ActiveCampaign Reviews

ActiveCampaign Reviews

ActiveCampaign

Email Marketing + Marketing Automation + CRM/Sales Automation

4.52/5 (42 reviews)
9,767     6,082

Kevin Fontenot

The best small business email marketing solution

10/02/2017

I've used ActiveCampaign for about a year and a half and love it. It has been an incredible asset to my business and has been the number one tool for increasing my revenue. The ability to trigger automations based on user's interactions on my website is a huge plus for me. I compared about 10 similarly priced options but ActiveCampaign was the best option.

Pros

Easy to use email builder, a ton of automation options and the ability to trigger automations/emails based on users actions on my website.

Cons

I've had a few instances on scheduled emails not going out on time. It's rare and I catch it early, but can be frustrating.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

I recommend using a third party email capture system like OptIn Monster or SumoMe to make it more effective.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Lisa McLatchie

ActiveCampaign makes email marketing fun

01/02/2017

I love all the features of Active Campaign and can't imagine using anything else for my email marketing needs.

Pros

Robust features.

Cons

Monthly fees.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Crystal S

Active Campaign is the best!

26/01/2017

We've used Mailchimp, aweber, and constant contact in the past...active campaign far exceeds our expectations. Its huge feature list and high-tech capability help our business succeed. We're still learning new things about it. We've moved all of our clients to the platform through their partner program and we love the value they provide. Their automation section and the ability to make email/text automation based on user behavior through email or on websites is simply awesome. Thank you!

Pros

-Email Lists -Automation system -Ability to share automations -Marketplace -Beautiful design and UI -Integration with Website Behavior -CRM and deals system

Cons

-No Ability to update contacts -Hope they continue improving their CRM and deal making system to keep up with solutions like pipedrive

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

Awesome!

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
DJ Swanepoel

Incredible Automation Tool

16/12/2016

An incredible marketing automation tool. Highly recommend to all. Their only weakness I've discovered so far is the lack of being able to BCC emails in automation campaigns (useful for logging in 3rd party crm)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Vladislav Tzvetanov

My better choice of email marketing software

09/12/2016

Have switched to Active Campaign from Mailchimp by the time we had 1800 email accounts. I liked the big variety of automation events and the newly developed very simple sales CRM module which is appropriate for small business. I still like the interface style of Mailchimp more, but with Active Campaign for the same money I get more features and functionalities, and in the top pricing plan, there are even more features I am not familiar with today... Which I like most is the top customer service I get from Active Campaign via Skype, phone, live chat or email. Somehow they really make me feel supported by them.

Pros

great set of feature and automation starting events

Cons

with the greater number of functionalities, the complexity grows too

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

advancing the reporting section

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Veit Mehler

It's good, but not quite there

08/12/2016

The marketing automation in Active Campaign is good. You can automate a lot. Once you get used to the logic of the platform. After using OntraPort and InfusionSoft the logic is just different. The way AC labels things because they are still using lists. One thing I found with their campaign builder is that it takes quite a long time to respond. It's not the fastest workflow. While it looks good, there isn't much of an advantage using the diagram layout over a linear programming. At the end, the linear workflow of OntraPort is faster and more responsive.

Pros

The entry point pricing is good for the amount of features you get. It's pretty easy to get in-depth customer and prospect information, including social data. But you have to pay for it.

Cons

The campaign builder is slow in response. The more complex an automation campaign gets the slower the responsiveness. Deliverability isn't the best. Lack of SMTP supports to fulfill emails via SendGrid or Amazon SES which could improve the deliverability a lot.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

If you are contemplating the highest price point, contact OntraPort about their starter plans.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brook Borup

Great Value for Email and Automation!

08/12/2016

I have used several email marketing systems and Active Campaign is my favorite to work with for my small business owners. It has automation included in every package, integrates well with other systems so that internal reminders and external emails can happen in one workflow. Great for small business owners that have digital products as well.

Pros

Automation

Cons

A bit editor heavy for those not used to creating templates, but with the right help it makes life much easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nate Smoyer

Love the simplicity

06/12/2016

You would think a tool that allows you to build out a marketing campaign that spans a few weeks in just under an hour would be expensive, but that's not the case with ActiveCampaign. It's intuitive, power, and you get a lot of bang for your buck.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Declan Dunn

Powerful marketing automation tools, CRM, and the power to understand your audience.

05/12/2016

Setting Activecampaign for a client with a limited budget and limited technical skills, we were able to set up and automate many of the lead funnels for this B2B SAAS company. The tools are comparable to what you'll pay 10X for, and one of the features I love about Activecampaign are their Marketing Automation Workflows - allowing you to setup, segment, and activate the inactive. By using this tool, we achieved 25% open rates in the HR industry where 10% is often average; by integrating the online tools with our inbound marketing Team - both phone and online support - we were able to increase sales Demos 10X over the previous 6 months because Activecampaign helped us motivate the inactive, as well as those who take action. One of the tools I recommend most to clients is Activecampaign because it's performance marketing at a reasonable price.

Pros

Marketing automation tools and templates Deliverability excellent in our experience CRM was enough for our needs, helping coordinate 5 staff. Can use in Gmail, which helped our non-Tech sales people. Reporting that helps quantify engagement and ROI

Cons

CRM was not the strongest, yet enough for our needs Marketing automation services generally are separate from emails you send to larger lists in my approach. Would like an option for sending mail outside the automation to lists, but that may simply be different skill sets (haven't found a solution we like).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

Learn this tool; it can literally set up a small business on autopilot for initial inquiries, helping you figure out what's working and what's not. Lead scoring tools are rarely used, but should be regardless; you'll know more about your audience using Activecampaign - their tracking of visits to the site helped us improve funnels and spot weaknesses quickly, and adapt.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Harry James

One of the best Marketing Automation + CRM Combo's

07/11/2016

I've used Active Campaign for a while now and I really like how easy it is to get started with it. It takes away of lot of manual tasks but automated the sales workflow and even the onboarding of our customers. If you have a sales team which is out trying to close deals and doesnt want to deal with paperwork then the Automations feature of active campaign can do it all for you.

Pros

Ease of use, adaptability, integrations

Cons

Sometimes its a little slow to update

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

Get an expert to set it up otherwise you may not know the full potential of how Active Campaign works

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Rena Reiser

Instant success

03/11/2016

I switched to Active Campaign from a different email provider because I wanted to be able to have FUN in my email marketing. I wanted to be able to use my tech-nerd skills to pull together some amazing automations...and Active Campaign has met the requirements! It was a bit clunky at first to learn my way around, so allow some time for learning the new system.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Olivier Lambert

Active Campaign have change my life

07/10/2016

Oh boy, the world of automation right in your palm. I've saved so much time with Active Campaign that I now use it to give them great review. So much email save and sent while I'm doing something else. It is super intuitive and you can create a email template just by using their Drag & drop tool. Really love it and can't recommend it enough

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Joseph Edwards

better value for money than infusionsoft

03/10/2016

infusionsoft was clunky...this is very easy to use. also better value for money. would be great to have better support

Pros

easy to use

Cons

reporting isnt clear

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jamie Richards

Not enough CRM

16/09/2016

Pros

Seems inexpensive, other than that it seems more of a marketing tool

Cons

the CRM component seems to be an after thought. it would not work for me as I need a strong CRM

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend

4/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

if you need an email marketing program this is the software for you, however, if you are looking for a CRM go elsewhere

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott A. Dennison

Verified Reviewer

When you're ready for automation...

31/05/2016

IMO the ultimate "app" for online marketing is/was/and will remain email. Today we have many choices at all price points to help us with email marketing, but Active Campaign stands alone for all that it offers. Value for money - check. Smart systems - check. Community involvement - check. For years I used a competitors product and when I was ready to change, compared pretty much all the systems; this one (Active Campaign) is the leader for a small business leader like me.

Pros

The automations and tagging process makes it easy to segment your email lists -- doing so always increases your sales.

Cons

There is a bit of a learning curve - but their support is there to help you through it.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Carrie Fernandez

LOVE Active Campaign!

16/02/2016

I have been with AC for a few years. My list size is over 100,000 so I pay a lot for these services, but I have compared prices and have even tried a few other companies out and nothing compares to AC. Pros: Amazing service and super fast support replies. They have been very good to me when I was in between plans by offering me a custom package to suit my needs. I am very comfortable with the interface and all of the apps and options for automation and reports. Cons: On my PC it tends to take a little bit longer than average to load the "dashboard." I would like to be able to schedule the same email to send out on multiple dates at the time of scheduling instead of doing them separately. I am sure once I suggest that they will implement it though, as they are great about features and suggestions. I have referred a lot of companies to AC because of the ease of use and all of the great features. I have no complaints. I LOVE AC and they are an integral part of my company's success!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Michelle J.

A Truly Powerful System

11/12/2015

I was finally looking to upgrade my cheaper-end email marketing company choice due to the growth of my company. I initially looked into Infusionsoft, but after their horrible hard-selling techniques, flat out lies, and ultimately a BBB complaint and subsequent refund, I was hoping to find something else and was very leery at that point. I then found Active Campaign and I am SO GLAD I did. They were so helpful and had everything I needed and, come to find out, so much more as well. I have been able to do things with my huge list that I was never able to do and it is all so well programmed and organized that I was able to learn everything very quickly. I am SO impressed with everything that Active Campaign offers, their EXCELLENT support, their pricing, their integrations - everything. And they seem to just keep getting better! Thank you, Active Campaign, for being a great company to work with and for taking my business to the next level!

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrew  Kirby

Active Campaign Rocks!

10/12/2015

I have been an Active Campaign customer for over two years now. After trying many Email Marketing and CRM service providers I was glad to find Active Campaign. As quite frankly there are a lot of ESP's and CRM's that are really bad. Active Campaign's Ui is clean, fresh and a pleasure to use. The Automation builder is very powerful and keeps on getting more powerful as they add more useful features. Setting up complex Automations in Active Campaign is a breeze. Segmentation of email lists in a couple of clicks. Monitoring the performance of your automation campaigns is easily done within Active Campaign is simple. As they have an awesome reporting system. Look I could go on and on about how phenomenal Active Campaign is but I could be typing all day long. Give it a try for yourself you never be disappointed even if you run into trouble Active Campaigns support is world class. Cons: Absolutely none.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andrea Atkins

Powerful CRM for Small Businesses

19/11/2015

Pros

The features allowed be to cancel several other services (email service provider, separate CRM, marketing automation tool, form builder, etc) and just use a single tool instead. The features are top-notch and their staff is incredible!

Cons

I'm waiting for updates to the form builder to allow custom HTML and CSS (I'm told it's coming soon!); everything else is awesome.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

Be sure to carefully check the integrations (and add-on fees) available before signing up for a trial. I was definitely surprised at the number of free integrations that work with ActiveCampaign!

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Roy Ching

Just in time.

19/11/2015

Pros

Active Campaign continues to improves its product monthly. Their technical support is excellent and they continue to enhance their product while still maintaining a palatable price point. Where else can you get an email marketing software along with a CMS and marketing automation for a much lower price than Marketo? We also love that they've integrated lead scoring, along with site tracking. Who doesn't want to target your hottest leads? We're very impressed with Active Campaign vision to help their customers. Also, their automated sequences helped us cut down time and energy that we were wasting. There is so many ways to customize your marketing and Active Campaign fit the bill for us.

Cons

Just need a better form builder. However, we have been told that this is in the works.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

When considering a solution for your company, consider who do you want to really target because Active Campaign helps you find those people. For example, we were losing valuable space on our previous email marketing server because we had people taking up spots that never engaged with us. With Active Campaign we are able to assign a lead score and gauge their interests through several metrics.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Big Jason Henderson

Best ESP since 1996

19/11/2015

Pros

They actually listen to user feedback and are constantly improving things. They have the automation and email marketing features of top-tier providers like ExactTarget, and in some cases, features they don't have. Plus, it is so easy to use.

Cons

Their automation emails seem to be a bit slow compared to other services. But definitely not a deal breaker.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering ActiveCampaign

Give it a trial run. Import your best customers and start emailing.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Donald MacCuish

Excellent tool with even better service

20/10/2015

Really easy and user friendly, and sleek and professional. No problems recommending this tool. The level of service I received was brilliant, from first call to follow up and launch. Highly recommended.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
H. Lewis Yildirimturk

Verified Reviewer

User friendly and affordable

21/09/2015

We use for our own business and for our clients for lead nurturing and CRM purposes. we also use the Chrome Extension which saves a lot of time at; https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/gsync-gmail-sidebar-for-a/abmfjhigblgldoohmdippgnjbdilpkpp?hl=en

Pros

Easy To Use and Affordable

Cons

it may take few weeks to get used to it depending on your exoperince

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Source: GetApp
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Mauro  D'Andrea

The Best Email Software at a Very Competitive Price. And Customer Service is Incredible!

04/09/2015

ActiveCampaign is by far your best choice when it comes to email marketing. The software is just super-powerful. You can do so many things...such as segment people who visit certain pages or do certain actions and send specific emails to them, send emails based on a contact engagement, send specific upsells or related product to clients...and so on. You are only limited by your imagination. Did I mention you get all of these with a ridiculous price? At a fraction of the cost of other marketing automation tools you can make it yours. Unlike the other softwares out there, you WON'T pay 200$+ per month...you can start with just 9$ per month and then upgrade as you scale your business. At the beginning it may feels overwhelming because of the freedom and the power you have, but after a few days you get used to the software and it becomes simple to work with. It's quite intuitive so you can learn to use it by yourself, but in case you need help there is a good library of tutorials. And last but not least, you'll love customer service. They are kind and will give their best to help you. They also care about your feedback. And you have the idea of being in a supportive community that will help you and your business grow.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anonymous
Content Producer, YouTube Channel Manager (Internet company, 11-50 employees)
Verified Reviewer

A great alternative to pricier marketing automation apps

20/07/2015

This is one hell of a product. The perfect way to get started with marketing automation without having to get a second mortgage on your house.

Pros

A very friendly and intuitive interface that will have you creating your own automations within a few minutes. The CRM functionality also adds a lot of value for you money.

Cons

I really don't have anything bad to say, it's a great product.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Source: GetApp
4 of 4 people found this review helpful
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more