Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

3.84/5 (98 reviews)

James Xu

Senior Corporate Accountant

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-09-14
Review Source: Software Advice

I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros
t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions It automates and standardizes recurring tasks It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons
With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts. I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Thanh T. Nguyen, MBA

GP is a functional product, but the user experience is not the best

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-01
Review Source: GetApp

Pros
The software is relatively easy to use. The biggest advantage of GP is probably it is a Microsoft product, meaning GP works well with other Microsoft products, such as the Office suite. The learning curve is also not that steep if users are willing to learn through various blogs, videos (especially YouTube), and through Microsoft web site. The price is very competitive, comparing to leading-edge solution such as Intacct or NetSuite.

Cons
I am a big fan of anything on the Cloud. Our controller spends lots of time to upgrade GP through different version over the years (GP is hosted either on premise or through third-party vendor's server. Of course the upgrade or any troubleshooting is not that bad with the right support from a third vendor. However, this is not value-added function in accounting/finance. If I have a choice nowadays, I will go with Intacct or NetSuite. With a Cloud solution, users will have very little downtime. With an on-premise solution, at least in our experiences, we have lots of downtimes. Also for some reasons the software requires us to reboot the backend server from time to time due to software bugs.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Una Howley

Solid mid market ERP system

Reviewed 2016-09-16
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
It is a comprehensive solution, with solid add-ons to compensate for deficits in the core system. We run a manufacturing operation with deep. multi level BOMs and FIFO costing, GP manages it very well. AP, AR and GL are solid. The smartlists are a nice reporting tool, where you can drop the data into excel for easy analysis.

Cons
The front end has a clunky feel. On the back end trying to find the table the data is stored in takes a lot of time so the learning curve from a reporting sense is very long. The SQL tables are sparse - so you could end up having to add several tables to a query just so you can connect the one table you need. Report writing process is long and arduous initially. It is really expensive to upgrade. Other solutions in past lives have required minimal tech support to upgrade, this is a major process to upgrade and therefore very expensive.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Judith Friesen

Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2016-12-06
Review Source: Software Advice

I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros
Report Building Distribution and coding clarity Easy navigation Excellent Customer support

Cons
Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue) Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Arshad Zaver

Easy to use, convenient to have web access, but lack of features

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2017-09-15
Review Source: Software Advice

A decent system to use, but was disappointing due to the lack of flexibility in terms of generating reports/export functions - not as great as I would have expected from a Microsoft product.

Pros
-Web access -Single database -Integration with a variety of reporting suites -A widely use system since it is Microsoft based, and a huge community to get help with if there are any issues

Cons
Not truly web-based as it relies on the program to be housed on a server; -Limited in terms of GL reports - cannot jump ranges of accounts, or have multiple ranges in a single report like our old system -takes a while to load reports like SmartList Favourites, and does not have as much flexibility as our old system -freezes quite a lot -tax limitations on the Accounts Payable module -Desktop version slow

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Carson Greer

Dynamics GP High end accounting software thats usable

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-11-27
Review Source: Software Advice

Great product, huge upgrade over SBM, but could be so much better if they streamlined the processes, and made it easier to find help in setting everything up. typical microsoft where user friendliness is a concept they simply dont understand

Pros
Can do most everything you can think of, workflow makes sense, cheque writing and invoice entry features are easy to use, once youve got the report functions figured out, can customize them to your needs for the most part

Cons
way too many keystrokes to perform the entries you need to make, some reports such an income statement are incomplete with no way to create them the way you want, error messages are pretty much useless unless youre an experienced user, even then, they can be difficult to cipher, looking for answers for how to do things is very poor, and because they keep updating/changing the interface without warning, many of the steps shown are out of date, thereby useless

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Shane Peden

ERP with a familiar MS Office feel

Reviewed 2015-03-04
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Microsoft Dynamics GP does a great job of integrating into the other mainstream Microsoft productivity applications many organizations implement, and it offers some great familiarity that helps someone new to the software feel more comfortable with using the application. Because it is a Microsoft product, there is also healthy mainstream/community support via online forums. And, of course, logical access is simplified thanks to integration with Microsoft's Active Directory but you may also opt for SQL Server database logical access as well.

Cons
Microsoft Dynamics GP is very light on Customer Relationship Management (CRM) features. Customer accounts and details can be stored in the software for invoicing and other accounting functions, but much is left to be desired. Microsoft instead points you to buying additional software, such as their Dynamics CRM product which integrates nicely with Dynamics GP but adds on additional licensing costs.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Jana Youngblood

2018 Is Better than the last

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-11-20
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
I like the fact that I can sort things easier. For example when I'm looking for a specific invoice I can sort by date document type, number, etc. It makes things much easier. I know there are many things as a company we are not utilizing and would like to be able to.

Cons
I feel like there should be more advanced options when it comes to running such things as Trial Balance. I also wish there was more help with smart list. Maybe some kind of training video in the help module.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Tony Cavallo

Very Powerful Tool that can be Difficult to Use

Reviewed 2016-04-09
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Overall, Microsoft Dynamics GP is a powerful and complex accounting and financial management tool. My favorite parts of the software is that the reports are customizable, and there is a lot you can do with them. Another positive is that the forms and records offer a tremendous amount of detail. An important feature of MS Dynamics GP is the multiple dashboards available, though they can be overwhelming. One of the more useful ones is the Business Analyzer, which gives multiple options of which KPIs and other bits of data are shown and displayed in separate windows. These can be re-sized and moved around on your monitor so that what you need to see can be seen when you need to see it, if that makes sense.

Cons
The main negative is that it can be difficult to use. The processes for doing thing are not intuitive and are unlike other similar systems. The entire user interface feels like something from the early 2000s. Compared to some of the similar products, I believe Dynamics GP would require a bit more training for the general user.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Linda Ray House

Microsoft Dynamics GP

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-05-08
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons
In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Lee Brockney

Great ERP for Small to MidSize Businesses

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-09-05
Review Source: Software Advice

Dynamics GP is an ERP that is flexible and dynamic. it provides all the tools a small to midsize business needs.

Pros
Easy and Intuitive UI that leads to quick learning curve for all areas of Accounting. GL, AP, and AR modules are top notch. Integrates with many 3rd party applications for seemless sharing of data to enhance BI needs.

Cons
Lots of windows and a slightly confusing card structure. SmartLists can be cumbersome to create, save, and manage.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Summer Love

A challenge to learn

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2017-12-19
Review Source: Software Advice

Each portal operates under the same method which makes it easier to understand when moving through the many facets.

Pros
It has many functions and levels to operate a multifunctional facility. It includes Financials, Purchasing, Sales, Administrative, and a multitude of reports, inquiries, and lists that can be customized and modified to the users preferences.

Cons
There’s a lot to learn about the functions of this software. It’s difficult to correct errors and delete particular transactions. It can become very expensive depending on user support services and the number of users allowed to be on at the same time. Make sure that this is the right software for the functions of your company Before purchasing. The annual renewal can be quite expensive as well.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Michael Wetson

Dying product

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-08-09
Review Source: Software Advice

It is too bad that this product is being left behind as the push becomes for Dynamics 365, which is a completely different product and will require a complete reimplementation (if the features we need are even in there).

Pros
Used to be very easy to use and was cutting edge for several years. Great functionality for distribution.

Cons
Microsoft is no longer developing the product, so it has become very stale. Hardly any new features and no current online resources.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Elaine Ware

I recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-22
Review Source: Software Advice

I've used this software for 6 years and expect to keep doing so. There is so much support from our Microsoft partner and GPUG.

Pros
I love the smartlists. I also love the adding products available to handle situations like sales taxes.

Cons
There are many different reporting options available to use but are there ever really enough.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Tesa Dragos

Simple and easy to add SKU bulk tool. Appreciable dynamic data integration

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-09-20
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
The easiness to start even if you've never used a ERP before and tracking things (contracts, clients and other documents) in one place for your clients is a plus.

Cons
Limits in the customization areas. licenses are restricted to full access or read only. Not knowing the amount of data which is stored in entities is also a minus (Especially when you have a lot of data integrations and add-ons).

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Ron Cooley

Great Program

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-02-24
Review Source: Software Advice

Very good program Functionality is better than any program I have used

Pros
Extremely easy to use for a variety of situations. Never had any unexpected errors as we did with other programs. Used it for 23 Branches and 15 program areas. The ability to design your on statements with the report writer was great

Cons
Pricey Needs its own budget program. We had to design one and import/integrate the numbers in which was a headache

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Desiree Kapica

GP Dynamics

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-03-01
Review Source: Software Advice

I have been using Great Plains product for over 25 years. It was one of the first companies to offer flexibility for company growth without limitations.

Pros
I love the security , and reports that can be created and exported to excel. Works great with Microsoft office suite since it is Microsoft owned

Cons
Learning curve getting use to. Very detailed setting up. Requires partner to install and support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Tiffany Coleman

2 years in to using GP16 and am comfortable navigating

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-19
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Our company has been able to implement many customizations for our needs. Once you learn where everything is, there is almost no end to how you can view data. The smart lists are amazing for compiling what you need in particular.

Cons
The interface is not the most user friendly. There can be many clicks before you get to where you need to be.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Lauren Sten

Great software with great reporting functionality

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-02-27
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
- ease of use once you know what you're doing - ability to build smart lists, which is super helpful - multi entity functionality

Cons
- no direct integration with tax software - need to pair with reporting software to get accurate financial reporting - need to log out to switch entities

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Lewis Maina

Microsoft Dynamics Solomon Iv

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-11-10
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Has all accounting features, Best for manufacturing/production Accounts for all raw materials for manufacturing through ease of use in the inventory

Cons
Poor customer support No ease of upgrade Frequent error messages after longterm use which freeze or quits the system

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Vinay Mathias

Needs better built in reports

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-04-24
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Good controls with audit trail. Has good importing function for Journal entries and inventory receipts to facilitate a 3 way match.

Cons
Needs better reports built into the system and not reply solely on Management Reporter. Preexisting list of reports added to smartlist.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Katie Pinkert

Dynamics GP is a great Software for my needs.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-07-19
Review Source: Software Advice

This software is very user friendly.

Pros
Easy to use, very functional for our needs. Customer services is great and alwasy quick to respond.

Cons
The help function is a little hard to navigate which is why I either submit a support ticket or call when help is needed.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Anthony Guccione

User friendly, would like more ability for slight customization.

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-12-06
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Ease of usability. Like the ability to reconcile to General Ledger functionality. The ability to paste Journal entries.

Cons
Lack of customization. Would like ability to do small customization. Able to update accounts with ease.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Heather Kneipfer

Microsoft Dynamics GP

Reviewed 2015-06-01
Review Source: Software Advice

Pros
Microsoft Dynamics GP is user friendly. It is easy to print trial balances and perform inquiries. Creating new accounts and entering journal entries are very straight forward. Management Reporter - the reporting package with Microsoft Dynamics GP is a step up from FRx.

Cons
One thing I find a bit confusing is creating smart lists. I'm sure with additional training, it would be much easier but this is the one area that I find not quite intuitive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

Eileen Tu

User

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-06-06
Review Source: Software Advice

Like to have drilldown function

Pros
We use Microsoft Dynamics as our accounting software. We are a wholesale industry. We feel it is easy to use.

Cons
We think it has a limited search function. Like drill down the information to the original entries.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 5/10

Minimize review


Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package