This is your compare tray

Apps you want to compare will be listed here. Launch a head to head comparison at any time.

Microsoft Project Logo

Microsoft Project

Project management & collaboration software

see alternatives

Microsoft Project Reviews

User ratings

Overall rating

4.4

/5

1.3K
89%
positive reviews
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8.19/10

See full reviews by rating

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Good for helping a team see what other team members are doing, and allowing work to be tracked effectively. Helps to keep deadlines in mind and on goal.

DF

Delaney F.

Helps you to keep a track of all your project activities and schedule all your tasks. The tool is easy to use for beginners and helps to understand its working with less time and great efficiency.
AvatarImg

MAIRA M.

Extremely robust and powerful tool once fully understood. Fairly simple construction of charts and data visualization, and the ability to expand capabilities within the software.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

To me this may be more important than planning as the lack of project visibility might put the project at risk more so than a poor plan.

MR

Melanie R.

The only dislike that i encountered in Microsoft Project, is that it is desktop-installed; other than that nothing.

li

layal i.

Sometimes it gets confused. Also, sometimes working with multiple teams and multiple people per team, it has a hard time allocating resources.

AR

Anonymous Reviewer

Microsoft Project users...

Oracle Primavera Cloud-logocaret
avatar
avatar
listing-logo
+ 1

Oracle Primavera Cloud

Compare both
Zoho Projects-logocaret
avatar
listing-logo

Zoho Projects

Compare both
Microsoft Excel-logocaret
listing-logo

Microsoft Excel

Compare both
How would you rate Microsoft Project?
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
AvatarImg
Filter reviews by

Overall rating


Company size


Industry


Time used


1,338 reviews

Recommended

AvatarImg
AvatarImg

Bernard G.

Business Owner

Retail, 11-50 employees

Review source

Overall Rating

The best project management software

Reviewed 5 months ago

Transcript

Bernard G.: I'm Bernard, Cloud Consultant for Business Communications, and I rate the Microsoft Project...

Overall Rating

Complex and capable

Reviewed 2 years ago

Transcript

Paul: Hi, I'm Paul. I'm the Director of Institutional Research at a university in the upper Midwest....

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Quality program in use

Reviewed 2 months ago

Microsoft Project is another of the Microsoft software application, with which you can manage projects, it is a program that gives you several versions that helps you control and understand what's related to projects (schedules, finance). With this application, run monitoring all aspects so that your project will develop successfully, optimize processes, resources, costs, practical release, saving time and money.

Pros

I like Microsoft Project, since it is a tool to process the work of an easy project as a complex and quickly from anywhere. In the same way, it is a way in which this application supports you in the planning and management of project resources. It allows us to create the report.

Cons

I do not like it, since it is a software that is not multiplatform, it must be installed with the Windows operating system, which makes it difficult to carry out projects from other sources or operating systems.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Great Software for project and task management....

Reviewed a month ago

Great use, easy and practical for everything we do to work, prioritize and to have a good weekly follow up

Pros

Great use, easy and practical for everything we do to work and solve

Cons

Some things are extras that we don´t need and use

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend1/10

Share this review:

Must have some sort of training

Reviewed a month ago

Extremely difficult to learn on the fly without formal training. I would not recommend to someone who is not a dedicated PM.

Pros

This product is very robust and has all the features you would want out of a project management tool.

Cons

Very difficult to understand how the features of this product work without formal training. This product also cannot be viewed by other unless they too have a license. At the end of the day the biggest down fall of this product is that is too complex and not worth the added cycles it would take to learn over an intuitive software like Trello.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Tracking Your Work

Reviewed 2 months ago

With this amazing program you can create milestones for your projects to plan and determine phases and requirements of each phase of project lifetime. MS Project can give you a clear view to track your project and how it is going off track or doing well, so you well be able to evaluate works and make a good actions due to milestones changes to give an assessment in proper way. It is need a time to do a good plan with MS Project, then you will feel ease to track your project and it will be smooth especially if everyone involved in this work plan know about it.

Pros

MS Project is one of the simplest programs for project management. To plan, monitor, and evaluate projects in the correct way, which decrease risks and waste of time in work that includes milestones of the project lifetime. We can link Microsoft programs with each other that ease the process of data entry especially with Microsoft Excel tables while we build our plan, we can move these data to Microsoft...

Cons

Nothing important to talk about Microsoft Project unless sometimes the program hang for a while after making an update for some data then it will move on. I have used Microsoft Project for many years and I did not find any problems unless this one.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Keep Your Projects on Track with Microsoft Project.

Reviewed 2 months ago

The overall experience has been good. The feature set is rich for traditional project management approach which is how we base our project approach. Cost is a concern as subscription prices to add a new team member in O365 is high.

Pros

I think the software can be daunting for most at first glance. However, after some very simple practical use I think anyone could learn the ins and outs quite easily. Using the software to manage smaller projects at first is beneficial to see the power that it contains.

Cons

Microsoft Project is a great waterfall/traditional style project management software package. It would be nice to see other ways to adapt the features to other project management methodologies such as Agile/Scrum with sprint features, etc.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Amongst the Best Project Management Tool

Reviewed 13 days ago
Pros

The ease of scheduling and the flexibility of editing is amazing. The calculations and speculations of leading and lagging are accurate to the fullest.

Cons

The awesome features are hidden and need explorations. Could be more obvious.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Best Tool for Project Management

Reviewed 2 months ago

Most flexible tool to plan, evaluate, design, execute, track, update and follow up the end to end project requirements with ease.

Pros

The ease of templates to fit them in to your project requirement and track the status.

Cons

Complex project tasks and changes are difficult to track and update.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend7/10

Share this review:

Good Software for Project and time management

Reviewed 2 months ago

Overall, it is a good product that allows people to organize the many projects they take on.

Pros

It is easy to collaborate with others on a project, divide roles, and track everyone’s progress.

Cons

It can be complicated to plan the resources used for projects and how they will be acquired. It is best used for assigning roles and not for getting and ordering supplies.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend5/10

Share this review:

MS Project : Review

Reviewed 2 months ago

Project managers are able to come up with project plans but these plans have a tendency to go out of date very quickly.

Pros

Gannt Chart view and a good product to provide an initial timeline of the project

Cons

Plans generally become out of date very quickly. Also, MS project doesn't allow collaborative working. It is generally owned by a PM. In today's world, where there is more and more collaboration is required, the software has started looking very dated

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Baisc and simple handy tool for project management

Reviewed 2 months ago
Pros

1. It is definetly capatible with out small team project development management, in terms of status show, calculating of the figures on the diagram, the timeline usage, working load status etc. 2. Mostly useful in the WBS phase for good planning and small adjustment, quickly modify fast rendering the output.

Cons

1. There is a little bit more manually input for the dynamic modification, especially in flexible development. 2. Online data sharing is limited.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Project and Timeline Management done right

Reviewed 6 months ago

MS Project has been an absolute lifesaver when it comes to planning out projects with clear requirements. The timelines and task tracking features give you a clearer picture of how your project is doing and if the project is going off track, allowing you to assess corrective actions you take according to the timeline changes. It will take some time to create a perfect project plan through MS Project, but once done it will paint a clearer picture of the timelines/deadlines and what needs to be done to achieve those deadlines to everyone involved.

Pros

The absolute best way of setting and managing timelines of projects, and defining what resources/personnel will be utilized when so that they are also aware of what needs to be done to achieve a given deadline. The tracking aspect of MS Project also helps in identifying delays and how these delays will impact the overall timelines and in turn the final delivery deadlins.

Cons

Could be challenging for a first-time user to grasp all the features provided by MS project, so it would be wise for to watch a few crash courses/tutorials before jumping head first into using it. Some elements I feel could be more user-friendly without users having to go through obscure menu structures to find them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The ideal solution for project management and calculating completion rates

Reviewed 6 months ago

Microsoft Project Help in the proper planning of projects, as after adopting the plan, you will be able to use Microsoft Project to follow it in a correct way, as it will work permanently when updates are made by giving you a comparison between the actual and planned implementation, and through it you will be able to find activities that are not being implemented according to the plan , so that you keep it under surveillance permanently, which increases the chances of the success of your projects and finish them on time.

Pros

It is one of the best programs for project management, and to complete the scheduling and planning processes in the correct contractual ways, which allows the preparation of an integrated work program that includes all activities within the scope of the project. The integration of Microsoft Project with other Microsoft programs, especially Excel, facilitates the processes of entering activities directly...

Cons

There is nothing worth mentioning, I have used Microsoft Project daily for many years, and I did not find any technical problems in it, and all the results that I get by using it, are considered accurate and reflect the reality of the work in the project.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Ultimate Project Management Software

Reviewed 8 months ago
Pros

MS Project has many powerful features for project management like gantt charts, budget tracking and task management that give users a ton of detailed options for managing resources. It's fairly easy to integrate with an existing microsoft environment and requires little to no maintenance once your custom templates are set up.

Cons

It does have a steep learning curve that can seem intimidating to new users and the overwhelming amount of feature capabilities can seem daunting. MS Project also does not integrate well with other project management software so that can definitely be improved.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Microsoft PowerPoint - By Abraham Chongkit

Reviewed 2 years ago

So far my overall experience with MS Project is a little more unique then expected and I would probably prefer more clarification on its compatibility and uses from Microsoft and their retail agents around the world before purchasing. The installation was pretty straight forward and I have not had any issue in regards to the application functionalities, and features. However, it did take me long to learn how to use MS Project and I would probably suggest that the help and instructional features could be adjusted to accommodate other users similar to my situation.

Pros

The great thing I like most about MS Project is that it's interface is quiet similar to that of other MS Office products, such as MS Excel. This familiarity gives me the confidence that the product I am about to use, is very similar to other MS Office products that I use on a daily basis. MS Project integrates well with Office 365 which allows me the space that I need to work remotely from anywhere...

Cons

The least thing I liked about MS Project is that it took me a while to get used to the menus, and features such as the interface when i first started. It took a lot of practice and further research on how to use the product faster and efficiently because my first impression is that MS Project was not really user-friendly at the beginning. I think MS Project is a bit expensive and you need to plan and...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

enterprise project management (EPM) system

Reviewed 3 years ago

Microsoft project is a famous and old tool for planning and controlling projects. I’ve used MSP in different IT and construction projects. It has almost all the necessary features for a project team. Project scheduling, cost management, resource management, risk management and portfolio management are some of its features. Also Earned value management (EVM) provide different Indicators for project...

Pros

As a Microsoft tools it has a great integration with other MS solution as name above, but it’s hard to integrate with externals apps.

Cons

MSP is a classic project management tools that support different standard for project management, like PMBoK. But it’s not a tool for agile project management such as Scrum and Kanban.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

The Project Management Tool for the Microsoft Power User

Reviewed 3 years ago

Overall, Microsoft Project does a really good job of allowing experienced project managers to create complex project plans for both large and small teams. The platform offers extensive schedule and resource management - enabling teams to accurately allocate their resources in order to achieve maximum efficiencies. My experience with Project has been positive. I work in a small to mid-sized team that creates implementation plans for customer recommendations. I have enjoyed the synergies that working with other Microsoft tools provides. Furthermore, Project has enabled me to be effective in those pursuits. It definitely takes some time to learn more complicated aspects of the program - but that time and training and can really benefit a team.

Pros

The greatest strength of Microsoft Project comes in the name. Microsoft develops some of the most popular and effective tools for modern businesses. Project integrates extremely seamlessly into the overall Microsoft ecosystem of work. This enables the platform to truly maximize on all the efficiencies created by keeping your work within one platform. Project also does a fantastic job of allocating and scheduling resources. Furthermore, identifying critical paths for a project is relatively straight forward. Project managers can do specific call outs for key steps along the way as well. There are also a lot of additional benefits for project that help the quality of life for anyone in control of a project.

Cons

Project is a complicated piece of technology. While creating initial project plans seem easy, there are so many features of project that not only go unnoticed - but also can be incredibly cumbersome to learn and master. An additional pain point that I have experienced has related to working on multiple project resources while also viewing the Gantt chart. Finally, sharing a project also holds its own difficulties as well - as users must have Project installed on their own device.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

Manager for the control and development of projects of great impact in the company

Reviewed 4 years ago

Based on the experience of the use of the tool, the organizational capacity is more efficient and effective in each task, as well as the security and the status of the results offered by each member of the project. Another element to highlight is communications and how this allows improving the flow of information, thus improving the willingness of managers to take corrective action at the best times.

Pros

Of the positive things that Microsoft Project & Portfolio Management has, is that you can use a driver prioritization module to develop workshops in which executives openly discuss the issue importance of each business controller and thus be able to prioritize the strategies according to the established objectives. that's why it's an advantage to be able to prioritize commercial drivers at any level within...

Cons

One of the difficulties is the development of the chronogram of the different projects and the information that is offered to the teams involved in the different projects, as well as the possibility of associating one or more plans for the execution of the project and a baseline for the project. supervision, development and management and thus be able to generate changes in the various levels in a corrective manner. In addition, the implementation of the schedule change and operational capacity is difficult and prevents providing the project teams with an updated map for the execution of their tasks and therefore the delivery of a new baseline to verify progress and manage the change programmed by the bosses.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

Be able to have a clear vision, vision and control to make decision

Reviewed 4 years ago

Have the possibility to manage the resources, projects carptera from the initiative or idea cycle to the process and project closure. and the collaboration in external offices with the executors or other leaders is very useful to measure impacts and make decisions.

Pros

Since we implemented it, which is quite easy, it is enough to have a 2010 project server and a professional project for the stations all in collaboration with a sharepoint farm. The implementation process took a couple of months to adjust the configurations and to be able to obtain the greatest possible potential of the solution. in general we could use the graphs and diagrams in order to measure...

Cons

It is a very expensive solution, for which not all companies are willing to invest, not only in the platform but in the hours of R & D that the team must use to manage it, maintain it and work on the solution. Another point is that it is not multiplatform and this in the cases that are needed is important to evaluate it or keep it in mind. It has many features and it is a bit difficult to be an expert because of the number of functionalities that you have and you end up resorting to conventional methods because it is cumbersome to know where to find them.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Is a valuable project management resource suitable for projects of any size

Reviewed 4 years ago

Since I have been using Microsoft Project, allows me to quickly adapt proposals and ideas into organized projects. This very helpful when I need to present proposals because I can give a solid overview of the project's idea, estimate, in the early stage, and to control during the execution, all the resources and manage and predict risks. The linkages, not only are easy to use but also help me when dealing with complex tasks. During presentations, the Gannt window allows me to show timelines versus the lines of tasks and clarify any doubt and even make corrections. I am a fan of the shortcuts, and filters, they help me to zoom over critical points. I really appreciate the fact that I can import and Export tasks in excel formats, it makes my daily work and reporting very easy.

Pros

For any user used to Microsoft's Software Family, the interface and tabs of the software will be very easy to understand and to use. The drag and drop function for schedule makes it easy to modify any resource. It has the most important features that any project management software can have and It is very useful that you can track all the necessary changes, manpower loading, deviations on time, and...

Cons

The first I must say is that you need a strong background in project management theory (critical path method, evaluation techniques and so on) in order to master Microsoft Project and smoothly use all the features and capabilities of the software without having a complex learning curve. Besides, it's not an intuitive program so it is adviced taking a training course, but yes, you can learn to use it...

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

Essential for all users of MS Project who have multiple project files that share common resources

Reviewed 4 years ago

The benefits to the organization have been phenomenal! Prior to the implementation of PPM it was impossible to see what individual team members were doing. The team leaders were 'king' and could do what they liked and when they liked. Our aim in implementing the product was to preserve existing process but to take the planning and execution of tasks to a new level. We found it easy to use...

Pros

I like the way you can use it for managing resources. It is very easy to assign resources to multiple projects and to see resource assignments and resource capacity. I use resource assignments in PPM to report project progress and I find the reports easier to understand and more meaningful that the reports that generated in standalone MS Project. I also use this resource assignment ability...

Cons

It hasn't kept the pace with competitor projects and the various new releases don't differ substantially with previous ones. Here are a few things I don't like. I know it asks for only one, but I'd like to share some of the challenges. * You can't send messages to resources from within tasks * There is no place for discussion in a task apart from Notes, which are cumbersome and you can't then search for text in the note. * You can't sort the list of files backed up. That makes restoring files a bit of a challenge as you need to be really careful before you restore a file. * After all this time, the product is still not stable and there are still intermittent bugs to which there don't seem to be any solutions. * the filter capability of the views is limited and you can't use brackets.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

My experience in Microsoft PPM, a tool for the control of Projects in an efficient way

Reviewed 4 years ago

I would recommend it extensively because it is useful to the final user, to be able to know the tool before it can be acquired and to know the opinion of a true user who takes advantage of each component every day, I am very pleased to participate in this program and thus contribute my experience.

Pros

Generally within the environment where I perform this tool is very useful, because your way of organizing work is excellent, to me as a professional in the area of technology adds incredible benefits, allows me to see tasks in a single presentation, resources, project execution times, remaining time, as well as progress, at the management level it has the advantage of making the most accurate decisions regarding reallocation of resources, time and other elements that intervene in the projects that I control from my area. It is great as all the work team that is under my charge is integrated to the use of this tool and we can be synchronized under the same objectives of the institution.

Cons

Despite being a great tool for project control, there is no way to measure the productivity of the work team or individually, this would help a lot or a lot to give the incentives to achieve jointly, departmentally or individually, even more when you want to highlight the merits of the team. Likewise, the cost of this tool for a medium or small company would be difficult to acquire or would be underused since in small environments the management of the projects would not have as many elements. However, I am very pleased with the kindnesses I have found in it.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend8/10

Share this review:

General porous Project Management tool

Reviewed 3 years ago

General porous Project Management tool and not applicable in the complicated projects

Pros

Windows application is really user-friendly. I love the recurring task facility for creating repetitive tasks without the need of creating each task separately. Supporting the different relationship between tasks including FS. SS, SF, and FF

Cons

I wished it supports backward resource-leveling. It doesn't support the whole areas of the project management body of knowledge including Quality management and risk management in the best way.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

The best project management app so far

Reviewed 7 months ago

Being an experienced user, I have gotten hold of all technicalities involved in its operation and this app has always been highly resourceful in all my project management tasks. It has further helped my team in seamless planning and deployment of projects.

Pros

Managing a project is centered on service delivery as at when due and this software allows to keep track of all projects and schedules of all tasks. The Microsoft project is a very easy to use application even for beginners and its capacity for collaboration is seamless especially when working and viewing projects with other teams.

Cons

Time allocation to projects while working with multiple teams is a setback to the app. Some of the features are sophisticated but also requires a high level of technicality to operate them, it should also be noted that the Microsoft Project doesn't perfectly integrate with other project management apps. This should be attended to by the developers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend10/10

Share this review:

User Friendly Project Management Tools

Reviewed 4 months ago

Since I have been utilizing Microsoft Project, permits me to rapidly adjust recommendations and thoughts into coordinated ventures. This is exceptionally useful when I want to introduce a proposition since I can give a strong outline of the undertaking's thought, gauge, at the beginning phase, and control during the execution, every one of the assets and oversee and anticipate changes. The linkages, not exclusively are not difficult to utilize yet, in addition, help me while managing complex assignments

Pros

The project incorporates amazingly flawlessly into the general Microsoft environment of work. This empowers the stage to really amplify every one of the efficiencies made by keeping your work inside one stage. The project additionally works effectively in designating and booking assets. Moreover, distinguishing basic ways for an undertaking is somewhat straightforward. Project chiefs can do explicit...

Cons

The execution of the timetable change and functional limit is troublesome and forestalls giving the undertaking groups a refreshed guide for the execution of their assignments and consequently the conveyance of another standard to check progress and deal with the change modified by the managers.

Overall Rating
  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Features
  • Customer support
  • Likelihood to recommend9/10

Share this review:

The best project management tool in the industry!

Reviewed 6 years ago

Microsoft Project is undoubtedly one of the best project management tool in the industry, whether you are working on projects in different fields such as IT, Marketing, Finance, Construction, etc. As long as I can remember, MS Project has been helping me deliver projects successfully. It's a software that is ideal for collaborating with my team and it aids in effective planning as well as allocation...

Pros

Ease of use, visually presentable (especially when dealing with many tasks), most common software in the industry

Cons

It takes some time to learn the software so it can be intimidated to new users