant

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cassie Lasson

Great!

14/03/2017

I like the app on the Mac. Can customize with logo. On the employee side easy to enter in hours.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

No spell check in the Mac App

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lee Lasson

QuickBooks Online Review

14/03/2017

I recommend it IF it meets your business requirements and you should consider those carefully.

Pros

Access from multiple computers without software install and it removes the need for a local backup...

Cons

Doesn't handle my bank's data download properly nor consistently. Also importing/exporting needs lots of work,

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Larry Zerner

Easier than PC version

14/03/2017

The best thing about the online version of Quickbooks is the ability to access it from any PC or tablet

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rodrigo Martinez

Great bookkeeping tool

14/03/2017

Great tool

Pros

I am new to the application but so far i found a lot of benefits on managing my expenses and incomes. This is definitely a great tool for any small -medium company.

Cons

As i said, i just start using the tool and i am not sure if it really has this functionality or not, but it will be great if we can take a picture of the expenses tickets and have the app to take the standard values of the ticket.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shinzo Blalack

A good, but not great software,

13/03/2017

Pros

Multiple users can log in at the same time to ring up customers. Easy and quick to edit orders and returns.

Cons

UI is not user-friendly and intuitive. Inventory isn't updated automatically and it often takes trial by fire to understand Quickbooks.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt Piccoli

Love it but want better instructions

13/03/2017

Pros

Fully featured, easy to expand as company grows. Integrates nicely into your bank account. Gold standard in small business account software.

Cons

Basic features are easy to use with good instructions, but anything more complicated is confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James Tu

Useful Product!!!

13/03/2017

I have used Quickbooks for a few years and have found it to be very helpful.

Pros

Ease of use. Solid functionality.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nicholas LeClair

QBO Review

13/03/2017

I have used QBO with two different companies. It's been a great tool.

Pros

The browser version is robust and relatively intuitive

Cons

The mobile app leaves much to be desired in terms of functionality

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tim Stevenson

My experience

13/03/2017

This product has helped me to stay on track with busines finances. It also has helped me keep know expensed and actual are correct.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
John T Wright

Well known and understood by many

12/03/2017

Pros

Well known and used by many small businesses. Plenty of support from third parties and makes for a simple solution to communicate accounting records to account professionals. Able to set up company with ease and customize accounts to fit specific needs.

Cons

I would like to see it integrate with my email program so that when I send out invoices it comes from my email address and not intuit. I was also disappointed that it did not sync with my current customer database/crm. Would also like to see more customization for invoices.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Grace Watson

Where are we

12/03/2017

Must have, easy, fast and helpful for. Growth with team. Easy for non business, more creative team to grasp and Embrace for goals

Pros

Gotta know where we are at now. Time saver

Cons

An

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

4/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jeremy Berth

Really helpful for my business

12/03/2017

Pros

Easy to use and navigate. Our accounting department uses it alot as it ties into our ERP system. I use it more for generating sales reports.

Cons

I probably could do more with it if I knew more about it, but not sure if that is due to my laziness or quickbooks lack of educating material.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Augustus McCloskey

Ease of use is great.

12/03/2017

Pros

Daily input is easy and efficient. Everything is very intuitive and it's helped me organize my business in a way I didn't think possible.

Cons

Although the system is very efficient in day to day input. Inputting old data is a little tedious and time consuming.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Daniel McRedmond

Dan's thoughts

12/03/2017

Great product. Get used to not having to reconcile your bank account monthly! You do it every day!

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

Transitioning away from "monthly close"

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
A verified reviewer
Verified Reviewer

Not Suitable for Law Firm

10/03/2017

We have moved all of our functions to the Cloud. Last to go was QB. We have used QB desktop since 1998. Almost never a problem. The move to the Cloud has been horrific. Very little support for migration issues. Connectivity with our online banking gets lost every once in a while for no discernible reason. But chiefly the effort to customize the trial balance report to show each clients subsidiary ledger still is not functioning. The payroll function shows tax payments unpaid although paid through QB e-filing and recorded by the IRS. Intuit notes the error and says it will attend to it and have it fixed by April 26th (this rating is March 10th.) If we are audited by our Supreme Court's auditors and the typically only give three weeks notice, at best I am explaining this problem and at worse having a deficiency noted. Maybe one day this produce will be worth it, but not now.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

1/10

Recommendations to others considering QuickBooks Online

Be afraid, be very afraid.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michael Stein

QBO Review

10/03/2017

For a small business, QBO covers all your needs. Easy bank feed, and entry for credit cards. Easy to run a balance sheet and P & L.

Pros

They have videos for training and if you can't find it there, YouTube has your questions covered.

Cons

No real cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Other

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick Dixon

Concrete accountant!

09/03/2017

Pros

Easy to use for the non accountant. Links in with banks, credit cards, and other accounts to keep everything simple and up to date.

Cons

Online version and payroll does not track hours to jobs for contractor use. An app is available for an additional monthly cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Shawn Young

Easy to use!

25/02/2017

Quickbooks Online is a complete system that has everything our company needs in order to run our business from anywhere. It's very easy to use without tons of training and it's very convenient because we can review our records anywhere.

Pros

Easy to use, access from anywhere, very complete system

Cons

Limited reporting

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jennifer Jarta

Easy to Get Off the Ground

24/02/2017

I've been using this product for a small business for about a year. It was very easy to get started and it holds your hand through most everything. I love that it's connected to my mobile app. It has many more features than I've been using so I'm continuing to learn as I go and to add to what I can do within the software. It's excellent for keeping track of everything and I've loved the ability to email out invoices and allow customers to pay those invoices online with a credit card.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Matt May

Switched Back

24/02/2017

I tried the online version after 20 + years of using the original and was disappointed that not all my data could transfer

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more