Box Reviews

Box Reviews

Box

Secure Content and File Sharing. Free Cloud Storage.

4.25/5 (777 reviews)
73,494     73,574

Carl Flynn

Excellent Enterprise Cloud Storage

14/03/2017

Box provides a robust platform for secure cloud-file storage for our academic community. Its rich feature set for file management, its security features and its mobile platform create a productivity platform that works for everyone from our administration to faculty to students. Box works with Net+ to provide higher education competitive pricing options and was great to work with to adapt to our IT security environment.

Pros

I love the options the Box platform provides for previewing, editing and sharing files once they are uploaded to the platform. Using Box has streamlined my workflow and helped to create a more collaborative environment in my organization.

Cons

The feature set for Box is very robust, and growing. They are very responsive to client feedback and quick to innovate based on complaints. There are few things I would critique on the current platform.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Morgan Dominique

The learning curve was pretty simple as the program is very intuitive but we had multiple files go missing and customer support was not able to provide assistance or a solution which has been frustrating.

12/03/2017

We have been very frustrated with the loss of files but it was an investment of time and money to get our whole team set up with box so we have been sticking it out. We set a timeline internally where if we are still having problems with lackluster customer support we will need to switch systems.

Pros

Very intuitive Simple to use Compatible with many other programs and devices Easy to explain to new team members

Cons

"Syncing" has been unclear and inconsistent Files go missing at random and are unable to be recovered Customer service has not been able to provide solutions, support, timely coorespondance and assistance, or able to recover missing files

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Andy Golden

Browser-based storage

11/03/2017

Great storage system for docs across platforms. Leverages web based access and enables rapid access to storage from any browser. Also integrates to data platforms.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Erica Christiansen

Very easy to use.

27/02/2017

Box is straight forward. They have made wonderful improvements to their online interface. After this update, I don't see any reason to interact with your documents in the old fashioned way at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Samar Singh

Easy but not my style

24/02/2017

This is great to use instead of Google Drive-- but in my opinion, there are many other software programs that would do better with organizing and sharing documents with your team/office.

Pros

Very easy to navigate

Cons

Messy Format

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 6-12 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ravi Musuku

Box for file sharing

22/02/2017

Great too to share the information securily between individuals and teams, it's an enterprise tool to implement

Pros

Safe and secure to transfer files

Cons

Have to create an account

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10

Recommendations to others considering Box

Good for storing and sharing data files

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Anna Dennison

Box is a great staple all around!

22/02/2017

Box has been very reliable and user friendly. The price point is right, all the basics are there, and even I can operate it with little confusion! It's a great general tool for any kind of file sharing.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Brooke Schepker

Great cloud-based storage

22/02/2017

I've used Box for the past 6 years and have never been disappointed. I like the ability to set the various privacy settings for different folders, and love the expiration ability for files shared that you don't want to have available for eternity. For us, it makes sharing files with customers a snap.

Pros

Ability to expire links, privacy setting options

Cons

It can get a bit pricey for larger teams with multi-media files.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jacob Dobscha

Great if you don't have Drive

09/02/2017

This is an excellent product, and very user-friendly. This was revolutionary for me at first, as I could store everything "in the cloud" and share documents with my colleagues. Then Google Drive came out and became more widespread. Now that we have that, we have switched much of our collaboration with documents to Google Drive since it integrates so easily with Gmail.

Pros

Easy to use, and nearly anyone can use it.

Cons

Google Drive is free, and much of the sharing of documents that you do on there can be done on Drive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

5/10

Recommendations to others considering Box

I wouldn't spend money on it if you already have Drive.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
James Pope

James Pope Review

09/02/2017

I've had a very satisfying experience. The functionality, features, and UI/UX is very warming and welcoming. There's a couple features we would like to have and some things to be reworked but overall I really like Box and would recommend it to those who need Cloud storage & collaboration.

Pros

Collaboration

Cons

Box Sync

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Box

None

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jewitt Bradley

Verified Reviewer

Box

07/02/2017

The purpose of Box in my organization is to have access to different documents on the go and be able to collaborate with co-workers. Box solves the issue of having made sure you have an external hard drive with the documents needed with you at all times.

Pros

Collaboration and sharing ability

Cons

The size of the documents allowed

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Box

If you want a tool that helps you collaborate and also secure use box.

Source: GetApp
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Randy Shuttleworth

Robust, easy-to-use Cloud Storage

06/02/2017

This service was recommended by an external consultant. We needed a robust, simple to use cloud storage and sharing service. Though similar to Dropbox, Box has more features. Very easy to control who has access to documents. Plus it stores previous versions of the document when edits and changes are being made.

Pros

Easy to share documents while controlling access. Can set various permission levels.

Cons

Can get a little pricey if you sharing with multiple users.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: 2+ years

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

10/10

Recommendations to others considering Box

Has a free trial. Sign up for it and see for yourself.

Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ameleah Wilson

Cloud storage with 3rd party integrations

06/02/2017

Box is a king of cloud storage which allows me sharing project files with my team. I can add project collaborators and share the necessary documents required. It also comes with 3rd party integrations and the documents can be accessed across the different websites.

Pros

Document sharing has a great feature. It helps to share documents easily with others.

Cons

The interface can be improved. More functionality can be added to Box.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Box

Good for sharing and collaborating with others, 3rd party integrations helps out.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Grant Robbins

Great Document Collaboration Software

04/02/2017

This is a simple, safe and easy to use document collaboration tool. We use it for almost all of our projects and it allows our remote teams to trade information with others quickly and easily.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Scott Nussbaum

Works, but not my favorite

01/02/2017

I get confused by how to work with documents associated with different entities / companies who I've established Box "connections" with and how to download a doc to my PC and then re-upload it back to Box.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Tim Oberholtzer

Box Review

01/02/2017

Typical cloud based storage system. For my money I think I prefer DropBox, but that seems more of a personal preference than anything.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jim Vincent

No complaints.

31/01/2017

A vendor invited me to use this for file sharing. It worked perfectly and I am still using it. I have the free version but will be purchasing the upgrade.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jason Waltersdorff

Really quite good.

30/01/2017

There are a lot of options out there for cloud-based file storage--many of which all do the same thing. There aren't a lot of reasons I can spell out that make box "the very best choice", however it's even more difficult to name off anything that's wrong with it, either.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend

6/10
Source: Capterra
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Jenell Moffett

Good Tool

27/01/2017

Good tool. easy to use. You can quickly upload and download files that you need. The only challenge that I have noticed is there are a lot of cloud-based document storage tools on the market.

Pros

Easy to use. Shared information with all of your devices.

Cons

Very similar to other collaboration tools.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Stephanie  Terleski

Box Review - 1/27

27/01/2017

I use this for work purposes and it is where all of our company files are kept.

Pros

I like that you can go back to old versions if you accidentally saved over a version. I also like that you can see how many versions have been saved.

Cons

The syncing is a little bit slow so when I save something on my desktop it takes a little to get to the internet version.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Alexandra Rusnic

Box can hold it

27/01/2017

I found Box very easy to navigate and upload files/create folders for collaboration on multiple levels

Pros

Ease of use and collaborating with others, shareable link usage, etc.

Cons

I found minor issues with uploading larger files but overall, did what I was expecting

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Weekly

Likelihood to recommend

7/10

Recommendations to others considering Box

Suggest others, to find out exactly what they need from the software.... the list of needs/wants, etc. and go from there. Not all software is created the same so do your homework before jumping in.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
David Gay

Easy collaboration

26/01/2017

This product makes sharing documents between a group of users quick and easy. You can control who gets access and what they can do with the files.

Pros

-Easy to use and set up -Customizable -Secure

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Monthly

Likelihood to recommend

10/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Cynthia Velasco

Easy Access

24/01/2017

The box is a great way to quickly upload, download and share files with coworkers. I wish the syncing feature to my desktop was a bit faster but overall, the tool is great.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

8/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Ivan Arreola

Boix have a great benefits to share documents

24/01/2017

share files and documents are easy and the implementation with the CRM was simple. now we have all the sharing documents connected thru the integration of both systems.

Pros

Easy to upload Easy to share Unlimited storage

Cons

you can't loaded big files. the synchronization with the computer is not good if you have a slow connection!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10

Recommendations to others considering Box

it is a good software as a service, and they are adding more features every day.

Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more
Aubrie Amstutz

Simple and feature rich

24/01/2017

I have completed the Box Certified Professional training and am very familiar with the admin and support of Box as well as from an end user's perspective. It is as simple as you would want out of the box, or as customizable as you'd like if you want to incorporate it into an existing workflow.

Pros

Integrations with Microsoft office provide a seamless experience. The mobile app allows access to content on the go (and you can save offline).

Cons

Box sync is very confusing and not dependable, but they are slated to release a replacement product next year.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Time used: Less than 6 months

Frequency of use: Daily

Likelihood to recommend

9/10
Source: Software Advice
Helpful?   Yes   No
Read more