Rentals United Reviews

Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

4.03/5 (114 reviews)

Thom James

Rentals United cannot do enough for you

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-02-21
Review Source: Capterra

Increased bookings from large platforms and the audiences they bring with them.

Pros
When it works, it works really when and it can change your fortunes as it helps you connect to channels that you never dreamed you'd be able to manage. From our perspective, the prospect of a 300-strong property portfolio on just on these channels was daunting, but we are able to manage 10+ in a heartbeat.

Cons
It sometimes fails to catch up with the channels, so bookings are not tracked. Initial integration problems also but that was as much figuring out our complex CMS as it was an issue with RU. In general, whilst we have had issues, they have all now gone away and were dealt with very quickly.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 9/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Idan Caruba

10/10 Recommend

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2019-02-13
Review Source: Capterra

Rep from Rentals United gave me a VIP treatment consistently. She is so intelligent and kind and helped us in our new company with patience and expertise. I would like to recommend her and the company to anyone. I am very grateful to have worked with her. She is a true professional for me- helping to solve problems every week, sometimes every day.

Pros
It's a good software, connecting with Guesty. It's a pretty good setup and make sense once you work with it for a while as they complete each other and together are very powerful and smart. It takes a bit of time to learn, like anything useful in life.

Cons
Nothing really negative. Like everything in life it takes time to learn it. This is up to the user.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Dan Jensen

Dont get your hopes up!

Reviewed 2018-05-19
Review Source: Capterra

I learned that there is no software that can deliver a pms system that is able to setup completly centralized. And deliver automated to multible channels. This is the 4`th pms i setup and try. :-)

Pros
The idea of what it could have been. I think they have the right idea. but is so far from making it a streamlined reality. i hope they nail it in the future. seems like a good company that wants to do the right thing. Nice clean interface.

Cons
If you think you are about to experience an automated setup across diferent channels, you will be disapointed. when you have finished the rentals united setup, you have to setup each channel. and thats a hole lot of work. every channel is set up in some different ways. some channels (mayby many) wants you to go to the channels webpage and start a setup. it is complicated. so much so i wonder why i pay good for something i can setup on different channels myself and save the money. just using ical/api. i think that a pms where you can setup everything in one place, and reach countless channels is next to impossible to do, the easy way. There is so much difference, in how the channel platforms are setup. This is the fourth pms system i use. still looking for the ONE.

Response from Rentals United


Hi Dan

Thanks for sending these comments through but I personally think that giving us a 1star review is tough given you're not actually a paying client of ours and you haven't actually used the platform.

You're right in the fact that it requires work on your side to get online in the channels. We're very clear with our clients on this and during the two calls you had with our sales team, the process for connecting to the channels was clearly outlined to you.

Our goal is to make the process as painless as possible and things are definitely improving. However as you correctly pointed out, each channel has their own process for contracting and on-boarding so it's a definite commitment on your side.

The process for going live in some channels is quicker than others but we are very clear with our clients that it should take around 30 days to get you live in all your chosen channels.

Hopefully you can consider using Rentals United in the future.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Karolina Cabala

Powerfull channel manager, but withour any futures

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-11-30
Review Source: Capterra

I don't like them, but I need them...

Pros
They have integration with planty of booking channels, but general they focus on high number amount of integration not on important ones. They don't have integration with VRBO and Home Away, one of the most important channels on earth... Also, they are poor in tools and futures... With this high price they should be multi task app

Cons
When something broke or I need some information, you wait ages for replay and sometimes you didn't get correct answer. I'm sick even when I think that I need help from support. Also they not polite and nice Integration, should be with more important channels

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 6/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Debbie Nieves

quick and easy

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2017-12-14
Review Source: Capterra

more bookings.

Pros
channel options are great easy to set up properties. George is always great and quick to attend to our needs. I use Rentals United for another company I work for and he has always been on top of, things.

Cons
Takes too much time to load and save. Need more amenity choices maybe add check boxes to select amenities.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Coburn Sheppick

5 Stars Rentals United!

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-04-06
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
Having such an amazing tool that links our calendars together - our business would never be the same without Rentals United + Our amazing account manager.

Cons
Nothing about the software deserves the 'Cons'. All technology has its ups and downs but RU definitely over weighs the cons.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Gianluca Chinetti

Waste of money - terrible customer support

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-09-10
Review Source: Capterra

In vacation rental everyone wish to sell more using more channels. But is not always true. On Italian lakes after 2+ years I can say that the market is dominated by AirBnB + Booking.com. So you don't need the huge amount of channels proposed by RU. A good PMS connected with main channels is more than enough !!!!

Pros
Don't exist !!! RU don't add anything to a good PMS apart connections. And if connections are not effective .... is a waste of time and money !!!!!

Cons
Terrible customer support. Not Italian speaking (I speak English everyday but when I'm a customer I want someone speaking my own language) not skilled and no knowledge of vacatio rental business. Incredible but true!!! May be good technician ... but I'm not sure !!! REMEMBER: during your activity for sure something willl go wrong with technology and will be easy for you to lose in few days of malfunction more of what you are asked to pay for 1 year of subscription for RU service !!!! Customer support MUST be effective !!!! I suffered more than 4 overbooking in 3 months using 6 properties !!!!! because malfunctions!!!

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 1/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Emilios Kaf

Very easy dashboard - Excellent service

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-02-07
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
This is the 3rd year i'm using Rentals United. I'm 100% satisfied with the platform as well as the support i received so far. Whatever problems i've had they were resolved in a few hours. BIG thanks to my two past account managers Andreas and Linda and to my current account manager Bruno Mauro!

Cons
The only con is that you can't add discounts to certain channels like booking.com. If they can add this, Rentals united will be even better

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Aaron Xuereb

Rentals United

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-05
Review Source: Capterra

We use RU to manage our portfolio of properties. I must say that we are very satisfied thus far especially with our account manager rep. who is always very helpful with any request.

Pros
We use RU to manage our portfolio of properties. I must say that we are very satisfied thus far especially with our account manager rep. who is always very helpful with any request.

Cons
still lacking some basic features such as the ability to assign an internal name to each property.

Rating breakdown

Ease of use
Features

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Vincent Vigier

Great experience but a few things could be better

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-02-01
Review Source: Capterra

affordable channel manager with almost everyhting you need

Pros
The simplicity of use : connecting OTAs is very easy. Friendly staff. Overall good and very affordable Channel Manager. It could be part of the best solutions in the market with some improvements.

Cons
We missed a few important options for pricing but I guess it's not that important for other small hosts. Customer support reactive but sometimes it takes time to have things done.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Richard Anderson

Great Customer Support

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-19
Review Source: Capterra

It would be great if they offer channel quality information, such as my property ranking.

Pros
The Representative in support is available for conference with just a few days notice. She is thorough and very helpful, offering up suggestions to improve my channels and get more rentals.

Cons
Seems a bit expensive. Although the tech support is great, I would be optimal if the software and documentation were better, so as to need tech support less often.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Lucy Langdon

Fabulous Support

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-08-28
Review Source: Capterra

Rentals United has enabled our company to push our holiday rental homes to more websites whilst integrating with our booking management software.

Pros
After quite a few teething issues Rentals United and their team worked with us to ensure each of our issues were rectified. Now the system is fantastic and integrates seamlessly with our current booking software.

Cons
A few teething issues which were sorted out quickly and professionally.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Charles Lei

Excellent

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2018-03-27
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
I really enjoyed with our property manager. She always had nice answers whenever there were any issues.

Cons
There were occasional connectivity issues. The two-way connection isn't perfectly set up on all the channels.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Kamil Jack

Great Solution if you're looking channel manager

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-11-20
Review Source: Capterra

It's a great tool, but only for channels integration. For this price, you suppose to have more futures, because still, you need to use additional PMS system.

Pros
Possibility to connect almost to all currently available booking channels on market.

Cons
It's expensive, and they don't have integration with two important booking channels like a Trip Advisor (They have but it's not working) and Home Away.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 7/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Melissa Shepherd

Great service from rep

Used daily for 2+ years
Reviewed 2019-06-17
Review Source: Capterra

Rentals United seem to be looking to expand their network and opportunities offered to us.

Pros
Fairly easy to map products with each site clearly separate

Cons
Can not create rules for tariffs which limits what we can offer guests

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 8/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Fernando Arias

Great

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-07-03
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
From the first day we had an excellent assistance from the girl who took care of us to implement the system, which channels we could connect, which is relatively easy to establish the connection, although there is another part that does not depend on Rentals United, You have to contract it directly with the channels where you want to distribute according to the conditions of each channel. We have always had excellent assistance from them and is easy to schedule an appoint with our account manager. We are still in the process of connecting with several channels but so far we have not had any problems.

Cons
It would be great to have a trial period before making the payment. It would also be great to be able to configure more aspects of the properties like the price for instance without having to do it property by property

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Markus Müllegger

One of the most advanced and easy to use channel managers for vacation rentals.

Used daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed 2018-06-24
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
- Usability - Many channels are well synchronized in terms of content as well as rates & availability. - Great onboarding team and recommendations concerning the different channels - Easy to understand API & Documentation for PMS integration

Cons
- Some items do not get correctly synced - Content syncs only once automatically and not after each change - Message integration with automated messages, would be great to efficiently communicate directly with clients of all the different channels

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

yankel chetrit

Very good service

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-04-18
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
We receive a very good customer service. The connection are working fine with a large list of channels which is good to get more exposure.

Cons
Sometimes there are some connection that are not successful but Rentals united alert us immediately by e mail so we have enough time to enter the reservation in our system to avoid double bookings.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Jordan Brown

Very helpful team from start to finish. Highly recommend if serious about making more bookings!

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-06-20
Review Source: Capterra

Increase in listing sites our properties are on which increases our bookings and occupancy rate.

Pros
The ability to add a mark up on pricing to counter the listing sites commission (airbnb, booking.com etc). This results in any bookings received from the listing sites linked through rentals untied come back at full price no loss to owner. Instant connection for availability and rates. Constant communication with rentals untied allows full understanding of the system. Once set up you receive a account manager who solely wants to broaden your online advertising reach and increase bookings.

Cons
It is slow to get started but once its set up it is easy to work.. Each listing site has different systems that take time to get use to. Using rentals untied is an increased work load but you do increase occupancy.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Willy Chang

Rentals United Strive for the Very Best!

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2018-06-04
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
- Excellent Direct API Integration - They bandwagon into the latest, and popular Channels - The Key Account Manager follow up, and drive tasks to closure

Cons
- Direct Relationships to Channels should be improved, at least the popular ones - Faster Integration Time connecting to Channels

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Geoff Bott

Ongoing use of RU

Used daily for 1-2 years
Reviewed 2019-06-19
Review Source: Capterra

Great improvement in customer service since commencement almost 2 years ago.

Pros
The connectivity to a wide variety of booking portals

Cons
Not being able to cancel a redundant listing without contacting each service provider, complicated method of ensuring each portal is updated individually.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Andrea Tamburelli

Good potential, very poor/non existent customer service

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-11-05
Review Source: Capterra

It could be a good software but lacks in customer support

Pros
It's easy to use and well designed. A good number of channels available for connection. A fixed price per month is good if you receive a good amount of reservations.The only problem is that it does not deliver what's promised.

Cons
The biggest issue of this product is the customer service. Before I paid the subscriptionI have been literally chased by their salesman, available at every time and day of the week. After the first purchase they never responded before a couple of days time and NEVER deliver what they promise. I have been dealing so far with 3 different people, all of them left their position with no notice leaving me sending emails to empty desks. It's presented as a time saver software but it actually takes lot of time only to have the channels actually connected. On the dashboard the channels look connected but if you check channel by channel you would discover they were not active at all. Lot of problems with Expedia with wrong push of the rates all the times. I think it could be a good product if they only would invest more in customer support and less in sales. Selling a product is relatively easy, keeping a customer is the hard part.

Response from Rentals United


Hi Andrea, thanks for your valuable feedback. I've spoken to your account manager, Nicolas and I'd be happy to help speed things along so we meet your expectations.

Feel free to contact me directly if you need some more assistance (james@rentalsunited.com)

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 2/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Craig Gee

I found the whole process quite easy. I had a 45 minute consult with their executive & I did my homework.

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2018-07-11
Review Source: Capterra

I have a more secure business now as I am not reliant on 1 channel and I am able to reach more customers. Ultimately this should make the off peak seasons better, and lead to more revenue.

Pros
The user guides were great. I'm not that great with techy stuff but the user guides were accurate, up to date and easy to navigate. I use Guesty and they have supported me with Rentals United and made the integration really easy. I love this software as it means I am not reliant on 1 booking channel (Air BnB). I have found their executives to be really friendly, informative and make me feel like they are interested in seeing my business succeed.

Cons
Sometimes customer support can be a little slow, but they always get back to you and there is a self service help desk which is great too.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 10/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Naím Peymán

Horrible - stay away!

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-06-12
Review Source: Capterra

None

Pros
The idea sounds great and the user interface looks nice, but I'm afraid it stops there. While we were very excited to get things going, nothing seemed to work.

Cons
The reality - while a great idea, none of what we've been sold worked properly. We tried out Rentals United last year and had a bad experience. We decided to give it another go this year, but unfortunately more things didn't work than did and we ended up making a loss over the period that we were signed up with them as availability was not even pushed across correctly. They kept charging us even after we left the contract and used the direct debit without authorisation. When contacted they kept saying they're not charging and they kept charging. Big waste of time - stay away!

Response from Rentals United


We're sorry things didn't work out with your Rentals United account. However, we feel that your review is completely unrepresentative of the service and experience you received from us.

You had some very specific requirements that we weren't able to meet which we informed you about and for this reason, we let you use our platform free of charge for a period.

We add features and improvements to platform based on helping as many of our clients as possible - not on those who can shout the loudest. We try our best to think of all our clients and the positive reviews you see here are testament to this.

We try and keep all our clients satisfied and we wish you the best of luck with your business. As we refunded all of the money you paid us this year, we¿re happy that you were able to use Rentals United completely for free.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Likelihood to recommend: 0/10

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals

Flavia Vinci

disappointing customer service but great exception

Used daily for less than 6 months
Reviewed 2017-08-10
Review Source: Capterra

Pros
It is really intuitive and easy to use but what made the difference in my experience with this software has been working with my rep. He definitely made the difference and played a crucial role even when my manager wanted to quit the collaboration with them. He was in charge of our synchronization with Booking Sync (PMS and website) and I am really glad he suggested it. He is a very polite and fair person, driven to find solutions. The excellence of his working method relies on his continuous feedback, suggestions, creative ideas. He is able to keep calm and smiling even if all over it is a huge mess. I appreciated his attitude several time, he is focused on results and finding the best and the more efficient solution. I would recommend Rentals United if they had more employee like him.

Cons
Most of the connections are displayed as green and well connected even when they are clearly not working at all. Customer service is very disappointing, I assume they are not well trained or down staffed because when I need some assistance it takes at least 3 or 4 weeks to get a reply and an uncountable number of mail and solicitations. Most of the time the final answer is that the issue does not depends on them but all the responsability relies on this or that channel. At a statistic level I find it pretty hard to believe.

Rating breakdown

Value for money
Ease of use
Features
Customer support

Minimize review


Rentals United

New Generation Channel manager for vacation rentals