When I Work Scheduling Reviews

When I Work Scheduling Reviews

When I Work Scheduling

Staff Scheduling, Time Tracking, Communication, Attendance

4.54/5 (140 reviews)
72,464     17,625

Dan  Laurie

Poor Customer Service, Billing practices.

21/03/2017

I signed up for the trial of the scheduling side of the app all the while thinking that I was also getting the time and attendance function as well. Big surprise. A price for the scheduling and I have no idea how much more for the time and attendance part. When I tried to add the time and attendance part the website wanted to charge me another amount. I sent them an email (there is no phone number to call to talk to a live person) explaining this and was told the system would only charge me the correct amount and if it didn't, they would refund me the difference. Really? Is this the way to do business with your customers. The app works sort of, but not for this amount of money. I would rather use a spreadsheet than have to deal with poor customer service and these surprise pricing issues. My advice, look somewhere else for a solution and save yourself the headaches.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from When I Work


Hi Dan,

Thank you for writing us a review. I'm sorry you experienced this issue with billing. We do try to be extremely transparent with our billing to potential customers on our page at http://wheniwork.com/pricing, breaking down the price for Scheduling, Attendance, monthly vs. annual, and a sliding scale for the number of employees. If there's a particular place on our website that you found confusing regarding pricing when signing up for When I Work, please let us know so that our team may address it promptly.

It is true that we do not offer telephone support at this time, but our Customer Care team is available at any time by emailing support@wheniwork.com.

We would love your feedback on how the features & functionality of the app could work better than just 'sort of' for you!

Thank you again for your review & have a nice day.

Read more
Holly Scott

Mixed Reliability

22/02/2017

Used to schedule my time for volunteering for an online service. Reminders for shifts would often come after the starting time (up to 24 hours) of the shift.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

2/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from When I Work


Hi Holly, Thanks for writing us a review! Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team at support@wheniwork.com for assistance with the shift reminders. We would love to assist and make your experience with the app better. Thanks & have a great day!

Read more
Joshua Christensen

easy and useful scheduling software

10/02/2017

all good really...great customer service, aesthetically pleasing, and easy to use. The best online scheduling software i've used!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from When I Work


Hi Joshua,

Thank you for writing us a review! We're glad you find our software easy to use, and we agree that our Customer Service team is great! :) Let us know if there is anything we can do to improve the ease of use for you! Have a great day.

--The When I Work team

Read more
Stephanie Maynard

When I work is great

01/02/2017

We've been using it for over two years and it has greatly improved our scheduling. We love that it notifies employees of shifts and changes.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from When I Work


Hi Stephanie,

Thank you for writing us a review! We're glad you've been a longtime customer and appreciate your business!

--The When I Work team

Read more
Adam Kropf

Good scheduling software

30/01/2017

Overall works well, sometimes the apps glitch and my guys cant clock in, but thats been happening less lately. Overall very satisfied.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from When I Work


Hi Adam!

Thanks for writing us a review. We're glad you're enjoying the software and it works well for you. Please feel free to reach out to our customer care team at support@wheniwork.com if you have any issues with clocking in/out. Have a great day!

--The When I Work team

Read more
Larissa Meade

When i Work is amazing for small business staff communication

16/01/2017

my staff and i LOVE "when i work" app. It is so easy to use, i love the flexibility of changing schedules, of being able to link different venue location with maps, as well as on screen confirmation for my staff. My Staff love the mobile aspect!!! This app has really helped me to stream line my Staff planning.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from When I Work


Hi Larissa,

Thanks for writing us a review! We're so glad to hear that the app has helped streamline your business & that your employees are loving the mobile app! Thanks again and have a great day!

--The When I Work team

Read more
Wendee Phenix

Great Product - Intuitive and Cost Effective

13/01/2017

Love this product. They are always working to improve and see where there is a need for improvements. This team is very in touch with their clients and it shows.

Pros

Ease of use for both administrators and employees

Cons

Guess if I HAD to pick I would say it would be nice to change the color scheme.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering When I Work Scheduling

Great for employers and employees. They have easy access to their schedule as well as co-workers information.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from When I Work


Hi Wendee,

Thanks for writing us a review! Glad you find it easy to use for both the schedulers and the employees, & we hope your employees enjoy using the mobile app as well!

Have a great day!
--The When I Work team

Read more
Samde Solomon

Great softqare

06/01/2017

The software was easy to use. Liked the templates and recurring shifts. Negatives- pay per employee is annoying. Our employee count changes significantly.

Pros

Ease of use.

Cons

Pay per employee.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10

Recommendations to others considering When I Work Scheduling

Check to see if it integrates with your pos to

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from When I Work


Hi Samde,

Thanks for writing us a review! We're glad you found When I Work easy to use. Let us know if you have other suggestions!

Have a great day,
--The When I Work team

Read more
Doug Kwong

Saved us a lot of time

05/01/2017

We had only been using the trial version of the software for a week before deciding it was the right tool for us. In just a fraction of the time it usually takes us to build a new schedule, we had the app set-up and were already making changes and communicating shifts to employees. I also like the fact that there are a lot of HR templates accessible to its users. I would definitely recommend this app.

Pros

Ease of use and communication tool.

Cons

First time set up a little cumbersome but got the hang of it

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No

Response from When I Work


Hi Doug!

Thanks for writing us a review! We're glad you were able to get so much use out of your trial that you decided to stick with us right away! We're also thrilled to hear that When I Work is saving you time & helping you communicate the schedule with your employees. Awesome!

Have a great day,
--The When I Work team

Read more
Amit Patel

Real time customer support

22/12/2016

I have had to contact the customer service/help desk twice and opened a service ticket once. All 3 times they were extremely responsive and knowledgeable. They addressed my issue quickly and efficiently. Two times the issue was something I was overlooking and once they weren't able to get an answer right away but followed up.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jaine Andrews

WIW Wizards Come Through Again!

22/12/2016

I had a challenge on how to document worker time off, system coding and replacement workers which I wanted to keep hidden from other employees. The WIW Wizard, figured a work-around that solves the problem!! It will allow me to keep all scheduling documentation in WIW which is great! Wonderful support!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nina Posidelow

Chat feature always helpful

17/12/2016

From "help, I goofed up" to a "quick question" the chat operators are always helpful and friendly, too!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Randi Hecht

WIW has been a lifesaver for me.

16/12/2016

I am so grateful for When I Work (WIW). I was using other software prior to WIW, and didn't realize how much time/stress I was wasting until I gave WIW a try. It takes some work to get it setup, but from there it's pretty user-friendly. The customer service is top notch, so anytime I have a question, I can send it via chat and get a helpful response within minutes. WIW is also very aesthetically friendly, and the app makes it incredibly useful for my workers. There are a few functionalities I wish they would add, but it's not deal breakers. I have communicated these desires to their support team, and they sent it to the programmers. (Like, having an area where I can see all OpenShifts on the desktop version. Right now, it only shows OpenShifts that I personally am available for.) I really believe that they will add these features in the future. Thanks to WIW for making my life much easier!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kathleen Campbell

WIW Review

15/12/2016

I like several aspects of WIW though the pricing seems a bit high, and I'd like to see a few more options. Namely, I'd like to be able to know the total hours for one person's shift while creating it as well as the ability to communicate with the team with the regular monthly fee.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jess Hsu

Vida is great

14/12/2016

She was really helpful and nice. Help us set up an API for the company after upgrading our account. Thanks!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Kristina Becerra

Wish I Would've Chosen

13/12/2016

We did a test run with When I Work but the only thing that held us back was the cost. We loved all of the features and integrations. With the new law that was supposed to go into effect for salary overtime, this was the perfect software to choose.

Pros

Great clocking in software with great integrations and accountability.

Cons

Cost.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Heather Woodruff

My Rep Rocks

13/12/2016

I jumped on to ask a question today through the chat feature and my rep was not only quick to respond but she really knew the answers to all my questions. I had been getting frustrated with the feature early on for messaging due to the 1-2 hour time frame for responses and because I didn't feel I was getting the information I needed from that customer service rep. My rep was just the best. Now I can get back to doing what I need to accomplish our first payroll through When I Work! Heather Woodruff Camp Bow Wow HR and Operations Director

Pros

Has more features that are useful.

Cons

When I move between camps schedule on the app, the screen tends to jump to random days. I have to realize it has done that so I don't start looking at the wrong day. I jump back and forth a lot depending on what is going on so it can be annoying to keep readjusting what day I have landed on. I also would like the headings for days to be bolder so I can see when I have scrolled too far easier. Instead of the light gray background, perhaps do a dark gray with white writing like the total hours are.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering When I Work Scheduling

I am new, so I can't wait to learn more.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Chana Brown

Convenient

10/12/2016

When I clock in has the best and most easy to use an app to clock in on the go and be able to track hours and schedule staff I have tried others and this is by far the easiest!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ashley Missen

Candice is a star!

09/12/2016

I opened the chat and immediately had my questions answered! Candice has answered questions before for me through email and she is amazing - she responds very quickly, politely and succinctly!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Svetlana Marinova

Helpful app

09/12/2016

We started to use When I Work just a week ago and got lots of changes, easy to manage the workers schedule, can view future shifts and request time off. Personally I like email remainders few hours before the day starts.

Pros

Reminders

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jessica Bullock

Good for quick direct group contact

09/12/2016

When I work is great for sending messages for quick response amongst a team, especially when working remotely. Also good for on the spot problem solving with your team. All in All great group communication!

Pros

works well for group messaging

Cons

you have to download another app....and it can be bothersome if you're included in conversations you don't need to be on

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering When I Work Scheduling

choose grouping carefully to avoid unneeded communications

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Bill Sims

Hot DOG you is awesome!

08/12/2016

The UI is very intuitive, and any time I've needed live chat help they've always been energetic, personable, and quick to resolve.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 1-2 years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Huck

Tried, not a good fit for events business

06/12/2016

We were unable to justify the cost and make the work arounds functional for our catering business. It is really designed for places with somewhat regular schedules and one (or more) locations. Off-site catering, not so much.

Pros

Clean, User Friendly interface Great support, quick to reach out

Cons

Didn't work for event's business with primarily off-site catering

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering When I Work Scheduling

Keep looking for (cheaper) options that support lots of occasional employees

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
stephanie gullo

THE BEST BY FAR

05/12/2016

Wow. what can i say. When I Work is an amazing, easy, efficient, and by far after 20 years in scheduling have I never found a program so easy. I just added the Attendance feature and When I Work help chat was responding to me in seconds, and every resolution they gave me worked!! Not only is it an amazing tool for managers, but your employees will LOVE being able to see their schedule any time and everything gets documented for you in the history! Thank you so much to our reps for being a huge help to me. TWO THUMBS UP!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Nick Tierney

Great Customer Service

02/12/2016

My rep was so helpful today and we really appreciate her kindness and help! She really went above and beyond to help us - thank you!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more