This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Global Shop Solutions

We simplify your manufacturing.™

see alternatives

Global Shop Solutions Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Also, the support team is absolutely wonderful to deal with and very helpful anytime I have questions on how to better our system.

Heather T.

Contact Global Shop Solutions they are the best. The support is great and they continually improve the product and the updates are easy to install.

Kelly E.

This is a great solution for medium size companies who want to have a customized solution. Stay up with the upgrades, and understand that you will need dedicated resources to work within the system.

Amy D.

Cons

Most all of the program. If you have a problem in one module, it can affect all the others and make your life miserable.

Erica S.

Some aspects of the system can be complicated. Needs more tools to flush out problems created by users not using the system correctly (garbage in garbage out).

Paul R.

Many Error codes that need a hotfixes or cannot be fixed. These are the basic cons, the extended list of error codes, and hotfixes are very long and daily.

Jennifer W.

Overall rating

4.2

5

4

3

2

1

32

25

3

3

2

88%
positive reviews
93%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


65 reviews

recommended

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent experience over the past 10 years

Reviewed 3 years ago

GSS has been a good fit for us by providing a fully developed, all-in-one business resource, from a software provider that acts more as a partner than a vendor.

Pros

We find GSS to be a highly developed ERP tool with some very sophisticated functionality; not all of which we need to take advantage of, but is there if/when we decide to. The extensive range of selective parameters allowed for flexibility in how we configured the software to function for our business, so the implementation process was key for us. And we find, even 10 years in, that these software...

Cons

Issues we had with moving between modules to gain information - or a "big picture" approach - have been satisfied with the introduction of dashboards throughout all areas of the software. Some lag in the system has developed from recent changes within the software but we believe are being addressed.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Solid and Flexible System with Advanced Features.

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The product is very flexible, detailed, and truly integrated. It is capable of delivering capabilities and options that most vendors only seem able to promise. This, matched with a very high reliability, makes the system a good match for most manufacturing organizations. The integration and interface make for a good user experience that is flexible enough to meet most users' needs. This is accomplished...

Cons

Dealing with issues after upgrades and limited support for older versions are a hassle. Being that it is such a complex piece of software and is tweaked to each user's needs, I understand that issues crop up, but that doesn't make dealing with them any less difficult.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Absolutely horrible user interface.

Reviewed 4 years ago

We’ve been using this program for about 13 months now and I struggle to find anything to say that is positive. In summary, if anyone is considering using this program to make their work simpler, they’ll be very disappointed. Below are some notes. Note; I have paragraphs and paragraphs of how bad this program is but I'll try to be brief. The user interface is, without question, the worst I’ve ever...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

This program will not interface with Windows(tm). Among other things, you cannot use control-Z. Formatting is not possible.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Operations Manager

Reviewed 4 years ago

We went live in Global Shop on 04-01-15 and in virtually all areas of our company, it's simplified how we operate. Is there a learning curve? Yes, but we went into the transition expecting a learning curve! It was new, complex software that took the place of multiple homegrown systems. It took 4 months from when we started till we went "live", which for us exceeded our expectations.

Pros

1. Customer Support - Global Shop was and has been with us every step of the way. It's an understatement to say selecting an ERP system is a big deal! There will be questions/issues to work through and when those questions/issues come up, you need answers ASAP. Global Shop has been there for us. 2. Simplifies operation - Having everything one umbrella has been a game changer for us. No more double entering. 3. The list goes on - Advanced Planning/Scheduling, visible inventory, real-time job costing, auto-purchasing, etc.

Cons

1. The shop side has been fantastic. The office gals had a tough time transitioning the accounting side to Global Shop from Quickbooks. Although one thing I will say on this is, Global Shop was always there to answer questions, and now after we are up and going our accountant says her job is easier. 2. Updates (we've been updating yearly). We are committed to staying up to date with the software. So far I've done three updates. Two were seamless and one took a bit more work.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A great solution for your manufacturing business!

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

The product: GSS is truly a one-system ERP. Every aspect of our business will soon be done inside of GSS. There will be no more Word documents or spreadsheets! We utilize nearly all of the GSS modules and a few non-standard modules/programs in addition. One of the most valuable non-standard modules/programs for us has been the SolidWorks to GSS upload tool. This module allows us to model a custom job...

Cons

The product: GSS heavily utilizes Crystal Reports to generate nearly all reports. Almost a year ago, SAP (Crystal Reports) changed the level of process GSS was able to use, making the report generation slower. It has been a minor inconvenience, but an inconvenience nonetheless. GSS has been working on solutions for this, and it has gotten better with the latest updates. We are an update or two behind...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Robust System, Incredible Number of Features!

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been using Global Shop for 9 years. There is almost nothing this system can't do. We have barely scratched the surface of some of the capabilities of the software. Customer support was hit or miss back in the early days of our installation. It was hard to get support on the phone or by email when you really needed it. Over the last 4-5 years they have placed an emphasis on improving...

Pros

No pros were added to this review

Cons

No cons were added to this review

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

We have been using this software now for 4 years and it's paid for itself a few times over

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

1. It cut our purchasing time literally in half, we can now run our MRP on a daily basis thanks to automated purchasing. 2. Our on time delivery increased from 72% to over 90% using the APS feature. 3. The ARC store has thousands of custom reports that were developed by Global Shop for specific customers and they make them available to all of their customers. if you see one you would like to try just...

Cons

1. Sometimes when major updates are released there a quite a few issues that have to be fixed after install via hot fixes. 2.Training classes are only held in Houston which can run into quite a bit of money for a 1, 2 or 3 day class for air, lodging, food and transportation. 3. Sometimes it takes a bit of time to get an answer to a problem

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Powerful modern ERP

Reviewed 4 years ago

Concerning a manufacturing company that is dedicated to maximizing value to the customer, Global Shop Solutions offers an ERP that provides access to high-end continual improvement tools without the complexity and cost of software used at much larger companies. The access to those tools such as SPC, CRM, inventory control, and workflow planning/scheduling then provides a means to gain significant competitive advantage in whatever market your firm operates in.

Pros

Global Shop's interface is intuitive. In that, the vast majority of its functionality is quite literally at your fingertips.

Cons

While Global Shop Solutions has incredible functionality for the price, it still seems to be primarily focused on a traditional model of manufacturing. Because of that, there are instances where certain modules don't quite fit with existing operations procedures and processes.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Global Shop Review

Reviewed 4 years ago

As a small manufacturing company we are underutilizing Global Shop's potential, however, regarding our customer demands, it satisfies more than 80% of our needs. It is a great interface for time tracking, generating part specific costs and reports. It is not so great when I want to track quality metrics not necessarily part related.

Pros

Global Shop has given our company a wonderful infrastructure for cost evaluation and reporting. It is also wonderful at time tracking for employee time on machines, jobs, or process. We use it as a comprehensive overhead tracking tool.

Cons

Modules are expensive and customizing applications is difficult. The user interface has a high learning curve for personnel when new to this type of ERP.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

The good and the bad

Reviewed 4 years ago

There are some widgets/features on GSS that we do not use. Also, some of the features we use a shortcut (basically) instead of doing things the long way. Sometimes it is to our advantage, others it is not.

Pros

Payroll is an easy feature that I like on Global Shop Solutions (GSS), it is very simple. I have used other payroll software that was very difficult to use. Accounting (A/P & A/R) are also very functional. Quoting, Shop Orders,

Cons

Speed, it is very slow at times and Crystal Reports are ALWAYS slow. So many reports to print, some cannot be simplified. Many Error codes that need a hotfixes or cannot be fixed. These are the basic cons, the extended list of error codes, and hotfixes are very long and daily.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Company, Fanastic ERP Solution

Reviewed 4 years ago

We have been using Global Shop for well over a decade and it has grown with our company. It's been great to see all the new features and modern enhancements they have been putting in recently. It does an excellent job tracking our manufacturing costs and getting things scheduled on-time. It would have been impossible to achieve our current 99% on-time delivery without their scheduling system. ...

Pros

-Modules to help run every aspect of our business -Ability to customize modules to our needs

Cons

-Some aspects of the system can be complicated -Needs more tools to flush out problems created by users not using the system correctly (garbage in garbage out)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Plant Manager- Approval of Global Shop Solutions ERP

Reviewed 3 years ago

This system is great! You can buy this system and just keep adding or turning on the things you need. We just integrated our Tool Dispensing Machine with GSS for Real Job Costing analysis. It is still early in, but I can now see what tools and how many the employee used on the job. This cost is then added to the total expense required to make the parts. We also like the play back recorded features to aid new users to GSS.

Pros

Global Shop Solution is a great ERP system. I love when a customer calls and ask for a Job Update, I just click open the work order and can see just about anything, quantities already completed, hours on the job, what steps are remaining. But GSS doesn't stop there, they have dash boards for everyone, scheduling, outsourcing, attendance, etc.

Cons

Like any new computer system, you have to learn where to view certain needs. But GSS has some friendly Icons that helps.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Global Shop is a complete solution that exceeds its customer's needs!

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Global Shop's software has all the bells and whistles a company needs and would want from an ERP software package. Its technical support is always happy to help and responds very quickly to troubleshooting tickets. Global Shop also keeps pace or is ahead of current technology and industry trends so their software is always up to date, works on new platforms, feels fresh and new and functions as expected. Their customer support team is also wonderful to deal with and very helpful. Our account representative who is new to Global Shop's team, is how I imagine all representatives should be: prompt in following up with customer requests, eager to tackle new problems or questions that may arise, knowledgeable and maintains routine check-ins to ensure customer satisfaction.

Cons

At first, Global Shop Solutions software is very complex because it has so much functionality and capability.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Global Shop offers scalable big-ERP functionality for small shops.

Reviewed 4 years ago

Love the all-in-one approach that Global Shop offers for the small to medium size manufacturing companies. Quick support - if I ask "can we do this?" they most often have a way free-of-charge for me to implement. The only company I know that allows me to use software improvements paid for by other customers at no extra charge. They are continuously improving and the .NET platform rocks. Glad we went with them!

Pros

I like the intuitive for navigating between various functions. In most places if you're thinking "boy, I'd like to see how that ___ is set up." (for example, part number, work order, sales order, purchase order, etc.) there is typically a short-cut that will take you from one screen to another - and it's in a logical place.

Cons

It's very complex and comprehensive and there are multiple ways to do many functions. It takes a while to train people on it, though there are many ways to get training.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great Customer Service, Fantastic ERP System, Easy to Use!

Reviewed 3 years ago

If you want to learn more about the use of this software, I recommend signing up for the Global Shop Friday Features! It is such a great added benefit and has been useful many times when I want to learn different modules and functions.

Pros

As the Human Resources Manager, my primary use of Global Shop is the Payroll function. This function is very simple to use and very user friendly. It is wonderful at time tracking for employee time on machines, jobs, or process. I love that this function gives me the ability to export the necessary reports straight to our payroll provider, which saves me time and makes my job easier. We have been utilizing the training capabilities within GS to create training guides for certain departments and it has saved me a ton of time not having to write out each step. Being able to screenshot each step of the process is wonderful and really helps my training process. Also, the support team is absolutely wonderful to deal with and very helpful anytime I have questions on how to better our system.

Cons

At times, the speed of the system can lag, and it varies from module to module.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great ERP Software

Reviewed 4 years ago

Highly recommend. Excellent product, User-friendly software, and people friendly company.

Pros

Great ERP software for fast-growing organization. The upgrade path from 13.0 to 16.2 was quite straightforward and provided support at every step of the process. Best experiences with their customer service and support team. All questions got resolved promptly. Our Account Manager is knowledgeable and very caring. The most important is Global Shop Solution is highly ethical and social responsibility. That is usually a good sign of how well the company is and how prosperous their future will be.

Cons

I hope Global Shop Solutions has an on-site training in the local area near us. (Southern California)

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

IT Support Opinion

Reviewed 4 years ago

As person supporting the software, I find it a bit difficult. We are not able to fully use the installer module. We have to uncheck a number of options because they cause problems. We uncheckPervasive because the module installs Pervasive 12 and we are on Pervasive 11. It took several problem installs and a support request learn this. We uncheck Crystal because the current Crystal reports will...

Pros

It is full featured. Support is generally good.

Cons

Slow. Info about installation is not disseminated.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great ERP package, works great, support is amazing and the owners are great!

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The interface is great! Everything always seems to work well, look well, and whenever something isn't working well the support staff are amazing at resolving issues! No overseas helpdesk, it's all local in Houston, TX! The owners and managers at Global Shop are among the best I've ever encountered too!

Cons

Well, for all of it's pro's the one con I can say is the first thing that always comes to mind is the annual cost to maintain it.. it's a little expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Software To Grow With You

Reviewed 4 years ago

The ability to customize Global Shop is key, since it allows an organization to find and maintain its' processes without trying to fit into a pre-defined mold. The support team is knowledgeable in their product, and willing to get to the bottom of every issue.

Pros

customizable, relatively easy to report out of once you know where to look

Cons

Pricing model

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great ERP software

Reviewed 4 years ago

I have been a Global Shop user/administrator at our company for almost 10 years. The software is easily navigated and has some powerful tools. We find that the accounting side has all the details you would ever need. Job costing is very thorough and easily extracted.

Pros

Great detail. Great reports.

Cons

There are several ways to get to the same information. Make sure you choose the path that works best for your needs and stick with it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

An improvment from what we had before

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

inventory/BOM tracking of inventory and needed item is helpful and works well. I helped look a lot of systems when we bought this one, seems like most bag for the buck for what we needed.

Cons

quality package is weak, does not track or report well and does not track cost of scrap the way we would like without splitting jobs. Report do not pick or filter out trends well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Customer Service has always been Great, all questions get answered quickly. As time has progressed, the global system is extremely slow

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Supply and Demand with Edit is great. Makes navigation painless and easy as far as the manufacturing side. Customer Service is outstanding.

Cons

I am not sure if it is the added features or maybe added seats, but some days the system is so slow it is frustrating to use. If we had the option to turn off the features that slow it down that would be great

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

We have been a loyal Gloabl Shop user since 2003.

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Great customer service and technical support. Here is a recent comment from one of our managers sent to the President of GSS; This morning at 6:00AM I got a call from our production control person that no one could log into Global Shop. I called your 800 number expecting to get a recording but to my surprise a very cordial lady answered on the first or second ring. She took my contact information...

Cons

I'm a GSS believer! .

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Global Shop

Reviewed 4 years ago

When I first started working at Profab the ERP system that they had was horrible to use, and there was no check and balances before posting things to the system. Being an accountant, that's the one thing i like is that i am able to check things over before its just submitted for payment or invoicing.

Pros

easy access to being able to locate things in multiple areas.

Cons

Not having the capabilities export some reports

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

RK Mechanical customer since 2008

Reviewed 4 years ago

I implemented Global Shop at a previous employer (Custom Window Co) and have been system admin. at 2 companies. Have been using GS for 10 years and love it especially GAB and your customer service.

Pros

GAB and customer service

Cons

some areas have bugs that continue through updates, some process could be more efficient.