App comparison

Add up to 4 apps below to see how they compare. You can also use the "Compare" buttons while browsing.

Matillion Logo

Matillion

Extract, transform, load platform for cloud data warehouses

(2)

GetApp offers objective, independent research and verified user reviews. We may earn a referral fee when you visit a vendor through our links. Learn more

Matillion Reviews

Overall rating

4.3

/5

110

Rating criteria

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.29/10

Reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Overall it is user-friendly, easy to develop & deploy, secure ELT for big data use cases. It supports a lot of already built useful connectors, which helps to reduce marketability cost and time.
The support team has been very responsive in resolving some Azure-related issues, tuning our instance, and helping to understand the nuances of how it works.
Their support team are also very responsive, and Matillion are always keen to help you get the most out of their software, so there's a lot of support if you want it.
When they eventually respond to messages it is with an unhelpful response. Generally they will blame us for issues on their end, or they misunderstand the problem completely.
There is no restart-from-point-of-failure option for failed loads. Everything has to start from scratch or remaining jobs need to be run manually.
The pricing model is frustrating. You are billed for when the machine instance is ON, not when it is actively doing something.
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


110 reviews

Recommended

ES
AvatarImg

Edward S.

Computer Software, 1-10 employees

Used weekly for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Geographically disparate data to the cloud in 3 days flat

Reviewed 5 years ago

Piping and transformation billions of rows of data from geographically dispersed machines into Snowflake

Pros

* If you've done any type of ETL work before, this will be a breeze. If you haven't it might take a few hours as opposed to minutes to get up and running * The trial is full featured, get started today without waiting * The software is on a EC2 instance in your own VPC in AWS. If you have company policies for how/where data can be processed -- you have complete control * You can pay by the hour or the year, no hassle no fuss! If you do encounter an issue the support organization is amazing. All questions were answered the same day, many within the hour.

Cons

More examples to work through on the transformation components would be helpful, but again... it's pretty easy

SK
AvatarImg

Sandeep K.

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Need on the fly connectivity to different instance of Redshift

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like the bunch of API integrated in Matillion it helps me to directly grab the data from different sources without manually extra and import in my database.

Cons

I am using Matillion for Redshift from last more than 2 years. When i setup a project in Matillion with connection to a Redshift cluster, sometimes there is a need to extract the data from other instance of Redshift while running job in Matillion. In that case there is straight forward way of getting the data from other instance of Redshift like you have comments to extract the data from databases like SQL Server, Oracle etc. instead of first i need to run another job by connection second Redshift cluster and extract the records after that run different job to load the extracted records from S3 to main Redshift cluster.

AH
AvatarImg

Adel H.

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Extremely easy to use, but hits hard limits when dealing with lots of data

Reviewed 5 years ago

Overall experience isn't so great for the price we pay. Because of our hard limits we have to pay for two instances in order to handle our job loads. That wouldn't be a problem if we were able to scale the EC2 instance the software sits on. It makes no sense why an application has a specific hardware limits. Surely if we can spin up two separate instances to run concurrent jobs that are unrelated to each other, the same principle can be applied when scaling up with more cores/memory etc.

Pros

The ease of use is definitely the strongest aspect of Matillion. The GUI is exceptionally intuitive and even though the application flow speaks for itself, the documentation is also great for additional support.

Cons

You can hit a hard limit quite fast with the hardware when working with concurrent jobs running (Java Heap issues etc). You cannot increase the size of the instance (m4.xlarge) which means it becomes increasingly difficult to optimize. We are always trying to find work-arounds with the amount of data we need to load.

KR
AvatarImg

KOTESWAR RAO K.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Matillion_Koti_Feedback

Reviewed 5 years ago

I like working on matillion , but this tool can be made more flexible by providing some of the additional features.

Pros

1) Most of the components are user friendly. 2) Development of ETL orchestrations and transformation consumes less time. 3) Advanced features are available in some of the components makes the complex scenarios achievable.

Cons

1) OAuth document does not provide the details of proper permissions and access levels on account_id or client_id which are required for a connector. 2) Differentiation of naming convention of metrics between the console and matillion data model , mapping document of these naming conventions is not available. 3) Connector for Outbrain is not available. 4) Indirect file loading concept is not available...

JE
AvatarImg

Joe E.

Publishing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matillion for Data Engineers

Reviewed 5 years ago

An easy to use tool that has allowed me to build a fully automated data warehouse to report to the business, it was easy to learn and implement, and as difficult as SQL to master. I think the real complexity comes from optimising complex workflows, the more T you need in the ETL/ELT process, the more Matillion falls down. This being said it is a very good tool for 90% of your work.

Pros

It is easy to use and quick to get started, there are many inbuilt APIs and transformations that integrate it across a broad suite of systems, and enable you to transform data for the business without having to spend too much time thinking about scripts or bespoke batch files.

Cons

The filter transformer is pretty minimal considering the power of the SQL it is utilising, it cannot use compound logic or reference other columns/objects in the query. There is also optimisation issues in very complex workspaces. Both of these have easy to use workarounds but it is unfortunate it is not supported more at surface level.

DW
AvatarImg

David W.

Airlines/Aviation, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great ETL product

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Matillion is very intuitive. The GUI is easy to use and fairly easy to learn. The support team is great and they respond to your questions quickly. I like how the Matillion team is frequently looking to add new functionality and features. The new keyword search functionality is very helpful.

Cons

Matillion works great extracting data from a variety of databases and is very efficient unloading onto S3 or Amazon Redshift. However, when we attempted to use it to unload large datasets to Microsoft SQL Server it was very slow and we experienced performance issues.

ME
AvatarImg

Mark E.

Information Technology and Services, self-employed

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

A Great Cloud-based Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

I like it overall. It is easy to quickly learn and get up to speed. It is made to work in the environment I'm working in (AWS) and has a nice, clean browser-based interface to build and schedule jobs in EC2. Email-based support is responsive. However, I sometimes feel it is too expensive compared to alternatives for the value it adds and the ELT model, while beneficial in many ways, hamstrings the component feature-set.

Pros

Well integrated with AWS. Great browser-based interface. Develop in the same place where the code will run, as opposed to other solutions I use that develop in Windows and run in Linux. Easy to schedule.

Cons

I have mixed feelings on the overall value. The hourly rate really adds up over time. This is probably my biggest misgiving. Otherwise, I sometimes get frustrated with the ELT model because it means if the feature you need isn't supported within Redshift, it's up to you to create Python scripts or Bash scripts to enable it.

SM
AvatarImg

Sandeep M.

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

SalesLoft Matillion for Data Warehouse

Reviewed 5 years ago

Evaluating an ETL tool is quite a challenge. With a wide variety of options in the market, it is difficult to know where to start. We shortlisted three different ETL tools based on the capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification to name a few most important criteria. With a very intuitive development interface, Matillion ETL for Redshift came out as a winner.

Pros

Quick development capabilities to perform full load, incremental load with change data capture (CDC), process chains, job scheduling and monitoring, job success/failure notification, customer support to name a few

Cons

Wish to see Matillion having Github control

BJ
AvatarImg

Brayden J.

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matillion ETL For Medium to Large Company

Reviewed 5 years ago

Matillion has worked incredibly well answering our business needs. We have integrated it into our core business and use it daily with nearly no issues. We began with Matillion ETL for Redshift but soon switched to Matillion ETL for Snowflake and have had incredible success with it thus far. I recommend this ETL tool to any company of any size as it can be scaled to any business needs and you only pay for what you use.

Pros

Matillion is easy to integrate into our snowflake system. We use it to build and create materialized tables and views, run scheduled builds, and have used it to create CDC processes. It is slick and intuitive and has a great user interface.

Cons

The browser and platform crashes occasionally, about once a week. The account will log you out, but it works in real time so it usually does not delete any of your work.

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

A good solution for a one man data shop

Reviewed 5 years ago

In the scope of a sole user, it's a very powerful tool. One can get a production ETL job up and running in hours starting from scratch. After a while, it's pretty hard to figure what is where and if more than one user contributes to the flows it can be painful to understand changes.

Pros

Easy to learn Visual interface Pretty reliable

Cons

Version control Search Explaining dependencies

SD
AvatarImg

Susan D.

Building Materials, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Matillion when used with Google BigQuery

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are now using Matillion as our TL tool to load into our Google Data Lake which will be the source of all our BI reporting data (replacing SQL servers). Matillion is easy to install (Google Marketplace, one click build), easy to use initially, sometimes lacks a few specialist bits (usually around new things in the Google estate), but theses can be overcome by using scripts or sql statements and I am sure some will become components in their own right. Matillion support is very good - I usually get a response within the hour

Pros

From an engineers point of view one of the selling points for Matillion (apart from the absolute simplicity of use - at least to start with) is that it produces its own documentation !!

Cons

Sometimes the error messages can be confusing , but this is often down to the messages coming from BigQuery. Its also not always obvious that it is producing SQL statement 'under the hood' and that can mean breaking sql statement size limits without realising it

LM
AvatarImg

Luke M.

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great data tool!

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great. Good customer service, quality product.

Pros

Makes for very fast development with lots of built in connectors. Visual layout of complex data pipelines is a big plus.

Cons

Out of memory errors. We use this for a lot of production applications. After 1 year of trying to fix OOM errors and doubling our instance size, we still get them monthly. I love matillion but I wish it were more reliable. The billing structure contributes to the problem as well. We can't run matillion on a big instance without significantly increasing our licensing fees. I wish they were independant.

VA
AvatarImg

Venkata Aditya C.

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Good ease of use, should improve customer service

Reviewed 5 years ago

With the tools given most of the business problems can be solved(not in an efficient way though if you consider SnowFlake), but there's a lot of room for improvement on the customer service side. Also, having the same functionalities for both RedShift and SnowFlake would make it a lot better, for now there are more functionalities and components for RedShift.

Pros

The tool was very easy to use and was intuitive most of the time. The functions and components for RedShift were amazing even though I didn't use them

Cons

1. Initially the customer service was good, calls were being scheduled either on the same day or on the next day. But once you start using it, support calls would take weeks. Sometimes support will say they'll get back to you but they don't. 2. In one particular instance, a support executive said they would get back to me because they couldn't find an immediate solution, but even after 3 weeks there was absolutely no response on their side. I got a reply after I followed up again though. 3. There are good amount of components for RedShift which are not available for SnowFlake, I hope they would incorporate them as soon as possible.

PC
AvatarImg

Paul C.

Sports, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Have been using Matillion for past 9 months

Reviewed 5 years ago

We have developed Data Warehouse for our business using Matillion. We employ 6k+ people, and Matillion was a perfect match for our needs. Storing data in Google Big query allows seamless access to it from other Cloud Products I.E. Google Data Studio. I love the product, and limitless possibilities it gives us. Pulling the data from anything you may think of, transforming it and then outputting into Big Query is very easy and straight forward.

Pros

My background is development and I love the simplicity of the Matillion, you can very easy transform your thought process into blocks in Matillion, and debug any issues at a very granular level.

Cons

Matillion crashes from time to time, meaning you need to log back on to the system, but its benefits definitely outweigh this small issue.

BR
AvatarImg

Brian R.

Security and Investigations, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Making my life easier!

Reviewed 5 years ago

It's been great. The support team has been very responsive in resolving some Azure-related issues, tuning our instance, and helping to understand the nuances of how it works. It's been a significant reduction in development time since we migrated to Matillion.

Pros

Simple, intuitive interface. I replaced a complicated series of scripts, "ETL" products, and Python code with a simple-to-understand Matillion instance.

Cons

We use it on Snowflake for Azure, so there are several features that have not been migrated from the AWS version, yet. An option for a larger server by default in the Azure Marketplace.

PS
AvatarImg

PRANAVKUMAR S.

Information Technology and Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 2+ years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Good tool for workflow management

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am happy with this tool and it has good UI.

Pros

- It has very good UI to design the workflow. - It is easy to design the workflow. - It has very good support with persistence storage. Like snowflake, redshift, etc.

Cons

- It should also support Azure data warehouse.

LS
AvatarImg

Levan S.

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Great for starting

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

* It's very easy to start building scalable production ready ETL pipeline. * GUI is very intuitive. * Has wide variety of integrations available. *

Cons

* Error handling/debugging is on a poor level. * No good way to version queries/scripts or jobs. * Not really suitable if you need to build something very complex, as it's not very customizable.

SM
AvatarImg

Steven M.

Information Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

No Technical Customer Support.

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

It's fast. Pipelines are easy to setup for very basic tasks.

Cons

Your customer support people are useless. Every time I submitted a ticket, they simply pointed to an article on the Matillion website that is not helpful in solving the problem. There is no community to resolve common issues. Troubleshooting complex tasks is almost impossible for smaller organizations.

PS
AvatarImg

Prashanta S.

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Simple easy-to-use Interface but looks like a development in progress software

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Simple with not a lot of unnecessary components. Very easy to use with Amazon Redshift.

Cons

Licensing mechanism not good. We had problem when trying to increase license to 6 person from 5. Integrating with Git or other source control tool not easy.

SB
AvatarImg

Spencer B.

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Excellent Product

Reviewed 5 years ago

We are able to quickly execute on ongoing ETL projects and ad hoc needs.

Pros

Ease of use and breadth of functionality.

Cons

We had a billing issue at one point when trying to renew but that was mostly due to AWS Marketplace and not Matillion as a product.

CD
AvatarImg

Christopher D.

Wholesale, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Great ETL Tool

Reviewed 5 years ago

Class leading, can turn a new file around in hours and days.

Pros

Pretty straightforward compared to other ETL tools, traditional engineers pick up in no time at all.

Cons

The google version is not as rich as the AWS one

DL
AvatarImg

David L.

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for 6-12 months

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

A Great ELT and warehousing toolset in a clean GUI

Reviewed 5 years ago

We're pulling multiple datasets together and integrating them in star schemas with Matillion, as well as doing sophisticated data analysis.

Pros

The GUI and design makes it easy to not only functionalize your ELTs, but also show a graphical DAG to stakeholders.

Cons

I wish it had an out-of-the-box API gateway to receive webhook requests from third-party data sources.

HT
AvatarImg

Hrishikesh T.

Financial Services, 10,001+ employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Flexible and Easy to use ETL tool

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

I like the use of Variables and Grid Variables that allow me to reuse jobs for different ETL workflows.

Cons

Lack of version control for the ETL code is a problem.

kh
AvatarImg

kal h.

E-Learning, 201-500 employees

Used daily for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Matillion ETL

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

Ease of use Configured for AWS Redshift compatible Quick support turnaround

Cons

Not all connectors available - but new releases drop regularly

AR
AvatarImg

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used other for 1-2 years

Review source

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Matillion is the lead in ETL space.

Reviewed 5 years ago

Matillion's cloud model is leading the trend in this industry. It's cost effective and manageable.

Pros

Matillion is the most reliable ETL/ELT tool currently. I've worked with a larger number of clients that have uses Matillion as well as other tools and Matillion is definitely the most reliable. The UI is easy to follow and understand and the learning curve is small.

Cons

The technology isn't as intuitive as others in the space. It does require some training or knowledge of workflow development though it's the most reliable.