This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Microsoft Dynamics GP Reviews

Reviews summary

Pros

Ease of use once you know what you're doing. Ability to build smart lists, which is super helpful.

LS

Lauren S.

We chose this software because it's a solid solution that manages FIFO costing in a manufacturing environment. It would be good to have a clear understanding of what the report buildout will entail.

UH

Una H.

In addition to offering a great business solution with integrated tools, it has excellent technical support.

FR

Fábio Roque da Silva R.

Cons

It is a visual disorder that might cause fatigue and maybe you could have the same functionalities from other software because it doesn't show a different platform.

AM

Antonio M.

I hate it so much that I am writing this review on a Friday night, while I wait to see if I anything I or IT can do will make it possible for my workers to get paid on time next week.

MY

Meghan Y.

This has been a living hell. Please never decide to use this software.

DJ

Doug J.

Overall rating

5

4

3

2

1

39

44

17

8

5

73%
positive reviews
84%
would recommend this app

Filter reviews by


Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


113 reviews

Recommended

Overall Rating

This software is easy to function for daily accounting tasks

Reviewed a year ago

Transcript

Diem: My name is Diem. I'm an accountant. I work at a payroll company. I rate Microsoft dynamics GP four...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

User friendly and versatile ERP

Reviewed a year ago

I really liked using and implementing this ERP as users tends to like it and adpat very easy to it

Pros

I work for several years as a consultant implementing Microsoft Dynamics and I likes how user friendly this ERP is, is compatible with every Microsoft software, it is versatile and easy to use

Cons

It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Not quite caught up to newer software

Reviewed a year ago

I have used Microsoft Dynamics GP for over 20 years for various companies. The distribution modules are pretty strong and I have used those in many industries. There are a lot of options available now for automation and workflows which save time as well as missed opportunities. I have also been able to connect Dynamics GP to many external industry specific programs, saving data entry and errors.

Pros

It has a very strong financial backbone. Users are forced to view and verify accounting data during transactions in many areas. Since the software has been around for many years, there are a lot of ISVs offering add-on products for various needs. The backend is strong in that it is MS SQL Server.

Cons

There are some features that do not automatically come as part of the main package. Reporting, operational and financial, has been all over the place and is still not where it needs to be. There is not a lot of remote capabilities.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Takes some getting used to

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

Dynamics has all the features necessary for financial management and reporting

Cons

It has taken our team quite a while to get up to speed with Dynamics, I think the UI could be more intuitive and some of the tools could be better laid out

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

Solid mid market ERP system

Reviewed 5 years ago
Pros

It is a comprehensive solution, with solid add-ons to compensate for deficits in the core system. We run a manufacturing operation with deep. multi level BOMs and FIFO costing, GP manages it very well. AP, AR and GL are solid. The smartlists are a nice reporting tool, where you can drop the data into excel for easy analysis.

Cons

The front end has a clunky feel. On the back end trying to find the table the data is stored in takes a lot of time so the learning curve from a reporting sense is very long. The SQL tables are sparse - so you could end up having to add several tables to a query just so you can connect the one table you need. Report writing process is long and arduous initially. It is really expensive to upgrade. Other solutions in past lives have required minimal tech support to upgrade, this is a major process to upgrade and therefore very expensive.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Ease of Use

Reviewed 4 months ago

Excellent product and highly recommended for use

Pros

excellent product available in the market and have been using over 10 years and suits our business needs

Cons

UI can be better and we found that the support is not that great

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Easy to use but some quirks to learn

Reviewed 10 months ago

Its a great product and it allows for massive amounts of data in the form of transactions to be handled and reconciled easily. its a must have for any mid to large sized business

Pros

I love the ability to run smart list and then run specific queries drilling down to specific vendors and dates. it makes reconciling vendor statements a breeze. i also love the integration to be able to run transfers from other software to be able to auto enter retail invoices and gas sales. taking a way the manual entry nightmare of most retail situations.

Cons

I don't like that once something is entered it cant be deleted. you have to void it to remove it but it still will show up on all of the reports. also there are allot of quirky ways you need to learn to use the software that don't transfer over from similar software use.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

GP is a functional product, but the user experience is not the best

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

The software is relatively easy to use. The biggest advantage of GP is probably it is a Microsoft product, meaning GP works well with other Microsoft products, such as the Office suite. The learning curve is also not that steep if users are willing to learn through various blogs, videos (especially YouTube), and through Microsoft web site. The price is very competitive, comparing to leading-edge solution such as Intacct or NetSuite.

Cons

I am a big fan of anything on the Cloud. Our controller spends lots of time to upgrade GP through different version over the years (GP is hosted either on premise or through third-party vendor's server. Of course the upgrade or any troubleshooting is not that bad with the right support from a third vendor. However, this is not value-added function in accounting/finance. If I have a choice nowadays, I will go with Intacct or NetSuite. With a Cloud solution, users will have very little downtime. With an on-premise solution, at least in our experiences, we have lots of downtimes. Also for some reasons the software requires us to reboot the backend server from time to time due to software bugs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Reliable software

Reviewed a year ago

Good experience

Pros

It's very reliable, scalable, has deep functionality and is well served by a large number of add-on vertical and other solutions

Cons

The user interface is quite old and does not resemble what modern day users would expect

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

So many options so little taste

Reviewed a month ago

Microsoft Dynamics can be a great tool with many options and greatly integrates with all Microsoft Products, but it feels like working on a decade-old software , some customisation and general overhaul would be great

Pros

The software is robust and has plenty of options as well as what you've to expect from Microsoft products - ease of use and integration.

Cons

UI/UX is not the best and lacks taste as well can feel overwhelming. Without a good internet connection, the program lags a lot(hard to say where the fault is in this case).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend2/10

Share this review:

Dynamics Review

Reviewed a month ago
Pros

I am used to it now so like with most software, it becomes easier/more tolerable as you get used to it.

Cons

It could be more user friendly and up to date. It's more than a bit clunky.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Senior Corporate Accountant

Reviewed 4 years ago

I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros

t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions It automates and standardizes recurring tasks It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons

With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts. I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave

Reviewed 5 years ago

I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of...

Pros

Report Building Distribution and coding clarity Easy navigation Excellent Customer support

Cons

Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue) Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Easy to use, convenient to have web access, but lack of features

Reviewed 4 years ago

A decent system to use, but was disappointing due to the lack of flexibility in terms of generating reports/export functions - not as great as I would have expected from a Microsoft product.

Pros

-Web access -Single database -Integration with a variety of reporting suites -A widely use system since it is Microsoft based, and a huge community to get help with if there are any issues

Cons

Not truly web-based as it relies on the program to be housed on a server; -Limited in terms of GL reports - cannot jump ranges of accounts, or have multiple ranges in a single report like our old system -takes a while to load reports like SmartList Favourites, and does not have as much flexibility as our old system -freezes quite a lot -tax limitations on the Accounts Payable module -Desktop version slow

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Dynamics GP High end accounting software thats usable

Reviewed 3 years ago

Great product, huge upgrade over SBM, but could be so much better if they streamlined the processes, and made it easier to find help in setting everything up. typical microsoft where user friendliness is a concept they simply dont understand

Pros

Can do most everything you can think of, workflow makes sense, cheque writing and invoice entry features are easy to use, once youve got the report functions figured out, can customize them to your needs for the most part

Cons

way too many keystrokes to perform the entries you need to make, some reports such an income statement are incomplete with no way to create them the way you want, error messages are pretty much useless unless youre an experienced user, even then, they can be difficult to cipher, looking for answers for how to do things is very poor, and because they keep updating/changing the interface without warning, many of the steps shown are out of date, thereby useless

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

ERP with a familiar MS Office feel

Reviewed 7 years ago
Pros

Microsoft Dynamics GP does a great job of integrating into the other mainstream Microsoft productivity applications many organizations implement, and it offers some great familiarity that helps someone new to the software feel more comfortable with using the application. Because it is a Microsoft product, there is also healthy mainstream/community support via online forums. And, of course, logical access is simplified thanks to integration with Microsoft's Active Directory but you may also opt for SQL Server database logical access as well.

Cons

Microsoft Dynamics GP is very light on Customer Relationship Management (CRM) features. Customer accounts and details can be stored in the software for invoicing and other accounting functions, but much is left to be desired. Microsoft instead points you to buying additional software, such as their Dynamics CRM product which integrates nicely with Dynamics GP but adds on additional licensing costs.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

2018 Is Better than the last

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

I like the fact that I can sort things easier. For example when I'm looking for a specific invoice I can sort by date document type, number, etc. It makes things much easier. I know there are many things as a company we are not utilizing and would like to be able to.

Cons

I feel like there should be more advanced options when it comes to running such things as Trial Balance. I also wish there was more help with smart list. Maybe some kind of training video in the help module.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Very Powerful Tool that can be Difficult to Use

Reviewed 6 years ago
Pros

Overall, Microsoft Dynamics GP is a powerful and complex accounting and financial management tool. My favorite parts of the software is that the reports are customizable, and there is a lot you can do with them. Another positive is that the forms and records offer a tremendous amount of detail. An important feature of MS Dynamics GP is the multiple dashboards available, though they can be overwhelming. One of the more useful ones is the Business Analyzer, which gives multiple options of which KPIs and other bits of data are shown and displayed in separate windows. These can be re-sized and moved around on your monitor so that what you need to see can be seen when you need to see it, if that makes sense.

Cons

The main negative is that it can be difficult to use. The processes for doing thing are not intuitive and are unlike other similar systems. The entire user interface feels like something from the early 2000s. Compared to some of the similar products, I believe Dynamics GP would require a bit more training for the general user.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Dynamics GP

Reviewed 4 years ago
Pros

This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons

In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great ERP for Small to MidSize Businesses

Reviewed 4 years ago

Dynamics GP is an ERP that is flexible and dynamic. it provides all the tools a small to midsize business needs.

Pros

Easy and Intuitive UI that leads to quick learning curve for all areas of Accounting. GL, AP, and AR modules are top notch. Integrates with many 3rd party applications for seemless sharing of data to enhance BI needs.

Cons

Lots of windows and a slightly confusing card structure. SmartLists can be cumbersome to create, save, and manage.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

A challenge to learn

Reviewed 4 years ago

Each portal operates under the same method which makes it easier to understand when moving through the many facets.

Pros

It has many functions and levels to operate a multifunctional facility. It includes Financials, Purchasing, Sales, Administrative, and a multitude of reports, inquiries, and lists that can be customized and modified to the users preferences.

Cons

There’s a lot to learn about the functions of this software. It’s difficult to correct errors and delete particular transactions. It can become very expensive depending on user support services and the number of users allowed to be on at the same time. Make sure that this is the right software for the functions of your company Before purchasing. The annual renewal can be quite expensive as well.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support

Share this review:

Dying product

Reviewed 3 years ago

It is too bad that this product is being left behind as the push becomes for Dynamics 365, which is a completely different product and will require a complete reimplementation (if the features we need are even in there).

Pros

Used to be very easy to use and was cutting edge for several years. Great functionality for distribution.

Cons

Microsoft is no longer developing the product, so it has become very stale. Hardly any new features and no current online resources.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

I recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP

Reviewed 5 years ago

I've used this software for 6 years and expect to keep doing so. There is so much support from our Microsoft partner and GPUG.

Pros

I love the smartlists. I also love the adding products available to handle situations like sales taxes.

Cons

There are many different reporting options available to use but are there ever really enough.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Great Program

Reviewed 5 years ago

Very good program Functionality is better than any program I have used

Pros

Extremely easy to use for a variety of situations. Never had any unexpected errors as we did with other programs. Used it for 23 Branches and 15 program areas. The ability to design your on statements with the report writer was great

Cons

Pricey Needs its own budget program. We had to design one and import/integrate the numbers in which was a headache

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend6/10

Share this review:

Simple and easy to add SKU bulk tool. Appreciable dynamic data integration

Reviewed 3 years ago
Pros

The easiness to start even if you've never used a ERP before and tracking things (contracts, clients and other documents) in one place for your clients is a plus.

Cons

Limits in the customization areas. licenses are restricted to full access or read only. Not knowing the amount of data which is stored in entities is also a minus (Especially when you have a lot of data integrations and add-ons).

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Microsoft Dynamics GP - " Achieveing all of your Accounting needs"

Reviewed 12 days ago

Microsoft Dynamics GP has allowed me to perform several accounting tasks efficiently in my previous role as an Accounts Clerk. Therefore, I was able to prepare and process payments and journals, and track costs.

Pros

The software is relatively easing to use and it has a variety of features, which allow users to carry out tasks related to Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable and Bank Reconciliation.

Cons

The product is a bit expensive. Additionally, if the software crashes or stops working, it may take some time for the issue to be resolved.