App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

IFTTT Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.6

/5

198
90%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.61/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

My experience with IFTTT was very positive and I think it's a super clever idea that was also well-executed.
Both options have much to offer. The customer support is amazing and the website also offers tutorials on how best to use the service to maximize your scheduling.
I love how practical the IFTTT application is. They make it very easy to figure out how the tool can help you, and then the configuration process is quite simple as well.
Maybe I just not getting it but I struggle figuring it out. I also have noticed that the IFTTTs that I've created sometimes work and sometimes don't.
I haven't used the app enough to say too much in terms of negative feedback.
I also have had issues with some services not providing all of their features as triggers or actions, which can make actions more difficult to create.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


198 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gregg T.

CMO

Broadcast Media, 1-10 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

Amazing and So Cool

Reviewed 9 months ago

Transcript

Gregg T.: Gregg, and I am the owner of a digital marketing agency. I give IFTTT If This Then That a five...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jared D.

Customer Success Manager

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

If you're not using IFTTT, download now

Reviewed 6 months ago

Transcript

Jared D.: I'm Jared, a nonprofit consultant, and I would give IFTTT a five out of five stars. For more...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jay L.

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great for personal projects

Reviewed a month ago

Awesome, product works great.

Pros

I really like the fact that IFTTT has tons of Smart Home integrations included.

Cons

Their interface when creating integrations isn't as intuitive as it could be.

SB
AvatarImg

Simon B.

Real Estate, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Simply the best home automation toolset

Reviewed 2 years ago

setting up home/office integrations that remove interruptions from the working day.

Pros

A wider range of connectors than anywhere else, and the simplest way to create most triggered actions. IFTTT pro now allows multi-step actions which would address most of the issues I had earlier.

Cons

being able to link to multiple accounts for triggers and actions would give me everything I really need from this now.

NG
AvatarImg

Nir G.

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Robust integrations for smart home, less for solopreneurs

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall this is one of the best tools in my toolkit, one that would be hard to let go and replace.

Pros

It allows setting seamless integrations between your gadgets. Pretty reliable in terms of uptime. Vast library of tools and platforms to connect.

Cons

The advanced features are somewhat lacking. Although the platform supports any external webhook, writing your own applets using the IFTTT current tools (let alone debugging them) is quite cumbersome and left me frustrated. In addition I could have been notified on failed runs instead of checking myself why I haven't received a message in a while.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Dustin W. S.

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Such promise. Much undelivered.

Reviewed a year ago

My overall experience with IFTTT is a letdown. And I've held out hope for YEARS. Just couldn't make it useful from a business perspective.

Pros

I like the idea of IFTTT more than anything else. The UI is nice and clean.

Cons

The big disappointment in IFTTT is that is just doesn't do enough for professionals/business. Not only that, but trying to modify or edit the settings of an applet is difficult if not impossible. There's just not enough control.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Char O.

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

They don't make your apps snd sites....... They make them better

Reviewed 3 months ago

Overall, i really like ifttt. There's a few issues, but the majority of the time it's pretty awesome

Pros

I can post to social media, without being there. Vital for the followers on other side of the world. It meshes with so many sites and apps so you can get a lot done, while getting a lot of other stuff done.

Cons

Sometimes it stalls out on me. Not too often, but it does. It doesn't work well with self hosted WP , ongoing issue. There's some services id like to make my own integrations for, but a few aren't so clear as to how to do that. It should also have a duplicate reminder, I've had it double posting before, and took days to figure it out, by that time damage was extensive

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Francisco C.

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Great automation software easy to use

Reviewed 2 years ago

It has been great for making good automations with alexa and calendars in no time

Pros

I like that you can set up the steps needed for an automation even on your phone in less than a minute and get it working immediately

Cons

I would like to have more integrations for business software. It works great with commercial stuff like google, alexa, mail, etc. But on a larger business term like integrations of CRM, Mailchimp and Slack it falls short.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Cool automation tool

Reviewed 18 days ago

A bit of negativity but generally good

Pros

IFTTT is a Cool automation tool that helps small businesses to perform tasks.

Cons

The interface lacks a little dynamism. so need to improve.

CD
AvatarImg

Cassandra D.

Publishing, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great app and very useful

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

I love that it was so easy to set up little ifttt runs. Even just simple things like when I get out of the car, turning off my Bluetooth when I connect to my home WiFi so that I'm not wasting my phone battery or cross posting things from one social media platform to another.

Cons

For some of it you need to know what it is you want to do in advance. It can be difficult to be inspired by the app sometimes.

JK
AvatarImg

Jesse K.

Media Production, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

IFTTT is the original workflow automation

Reviewed a month ago

Even though Zapier and IFTTT were launched the same year (2011), as an average user I found IFTTT first. It was simple back then—you could get an email that told you when it would rain—but it made automation accessible to the masses. It was an easy to follow formula (if this, then that) and remains so simple to work with. It doesn't have as many integrations as Zapier, and doesn't provide multi-step workflows, but it remains a highly useful tool, especially for average users.

Pros

IFTTT made automation easy for the masses. A simple to use app, a process a kid could follow (if this then that), made it easy to pick up and use.

Cons

It doesn't have as many integrations as Zapier.

TA
AvatarImg

Timothée A.

Marketing and Advertising, self-employed

Used monthly for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Automation at your fingertips

Reviewed 25 days ago
Pros

It was one of the first automation tools I used over 10 years ago. The numerous "recipes" offered made it an extraordinarily easy to use tool

Cons

It's great for private use, but rather limited for professional use

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Gonzalo B.

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

If this isn't Black Magic Then That's IFTTT

Reviewed 3 years ago

IFTTT is a valuable tool for my personal and working life, the tool has proved to be a great asset to automate repetitive tasks. IFTTT has saved precious hours throughout the week and has improved how I work and how I use my free time as well.

Pros

When I discovered IFTTT a few years back my jaw dropped. I couldn't believe my eyes. IFTTT is perfect for productivity and optimization geeks that want to do their most out of their time and also for those who have fun letting the Internet of Things unleash in their lives. IFTTT can't really be compared to other automation services like Zapier, is not intended for an enterprise-like operations runner...

Cons

I found that some of the triggers sometimes don't run and you can't see why in detail, it could be awesome to have a log to see what went wrong, when and why. Also, it would be great to be able to deploy many tasks from one single trigger without having to create another applet for that (something that can lead to duplication, closed loops, etc). Sometimes the description of the applets is too short,...

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Nathan S.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IFTTT - action automation with limitations

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

IFTTT is a great service that allows you to automate repetitive tasks without knowing how to code. It is really good at several things including: 1) Recipe Marketplace- If you are new to IFTTT you can easily get started with their marketplace of applets or Recipes. Using recipes (as they are called) you can easily connect services and begin to create new tasks. The good thing is that there are many...

Cons

I feel like IFTTT actions do not always work, for example if you have a service running and you encounter an error, you have to delete the recipe and start all over. Some recipes are pointless, the quality in the marketplace really varies. You have to test before committing to any recipe. Have had instances where an Tweet is not shared to Facebook or vice versa but IFTTT says the recipe was run. There are instances where you do need to know a bit of coding to get create recipes that have a lot of triggers and in some cases even pay someone to get things done for you. For the most part its easy to get started but you may need to be a coder to create some complex recipes that have multiple tasks and triggers.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kate J.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

If you find yourself repeatedly doing the same action - look into this.

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

Over the last couple of years, IFTTT has begun to focus a lot more on smart home automation - but there are still some really great triggers available. Using simple logic triggers you can make two different (or even the same) apps communicate and complete actions for you. There is a great user-generated base of ideas for things you can do with the application! It's a great place to start if you...

Cons

Zapier has begun overtaking it in the volume of apps available to integrate with. But - if you have a smart home, or multiple smart-devices - IFTTT will be a valuable tool for you.

CR
AvatarImg

Craig R.

Verified reviewer

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Automation for Everyone But Has Its Limits

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

IFTTT brings free automation/integrations to a huge variety of apps and offers a pretty straightforward user interface to do it, which makes it a great way for anyone to start using automation. One of the key benefits it has over some other popular automation platforms (aside from being free) is that it has a fully featured, native mobile apps for iOS and Google Play, and even the super helpful Apple Watch app. The big standouts benefits for me are the ability to work with iPhone stock apps in a direct manner, and the extensive list of supported home automation services, which many alternative platforms don't include.

Cons

IFTTT is better for home and lifestyle use than business use. It lacks support for a lot of enterprise software systems, and the ones it does support have fairly thin offerings for pre-built integrations/automations. The service, while free, also has been known to go out more frequently (and for extended periods of time) so it's not great for critical applications. The other big limitation is that IFTTT supports one-step automations, but anything needing conditional input or multiple steps can't be done directly in the app (although more savvy users can connect it to other apps to simulate that type of workflow).

CB
AvatarImg

Chris B.

Music, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Streamline and Integration

Reviewed 3 years ago

It's been a great time saver automating redundant tasks to free up time for non-mundane tasks.

Pros

IFTTT is a pretty awesome app that allows you to custom chain apps or functionalities to improve user experience. The app is integrated with all of your favourite software so it is one of the most relevant add-ons you can get. Your options are truly limitless as you bolt together manual functions and speed them up through automation. With the app you can: Use your phone's location to trigger your lights to turn on when you get home Take a screenshot of your phone's desktop and have it automatically upload to a folder on your favourite cloud like Google Drive, Drop Box, or One Drive. Use it with Microsoft Power apps to take advantage of its integration with SharePoint to update a field, or add a line to a spreadsheet Truly the options are limitless

Cons

You can't chain together multiple IFTTT statements or at least I'm yet to figure out how to....and the software seems limited for users to some predetermined functionality that is allowed. So, not all of the features of your favourite apps are necessarily integrated into IFTTT - so you need to do some research before buying an app of your intention is to chain it with IFTTT to another process.

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Hospitality, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The Essential Smart Home Tool

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall IFTTT is an essential part of anyone's smart home. Our current devices are very limited to what actions they can execute, but with IFTTT your entire smart home comes together with more unison. It makes the smart home experience flow more smoothly and you have access to hundreds of more features and triggers than if your smart home devices just worked independently of each other.

Pros

IFTTT is a necessary part of any smart home. This software gives you the ability to connect the services you use in your home like Eufy, Nest, Phillips, Smart Life, Google Assistant etc. You are able to easily create triggers that make other things happen. So if you say "I am home" you could trigger the lights, AC, and turn on the TV all with just one simple phrase. I love how easily it streamlines your smart home experience. One of the best features is just how many products it supports, there are hundreds of services that you can link to IFTTT so it is likely that the devices you use will be featured there.

Cons

I do wish that when a command could not properly be executed it notifies me either on my Google Assistant or on my phone. I also have had issues with some services not providing all of their features as triggers or actions, which can make actions more difficult to create.

CT
AvatarImg

Christos T.

Marketing and Advertising, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best value-for-money automation platform

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is an awesome tool that has saved us enormous amount of time and has allowed us to automate huge part of our day-to-day tasks

Pros

With IFTTT "recipes" we were able to automate nearly 50% of our daily processes. From simultaneous posting to archiving (moving files in google drive) to logging (keep track of every change at a google spreadsheet) we were able to automate every repetitive task in our organization.

Cons

Sometimes the service stops working (ie when you change your password to any connected platform you need to re-autorize IFTTT) and it might take a while before you realise it.

SC
AvatarImg

Sean C.

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IFTTT is key to my Social Media strategy

Reviewed 3 years ago

I have been using the app since 2016 and have loved how much I can do with it. Not only is it an app that helps my social media strategy out but also keeps me organized. It’s really a set it and forget it platform. If anything, try it out for yourself. That’s what I did and haven’t looked back since.

Pros

There are so many options to link info between social media platforms as well as others apps/programs to keep me updated

Cons

Some platforms make you re-initiate their service and you have to log back in to reactive. This can cause miss posts, but it is an easy fix to log into the app and turn it back on to work again.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Craig A.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Automation without a need for Code.

Reviewed a year ago

The ability to integrate alot of our productivity tools (dropbox\Office\Skype\Zoom etc) with mobile device notifications has given greater visibility on things that need our attention whilst out on the road or out of the office. IFTTT has a really intuitive UI meaning people with very limited technical skills can still get workflows running pretty quickly.

Pros

The ability to easily integrate multiple disparate applications with a no-code solution brings a massive amount of automation without the need for deep developer skills. Great for quick touch solutions or starter down a developer path

Cons

The product up until recently has been focus on consumer and light productivity solutions that does limit its applicability. Also the push notifications via SMS are extremely hit and miss.

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Jason W.

Verified reviewer

Construction, 1-10 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Settings Apps Leave Out

Reviewed 2 years ago

Overall IFTTT has been a pleasure to use with ease and has provided ma with many useful applets. The best thing is they provide updates every so often loaded with new applets.

Pros

Using IFTTT will bring a new outlook to the apps you use each and everyday. Ever wished that two apps were compatible and linked to each other well guess what wishes come true. IFTTT is packed full of applets that connect different services and connections together but you can also make your own custom applets. The process is pretty easy to understand and use even for the average tech user. The biggest plus is that its safe to use unlike many of the services offered nowdays.

Cons

The only con I have experienced in my use of IFTTT is that I will connect my services, connections, or devices then select my applet and options. Well somtimes during the running of the applet it will just close for no reason, no error nothing. I have researched for an answer but so far have not had any luck finding a solution.

MN
AvatarImg

Mukul N.

Verified reviewer

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Automation is now a childs play.

Reviewed a year ago

My basic use of the IFTTT is to give notification on Telegram whenever a new row is inserted in Google Sheet and IFTTT is doing the same quite flawlessly.

Pros

Easiness and straightforward approach make the IFTTT ahead of other available solutions, It took only 2 minutes to sign up and I am pretty sure in total 10 minutes your Alert system/Automation is ready to run. Even in the free account 3 number of automation tasks are free for life and with zero latency.

Cons

In the case of the Google sheet option available options are very limited like a change in single-cell value/Insert a new row where Zapier provides many more options.

SB
AvatarImg

Skyler B.

Photography, self-employed

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IFTTT is simply the best!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Outstanding! I use it for both business and personal applications. It's been a lifesaver over the years!

Pros

IFTTT is basically a free version of Zapier for the everyday user. It allows us to integrate multiple software solutions/platforms to conduct business processes automatically, saving us tons of time and money.

Cons

Honestly, I have never had a single issue with IFTTT. The platform is easy to use, simple to set up, integrates with tons of different software solutions, and it's free!

AR
AvatarImg

Anonymous Reviewer

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, self-employed

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Do things with your other things that those things don't do on their own

Reviewed 3 years ago

IFTTT is an essential tool for me. I use it to turn my lights on and off. I have a custom bedtime scene for my son that is triggered by "Goodnight [Son's Name]" that we use every single night. And it also improved my experience with Todoists subpar Google Assistant functionality. I couldn't do any of these things so easily without it.

Pros

A great way to automate simple tasks, and extend the functionality of other products you own to do things they don't do on their own. For example, add custom commands to Google Assistant. Add even more smarts to your smart lighting. Post daily exchange rates to a Slack channel. Those are some of the things I use IFTTT for on literally a daily basis.

Cons

Creating your own custom integrations is very clunky. I usually don't want to use someone else's premade integration. And I don't create new ones often enough to remember how I did it the last time. But every single time I find I have to hunt on the site for a few minutes to find the button to click to start a new integration from scratch. Why is this not the default landing page? I believe it used to be.

NN
AvatarImg

Nrip N.

Biotechnology, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

IFTTT is a great tool to have to get a number of things done

Reviewed a year ago

I use IFTTT regularly and find using it a great life and business hack.

Pros

it is effective and pffers a number of pre-built recipes to get things done. Also its pro plan is priced aptly so its a great tool to have to run a number of automations.

Cons

a number of triggers stopped a few years ago. Support for scoop.it is not there :(

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Kate J.

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Long time user, one of my favourite apps.

Reviewed 3 years ago

I'm able to save time and more importantly brain power by automating some of the more mundane and redundant tasks from my day to day using this awesome app.

Pros

I have been using IFTTT since shortly after it launched many years ago. It's a really powerful piece of software, connecting and automating your life beautifully. In recent years they have published more connections for smart homes, and this is where they really excel, though there are still a full plethora of apps available to connect with powerful triggers, tokens and variables. They have also done an amazing job of making it accessible to setup up, easy for just about anyone to understand.

Cons

If I could change one thing, it would be to allow a service to connect to more than one account. Sometimes this is incredibly limiting.